DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 July 2025 and 14 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “9” has been used to designate both a “groove”, as shown in Figure 1c and a “protrusion/lug”, as shown in Figure 3b.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Providing the sieve and/or the support frame with a data tag containing an identifier, as recited in claim 12.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 1, page line 27: A – comma – should be inserted prior to the term “such.”
Page 3, page lines 26 and 27: References to specific claims numbers within the specification should be avoided as the numbers may change during prosecution of the application and final numbering during allowance.
Page 4, page line 7: A – comma – should be inserted after the abbreviation “i.e.”
Page 6, page lines 10, 15, 21, 25, and 36: The abbreviation -- Figs. – should replace the abbreviation “Fig.”
Page 7, page line 27: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “art.”
Page 8, page lines 6 and 7: A – comma – should be inserted after the abbreviation “i.e.”
Page 8, page lines 14 and 35: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “embodiment.”
Page 9, page line 2: Reference numeral – 16 – should be inserted after the term “gap.”
Page 9, page line 16: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “ribs.”
Page 9, page line 20: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “embodiment.”
Page 9, page line 31: A – comma – should be inserted after reference numeral “6.”
Page 10, page line 15: A – comma – should be inserted after the abbreviation “i.e.”
Page 10, page lines 25 and 26: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “example.”
Page 10, page line 26: A – period – should be inserted after the abbreviation “Figs.”
Page 11, page line 15: Reference numeral – 2 – should replace reference numeral “3.”
Page 11, page line 28: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “variant.”
Page 11, page lines 25 and 27: A – comma – should be inserted after figure designation “3b.”
Page 11, page line 32: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “embodiment.”
Page 11, page line 33: Reference numeral “9” has been previously used to identify a “groove” (page 8, page line 16). A groove and a protrusion/lug are not synonyms; such that the same structure does not appear to be described. Thus, some other reference numeral should be used.
Page 12, page line 1: A – comma – should be inserted after figure designation “4c.”
Page 12, page line 10: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “embodiment.”
Page 12, page line 17: Some term should be inserted between the terms “allows” and “to.”
Page 12, page line 20: A – comma – should be inserted after the term “position.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, claim line 1: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the assembly.
Re claim 6, claim line 3: The term – configured – should be inserted prior to the term “for” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the mating centering features.
Re claim 7, claim line 3: The term “support frame” should replace the term “it” to avoid potential confusion.
Re claim 8, claim line 4: The term “sieve” should replace the term “it” to avoid potential confusion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim lines 4-5, 7, and 9: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., an impacting and collecting surface or the narrower limitation of a petri dish.
Re claim 3, claim lines 2-3: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., a material capable of withstanding autoclaving for sterilization, the narrower concept of a metal material; or even the narrower limitation of stainless steel.
Re claim 3, claim line 4: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., a disposable material or the narrower limitation of a plastics material.
Re claim 4, claim lines 2-3: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., a releasable engagement between the support frame and the sieve or the narrower limitation of a form-locking engagement.
Re claim 6, claim lines 2-4: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., mating centering features or the narrower limitation of mating conical surfaces and/or one or more mating protrusions and recesses.
Re claim 7, claim line 4: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., an impacting and collecting surface or the narrower limitation of a petri dish.
Re claim 8, claim lines 2-3: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., one or more lateral protrusions or the narrower limitation of one or more lugs.
Re claim 10, claim lines 2-4: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Additionally, it is unclear if applicant want consideration of two narrower limitations, i.e., one or more lateral protrusions and/or recesses; or a peripheral shoulder or groove.
Re claim 12, claim line 3: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., a data tag containing an identifier or the narrower limitation of an electronically readable data tag.
Re claim 13, claim line 6: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., an impacting and collecting surface or the narrower limitation of a petri dish.
Re claim 14, claim lines 2-3: The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if applicant want consideration of the broader limitation, i.e., an impacting and collecting surface or the narrower limitation of a petri dish.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Re claim 14, claim lines 2-3: The sampling lid assembly comprising an impacting and collecting surface has been previously recited (claim 1, claim lines 4-5). Claims 14 does not appear to add anything that has not been previously claimed.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,922,905 (Roth).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Roth discloses a sampling lid assembly for a particle monitoring system comprising:
a support frame (12) configured to be releasably attached to a sampling section/base (11) of the particle monitoring system (lower stage (12) is separately mounted to base (11) through a locking lip (40) – col. 3, lines 30-35; col. 4, lines 11-13 and Figures 2-3) and to define a space surrounding an impacting and collecting surface, preferably a petri dish, placed on the sampling section (collection member (16), comprised of a petri dish (50) is located within the lower stage (12) and placed on the base (11) – col. 3, lines 36-45; col. 4, lines 30-35 and Figure 2); and
a sieve (60) configured to be removably mounted at the support frame to close an open side of the space above the impacting and collecting surface (54)(circular aperture plate (60) appears to be removably insertable into the lower stage (12) and situated above an impaction surface (54) of the collection member (16) – Figures 2 and 7) , preferably the petri dish, the sieve (60) provided with fluid openings (90) arranged to direct, in operation of the particle monitoring system, a fluid towards the impacting and collecting surface, preferably the petri dish, placed on the sampling section (jet impaction passages (90) located within the central plate (60) direct fluid to an impaction surface (54) of the collection member (16) – col. 6, line 60 through col. 7, line 22 and Figure 2).
With respect to the limitations of claims 4 and 17, Roth appears to disclose that the support frame (12) and the sieve (60) are configured to be releasably engaged with each other, preferably in a form-locking engagement (central plate (60) is locked to the lower stage (12) by using a sealing flange (100) and locators (105) to compress the central plate to the lower stage (12) – col. 7, lines 29-53 and Figures 4 and 6).
With respect to the limitation of claim 5, Roth appears to disclose that the support frame (12) and the sieve (60) are configured to be engaged by a movement along an axial direction of the support frame and/or by a lateral movement along a radial direction of the support frame (central plate (60) is locked to the lower stage (12) by using a sealing flange (100) and locators (105) to compress the central plate to the lower stage (12) – col. 7, lines 29-53 and Figures 4 and 6).
With respect to the limitations of claims 6 and 18, Roth appears to disclose that the support frame (12) and the sieve (60) are provided with mating centering features for defining a mounted position, preferably mating conical surfaces and/or one or more mating protrusions and recesses (central plate (60) is locked to the lower stage (12) by using a sealing flange (100) and locators (105) to compress the central plate to the lower stage (12) – col. 7, lines 29-53 and Figures 4 and 6).
With respect to the limitation of claim 7, the support frame (12) is configured to be moved along a body of the sampling section of the particle monitoring system between a position where it defines the space surrounding the impacting and collecting surface, preferably the petri dish, placed on the sampling section and a position providing access to the sampling section (central plate (60) is locked to the lower stage (12) by using a sealing flange (100) and locators (105) to compress the central plate to the lower stage (12) creating a space surrounding the impaction surface (54) to allow air/fluid to pass around the dish – col. 7, lines 29-53 and Figures 4 and 6).
With respect to the limitation of claim 8, Roth further disclose that the sieve is provided with one or more lateral protrusions (9), preferably in the form of one or more lugs, allowing gripping of the sieve (6) for the purpose of positioning it at the support frame (2) (central plate (60) is locked to the lower stage (12) by using a sealing flange (100) and locators (105) to compress the central plate to the lower stage (12) – col. 7, lines 29-53 and Figures 4 and 6).
With respect to the limitation of claim 9, Roth discloses that the sieve (60) is provided with a plurality of radial ribs distributed about the periphery thereof to increase the rigidity against deformation (plurality of radially extending reinforcing ribs (96) bisect the space between radial paths (Pr) of the passages (90) on the upper surface (92) of the sieve/plate (60) to both reinforce plate (60) and serve as a flow dividing mechanism to separate the flow of the gaseous medium passing to the passages (90) and the plate (60) – col. 7, lines 22-28 and Figure 13).
With respect to the limitation of claim 10, Roth discloses that the support frame (12) is a ring-like body, preferably with one or more lateral protrusions and/or recesses, preferably in the form of a peripheral shoulder or groove (lower stage (12) is a circular structure having one or more locking assemblies (70) located about the lower edges of a section (68) which selectively lock the lower stage (12) to the base (11) – col. 5, lines 12-15 and Figures 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9-10).
With respect to the limitations of claim 13, Roth further discloses that the sieve (60) is formed so that, when the sampling lid assembly is mounted on the sampling section (11), and the sieve (6) is in the mounted position on the support frame (12), the surfaces of the support frame (12) facing towards the space are shielded from contact with the fluid directed, in operation of the particle monitoring system, through the fluid openings (90) towards the impacting and collecting surface (54), preferably the petri dish (50) placed on the sampling section (11) (col. 3, lines 36-45; col. 4, lines 30-35 col.; and col. 6, line 60 through col. 7, line 22 and Figure 2).
With respect to the limitation of claim 14, Roth further discloses that the sampling lid assembly comprises an impacting and collecting surface (54), preferably a petri dish (50) (col. 4, lines 30-52).
With respect to the limitation of claim 15, Roth further discloses a particle monitoring system comprising the sampling lid assembly according to claim 1 (Roth discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and the assembly is used to collect viable samples comprising particulates – col. 4, lines 30-45 and Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,922,905 (Roth) in view of “Products for Microbiological Control 2 Microbiological Analysis Content” (Sartorius).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2-3 and 16, Roth discloses all of the limitations of the base claim but fails to disclose that the support frame and the sieve are made from different materials, specifically, the support frame is made from a stainless steel and the sieve is made from a disposable plastic.
Sartorius disclose products to be used in microbiological applications whereby the Combisart product line utilizes a stainless-steel filter holder that is usable with single-use disposable sieves from the Biosart and Microsart product lines (pages 29, 33, 35, 38, and 43). Modifying Roth to utilize a stainless-steel frame/holder with a disposable sieve would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as a means of providing value to the product by allowing the frames to be cleaned and reusable.
With respect to the limitation of claim 11, Roth discloses all of the limitations of the base claim; but fails to expressly disclose that the sieve is configured to be engaged with other sieves to form a self-support stack.
Sartorius disclose products to be used in microbiological applications whereby the Microsart filter units as formed as tray versions that are stackable within bags (page 35). Modifying Roth to allow the sieves to be stackable would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means of conserving space by allowing the sieves to be stackable.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,922,905 (Roth) in view of US 10,900,877 (Pandey et al.)
With respect to the limitation of claim 12, Roth discloses all of the limitations of the base claim; but fails to disclose that the sieve and/or support frame are/is provided with a data tag containing an identifier, preferably of an electronically readable type.
Pandey et al. discloses a system for extracting minute objects from soil by sieving a soil sample and collecting filtered particles (abstract) The sieves used to collect particles as well as sample containers may be provided with bar codes that allow tracking of the sample along the various processing steps (col. 31, lines 46-56). Modifying Roth to utilize a data tag on the sieve and/or support frame would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means of correlating the sample with the equipment being used to track the sample through any number of processing steps.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art disclose various particulate sampling systems utilizing suction to gather a fluid sample and means for depositing a sample onto a sample medium supported by a sample frame.
/DANIEL S LARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855