DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The 112 rejections are withdrawn based on the submitted amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 2-6, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to rejections based on Verweij have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 regarding the rejections based on Jang have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant primarily argues Jang fails to teach the open and closed interstices or that the final porous structure comprises at least 90% glass and at least 85% amorphous-glass phase and similar limitations in the dependent claims. This is not persuasive as Jang teaches the soda lime borosilicate glass spheres are sintered together by example at 90 wt% with glass powder and 100 wt% borosilicate glass spheres as set forth in the prior rejections. The SEM images, result descriptions and experimental results referred to support this. Additionally, borosilicate glass is amorphous glass and thus meets the limitations. Applicant argues that recitation of the batch compositions of Jang does not express the final fired structure. This is not persuasive as no other materials are present and thus the sintered product especially that of the 100 wt% glass spheres would reflect only that material in the final product. The examiner notes that argument does not replace evidence where evidence is necessary.
For claim 10, applicant argues the inclusion of further inorganics would not include the glass powder of Jang. This is not persuasive, as glass is considered an inorganic solid material and thus would fall within a reasonable interpretation.
For claim 18, it is noted that the claim includes about 0.6 g/cm3 which is what Jang teaches.
For claim 19, It is noted that Jang SEM images provide thus provide the necessary information to estimate the pore size. Further, Jang links the cell size distribution which is taught to the pore size [PG. 3263].
Thus, the rejections stand as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12, 15-16, 18-19 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (Processing of Cellular Glasses Using Glass Microspheres), herein Jang, as evidenced by 3M (3M™ Glass Bubbles S60HS).
In regards to claim 1, Jang teaches a porous composite of sintered glass microspheres and glass powder [Abstract, Sec. II-III]. The microspheres are physically bonded to one another and have interstices throughout the porous structure, the interstices comprising closed interstices that do not open to surfaces of the porous structure [Abstract, Fig. 1 (a-c), Sec. III ]. At least 50% of the glass microspheres are closed glass microspheres, each closed glass microspheres defining a sealed void therein, wherein the porous structure has at least 10% closed porosity in terms of volume [ Figs. 1 (a-c) and 2, Table 1, Sec. II, Fig. 5]. The open porosity is 42% to 62% by volume [Abstract, Sec. III, Fig. 4]. Jang further teaches composite comprising 90 wt% glass microspheres and 10 wt% glass powder or examples with 100 wt% microsphere content [Fig. 5, Table I. Secs. II-III]. Jang further teaches the glass of the powder and the glass microspheres, 3M S60HS, are soda-lime-borosilicate glass and are thus amorphous [Sec. II and 3M]. Thus, at least 85% of the composite is amorphous glass.
In regards to claim 6, Jang further teaches from about 65% to about 100% of the glass bubbles are closed [Sec. II-III, Fig. 1-2].
In regards to claim 10, Jang further teaches the composite comprises 90 wt% glass microspheres and 10 wt% glass powder [Table I – CG4, Sec. II].
In regards to claim 12, Jang further teaches the composite comprises 100 wt% glass microspheres and 0 wt% glass powder [Table I – CG5, Sec. II].
In regards to claim 15, Jang further teaches a composite with a closed porosity greater than about 10% [Fig. 5, 90 wt% microspheres and sinter temp of 750 oC].
In regards to claim 16, Jang further teaches a composite with an open porosity greater than about 40% [Fig. 5, 50-90 wt% microspheres and all sinter temps].
In regards to claim 18, Jang does not expressly teach the bulk density of the porous composite however, it is expected to meet the limitation as Jang teaches apparent density of the microspheres is 0.6 g/cm3 , thus the composite is expected to have a density of about 0.6 g/cm3 for a 100% microsphere sample [Sec. II].
In regards to claim 19, Jang further teaches the pore size as a cell size which has a median pore size of less than about 40 µm and more than 0.008 µm [Sec. III, Fig. 3].
In regards to claim 46-47, Jang further teaches the pore size as a cell size which has a median pore size of less than about 40 µm and more than 0.008 µm [Sec. III, Fig. 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (Processing of Cellular Glasses Using Glass Microspheres), herein Jang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20230136926 A1) [ids dated: 01/282025], herein Chen.
Regarding claim 17, Jang teaches the composite has use as a catalyst support but Jang does not teach that the composite porous structure has a cellular honeycomb structure.
Chen teaches a particulate filter having a cellular honeycomb structure comprising a plurality of glass bubbles bonded to one another [Abstract, 0006, 0011]. The honeycomb having 400 cells per square inch and a web thickness of 7 mils [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the composite of Jang to make a honeycomb filter having the structure taught by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so as Chen teaches composites of glass bubbles bonded to one another have utility as honeycomb filters and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784