DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, grooved sleeve of claim 1, the seat of claim 8 and the marking opening and repair support screw of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “removable support sleeve” should be --the removable support sleeve--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, lines 7-9 recite “and a reverse gear which engages with a movable gear arranged on a grooved sleeve of the input shaft, which is movable by virtue of tilting the inner switching fork and being driven by means of an axle with a lever,”. It is vague and unclear what in this clause pertains to a reverse gear. Is a reverse gear or a movable gear movable by virtue of tilting the inner switching fork? What is being driven by means of an axle with a lever?
Line 10 recites “the outer switching fork is restricted by means of a removable sector…”. It is unclear what a removable sector is. Claims 5-8 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites “a marking opening is provided in the chain transmission housing, the marking opening being intended for installing a repair support screw…”. It is vague and unclear what is being claimed. The claimed features, a marking opening and a repair support screw, do not appear to be shown in the drawings and examiner is unclear what features are being described just from the written description. Therefore, a prior art rejection is not possible at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pard et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0408292.
As per claim 1, Pard et al. disclose a snowmobile transmission (170) [gearbox] comprising a chain transmission housing (176) with a cover (fig. 3), an input shaft (174) [secondary shaft] and output shaft (175) [driveshaft] (para [0111]) arranged inside the housing, as well as a chain transmission drive (fig. 3), the chain transmission drive including a chain (206) that connects a drive sprocket (204) arranged on the input shaft (174) to a driven sprocket (208) arranged on the output shaft (175) (figs. 2, 3), an inner switching fork (267) and an outer switching fork (229), an adjusting rod (236), a reverse gear axle (165) [countershaft] about which a reverse gear sprocket (246) freely rotates being also arranged inside the housing, the reverse gear sprocket (246) engaging with the chain, and a reverse gear (184) which engages with a movable gear (248) arranged on a grooved sleeve of the input shaft, which is movable by virtue of tilting the inner switching fork (267) and being driven by means of an axle with a lever (274) [linkage], wherein rotation of the outer switching fork (229) is restricted by means of a removable sector (228) which is fixed to the housing cover (figs. 3, 15); and an adjusting screw (fig. E-1), which abuts against a support sleeve (fig. E-1) and is fixed by means of a cotter pin (fig. E-1), is arranged on the housing.
As per claim 5, Pard et al. as set forth above, disclose a tensioner support (fig. E-2) is arranged on a chain tensioner (210), which abuts against the housing cover (fig. 3).
As per claim 7, Pard et al. as set forth above, disclose additional guides (fig. E-3) for the chain (206), which function both in a forward gear mode and a reverse gear mode, are arranged inside the housing.
As per claim 8, Pard et al. as set forth above, disclose a seat (fig. E-2) is provided on the housing for installing a removable support sleeve (fig. E-1) designed for the adjusting screw (fig. E-1) to abut against removable support sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pard et al. in view of Kato et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0162820.
As per claim 6, Pard et al. as set forth above, does not disclose a steel roller is arranged on the chain tensioner. However, Kato et al. in their Chain Guide and Chain Transmission Device invention teach the use of steel rollers in contact with a timing chain to maintain tension on a chain (paras [0001, 0017, 0046], abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pard et al. with a steel roller in contact with the chain, as taught by Kato et al., for the purpose of preventing early wear on the outer surfaces of the rollers due to contact with the chain (abstract).
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654