Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, “a projection device for switching different projection image groups” should be “a projection device configured for switching different projection image groups”, “image sensor for imaging” should be “an image sensor configured for imaging”, and “a reconstruction unit for decoding” should be “a reconstruction unit configured for decoding”. For examination purposes, the examiner would assume “a projection device configured for switching”, “an image sensor configured for imaging”, and “a reconstruction unit configured for decoding”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“reconstruction unit” in claims 6 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, the judging steps could be performed in a human mind, it is therefore impossible to know when the claimed limitations are infringed, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 3-4 are rejected due to dependency on claim 2.
Claims 8-9 are rejected due to dependency on claim 7.
Claims 6-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, claim limitation “reconstruction unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The statement does not disclose what hardware implement the reconstruction or what algorithm is used for decoding. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 7-9 are rejected due to dependency on claim 6.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3 which recites “setting a time sequence of a plurality of different projection image groups to be a periodical sequence, to switch among different projection image group”. Claim 4 in turn , recites “setting the time sequence of the plurality of different projection image groups to be a random sequence, to switch among different projection image groups”. Claim 3 limits the time sequence to a “periodical sequence”, claim 4, depending from claim 3, then requires the time sequence to be a “random sequence”. A time sequence cannot simultaneously be both periodic and random. The same rejection arguments apply to claim 9 which depends on claim 8.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 5-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuaki (JP,2005-003409,A).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsuaki teaches a projection method based on a three-dimensional scanning projection line of a structured light ([0026]), the method comprising: switching different projection image groups periodically or randomly in three-dimensional measurements to collect a plurality of continuous projection image groups ([0029], [0064], [0087]); projecting several images of the projection image group onto a surface of an object to be measured ([0026], [0029]); imaging projection images projected onto the surface of the object to be measured to obtain imaged images ([0026], [0065]); and decoding the imaged images and determining a corresponding relation between respective imaging positions and projection positions, to provide three-dimensional information for reconstructing the surface of the object to be measured ([0026], [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsuaki teaches the projection method based on the three-dimensional scanning projection line of the structured light of claim 1, wherein said decoding the imaged images and determining a corresponding relation between respective imaging positions and projection positions comprises: obtaining an initial corresponding relation (projection angle image 1) between imaging points (pixels) and projection positions (light projection angles) based on fringes of a first density (stripe pattern has a lower density) (fig. 3, [0047], [0075]); obtaining a target corresponding relation (projection angle image 3) between imaging points (pixels) and projection positions of fringes of a second density (multi-slit patterns) by using the initial corresponding relation ( [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082]); wherein the first density is smaller than the second density ([0031], [0096]).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 incorporates all the limitations of claim 1 with in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejection of claim 1 apply to claim 6. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 incorporates all the limitations of claim 5 in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejection of claim 5 apply to claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yu (US20210123723A1).
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877