DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 17-19, 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re. Claim 9, the claim recites the limitation: “… signalling a fourth syntax element to indicate weather an intra-block-copy prediction …” (bold emphasis added for misspelling of the word “whether”). Appropriate correction is required.
Re. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 17-19, 21, the claims go back and forth between different spellings of the word “signal”. For example, some claims use “signaling” and “signalling” in the same claim, in other cases, only “signalling” or only “signaling”. Similar for “signalled” vs “signaled”. The examiner suggests using only one version of the word (e.g., “signaling”, “signaled” without the double “ll”) for all claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15, 17 recite the limitation: “… configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode …” (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis). There is no mentioning of intra-block-copy mode prediction mode.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the following:
“… configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode …” (emphasis added).
Claims 2 & 18 recite the limitation “… wherein the block belonging to a slice of the video picture, the intra-block-copy mode type into is signalled at a slice level …” (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis and indefiniteness). The limitation appears to imply that “the block” initially “belonged” to a slice of the video picture. There is no mentioning of this concept in the parent claim. Further, it is unclear as to what the applicant’s intent is from the following limitation: “the intra-block-copy mode type into is signalled at a slice level”.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the following:
“… wherein the block belonging to a slice of the video picture, the intra-block-copy mode type [[into]] is signalled at a slice level …” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al., hereinafter referred to as Chang (US 2020/0336735 A1).
As per claim 1, Chang discloses a method of predicting a block of a video picture (Chang: Abstract.), comprising:
signaling an intra-block-copy mode type (syntax element), the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) [signaling] a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0239] discloses video decoder 300 configured to derive the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and decode the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The decoder configures the IBC prediction mode based on the signaled syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].).
As per claim 15, Chang discloses an apparatus of predicting a block of a video picture (Chang: Abstract.), comprising:
a processor (Chang: Para. [0010] discloses a processor.); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to (Chang: Para. [0010] discloses a memory storing instructions executable by the processor.):
signal an intra-block-copy mode type, the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) [signaling] a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
configure the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0239] discloses video decoder 300 configured to derive the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and decode the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The decoder configures the IBC prediction mode based on the signaled syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
derive a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].).
As per claim 17, Chang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method of predicting a block of a video picture (Chang: Abstract.), the method comprising:
signaling an intra-block-copy mode type, the intra-block-copy mode type indicating whether an intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict camera-captured video content or not, the intra-block-copy prediction mode determining at least one block vector for predicting the block of the video picture from at least one reference block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232]-[0234], [0237] disclose coding (i.e., encode or decode) [signaling] a syntax element that indicates the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates that are to be used to determine motion/block vectors for intra block copy mode, which are separate from any syntax elements that may indicate a maximum number of merging candidates for other prediction modes. The intra block copy mode is a prediction mode in which blocks of video data in a current picture are predicted from other blocks [at least one reference block] in the current picture [video picture], where the predictive blocks are identified by a block vector. Coding video data using intra block copy mode may be performed with higher coding efficiency using fewer merging candidates than regular merge mode for natural content [camera-captured video content].);
configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture, in response to the intra-block-copy mode type indicating that the intra-block-copy prediction mode is configured to predict the camera-captured video content (Chang: Paras. [0234], [0239] discloses video decoder 300 configured to derive the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates based on the value of the first syntax element and decode the first block of video data using intra block copy mode according to the maximum number. The decoder configures the IBC prediction mode based on the signaled syntax element (mode type) which corresponds to the nature of the content [camera-captured].); and
deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose determining an intra block copy merging candidate to determine the block vector associated with the intra block copy merging candidate, and code the first block of video data using the determined block vector. The block vector is then used to derive a predicted block, which is based on the intra block copy mode according to the maximum number [configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode].).
As per claim 2, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the block belonging to a slice of the video picture, the intra-block-copy mode type into is signalled at a slice level (Chang: Paras. [0237], [0329] disclose coding a slice-level syntax element that specifies the maximum number of intra block copy merging candidates; and coding a block of video data in a slice according to the slice-level syntax element.).
As per claim 3, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
signalling a first syntax element indicating whether bi-prediction is allowed; and
signalling two block vectors in response to the first syntax element indicating that bi-prediction is allowed, the predicted block of the block of the video picture being an average of the two block vectors;
or signalling a second syntax element to identify a block vector predictor of each block vector in a list of block vectors associated with neighboring already decoded blocks of the block of the video picture, the neighboring blocks belonging to the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0006], [0185], [0241] disclose coding a merge index (merge_idx) [second syntax element] into the intra block copy merging candidate list. The merge index indicates which of the candidates in the intra block copy merging candidate is to be used to obtain a block/motion vector. Each block vector is associated with the intra block copy merging candidate. The selection is made from a list of block vectors associated with neighboring blocks in the same picture.).
As per claim 5, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one block vector is represented at a sub-pel accuracy level (Para. [0091] discloses if the motion vector has fractional sample precision, motion compensation unit 224 may interpolate values for the prediction block [a vector having fractional sample precision (e.g., necessitating interpolation) is a vector represented at a sub-pel accuracy level].).
As per claim 12, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
encoding or decoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block (Chang: Paras. [0008], [0232], [0242] disclose encoding or decoding the block of the video picture based on the derived predicted block.).
As per claim 18, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 2 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 19, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 3 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 20, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 5 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 25, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 12 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 & 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu et al., hereinafter referred to as Xu (US 2020/0112727 A1).
As per claim 6, Chang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises (Chang: [0008], [0232], [0242]):
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “… signaling at least one block vector difference calculated between a block vector and a reference block inside the video picture, wherein each block vector difference is signalled using sub-pel accuracy level.”
Further, Xu is in the same field of endeavor and teaches signaling at least one block vector difference calculated between a block vector and a reference block inside the video picture, wherein each block vector difference is signalled using sub-pel accuracy level (Xu: Paras. [0093]-[0094] [0137], [0148] disclose signaling a block vector difference between block vectors and a reference blocks of the same video picture at sub-pel accuracy.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Xu before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang to include the block vector difference signaled using sub-pel accuracy feature as described in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve flexibility and coding efficiency by enabling specific inter prediction techniques that configure special modes for offset vector signaling.
As per claim 21, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 6 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
As per claim 7, Chang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises:
encoding each block vector difference, the encoding being limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Xu: Paras. [0101]-[0102], [0115] disclose encoding the offset (BVD) limited to specific directions and magnitudes. It describes using an "offset direction IDX" and "distance IDX" to select from a pre-defined set of directions (e.g., Tables 2-7) and step sizes (e.g., Tables 8-12).),
wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture further comprises signalling a third syntax element to indicate whether the block vector difference encoding is limited to some vector directions and magnitudes (Chang: Paras. [0093], [0203]-[0205] disclose signaling a syntax element “mmvd_flag” [third syntax element] to indicate if the merge mode with limited vector difference (MMVD) is used. Further, Xu: Para. [0110] discloses signaling the offset information can be unified for MV prediction and BV prediction.).
As per claim 22, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 7 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 9, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Li et al., hereinafter referred to as Li (US 2023/0075788 A1).
As per claim 9, Chang discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein configuring the intra-block-copy prediction mode to predict the block of the video picture (Chang: [0232], [0242])
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose … further comprises: signalling a fourth syntax element to indicate weather an intra-block-copy prediction based on template matching is used to derive the predicted block of the block of the video picture or the predicted block of the block of the video picture is derived based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode.
Further, Li is in the same field of endeavor and teaches signalling a fourth syntax element to indicate weather an intra-block-copy prediction based on template matching is used to derive the predicted block of the block of the video picture or the predicted block of the block of the video picture is derived based on the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Li: Para. [0174] discloses When the current block is in the IBC merge mode, a second flag (e.g., denoted by template_matching_ibc_merge_flag) … are signaled in the coded bitstream ... When the second flag … equals to 1, template matching search can be performed … When the second flag... equals 0 … template matching search is disabled, and the candidate BV … is used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Li before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang to include the template matching syntax element feature as described in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve rate-distortion performance by providing a configuration that yields the best prediction quality or lowest bit cost for a given block.
As per claim 23, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 9 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 10, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang et al., hereinafter referred to as Zhang (US 2024/0275941 A1).
As per claim 10, Chang discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode comprises:
deriving a first predicted block of the block of the video picture from the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose the concept of deriving a first predicted block of the block of the video picture from the configured intra-block-copy prediction mode.);
deriving a second predicted block of the block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose the concept of deriving a second predicted block of the block of the video picture.); and
deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture (Chang: Paras. [0232], [0242] disclose deriving a predicted block of the block of the video picture based on the configured intra-block-copy mode prediction mode.).
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose … by blending the first and second predicted blocks ….
Further, Zhang is in the same field of endeavor and teaches deriving the predicted block of the block of the video picture by blending the first and second predicted blocks (Zhang: Paras. [1232]-[1235] disclose a new CIIP prediction mode (called CIIP_N) combines at least one IBC prediction signal and at least one prediction signal, generated by a second prediction method. The blending operation: The final prediction signal of the CIIP_N mode, PCIIP_N, is derived by a weighted averaging of the IBC prediction signal PIBC and the prediction signal generated by the second prediction method. The CIIP_N prediction is formed as PCIIP_N=((2^N-w_t)*PIBC+wt*Psec+offset)>>N.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Chang and Zhang before him or her, to modify the video coding system of Chang to include the prediction blending feature as described in Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve coding efficiency and prediction accuracy by averaging the distinct characteristics of IBC (recurrent patterns) and Inter/Intra modes (temporal/spatial consistency) that generate a more accurate prediction block.
As per claim 24, the claim(s) recites analogous limitations to claim(s) 10 above, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 01-16-2026