Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 1/03/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Line 3 recites, “-a movable wheel centred…’ should read, “-a movable wheel centered….”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Pruden et al. (Hereinafter, “Pruden”) in the US Patent Number US 5865599 A.
Regarding claim 1, Pruden teaches a device for measuring vane [14] pitch angle of a turbomachine [12] with a first axis X [PCL] (systems, and more particularly, to adjustable pitch propulsion systems and a system for directly determining propulsion blade angle measurements for use in adjusting blade angles for different flight conditions; Column 1 Line 6-10; FIG. 3 is an elevational view of the rear of the bulkhead taken along line 3--3 of FIG. 1, wherein R is the radius from the propeller centerline P.sub.CL; Column 3 Line 63-65; FIG. 1 an overhead and partial cross-sectional view of a blade of a propulsion system, particularly a propeller blade, having installed thereon the direct blade angle measurement system; Column 4 Line 26-30; the blades of the propeller, also referred to as fan vanes), comprising:
- a movable wheel [16] (hub 16 as the wheel) (Propeller system 12 includes a propeller blade 14 which is connected with a hub 16 by known means. For example, blade 14 is connected to hub 16 by way of two bearing races 18a and 18b and is thereby rotatable in hub 16; Column 4 Line 44-47) centered on the first axis [the propeller centerline P.sub.CL] and provided with a plurality of vanes [14] (System 10 can be modified for use with any number of blades associated with different types of propulsion systems; Column 4 Line 31-33; FIG. 3 is an elevational view of the rear of the bulkhead taken along line 3--3 of FIG. 1, wherein R is the radius from the propeller centerline P.sub.CL, B.sub.CL is the propeller blade centerline, and arrow A.sub.1 represents the direction of rotation of the propeller blade; Column 3 Line 63-67) radially disposed about the axis X, each vane [14] having a root [26] (base portion 26 as the root) (System 10 of the present invention includes an arm structure 24 which is mounted to a base portion 26 of blade 14 for use in indicating blade angle; Column 4 Line 61-63) at which it the vane [14] is pivotably mounted about a second, radial pivot, axis [BCL] (For example, blade 14 is connected to hub 16 by way of two bearing races 18a and 18b and is thereby rotatable in hub 16 on axis B.sub.CL; Column 4 Line 45-47);
- a fixed frame [24] of axis X [PCL], comprising at least one set of fixed magnetic
sensors [30] (a sensor 30 adapted to sense both the reference poles and the arms of the arm structure 24 for establishing measurements used by a controller 32, shown schematically, which directly calculates blade angle from the blades; Column 4 Line 67 & Column 5 Line 1-3;
Reference poles 28 extend from their attachment with hub 16 into slots 46 in spinner bulkhead 22 or attach directly to the spinner bulkhead 22, and are also aligned on common radius R so as to pass within the range of sensors 30; Column 6 Line 5-8) perpendicular to the first axis [PCL] (Sensor 30 is preferably also secured in a nonrotatable fashion to the aircraft chassis at its stationary end structure, preferably at gearbox 50 of the aircraft, such that spinner bulkhead 22, blade 14 and the primary and secondary arms 34 and 36, along with reference poles 28, move relative to sensor 30; Column 6 Line 24-29; Figure 3 shows a fixed frame [24] of axis X [PCL], comprising at least one set of fixed magnetic sensors [30] perpendicular to the first axis [PCL]),
- the movable wheel [16] comprising a first magnetic target [28] (Reference poles 28 extend from their attachment with hub 16 into slots 46 in spinner bulkhead 22; Column 6 Line 5-6), the first magnetic target [28] being fixed on the movable wheel [16] (Reference poles 28 extend from their attachment with hub 16 into slots 46 in spinner bulkhead 22 or attach directly to the spinner bulkhead 22, and are also aligned on common radius R so as to pass within the range of sensors 30; Column 6 Line 5-8),
- each vane [14] having a profile oriented along a third axis [FWD] (Figure 2 shows each vane [14] having a profile oriented along a third axis [FWD]),
- a first magnetic needle [40] (a single tooth end portion 40 as the first magnetic needle) (Primary arm 34 is substantially a straight continuous member having a single toothed end portion 40; Column 3 Line 25-27) attached to a first vane [14] and forming a first
angle alpha [αref] with the third axis [FWD] of the first vane [14] (Figure 2 shows a first magnetic needle [40] attached to a first vane [14] and forming a first angle alpha [αref] with the third axis [FWD] of the first vane [14];
; Column 8 Line 21-24)
- the first magnetic target [28] serving as a marker for the first vane [14] (Accordingly, the pulse train for the six reference poles appear as shown in FIG. 5. The pulses associated with the specific pair of moveable pulse targets originating from arm structure 24 will occur after one of the reference pulses from reference poles 28. The timing and appearance of the moveable target pulses will vary as a function of propeller blade angle mode; Column 7 Line 34-40),
- a second magnetic needle [42] (Secondary arm 36 is angularly spaced from primary arm 34 on base structure 25 and includes a double toothed end portion 42; Column 5 Line 28-30) attached to a second vane [14] different from the first vane [14] (Accordingly, if a six blade propeller system is used, six reference poles 28 are used wherein each reference pole is spaced 60 degrees from the other on common radius R; Column 6 Line 16-18) and forming a second angle beta [α2-1] with the third axis [FWD] of the second vane [14] (Figure 2 shows - a second magnetic needle [42] attached to a second vane [14] different from the first vane [14] and forming a second angle beta with the third axis [FWD] of the second vane;
; Column 8 Line 25-27),
the second angle beta [α2-1] being different from the first angle alpha [αref] (
; Column 8 Line 21-27; The second angle beta [α2-1] being different from the first angle alpha [αref]).
Regarding claim 2, Pruden teaches a measurement device,
wherein the second angle beta [α2-1] is between alpha +20 degrees and alpha +50 degrees (This single pulse will be used for measurement of propeller blade angle in the beta and speed governing range, i.e. full reverse mode to an approximately 50 degree blade angle; Column 7 Line 24-27; Figure 2 shows [α2-1] as the second angle beta [α2-1] is between alpha +20 degrees and alpha +50 degrees).
Regarding claim 3, Pruden teaches a measurement device,
wherein the first angle alpha is between 70 and 130 degrees (If the ratio (t.sub.1 /t.sub.ref)<X, or if pulse P.sub.1 is not detected, then the blade angle is above the normal operating range, i.e. approximately greater than 50.degree., approaching feather mode, to 90.degree., in feather mode, and controller 32 will calculate blade angle .alpha..sub.calc based on time interval t.sub.2; Column 8 Line 7-12; Figure 2 shows wherein the first angle alpha is between 70 and 130 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Pruden teaches a measurement device, wherein
- the movable wheel [16] comprises a second magnetic target (14) serving
as a marker for the second vane [14] (Another advantage of this invention is that a direct blade angle measurement system is provided which includes the use of a plurality of arms connected to one or more blades, which arms are sensed by a sensor, and a plurality of reference poles also sensed by the sensor, wherein a control system is provided for determining blade angle via the sensed information; Column 9 Line 16-21),
- the first vane [14] and the second vane [14] are successive (Accordingly, if a six blade propeller system is used, six reference poles 28 are used wherein each reference pole is spaced 60 degrees from the other on common radius R; Column 6 Line 16-18; therefore - the first vane [14] and the second vane [14] are successive as there is 60 degree spaced between them),
- the at least one set of fixed magnetic sensors consists of a single set of
magnetic sensors [30] (Reference poles 28 extend from their attachment with hub 16 into slots 46 in spinner bulkhead 22 or attach directly to the spinner bulkhead 22, and are also aligned on common radius R so as to pass within the range of sensors 30; Column 6 Line 5-8; sensors 30as the single set of magnetic sensors).
Regarding claim 5, Pruden teaches a method for measuring vane pitch angle of a turbomachine by a measurement device according to claim 4 (See rejection of claim 4),
the measurement device further comprising a processing unit [32], wherein
- the method comprises:
either a single detection step (Ela), by the single set of magnetic sensors [30], for detecting a single magnetic field variation, or a multiple detection step (E1b), by the single set of magnetic sensors [30], for detecting a first magnetic field variation and a second magnetic field variation (Accordingly, as propeller system 12 is in operation and blades 14 thereof are rotating, one or more movable pulse targets are passed by sensor 30 for use in subsequent computations by controller 32 for determining the blade angle of each blade 14. As the single tooth end portion 40 of primary arm 34 passes sensor 30, a single pulse is generated and as the double tooth end portion 42 of secondary arm 36 passes sensor 30, a double pulse is generated. As reference pole 28 passes sensor 30, a uniquely shaped multiple pulse is generated.; Column 6 Line 30-40),
- if the method comprises the single detection step (Ela), the single magnetic field variation corresponds to the passage of the first magnetic needle [40] or the second magnetic needle [42] in proximity to the single set of sensors [30] (Due to the blade angle of blades 14, in the full reverse mode, only primary arm 34 is detectable by sensor 30 as a result of the movement of secondary arm 36 out of the detectable range of sensor 30. Similarly, when propeller system 12 is in the feather mode, primary arm 34 having the single toothed end portion 40 is moved out of the detectable range of sensor 30 while secondary arm 36, having the double toothed end portion, remains in range and is detectable. At the mid range mode of blades 14 of propeller system 12, both the single toothed end portion of primary arm 34 and the double toothed end portion 42 of secondary arm 36 are within the detectable range of sensor 30. Accordingly, as a consequence of the geometry of the arm structure, the rotational movement of bulkhead 22 and the pitch angle adjustments of blade 14, different pulse blade patterns are detected by sensor 30; Column 6 Line 41-56),
- if the method comprises the multiple detection step (E1b), the first magnetic field variation corresponds to the passage of the first magnetic needle (11A) in proximity to the single set of sensors (12), and the second magnetic field variation corresponds to the passage of the second magnetic needle (11B) in proximity to the single set of sensors (12) (
More particularly, and with reference to the graph of FIG. 4A, in full reverse mode, sensor 30 detects only reference pulses P.sub.ref at interval t.sub.ref, from reference pole 28, and a single pulse P.sub.1 at time t.sub.1 from primary arm 34 having single toothed end portion 40. With reference to FIG. 4B, in the feather mode, sensor 30 detects only reference pulses P.sub.ref at interval t.sub.ref from reference pole 28 and a double pulse P.sub.2 at time t.sub.2 from secondary arm 36 having the double toothed end portion 42. With reference to FIG. 4C, in the mid range mode, sensor 30 detects the reference pulses P.sub.ref at interval t.sub.ref of reference poles 28, along with both the single pulse P.sub.1 at time t.sub.1 from primary arm 34 having single end portion 40, and the double pulse P.sub.2 at time t.sub.2, from secondary arm 36 via double toothed end portion 42; Column 6 Line 57-67 & column 7 Line 1-3),
- the method comprises, following the single detection step (Ela) or the multiple detection step (Elb), a step of calculating the pitch angle (E4) by the processing unit on the basis of an electrical signal representative of a magnetic field variation (FIGS. 4A-4C indicate the relationship between the times of the reference pulses and the multiple arm structure pulses, for each of full reverse, feather, and mid range blade angle modes associated with propeller system 12. Accordingly, in full reverse mode, between two reference pulses, a single pulse from primary arm 34 and single toothed end portion 40 will be detected by sensor 30, as shown in FIG. 6B wherein single toothed end portion 40 is in the sensor plane Sp. The single pulse has a time t.sub.1 from the first occurrence of a reference pulse. In the feather mode, between two reference pulses, only the double toothed end portion 42 of secondary arm 36 will be detected by sensor 30, as shown in FIG. 6A with end portion 42 on sensor plane S.sub.p, thereby generating a double pulse at time t.sub.2 from the first reference pulse. Finally, at mid range mode or between two reference pulses, both the single and double toothed pulses of single toothed end portion 40 and double toothed end portion 42 will be detected. The single pulse occurs at a time t.sub.1, after the first reference pulse and the double pulse occurring at a time t.sub.2, after the first reference pulse, wherein time t.sub.2 is greater than time t.sub.1; Column 7Line 41-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Egedal et al. (US 20150176570 A1) discloses, “DETECTING A PITCH ANGLE ADJUSTMENT FAULT-[0002] The present invention relates to a method and to an arrangement for detecting a rotor blade pitch angle adjustment fault of a rotor blade of a wind turbine. [0073] The wind turbine 100 illustrated in a top view in FIG. 1 comprises a nacelle 101 in which a rotor shaft 103 is supported in a not illustrated bearing and can rotate within the nacelle 101. To the rotor shaft 103, a hub 105 is connected to which one or more rotor blades 107 are attached, wherein only one rotor blade 107 is illustrated in FIG. 1. The rotor blade 107 rotates in a rotation plane 109 which is perpendicular to an axis 111 of the rotor shaft 103. The rotor blade 107 has a particular cross sectional profile or airfoil having a, relative to a chord line 113, thinner side 115 facing the wind 117 and having a thicker side 119 directed away from the wind 117. The rotor blade 107 can be rotated around a longitudinal axis 121 of the rotor blade 107, in order to adjust a rotor blade pitch angle .sigma. which is the angle between the rotation plane 109 and the chord line 113. [0074] The partially illustrated wind turbine 100 further comprises an arrangement 123 for detecting a rotor blade pitch angle adjustment fault. The arrangement 123 receives input signals 125, 127 which may comprise a measured rotor blade pitch angle speed 125, i.e. the velocity or speed with which the rotor blade pitch angle .sigma. of the rotor blade 107 changes with time-However Egedal does not disclose - a first magnetic needle (11A) attached to a first vane and forming a first angle alpha with the third axis Z of the first vane, - the first magnetic target (13) serving as a marker for the first vane, the measurement device comprises a second magnetic needle (11B) attached to a second vane different from the first vane and forming a second angle beta with the third axis Z of the second vane, the second angle beta being different from the first angle alpha”.
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858