DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first office action upon examination of application number 18/881123. Claims 1-7 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025 and 5/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-7 recite the limitation "the number of matches”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
(Step 1) Claims 1-7 are directed to a device comprising processing circuitry, and therefore, is directed to a machine which is a statutory category of invention.
(Step 2A) The claims recite an abstract idea instructing how to estimate a stay POI, which is described by claim limitations reciting:
…estimate a stay POI that is a POI in which a user stays in an unassociated stay that is a stay not associated with the POI, among stays comprised in user information that is a chronological history of a stay during movement of each user,
a part of which is associated with the POI in which the user stays, and adjacency of each user to other users, on the basis of the user information,
…perform a simulation assuming that the user moves via a POI candidate that is a candidate of the stay POI for each user, and
estimating the stay POI from the POI candidate, on the basis of a chronological match between adjacency between users extracted in the simulation and adjacency comprised in the user information.
The identified limitations in the claims describing estimating a stay POI (i.e., the abstract idea) fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, which covers marketing activities or, alternatively, the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas since the identified limitations can be performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper. Dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 recite limitations that further narrow the abstract idea; therefore, these claims are also found to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because additional elements such as the processing circuitry in claim 1 does not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea since these elements are only broadly applied to the abstract ideas at a high level of generality; thus, none of recited hardware offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, in this case, implementation via a processor/computer. Accordingly, these additional element do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
(Step 2B) The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the hardware additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see Spec. [0090][0099]). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Exploiting bi-directional global transition patterns and personal preferences for missing POI category identification (Xi); in view of US 2022/0201432 (Kawaguchi).
As per claim 1, Xi teaches: …estimate a stay POI that is a POI in which a user stays in an unassociated stay that is a stay not associated with the POI, among stays comprised in user information that is a chronological history of a stay during movement of each user, ([Abstract] … identify the missing POI categories at any time in the real-world check-in data of mobile users. To this end, in this paper, we propose a novel neural network approach to identify the missing POI categories by integrating both bi-directional global non-personal transition patterns and personal preferences of users. Specifically, we delicately design an attention matching cell to model how well the check-in category information matches their non-personal transition patterns and personal preferences. [Page 75] … utilize the check-in information before and after the missing category, which naturally calls for a bidirectional solution. Therefore, a long-standing challenge is how to effectively identify the missing POI categories at any time in the real-world check-in data of mobile users)
a part of which is associated with the POI in which the user stays, and adjacency of each user to other users, on the basis of the user information, ([Page 76] … users’ check-in activities usually have some public transition patterns, which are non-personal preferences. For example, users often go to dinner after work and watch a movie after dinner. The transition patterns work → dinner,dinner → movie are global and non-personal for all users. Our model is designed to capture bi-directional global transition patterns … the bi-directional global transition patterns and users’ personal preferences, the Bi-GTPPP can yield more accurate missing POI category identification. [Page 77] … Bi-GTPPP model is designed to capture the global transition patterns from bi-direction)
perform a simulation assuming that the user moves via a POI candidate that is a candidate of the stay POI for each user, and estimating the stay POI from the POI candidate, on the basis of a chronological match between adjacency between users extracted in the simulation and adjacency comprised in the user information. ([Abstract] … identify the missing POI categories by integrating both bi-directional global non-personal transition patterns and personal preferences of users. [0076] … predict the most likely location of users given their previous activities. [Page 77] model how well the user’s bi-directional check-in information matches the global transition patterns [Page 78] … we perform experiments to evaluate the proposed Bi-GTPPP model against various baseline methods on two real-world LBSNs datasets [0075] … identify the missing POI categories at any time in the real-world check-in data of mobile users).
Although not explicitly taught by Xi, Kawaguchi teaches: a stay point of interest (POI) estimation device, comprising processing circuitry configured to estimate a stay POI that is a POI in which a user stays in an unassociated stay that is a stay not associated with the POI ([0039] The information processing apparatus 100 may be constituted by, for example, a personal computer (hereinafter, referred to as “PC”). The information processing apparatus 100 includes a control unit 110, a storage unit 130, [0004] In order to actually utilize the location information history, it is necessary to model the location information history in accordance with the purpose. For example, as approaches for modeling a staying location transition of a user, there have been known a “coordinate transition model” that represents staying locations by coordinates (latitude and longitude) and a “label transition model” that represents staying locations by labels (for example, residential districts, restaurants, and the like). By modeling the location information history, the data can be abstracted and the meaning can be easily settled for each user.).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Xi with the aforementioned teachings of Kawaguchi with the motivation of labeling stay locations (Kawaguchi [0004]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Kawaguchi to the system of Xi would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the labeling of stay locations.
As per claim 2, Xi teaches: determine the POI candidate of the user, on the basis of at least one of a stay of the user immediately before the unassociated stay and a stay of the user immediately after the unassociated stay ([Page 76] … users’ check-in activities usually have some public transition patterns, which are non-personal preferences. For example, users often go to dinner after work and watch a movie after dinner. The transition patterns work → dinner,dinner → movie are global and non-personal for all users. Our model is designed to capture bi-directional global transition patterns … the bi-directional global transition patterns and users’ personal preferences, the Bi-GTPPP can yield more accurate missing POI category identification).
As per claim 3, Xi teaches: determine POI candidates of each of users in contact with each other in the unassociated stay by narrowing down the POI candidates to POI candidates overlapping each other among the POI candidates determined for each of the users ([Page 78] … The most popular categories in the training set are selected as the prediction for all users).
As per claim 4, although not explicitly taught by Xi, Kawaguchi teaches: wherein the estimation unit groups processing circuitry is further configured to group users in contact with each other in a predetermined period, and performs the simulation in the predetermined period for each group ([0047] … specifying a vector representation VRa representing features of respective temporal usage patterns (how the location is used with respect to time) of L areas (L is an integer greater than or equal to 2). In the present embodiment, a staying pattern of each user in each area is used as a temporal usage pattern of each area. [0051] The area-specific usage pattern data Da is data for specifying the staying pattern by the combination of the staying date attribute (staying day of the week), the staying time point (arrival time), and the staying time length of each user in each area. FIG. 5 is an explanatory diagram illustrating a classification of each item for specifying the staying pattern. [0056] … The vector representation VRa of each area specified in this way represents a feature such as on which kind of date (day of the week), in which time zone, and how long a person tends to stay in the area. [0073] … The vector representation transition model of a user is a model which represents the staying area of each user at each time point by the vector representation VRa of the area. In the example shown in FIG. 11, the user starts from an area having an area ID:7838 (belonging cluster:<b>9</b>), and transits the staying location in the order of an area having an area ID:6938 (belonging cluster:1), an area having an area ID:7838 (belonging cluster:9), an area having an area ID:6096 (belonging cluster:0), and an area having an area ID:7838 (belonging cluster:9) . . . , and the staying transitions are represented by vector representations VRa of respective staying areas. By using the vector representation transition model, for example, comparison of staying location transitions among a plurality of users can be performed on the basis of the distance between the vector representations VRa of each of the areas where each of the users stayed. [0120] … the temporal usage pattern (how the location is used with respect to time) of each area … As shown in FIG. 4, the area-specific usage pattern data Da indicates which of the 144 staying patterns specified by a combination of the staying day of the week, the staying time point, and the staying time length the individual stay of each user in each area is).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Xi with the aforementioned teachings of Kawaguchi with the motivation of labeling stay locations (Kawaguchi [0004]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Kawaguchi to the system of Xi would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the labeling of stay locations.
As per claim 5, Xi teaches: on the basis of the number of matches in the simulation, computes compute an estimation accuracy of the stay POI ([Page 79] … To evaluate the performance of our proposed Bi-GTPPP model and the baselines described above, we follow the existing works (Liu et al., 2016) to use several standard metrics: Recall@K, F1 score@K and Mean Average Precision (MAP) [0080] … Table2 Evaluation of missing category identification in terms of Recall@K, F1-score@KandMAP).
As per claim 6, Xi teaches: on the basis of the number of matches in the simulation with respect to one POI candidate, computes compute an estimation accuracy of the one POI candidate ([Page 79] … To evaluate the performance of our proposed Bi-GTPPP model and the baselines described above, we follow the existing works (Liu et al., 2016) to use several standard metrics: Recall@K, F1 score@K and Mean Average Precision (MAP) [0080] … Table2 Evaluation of missing category identification in terms of Recall@K, F1-score@KandMAP).
As per claim 7, Xi teaches: on the basis of the number of matches in the simulation, and the number of matches in the simulation with respect to one POI candidate, computes compute an estimation accuracy of the one POI candidate ([Page 79] … To evaluate the performance of our proposed Bi-GTPPP model and the baselines described above, we follow the existing works (Liu et al., 2016) to use several standard metrics: Recall@K, F1 score@K and Mean Average Precision (MAP) [0080] … Table2 Evaluation of missing category identification in terms of Recall@K, F1-score@KandMAP).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0370844 (Lara) – discloses a system that detects and labels user points of interest.
/ALAN TORRICO-LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625