DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on 04/27/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 26-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15, 26 recite the limitation: “… the predicted block of the block of the video picture being an average of the two block vectors …” (emphasis added to accentuate indefinite phrasing). This is technically incoherent. A "block vector" is a spatial coordinate. According to the applicant’s specification (US Pub. No.: 2026/0006217 A1), [0003] states: “A block vector indicates the displacement from a block to be predicted of a video picture to a reference block, which is already reconstructed (decoded) inside the video picture.” It is improper to mathematically "average" two coordinate offsets to create a "predicted block" (which is an array of pixel values). Since the "predicted block" cannot be an average of vectors, the claim is indefinite. Further, the applicant’s specification, [0171] states: “… derives a predicted block of the block of the video picture […] from a blending of the two reconstructed block vectors …”.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the following:
“… the predicted block of the block of the video picture derived from blending the two block vectors …” (emphasis added).
Claims 26-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, the applicant’s specification does not appear to have written description support for at least the following limitations: “… performed by a decoder, comprising: receiving an intra-block-copy mode type … determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode … deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the determined intra-block-copy prediction mode, wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture comprises: receiving a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed, and receiving two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, 15, 26-29, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al., hereinafter referred to as Chang (US 2020/0336735 A1) in view of Xu et al., hereinafter referred to as Xu (US 2023/0093129 A1).
As per claim 1, Chang discloses a method of predicting a block of a video picture, performed by an encoder (Chang: Abstract.), comprising:
signaling an intra-block-copy mode type (syntax element), the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) [signaling] a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0239] disclose video encoder 200 configured to encode the syntax element that specifies the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and codes the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The encoder configures the IBC prediction mode based on the signaled syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].),
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “… wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises: signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed; and signaling two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture being an average of the two block vectors.”
Further, Xu is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed (Xu: Para. [0174] discloses "IBC may be implemented as an extension of inter-prediction mode, treating a current frame as a reference frame in inter-prediction mode such that blocks within the current frame may be used as prediction reference. Such IBC implementations thus may follow a coding path for inter prediction … relying on similar or identical syntax structure and decoding processes as inter-prediction mode" and Xu: Para. [0112] discloses the corresponding syntax element: "reconstruct, from the coded picture, certain symbols that represent the syntax elements … Such symbols can include, for example, the mode in which a block is coded (e.g., intra mode, inter mode, bi-predicted mode …) [claimed signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed]."); and
signaling two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture (Xu: Para. [0099] discloses signaling two motion vectors/block vectors and blending the blocks for bi-prediction: "a bi-prediction technique can be used for inter-picture prediction … A block in the current picture can be coded by a first motion vector [first block vector] that points to a first reference block … and a second motion vector [second block vector] that points to a second reference block … The block can be jointly predicted by a combination of the first reference block and the second reference block [claimed signaling two block vectors … the predicted block of the block of the video picture derived from a blending of the two block vectors]." Since the IBC mode leverages the identical syntax structures and decoding processes as the inter-prediction mode (Para. [0174]), the IBC mode implements this dual-vector bi-prediction and blending.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Xu before him or her, to modify the encoding decoding system of Chang to include the bi-prediction and blending capabilities feature as described in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency and higher prediction accuracy by providing techniques that handle complex repeating patterns.
As per claim 15, Chang discloses an encoder of predicting a block of a video picture (Chang: Abstract.), comprising:
a processor (Chang: Para. [0010] discloses a processor.); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to (Chang: Para. [0010] discloses a memory storing instructions executable by the processor.):
signal an intra-block-copy mode type, the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) [signaling] a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
configure the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0239] discloses video decoder 300 configured to derive the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and decode the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The decoder configures the IBC prediction mode based on the signaled syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
derive a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].),
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “… wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises: signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed; and signaling two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture being an average of the two block vectors.”
Further, Xu is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed (Xu: Para. [0174] discloses "IBC may be implemented as an extension of inter-prediction mode, treating a current frame as a reference frame in inter-prediction mode such that blocks within the current frame may be used as prediction reference. Such IBC implementations thus may follow a coding path for inter prediction … relying on similar or identical syntax structure and decoding processes as inter-prediction mode" and Xu: Para. [0112] discloses the corresponding syntax element: "reconstruct, from the coded picture, certain symbols that represent the syntax elements … Such symbols can include, for example, the mode in which a block is coded (e.g., intra mode, inter mode, bi-predicted mode …) [claimed signaling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed]."); and
signaling two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture (Xu: Para. [0099] teaches signaling two motion vectors/block vectors and blending the blocks for bi-prediction: "a bi-prediction technique can be used for inter-picture prediction … A block in the current picture can be coded by a first motion vector [first block vector] that points to a first reference block … and a second motion vector [second block vector] that points to a second reference block … The block can be jointly predicted by a combination of the first reference block and the second reference block [claimed signaling two block vectors … the predicted block of the block of the video picture derived from a blending of the two block vectors]." Since the IBC mode leverages the identical syntax structures and decoding processes as the inter-prediction mode (Para. [0174]), the IBC mode implements this dual-vector bi-prediction and blending.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Xu before him or her, to modify the encoding decoding system of Chang to include the bi-prediction and blending capabilities feature as described in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency and higher prediction accuracy by providing techniques that handle complex repeating patterns.
As per claim 26, Chang discloses a method of predicting a block of a video picture, performed by a decoder (Chang: Abstract.), comprising:
receiving an intra-block-copy mode type, the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0237], [0239] disclose decoding the syntax element that specifies the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and decodes the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The decoder determines the IBC prediction mode based on the decoded syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the determined intra-block-copy prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].),
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “… wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture comprises: receiving a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed, and receiving two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture being an average of the two block vectors.”.
Further, Xu is in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture comprises:
receiving a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed (Xu: Para. [0174] discloses "IBC may be implemented as an extension of inter-prediction mode, treating a current frame as a reference frame in inter-prediction mode such that blocks within the current frame may be used as prediction reference. Such IBC implementations thus may follow a coding path for inter prediction … relying on similar or identical syntax structure and decoding processes as inter-prediction mode" and Xu: Para. [0112] discloses the corresponding syntax element: "reconstruct, from the coded picture, certain symbols that represent the syntax elements … Such symbols can include, for example, the mode in which a block is coded (e.g., intra mode, inter mode, bi-predicted mode …) [claimed receiving a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed]."), and
receiving two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture (Xu: Para. [0099] teaches receiving two motion vectors/block vectors and blending the blocks for bi-prediction: "a bi-prediction technique can be used for inter-picture prediction … A block in the current picture can be coded by a first motion vector [first block vector] that points to a first reference block … and a second motion vector [second block vector] that points to a second reference block … The block can be jointly predicted by a combination of the first reference block and the second reference block [claimed receiving two block vectors … the predicted block of the block of the video picture derived from a blending of the two block vectors]." Since the IBC mode leverages the identical syntax structures and decoding processes as the inter-prediction mode (Para. [0174]), the IBC mode implements this dual-vector bi-prediction and blending.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Xu before him or her, to modify the encoding decoding system of Chang to include the bi-prediction and blending capabilities feature as described in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency and higher prediction accuracy by providing techniques that handle complex repeating patterns.
As per claim 2, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the block belonging to a slice of the video picture, the intra-block-copy mode type into is signaled at a slice level (Chang: Paras. [0237], [0329] disclose coding a slice-level syntax element that specifies the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates; and coding a block of video data in a slice according to the slice-level syntax element.).
As per claim 3, Chang discloses the method of claim 1,
signaling a second syntax element to identify a block vector predictor of each block vector in a list of block vectors associated with neighboring already decoded blocks of the block of the video picture, the neighboring blocks belonging to the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0006], [0185], [0241] disclose coding a merge index (merge_idx) [second syntax element] into the intra block copy merging candidate list. The merge index indicates which of the candidates in the intra block copy merging candidate is to be used to obtain a block/motion vector. Each block vector is associated with the intra block copy merging candidate. The selection is made from a list of block vectors associated with neighboring blocks in the same picture.).
As per claim 5, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one block vector is represented at a sub-pel accuracy level (Para. [0091] discloses if the motion vector has fractional sample precision, motion compensation unit 224 may interpolate values for the prediction block [a vector having fractional sample precision (e.g., necessitating interpolation) is a vector represented at a sub-pel accuracy level].).
As per claim 12, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
encoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block (Chang: Paras. [0008], [0232], [0242] disclose encoding or decoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block.).
As per claim 27, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 2 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 28, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 3 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 29, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 5 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 34, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
decoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block (Chang: Paras. [0008], [0232], [0242] disclose encoding or decoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block.).
As per claim 35, Chang discloses a decoder of predicting a block of a video picture, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 26 (Chang: Para. [0010] discloses a decoder of predicting a block of a video picture, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 26.).
Claims 6-7, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu in further view of Xu et al., hereinafter referred to as Xu 727 (US 2020/0112727 A1).
As per claim 6, Chang-Xu disclose the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises (Chang: [0008], [0232], [0242]):
However, Chang-Xu do not explicitly disclose “… signaling at least one block vector difference calculated between a block vector and a reference block inside the video picture, wherein each block vector difference is signalled using sub-pel accuracy level.”
Further, Xu 727 is in the same field of endeavor and teaches signaling at least one block vector difference calculated between a block vector and a reference block inside the video picture, wherein each block vector difference is signaled using sub-pel accuracy level (Xu 727: Paras. [0093]-[0094] [0137], [0148] disclose signaling a block vector difference between block vectors and a reference blocks of the same video picture at sub-pel accuracy.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang-Xu and Xu 727 before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang-Xu to include the block vector difference signaled using sub-pel accuracy feature as described in Xu 727. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve flexibility and coding efficiency by enabling specific inter prediction techniques that configure special modes for offset vector signaling.
As per claim 7, Chang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
encoding each block vector difference, the encoding being limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Xu 727: Paras. [0101]-[0102], [0115] disclose encoding the offset (BVD) limited to specific directions and magnitudes. It describes using an "offset direction IDX" and "distance IDX" to select from a pre-defined set of directions (e.g., Tables 2-7) and step sizes (e.g., Tables 8-12).),
wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises signaling a third syntax element to indicate whether the block vector difference encoding is limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Chang: Paras. [0093], [0203]-[0205] disclose signaling a syntax element “mmvd_flag” [third syntax element] to indicate if the merge mode with limited vector difference (MMVD) is used. Further, Xu 727: Para. [0110] discloses signaling the offset information can be unified for MV prediction and BV prediction.).
As per claim 30, Chang-Xu-Xu-727 disclose the method of claim 26, wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
receiving at least one block vector difference calculated between a block vector and a reference block inside the video picture, wherein each block vector difference is signaled using sub-pel accuracy level (Xu 727: Paras. [0093]-[0094] [0137], [0148] disclose receiving a block vector difference between block vectors and a reference blocks of the same video picture at sub-pel accuracy.).
As per claim 31, Chang-Xu-Xu-727 disclose the method of claim 30, wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
decoding each block vector difference, the decoding being limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Xu 727: Paras. [0101]-[0102], [0115] disclose decoding the offset (BVD) limited to specific directions and magnitudes. It describes using an "offset direction IDX" and "distance IDX" to select from a pre-defined set of directions (e.g., Tables 2-7) and step sizes (e.g., Tables 8-12).),
wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises receiving a third syntax element to determine whether the block vector difference encoding is limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Chang: Paras. [0093], [0203]-[0205] disclose receiving a syntax element “mmvd_flag” [third syntax element] to indicate if the merge mode with limited vector difference (MMVD) is used. Further, Xu 727: Para. [0110] discloses signaling the offset information can be unified for MV prediction and BV prediction.).
Claims 9, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu in further view of Li et al., hereinafter referred to as Li (US 2023/0075788 A1).
As per claim 9, Chang-Xu disclose the method of claim 1 , wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture (Chang: [0232], [0242])
However, Chang-Xu do not explicitly disclose … further comprises: signaling a fourth syntax element to indicate whether an intra-block-copy prediction based on template matching is used to derive the predicted block of the block of the video picture or the predicted block of the block of the video picture is derived based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode.
Further, Li is in the same field of endeavor and teaches signaling a fourth syntax element to indicate whether an intra-block-copy prediction based on template matching is used to derive the predicted block of the block of the video picture or the predicted block of the block of the video picture is derived based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Li: Para. [0174] discloses “When the current block is in the IBC merge mode, a second flag (e.g., denoted by template_matching_ibc_merge_flag) … are signaled in the coded bitstream ... When the second flag … equals to 1, template matching search can be performed … When the second flag … equals 0 … template matching search is disabled, and the candidate BV … is used”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang-Xu and Li before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang-Xu to include the template matching syntax element feature as described in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve rate-distortion performance by providing a configuration that yields the best prediction quality or lowest bit cost for a given block.
As per claim 32, Chang-Xu disclose the method of claim 26, wherein determining the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
receiving a fourth syntax element to determine whether an intra-block-copy prediction based on template matching is used to derive the predicted block of the block of the video picture or the predicted block of the block of the video picture is derived based on the determined intra-block-copy prediction mode (Li: Para. [0174] discloses “When the current block is in the IBC merge mode, a second flag (e.g., denoted by template_matching_ibc_merge_flag) … are signaled in the coded bitstream ... When the second flag … equals to 1, template matching search can be performed … When the second flag... equals 0 … template matching search is disabled, and the candidate BV … is used”.).
Claims 10, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu in further view of Zhang et al., hereinafter referred to as Zhang (US 2024/0275941 A1).
As per claim 10, Chang discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode comprises:
deriving a first predicted block of the block of the video picture from the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose the concept of deriving a first predicted block of the block of the video picture from the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode.);
deriving a second predicted block of the block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose the concept of deriving a second predicted block of the block of the video picture.); and
deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode.).
However, Chang-Xu do not explicitly disclose … by blending the first and second predicted blocks ….
Further, Zhang is in the same field of endeavor and teaches deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture by blending the first and second predicted blocks (Zhang: Paras. [1232]-[1235] disclose a new CIIP prediction mode (called CIIP_N) combines at least one IBC prediction signal and at least one prediction signal, generated by a second prediction method. The blending operation: The final prediction signal of the CIIP_N mode, PCIIP_N, is derived by a weighted averaging of the IBC prediction signal PIBC and the prediction signal generated by the second prediction method. The CIIP_N prediction is formed as PCIIP_N=((2^N-w_t)*PIBC+wt*Psec+offset)>>N.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang-Xu and Zhang before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang-Xu to include the prediction blending feature as described in Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency and prediction accuracy by averaging the distinct characteristics of IBC (recurrent patterns) and Inter/Intra modes (temporal/spatial consistency) that generate a more accurate prediction block.
As per claim 33, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 10 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEET DHILLON whose telephone number is (571)270-5647. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 5am-1:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 06-10-2026