DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18849214 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they essentially recite the same subject matter except for the further specifying the characteristics of the convexity to be slope or compressibility. These two factors would inherently affect the convexity as they would alter the shape.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No 11833073. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. US patent 11833073 generally fulfills the limitations of the instant claims even though there is a specific recitation of using a bladder for changing the convexity, while the instant claim is broader in claim one and simply recites a convexity adjusting device, as such the species of bladder anticipates the broader genus of device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekfeldt et al. US 2014/0316360 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ekfeldt discloses a convex ostomy barrier assembly for attaching an ostomy appliance to a peristomal skin surrounding a stoma (convex ostomy barrier 220 with adhesive wafer 227 is an assembly that holds an ostomy device to the peristomal skin surround a stoma; Figure 12-14; [0011 and 0131-0132]; Abstract), comprising: a skin barrier comprising an adhesive (adhesive wafer 227 has adhesive 225; Figure 13; [0132]); an inlet opening defined in the skin barrier for receiving the stoma (through-going holes 226 receives the stoma; Figure 13; [0132]); and a convexity adjusting device (supporting device 220; [0132]; Figures 12-14), wherein the convexity adjusting device is configured to provide a convexity to the skin barrier and to adjust the convexity according to a topography of user's peristomal skin as the convex ostomy barrier assembly is applied to a user (device 220 provides a convexity to the adhesive wafer 227 following the shape of the user's peristomal skin when the assembly 220/227 is applied to the user; Figure 11-14; [0130-0132]), and wherein the convexity adjusting device is configured to provide a localized and customized adjustment of at least one characteristic of the convexity which includes compressibility or slope (supporting device provides a localized and customized adjustment of the characteristic of the convexity; [0130]; Figure 11).
Regarding claim 2, Ekfeldt discloses wherein the convexity adjusting device comprises a plurality of radially extending members configured to define and support the convexity (spring members 224 extend radially and defines and supports the convexity; Figures 12-14; [0131-0132]), wherein each of the plurality of radially extending members is separated from an adjacent radially extending member by a gap (each spring member 224 is separated from an adjacent spring member 224 by a gap; Figures 12-14; [0131-0132]), wherein each of the radially extending members is configured to be flexed independently according a force applied to each of the radially extending member as the skin barrier is pressed against the user's peristomal skin (spring member 204/224 can be flexed independently according to a force applied to the spring member 204/224 when the device 220 is applied to the skin; Figure 11; [0130-0132]), and wherein each of the radially extending members is configured to provide an automatic and localized adjustment of at least one of a slope, a depth, and/or a tension location of the convexity (each spring member 204/224 has an automatic and localized adjustment of the slope, depth, and tension location of convexity, such as one spring element is flexing while the other spring element is folding when the peristomal skin is sloped unevenly; Figure 11; [0130]).
Regarding claim 3, Ekfeldt discloses wherein the plurality of radially extending members comprise eight radially extending members ([0131]).
Regarding claim 14, Ekfeldt discloses wherein the plurality of adjusting members are attached to an adjusting member base (or annular ring, 223) and formed as a single-piece device (fig 12), wherein the adjusting member base forms a first end of each of the plurality of adjusting members and adjacent adjusting members are connected via the adjusting member base (fig 12, [0131]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekfeldt et al. US 2014/0316360 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Ekfeldt fails to disclose wherein the plurality of radially extending members comprises sixteen radially extending members per claim 14.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated the number of radially extending members as Ekfeldt teaches 2 and then later eight for further improved stability therefore additional duplication will only provide greater stability and more precise adjustability [0131]. (MPEP 2144.04. VI. B.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record are:
Ekfeldt et al. US 2014/0316360 A1 discloses multiple adjustable springs to adjust the convexity but fails to teach respectively a clip that keeps the member stable for claim 5 and a tab and lip combination for holding the extending the members in place per claim 7.
Czaplewski US 11833073 B1 discloses multiple bladders to adjust the convexity locally but again fails to teach respectively a clip that keeps the member stable for claim 5 and a tab and lip combination for holding the extending the members in place per claim 7.
Leise US 20030171737 discloses a per molded convex ostomy ring to solve a similar problem of irregularities around the peristomal site but it is premolded and not adjustable.
No other prior art was found that was able to selectively adjust the convexity of the stomal ring using individually spaced adjustment a clip that keeps the member stable for claim 5 and a tab and lip combination for holding the extending the members in place per claim 7.
While clips and locking tabs are known applying them to an ostomy ring to alter the convexity regionally around the stoma as needed would not have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art without improper hindsight.
Conclusion
/GABRIELLA E BURNETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781