DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the at least one cooling air inlet” in line 15. It is unclear “the at least one cooling air inlet” is the same or different from “at least one cooling air inlet port” in line 12. For the purpose of applying art, “the at least one cooling air inlet” is interpreted as “the at least one cooling air inlet port”.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2014/0373402) in view of Grab (US 2023/0063470).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a smoothing appliance (fig. 1, apparatus 100) comprising:
a portable housing (fig. 1) having a handle (fig. 1, pipe 3 and rear portion of element 4) and a smoothing head (fig. 1, front portion of element 4) connected to the handle, the portable housing further comprising:
a steam circuit comprising a steam generator (para. [0052], a steam generating device is arranged internally to mount 1);
an air intake circuit (fig. 2, dust collection casing 10, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11 and a fan motor 12) extending between at least one intake port (fig. 2, air suction holes 9) and at least one air intake vent (fig. 2, motor air vents 14) and comprising a fan (fig. 2, para. [0053], impellers 11) configured to be rotated by a motor (fig. 2, para. [0053], motor 12), the fan and the motor being integrally disposed in the smoothing head (fig. 2);
wherein the smoothing head comprises a treatment side (fig. 2, the outside of the ironing panel 7) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed, the treatment side comprising at least one steam vent (fig. 2, steam ejection holes 8) connected to the steam circuit (para. [0053]) and the at least one intake port forming an intake air inlet of the air intake circuit (para. [0053]).
Zhang does not clearly teach the smoothing head comprises an air cooling circuit for the motor extending between at least one cooling air inlet port and at least one cooling air vent disposed in the smoothing head, wherein an inner wall of the smoothing head includes at least one blade extending from the inner wall towards the motor, the at least one blade defining a hollow interior configured to receive cooling air from the at least one cooling air inlet such that the hollow interior defines a portion of the air cooling circuit.
However, in the same field of suction and steaming device, Grab teaches the device comprises an air cooling circuit (fig. 5, cooling air inlet 88 and cooling air outlet 86) for the motor (fig. 6) extending between at least one cooling air inlet port (fig. 5, inlet 88) and at least one cooling air vent (fig. 5, outlet 86) disposed in the housing for motor, wherein an inner wall of the smoothing head includes at least one blade (annotated fig. 6 below, portion of seal 98 and seal wall of the motor housing) extending from the inner wall towards the motor, the at least one blade defining a hollow interior (annotated fig. 6 below, the interior comprises hollow intake 108) configured to receive cooling air from the at least one cooling air inlet (88) such that the hollow interior defines a portion of the air cooling circuit (fig. 6, para. [0054], motor intake 108 is in fluid communication with the cooling air inlet 88).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the smoothing head of Zhang with the air cooling circuit for the motor as taught by Grab so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the cooling circuit comprises a rotatably mounted propeller for circulating air entering through the cooling air inlet port towards the cooling air vent.
However, Grab teaches the cooling circuit comprises a rotatably mounted propeller (fig. 6, a cooling fan 106) for circulating air entering through the cooling air inlet port towards the cooling air vent (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with a rotatably mounted propeller as taught by Grab for the benefit of allowing cooling air for the vacuum motor to be drawn into the housing by the cooling fan (Grab, para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the propeller is axial helical centrifugal or centrifugal (Grab, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the motor extends longitudinally along an axis from a first end to a second end, the first end being closer to the treatment side than the second end (Zhang, fig. 2).
The modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the propeller is disposed at the second end of the motor.
However, Grab teaches in figs. 9-10, the cooling fan is disposed behind the brush motor in the longitudinal axis of the housing (para. [0062], the brush motor cooling flow path B can share a common cooling fan 106).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the position of the cooling fan to the second end of the motor of the modified structure Zhang-Grab as suggested in figs. 9-10 for the benefit of allowing cooling air for the vacuum motor to be drawn into the housing by the cooling fan. Rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the smoothing head comprises a rear side opposite the treatment side and a lateral side extending between the treatment side and the rear side (Zhang, fig. 2).
The modified structure Zhang-Grab does not clearly teach the at least one cooling air inlet port is disposed on the lateral side and the at least one cooling air vent is disposed on the rear side.
However, Grab teaches the at least one cooling air inlet port is disposed on the lateral side and the at least one cooling air vent is disposed on the rear side (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with the teaching that the at least one cooling air inlet port is disposed on the lateral side and the at least one cooling air vent is disposed on the rear side as taught by Grab so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the air intake circuit comprises the at least one intake vent (Zhang, fig. 2, vents 14) disposed on the rear side (Zhang, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the at least one cooling air vent in the cooling circuit opens into the air intake circuit at the at least one air intake vent in the air intake circuit.
However, Grab teaches in figs. 9-10, the at least one cooling air vent in the cooling circuit opens into the air intake circuit at the air intake vent in the air intake circuit (figs. 9-10, the cooling air outlet 120 is next to the air outlet 52).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with the teaching that the at least one cooling air vent in the cooling circuit opens into the air intake circuit at the at least one air intake vent in the air intake circuit as taught by Grab so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the cooling circuit comprises a plurality of cooling air inlet ports and/or a plurality of cooling air vents.
However, Grab teaches the cooling circuit comprises a plurality of cooling air inlet ports and/or a plurality of cooling air vents (fig. 6, there are at least two cooling air inlet ports and a plurality of cooling air vents 86).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with the teaching that the cooling circuit comprises a plurality of cooling air inlet ports and/or a plurality of cooling air vents as taught by Grab so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the portable housing comprises a receiving chamber comprising the inner wall defining an enclosure in which the motor is disposed (Zhang, fig. 2).
The modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the at least one blade further comprising a plurality of blades extending from the inner wall, wherein an exterior of at least two of the plurality of blades forms an air intake flow channel between the at least one air intake port and the at least one air intake vent and the hollow interior forms at least one cooling pipe to enable cooling air entering through the at least one cooling air inlet port to flow into the enclosure.
However, Grab teaches the at least one blade further comprising a plurality of blades extending from the inner wall, wherein an exterior of at least two of the plurality of blades forms an air intake flow channel between the at least one air intake port and the at least one air intake vent and the hollow interior forms at least one cooling pipe to enable cooling air entering through the at least one cooling air inlet port to flow into the enclosure (annotated fig. 6 below, para. [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with the teaching of Grab that the at least one blade further comprising a plurality of blades extending from the inner wall, wherein an exterior of at least two of the plurality of blades forms an air intake flow channel between the at least one air intake port and the at least one air intake vent and the hollow interior forms at least one cooling pipe to enable cooling air entering through the at least one cooling air inlet port to flow into the enclosure so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches each blade of the plurality of blades is hollow so as to define a portion of the air cooling circuit (annotated Grab fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches each blade is curved to direct intake air flowing between the at least one intake port and the at least one air intake vent (annotated Grab fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure Zhang-Grab does not teach the air intake circuit and the cooling circuit are configured so that intake air flows in a direction orthogonal to a cooling air flow direction in the receiving chamber.
However, Grab teaches the air intake circuit and the cooling circuit are configured so that intake air flows in a direction orthogonal to a cooling air flow direction in the receiving chamber (annotated fig. 6 below).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Zhang-Grab with the teaching of Grab that the air intake circuit and the cooling circuit are configured so that intake air flows in a direction orthogonal to a cooling air flow direction in the receiving chamber so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches a smoothing appliance (fig. 1, apparatus 100) comprising:
a portable housing (fig. 1) having a handle (fig. 1, pipe 3 and rear portion of element 4) and a smoothing head (fig. 1, front portion of element 4) connected to the handle, the portable housing further comprising:
a steam circuit comprising a steam generator (para. [0052], a steam generating device is arranged internally to mount 1);
an air intake circuit (fig. 2, dust collection casing 10, a centrifugal fan formed by centrifugal impellers 11 and a fan motor 12) extending between at least one intake port (fig. 2, air suction holes 9) and at least one air intake vent (fig. 2, motor air vents 14) and comprising a fan (fig. 2, para. [0053], impellers 11) and a motor (fig. 2, para. [0053], motor 12), the fan and the motor being integrally disposed in the smoothing head (fig. 2);
wherein the smoothing head comprises a treatment side (fig. 2, the outside of the ironing panel 7) configured to be placed opposite a fabric item to be smoothed, the treatment side comprising at least one steam vent (fig. 2, steam ejection holes 8) connected to the steam circuit (para. [0053]) and the at least one intake port forming an intake air inlet of the air intake circuit (para. [0053]).
Zhang does not clearly teach the smoothing head comprises an air cooling circuit for the motor extending between at least one cooling air inlet port and at least one cooling air vent disposed in the smoothing head, wherein the portable housing comprises an internal blade having an exterior structure and a hollow interior, the exterior structure defining a segment of the air intake circuit, and the hollow interior configured to receive cooling air from the at least one cooling air inlet port such that the hollow interior of the blade defines a segment of the air cooling circuit.
However, in the same field of suction and steaming device, Grab teaches the device comprises an air cooling circuit (fig. 5, cooling air inlet 88 and cooling air outlet 86) for the motor (fig. 6) extending between at least one cooling air inlet port (fig. 5, inlet 88) and at least one cooling air vent (fig. 5, outlet 86) disposed in the housing for motor, wherein the housing comprises an internal blade (annotated fig. 6 above, portion of seal 98 and seal wall of the motor housing) having an exterior structure (annotated fig. 6 above, exterior surface) and a hollow interior (annotated fig. 6 above, the interior comprises hollow intake 108), the exterior structure defining a segment of the air intake circuit, and the hollow interior configured to receive cooling air from the at least one cooling air inlet port (88) such that the hollow interior of the blade defines a segment of the air cooling circuit (fig. 6, para. [0054], motor intake 108 is in fluid communication with the cooling air inlet 88).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the smoothing head of Zhang with the air cooling circuit for the motor as taught by Grab so that air is drawn through the interior of the device in order to cool the suction motor (Grab, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches the blade is immoveable with respect to the portable housing (Grab, annotated fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, the modified structure Zhang-Grab teaches a direction of air flow for the air intake circuit along the exterior structure of the blade is orthogonal to a direction of air flow for the air cooling circuit through the hollow interior of the blade (annotated Grab fig. 6 below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 09/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732