DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20220150962A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230033468A1) hereinafter Chen2.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a first station (STA), a sensing trigger frame including a trigger dependent common information subfield from a second STA (Paragraph [0027]: The type of trigger frame sent by an AP may be indicated by the Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield. The Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield may indicate the subtype, sounding dialog token number, and the like for the new trigger frame variant. Paragraph [0031]: The one or more illustrative user device(s) 120 and the AP(s) 102 may be STAs. Paragraph [0046]: The AP also sends Trigger frame(s) to the other non-AP STAs that are identified as sensing transmitters to trigger them to send sensing PPDUs. Paragraph [0048]: In one or more embodiments, another Trigger frame option is to implement a new Trigger variant, called for example a “Sensing Trigger frame” that is used to schedule Triggered P2P transmission between two non-AP STAs. The Trigger Dependent Common Info field of a Trigger frame may be used to include necessary information for this Trigger frame, for example, the different subtypes of the Sensing Trigger and Sounding Dialog Token number, etc. Examiner’s note: The AP referred to by Chen is a second STA. Paragraph [0031] indicates that: The one or more illustrative user device(s) 120 and the AP(s) 102 may be STAs.)
and based on the sensing trigger frame, receiving a null data physical protocol data unit (NDP) by the first STA from at least one STA or transmitting the NDP by the first STA to the at least one STA (Paragraph [0024]: If there will be such a P2P sensing exchange, the AP may determine which STA would be the transmitter, and which would be the receiver. For the sensing session, the AP may send a trigger frame to trigger the sensing transmitter STA to transmit broadcast null data packets (NDPs), while the sensing receiver STA may be listening for the NDP packets to perform sensing measurements. When there is a need for the sensing receiver STA to feed back the sensing measurement results to the sensing transmitter STA, there are multiple options: Paragraph [0045]: In one or more embodiments, a sensing transmission and reception phase may include the use of sensing PPDUs (e.g., the Wi-Fi P2P sensing packets 150 of FIG. 1). Sensing PPDUs may be null data packets (NDPs). Paragraph [0046]: a new subtype may be created under the Ranging Trigger frame type (a “Sensing Trigger frame”). Once transmitted, the recipient STA is triggered to transmit broadcast NDP packets after short inter frame space (SIFS) time of the Trigger frame reception. Paragraph [0053]: For example, the STA 306 may send a sensing PPDU 326 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 306, and the STA 308 may send a sensing PPDU 328 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 308. In this manner, the AP 302 may facilitate P2P Wi-Fi sensing exchanges between the user devices by sending the trigger frame 324.)
wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a sensing trigger subtype field, and wherein the sensing trigger subtype field includes information related to a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (Paragraph [0027]: The type of trigger frame sent by an AP may be indicated by the Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield. Within a trigger frame variant, a subtype subfield may indicate how the trigger frame variant is used. Alternatively, the trigger frame may be a new variant….for example, a sensing trigger frame used to schedule the P2P Wi-Fi sensing operations between the two STAs. Paragraph [0048]: In one or more embodiments, another Trigger frame option is to implement a new Trigger variant, called for example a “Sensing Trigger frame” that is used to schedule Triggered P2P transmission between two non-AP STAs. The Trigger Dependent Common Info field of a Trigger frame may be used to include necessary information for this Trigger frame, for example, the different subtypes of the Sensing Trigger and Sounding Dialog Token number, etc. In this case, the AP needs to identify the recipient STA, which is the sensing initiator STA, in the Trigger frame so that the sensing transmitter may identify which device to which it will transmit. For example, Table 2 below shows the Trigger Type subfield values of a Trigger frame used to indicate the Trigger frame variant represented by the Trigger frame, and Table 3 shows an example Sensing Trigger subtype field used when the Trigger frame variant is a Sensing Trigger frame.)
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (Paragraph [0016]: In 802.11bf, future sensing between two non-AP STAs may use a trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance where an AP is the sensing initiator, and two non-AP STAs are sensing responders. As a result, this type of sensing is referred to as responder-to-responder (R2R) sensing in 802.11bf. Paragraph [0025]: a bit (e.g., bit B4) in the Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant may serve as the flag differentiation between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant. Table 4 below shows the modification to the Ranging Trigger frame format to indicate that the Trigger frame is a Ranging or Sensing Trigger frame variant. Paragraph [0026]: In one or more embodiments, the Passive Sounding Ranging Trigger subvariant may be reused as the Sensing R2R Sounding Trigger subvariant using the encoding changes below in Table 6. Paragraph [0028]: The AP sends a Sensing R2R Sounding Trigger frame to the STA that is assigned as the sensing transmitter (STA1) and the STA that is assigned as the sensing receiver (STA2) for R2R sensing. Paragraph [0050]: The Sensing Measurement Setup Request 306 also may indicate the bandwidth in which to perform the R2R sensing, and may include a Measurement Setup ID as shown in Table 1. Paragraph [0017]: The corresponding Measurement Setup ID uniquely identifies a measurement setup with an R2R sensing.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, so that the subfield can indicate the assigned sensing transmitter or receiver role for responder to responder (R2R) sensing scenario, and the sensing transmitter for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to transmit R2R null data packet to another non-AP STA, whereas the sensing receiver for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to receive the R2R null data packet from another non-AP STA (Chen2: Paragraphs [0016], [0017], [0022], [0025], [0026], [0028], [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly wherein: the measurement session ID field includes a measurement session ID related to a sensing measurement parameter associated with the SR2SR sounding based on the sensing trigger frame.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein: the measurement session ID field includes a measurement session ID related to a sensing measurement parameter associated with the SR2SR sounding based on the sensing trigger frame (Paragraph [0016]: In 802.11bf, future sensing between two non-AP STAs may use a trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance where an AP is the sensing initiator, and two non-AP STAs are sensing responders. As a result, this type of sensing is referred to as responder-to-responder (R2R) sensing in 802.11bf. Paragraph [0017]: The corresponding Measurement Setup ID uniquely identifies a measurement setup with an R2R sensing. Paragraph [0025]: a bit (e.g., bit B4) in the Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield for the Ranging Trigger variant may serve as the flag differentiation between Ranging Trigger variant and Sensing Trigger variant. Table 4 below shows the modification to the Ranging Trigger frame format to indicate that the Trigger frame is a Ranging or Sensing Trigger frame variant. Paragraph [0026]: In one or more embodiments, the Passive Sounding Ranging Trigger subvariant may be reused as the Sensing R2R Sounding Trigger subvariant using the encoding changes below in Table 6. Paragraph [0028]: The AP sends a Sensing R2R Sounding Trigger frame to the STA that is assigned as the sensing transmitter (STA1) and the STA that is assigned as the sensing receiver (STA2) for R2R sensing. Paragraph [0050]: The Sensing Measurement Setup Request 306 also may indicate the bandwidth in which to perform the R2R sensing, and may include a Measurement Setup ID as shown in Table 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the measurement session ID field includes a measurement session ID related to a sensing measurement parameter associated with the SR2SR sounding based on the sensing trigger frame, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, in order to indicate the assigned sensing transmitter or receiver role for responder to responder (R2R) sensing scenario, and the sensing transmitter for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to transmit R2R null data packet to another non-AP STA, whereas the sensing receiver for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to receive the R2R null data packet from another non-AP STA (Chen2: Paragraphs [0016], [0017], [0022], [0025], [0026], [0028], [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen further teaches wherein: information related to whether the SR2SR sounding is supported is transmitted to the second STA (Paragraph [0053]: Referring to FIG. 3, the P2P Wi-Fi sensing process 300 represents a scenario in which a STA is both the sensing initiator and sensing receiver. As shown, an AP 302 interacts with (e.g., forms a BSS with) one or more user devices (e.g., STA 304, STA 306, STA 308). The STA 304 is shown as both the sensing initiator and sensing receiver. During a negotiation phase 310, the STA 304 may send a sensing request 312 to the AP 302, which responds by sending a sensing response 314. The exchange during the negotiation phase allows the AP 302 to determine which device will be a sensing transmitter and/or sensing receiver for P2P Wi-Fi sensing operations.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen further teaches wherein: the first STA is a non-AP STA that is a SR2SR sensing transmitter or SR2SR sensing receiver, and the second STA is an AP that is a sensing initiator (Paragraph [0027]: The type of trigger frame sent by an AP may be indicated by the Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield. The Trigger Dependent Common Information subfield may indicate the subtype, sounding dialog token number, and the like for the new trigger frame variant. Paragraph [0031]: The one or more illustrative user device(s) 120 and the AP(s) 102 may be STAs. Paragraph [0046]: The AP also sends Trigger frame(s) to the other non-AP STAs that are identified as sensing transmitters to trigger them to send sensing PPDUs. Paragraph [0048]: In one or more embodiments, another Trigger frame option is to implement a new Trigger variant, called for example a “Sensing Trigger frame” that is used to schedule Triggered P2P transmission between two non-AP STAs. The Trigger Dependent Common Info field of a Trigger frame may be used to include necessary information for this Trigger frame, for example, the different subtypes of the Sensing Trigger and Sounding Dialog Token number, etc. In this case, the AP needs to identify the recipient STA…. so that the sensing transmitter may identify which device to which it will transmit.)
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a first station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a sensing trigger frame including a trigger dependent common information subfield from a second STA through the at least one transceiver; and based on the sensing trigger frame, receive a null data physical protocol data unit (NDP) from at least one STA through the at least one transceiver or transmitting the NDP to the at least one STA through the at least one transceiver, wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a sensing trigger subtype field, and wherein the sensing trigger subtype field includes information related to a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (Paragraph [0083]: The communication station 800 may include communications circuitry 802 and a transceiver 810 for transmitting and receiving signals to and from other communication stations using one or more antennas 801. Paragraph [0084]: In some embodiments, the processing circuitry 806 of the communication station 800 may include one or more processors. In other embodiments, two or more antennas 801 may be coupled to the communications circuitry 802 arranged for sending and receiving signals. Also see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, so that the subfield can indicate the assigned sensing transmitter or receiver role for responder to responder (R2R) sensing scenario, and the sensing transmitter for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to transmit R2R null data packet to another non-AP STA, whereas the sensing receiver for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to receive the R2R null data packet from another non-AP STA (Chen2: Paragraphs [0016], [0017], [0022], [0025], [0026], [0028], [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches a second station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a sensing trigger frame including a trigger dependent common information subfield to at least one STA through the at least one transceiver (Paragraph [0083]: The communication station 800 may include communications circuitry 802 and a transceiver 810 for transmitting and receiving signals to and from other communication stations using one or more antennas 801. Paragraph [0084]: In some embodiments, the processing circuitry 806 of the communication station 800 may include one or more processors. In other embodiments, two or more antennas 801 may be coupled to the communications circuitry 802 arranged for sending and receiving signals. Also see rejection for claim 1);
wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a sensing trigger subtype field, and wherein the sensing trigger subtype field includes information indicating that a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is SR2SR (sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen does not explicitly teach to transmit a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP to a first STA among the at least one STA through the at least one transceiver; and receive a sensing measurement report frame from the first STA through the at least one transceiver, wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is SR2SR (sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding.
However, Chen2 teaches to transmit a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP to a first STA among the at least one STA through the at least one transceiver; and receive a sensing measurement report frame from the first STA through the at least one transceiver (Paragraph [0046]: After the TF Sounding Phase 218 may be the Reporting Phase 224 in which the AP 202 may generate and send a Sensing Report TF 226 to STA 206 as the responder device in the R2R sensing. In response to the Sensing Report TF 226, the STA 206 may generate and send a Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The Sensing Measurement Report 228 is defined by 802.11bf and includes sensing measurement results determined by the STA 206 based on the R2R NDP 222. In this manner, rather than the STAs 204 and 206 sending NDPs to the AP 202 to perform the sounding measurements, the STAs 204 and 206 may exchange the R2R NDP 222 and provide the Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The STA 206 may respond to the Sensing Report TF 226 by sending the Sensing Measurement Report 228 when the STA 206 has been previously requested to provide the report in the Sensing Measurement Setup Phase 208 (e.g., as explained further with respect to FIG. 3.)
wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is SR2SR (sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP to a first STA among the at least one STA through the at least one transceiver; and receive a sensing measurement report frame from the first STA through the at least one transceiver, wherein the trigger dependent common information subfield includes a measurement session identifier (ID) field, and a subtype of the sensing trigger frame is SR2SR (sensing responder to sensing responder (SR2SR) sounding, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, so that the sensing measurement report can provide information indicative of the measurements of the responder-to-responder NDP, and the subfield can indicate the assigned sensing transmitter or receiver role for responder to responder (R2R) sensing scenario, and the sensing transmitter for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to transmit R2R null data packet to another non-AP STA, whereas the sensing receiver for a non-AP STA indicates in a trigger based sensing measurement instance that it needs to receive the R2R null data packet from another non-AP STA (Chen2: Abstract, Paragraphs [0016], [0017], [0022], [0025], [0026], [0028], [0046], [0050]).
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20220150962A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230033468A1) hereinafter Chen2, and further in view of Pushkarna et al. (US20250301354A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen further teaches wherein: based on a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing transmitter, the NDP is transmitted by the first STA to the at least one STA (Paragraph [0024]: If there will be such a P2P sensing exchange, the AP may determine which STA would be the transmitter, and which would be the receiver. For the sensing session, the AP may send a trigger frame to trigger the sensing transmitter STA to transmit broadcast null data packets (NDPs), while the sensing receiver STA may be listening for the NDP packets to perform sensing measurements. Paragraph [0045]: In one or more embodiments, a sensing transmission and reception phase may include the use of sensing PPDUs (e.g., the Wi-Fi P2P sensing packets 150 of FIG. 1). Sensing PPDUs may be null data packets (NDPs). Paragraph [0046]: a new subtype may be created under the Ranging Trigger frame type (a “Sensing Trigger frame”). Once transmitted, the recipient STA is triggered to transmit broadcast NDP packets after short inter frame space (SIFS) time of the Trigger frame reception. Paragraph [0053]: For example, the STA 306 may send a sensing PPDU 326 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 306, and the STA 308 may send a sensing PPDU 328 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 308. In this manner, the AP 302 may facilitate P2P Wi-Fi sensing exchanges between the user devices by sending the trigger frame 324.)
The combination of Chen and Chen2 does not explicitly teach a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing transmitter by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a transmitter user information field of the sensing trigger frame.
However, Pushkarna teaches a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing transmitter by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a transmitter user information field of the sensing trigger frame (Paragraph [0129]: The sounding TF 2100 comprises a Frame Control field, a Duration field, a Recipient field set to “broadcast”, a Transmitter field, a Common Info field, one or more User Info field, a Padding field and an FCS field. The Common Info field comprises a Trigger Type subfield set to “Sensing” and a Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield. The Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield comprises a Sensing Trigger Subtype set to “Sounding” and a Dialog Token field. For collaborative sensing purpose, the sounding TF 2100 comprises two different User Info fields 2102, 2104, one User Info field 2102 for Sensing transmitter (e.g., STA1 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ) and another User Info field 2104 for collaborative sensing receiver (e.g., STA2 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing transmitter by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a transmitter user information field of the sensing trigger frame, as taught by Pushkarna in the combined system of Chen and Chen2, so that the sensing transmitter can perform NDP transmissions to perform channel measurement (Pushkarna: Paragraphs [0087], [0127], [0129]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Chen further teaches wherein: based on a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing receiver, the NDP is transmitted from an SR2SR sensing transmitter among the at least one STA to the first STA (Paragraph [0024]: If there will be such a P2P sensing exchange, the AP may determine which STA would be the transmitter, and which would be the receiver. For the sensing session, the AP may send a trigger frame to trigger the sensing transmitter STA to transmit broadcast null data packets (NDPs), while the sensing receiver STA may be listening for the NDP packets to perform sensing measurements. Paragraph [0045]: In one or more embodiments, a sensing transmission and reception phase may include the use of sensing PPDUs (e.g., the Wi-Fi P2P sensing packets 150 of FIG. 1). Sensing PPDUs may be null data packets (NDPs). Paragraph [0046]: a new subtype may be created under the Ranging Trigger frame type (a “Sensing Trigger frame”). Once transmitted, the recipient STA is triggered to transmit broadcast NDP packets after short inter frame space (SIFS) time of the Trigger frame reception. Paragraph [0053]: For example, the STA 306 may send a sensing PPDU 326 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 306, and the STA 308 may send a sensing PPDU 328 having an STA identifier indicating the STA 308. In this manner, the AP 302 may facilitate P2P Wi-Fi sensing exchanges between the user devices by sending the trigger frame 324.)
The combination of Chen and Chen2 does not explicitly teach wherein: each of at least one receiver user information field of the sensing trigger frame includes a Tx/Rx subfield, a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing receiver by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a specific receiver user information field corresponding to the first STA among the at least one receiver user information field.
However, Pushkarna teaches wherein: each of at least one receiver user information field of the sensing trigger frame includes a Tx/Rx subfield, a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing receiver by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a specific receiver user information field corresponding to the first STA among the at least one receiver user information field (Paragraph [0129]: The sounding TF 2100 comprises a Frame Control field, a Duration field, a Recipient field set to “broadcast”, a Transmitter field, a Common Info field, one or more User Info field, a Padding field and an FCS field. The Common Info field comprises a Trigger Type subfield set to “Sensing” and a Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield. The Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield comprises a Sensing Trigger Subtype set to “Sounding” and a Dialog Token field. For collaborative sensing purpose, the sounding TF 2100 comprises two different User Info fields 2102, 2104, one User Info field 2102 for Sensing transmitter (e.g., STA1 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ) and another User Info field 2104 for collaborative sensing receiver (e.g., STA2 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: each of at least one receiver user information field of the sensing trigger frame includes a Tx/Rx subfield, a role of the first STA being indicated as an SR2SR sensing receiver by a Tx/Rx subfield included in a specific receiver user information field corresponding to the first STA among the at least one receiver user information field, as taught by Pushkarna in the combined system of Chen and Chen2, so that the sensing transmitter can receive NDP transmissions (Pushkarna: Paragraphs [0087], [0127], [0129]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen, Chen2, and Pushkarna teaches the method of claim 5 (see rejection for claim 5);
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein: based on a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP being received from the second STA, a sensing measurement report frame is transmitted from the first STA to the second STA.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein: based on a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP being received from the second STA, a sensing measurement report frame is transmitted from the first STA to the second STA (Paragraph [0046]: After the TF Sounding Phase 218 may be the Reporting Phase 224 in which the AP 202 may generate and send a Sensing Report TF 226 to STA 206 as the responder device in the R2R sensing. In response to the Sensing Report TF 226, the STA 206 may generate and send a Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The Sensing Measurement Report 228 is defined by 802.11bf and includes sensing measurement results determined by the STA 206 based on the R2R NDP 222. In this manner, rather than the STAs 204 and 206 sending NDPs to the AP 202 to perform the sounding measurements, the STAs 204 and 206 may exchange the R2R NDP 222 and provide the Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The STA 206 may respond to the Sensing Report TF 226 by sending the Sensing Measurement Report 228 when the STA 206 has been previously requested to provide the report in the Sensing Measurement Setup Phase 208 (e.g., as explained further with respect to FIG. 3. Examiner’s note: The AP referred to here is the second STA. Paragraph [0033] indicates that: The one or more illustrative user device(s) 120 and the AP(s) 102 may be STAs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: based on a sensing report trigger frame requesting measurement information based on the NDP being received from the second STA, a sensing measurement report frame is transmitted from the first STA to the second STA, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, so that the sensing measurement report can provide information indicative of the measurements of the responder-to-responder NDP (Chen2: Abstract, Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen, Chen2, and Pushkarna teaches the method of claim 5 (see rejection for claim 5);
Chen further teaches wherein: the specific receiver user information field includes an ID of the first STA and an ID of the SR2SR sensing transmitter (Paragraph [0048]: In one or more embodiments, another Trigger frame option is to implement a new Trigger variant, called for example a “Sensing Trigger frame” that is used to schedule Triggered P2P transmission between two non-AP STAs. The Trigger Dependent Common Info field of a Trigger frame may be used to include necessary information for this Trigger frame, for example, the different subtypes of the Sensing Trigger and Sounding Dialog Token number, etc. Paragraph [0063]: When STA1 is the transmitter, AP1 may send a trigger frame to trigger STA1 to send sensing PPDUs that include the STA identifier of STA1 and the AP identifier of AP1. When STA1 receives the sensing PPDU from STA1, STA2 may verify that the sensing PPDU was sent by STA1. The trigger frame may include the AID of STA2 if the sensing PPDU is unicast, allowing STA1 to identify to which device to transmit in response to the trigger frame, and may include the AID of STA2 if the sensing PPDU is broadcast.)
The combination of Chen and Chen2 does not explicitly teach the specific receiver user information field includes an ID.
However, Pushkarna teaches the specific receiver user information field includes an ID (Paragraph [0087]: The AP initiates a sensing measurement by transmitting a Sensing NDPA frame carrying information on sensing transmitter and sensing receiver(s) followed by a NDP 902 to STA1 and STA2. Paragraph [0127]: Next, during the TF sounding phase, the AP then transmits a Sounding Trigger frame to solicit NDP transmissions (R2I NDP) from one or more STAs (in this case, STA1 (sensing transmitter)) to perform channel measurement, the Sounding TF carrying User Info field for STAs participating in sensing and User Info for collaborative sensing receiver comprising a Special AID (Association Identifier), in this case Special AID11, and parameters for responder to correctly decode subsequent NDP(s). Paragraph [0129]: The sounding TF 2100 comprises a Frame Control field, a Duration field, a Recipient field set to “broadcast”, a Transmitter field, a Common Info field, one or more User Info field, a Padding field and an FCS field. The Common Info field comprises a Trigger Type subfield set to “Sensing” and a Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield. The Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield comprises a Sensing Trigger Subtype set to “Sounding” and a Dialog Token field. For collaborative sensing purpose, the sounding TF 2100 comprises two different User Info fields 2102, 2104, one User Info field 2102 for Sensing transmitter (e.g., STA1 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ) and another User Info field 2104 for collaborative sensing receiver (e.g., STA2 of FIGS. 17 and 20 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the specific receiver user information field includes an ID, as taught by Pushkarna in the combined system of Chen and Chen2, so that the STAs participating in the sensing can correctly decode the NDPs (Pushkarna: Paragraphs [0087], [0127], [0129]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen, Chen2, and Pushkarna teaches the method of claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes a sensing measurement result obtained based on the NDP.
However, Chen2 teaches wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes a sensing measurement result obtained based on the NDP (Paragraph [0046]: After the TF Sounding Phase 218 may be the Reporting Phase 224 in which the AP 202 may generate and send a Sensing Report TF 226 to STA 206 as the responder device in the R2R sensing. In response to the Sensing Report TF 226, the STA 206 may generate and send a Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The Sensing Measurement Report 228 is defined by 802.11bf and includes sensing measurement results determined by the STA 206 based on the R2R NDP 222. In this manner, rather than the STAs 204 and 206 sending NDPs to the AP 202 to perform the sounding measurements, the STAs 204 and 206 may exchange the R2R NDP 222 and provide the Sensing Measurement Report 228 to the AP 202. The STA 206 may respond to the Sensing Report TF 226 by sending the Sensing Measurement Report 228 when the STA 206 has been previously requested to provide the report in the Sensing Measurement Setup Phase 208 (e.g., as explained further with respect to FIG. 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes a sensing measurement result obtained based on the NDP, as taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen, so that the sensing measurement report can provide information indicative of the measurements of the responder-to-responder NDP (Chen2: Abstract, Paragraph [0046]).
The combination of Chen and Chen2 does not explicitly teach wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes the measurement session ID field, an ID of the first STA.
However, Pushkarna teaches wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes the measurement session ID field, an ID of the first STA (Paragraph [0134]: The sensing measurement report from STA2 comprise of R2I NDP from TF sounding phase and I2R NDP from NDPA sounding phase. The sensing measurement report can be identified and differentiated from a sensing measurement report transmitted by another STA (e.g., STA1) using the sensing measurement instance ID and the initiator may understand if the report is for collaborative sensing scenario if a bit is set in the Collaborative Measurement Report field of the Sensing Measurement Control subfield of the Sensing Measurement report. Paragraph [0195]: FIG. 39 depicts an example format of a Sensing Measurement Report frame 3900 according to the fifth embodiment of the present disclosure. The Sensing Measurement Report frame 3900 comprises….a Sensing Measurement Report List field. The Sensing Measurement Report List field carries one or more Sensing Measurement Report frames, each of which comprising…. a Sensing Measurement Report Type subfield, a Sensing Measurement Control subfield. The Sensing Measurement Control subfield comprises a Measurement Setup ID subfield, a Measurement Instance ID field…., a Collaborative Tx AID field and a Collaborative Rx AID field. The Collaborative Tx AID field indicates the AID of the collaborative Tx to which the Sensing Measurement Report relates to. A sensing initiator can use this collaborative Tx AID field and collaborative Rx AID field to identify which collaborative sensing link the sensing measurement report is for.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes the measurement session ID field, an ID of the first STA, as taught by Pushkarna in the combined system of Chen and Chen2, so that the measurement setup ID, measurement instance ID, and the TX and RX ID can provide control information to identify which collaborative sensing link the sensing measurement report is for (Pushkarna Paragraphs [0134], [0195]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20220150962A1) in view of Chen et al. (US20230033468A1) hereinafter Chen2, and further in view of Dong (US20250261019A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Chen2 teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Chen and Chen2 does not explicitly teach wherein: the sensing trigger frame includes a field related to a number of repetitions of a HE high throughput (HE) long training field (LTF) associated with the NDP.
However, Dong teaches wherein: the sensing trigger frame includes a field related to a number of repetitions of a HE high throughput (HE) long training field (LTF) associated with the NDP (Paragraph [0039]: In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the first message frame may be an NDPA frame or a sensing measurement trigger frame (hereinafter also referred to as a “trigger frame”). Paragraph [0042]: According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the first subfield in the first message frame may be a long training field repetition (LTF repetition) subfield, for identifying the number of LTFs in the second message frame. In other words, information (e.g., the number of LTFs) of the LTF (such as “HE-LTF” in Table 1 and “HE-LTF 1” to “HE-LTF n” in Table 2) in the second message frame (NDP frame) may be identified in the first message frame (NDPA frame or sensing measurement trigger frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein: the sensing trigger frame includes a field related to a number of repetitions of a HE high throughput (HE) long training field (LTF) associated with the NDP, as taught by Dong in the combined system of Chen and Chen2, so that identifying the LTF information can ensure correct reception of signaling during the sensing measurement process (Dong: Paragraphs [0039], [0042]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461