DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “distance measurement apparatus” (claim 1), “infrared, sound, sonar and/or laser and/or a mechanical distance measurement, such as one or more accumulation swtiches” (claim 2”, “deflector plates” (claims 5,6,18,20), “lane guides” (claims 5,18,20), “central computer unit” (claims 8,9), “control apparatus” (claims 1,15), and “one or more cameras” (claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 7-14,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites detection of current occupancy… with one or more position measurement apparatuses; however, claim 1 recites the use of a distance measurement apparatus to detect distance data, which appears to be similar. The Specification discloses detection of current occupancy with one or more position measurement apparatuses; therefore, it is not clear if the position measurement apparatuses are the same as the distance measurement apparatus or are different element. For the purposes of this Action, in accordance with the Specification, they will be interpreted to be the same element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1,2,4,15,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625
Brixius discloses, regarding claim 1, A method for automatically regulating a container transport apparatus having one or more transport belts (Conveyors 1-6) for adapting a container density of containers which are transported on the one or more transport belts, wherein the method comprises:
in each case at different times:
Detection of distance data relating to containers (i+1,i+2,i+3,i+4) on the one or more transport belts (Conveyors 1-6) by a distance measurement apparatus (U1-U6) (see at least C3/L62-C4/L8),
Transmission of the distance data to a control apparatus (“Separation Control” fig.2) by the distance measurement apparatus (see at least C4/L4-8,20-29),
Processing of the distance data to give control data in the control apparatus (see at least C4/L4-8,20-29),
Non-linear regulation of belt speeds of the one or more transport belts (17-28) by the control data (see at least C4/L22-38).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the detection of the distance data by the distance measurement apparatus comprises infrared, sound, sonar and/or laser and/or a mechanical distance measurement, such as one or more accumulation switches (see at least C1/L16-20).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the non-linear regulation comprises:
Setting a speed gradient across the plurality of transport belts (acceleration and deceleration is controlled, as shown in at least C4/L20-38).
Regarding claim 15, A container transport apparatus comprising one or more transport belts (Conveyors 1-6) and a control apparatus (“Separation Control” fig.2), wherein the container transport apparatus is configured to carry out a method according to claim 1 (see at least C3/L62-C4/L38).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the speed gradient increases in the event of an accumulation in the container transport apparatus, wherein the speed gradient decreases at distances exceeding a given distance value (see at least C4/L6-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Dwivedi USP 11,851,288.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 3,16.
Dwivedi teaches [regarding claim 3] wherein the detection of distance data is carried out continuously or in cycles (C5/L37-39), [regarding claim 16] wherein a distance of a container to at least one adjacent container is detected or the distances of a plurality of containers to one another are detected (C5/L12-15,39-45).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the detection of distance data carried out continuously or in cycles, wherein a distance of a container to at least one adjacent container is detected or the distances of a plurality of containers to one another are detected, as taught by Dwivedi, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of covering a whole surface, i.e. length and width of the conveyor to detect locations/positions of spacings at all times (C4/L48-52) and to control gaps and voids between articles (C5/L19-23) for effecting properly timed processing steps (C1/L22-27).
10. Claims 7-9, as best understood by the Examiner (see ¶3,4 above), are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Schroader et al. USP 11,459,188.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 7-9.
Schroader teaches [regarding claim 7] detection of current occupancy data of an occupancy of the one or more transport belts with containers by one or more position measurement apparatuses (see at least C10/L15-22.43-45), [regarding claim 8] transmission of the current occupancy data to a central computer unit (500; fig.8), processing of the current occupancy data with an algorithm (algorithm to calculated “measured occupancy”; C13/L4) available on the central computer unit to produce processed occupancy data, use of processed occupancy data for regulating drives of one or more transport belts (see at least C13/L4-26, C10/L43-48, C2/L64-C3/L3, C4/L18-24, C16/L51-56,60-62,66-C17/L2), and [regarding claim 9] further comprising processing of the current occupancy data with the algorithm available on the central computer unit and therefrom calculation of a speed for the one or more transport belts (see at least C13/L4-26, C10/L43-48, C2/L64-C3/L3, C4/L18-24, C16/L51-56,60-62,66-C17/L2).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to detect current occupancy data of an occupancy of the one or more transport belts with containers by one or more position measurement apparatuses, transmission of the current occupancy data to a central computer unit, processing of the current occupancy data with an algorithm available on the central computer unit to produce processed occupancy data, use of processed occupancy data for regulating drives of one or more transport belts, and processing of the current occupancy data with the algorithm available on the central computer unit and therefrom calculation of a speed for the one or more transport belts, as taught by Schroader, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of optimizing spacing in the most efficient manner maximizing the density of containers on a conveyor and throughput of the system (C10/L27-35).
Though Brixius, as modified by Schroader, does not expressly teach processing of the current occupancy data with a further algorithm available on the central computer unit and therefrom calculation of a speed for the one or more transport belts (emphasis added by Examiner), before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use two separate algorithms rather than one single algorithm to perform the method since separating a single algorithm into two algorithms would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 V C) for at least the reason that the use a single algorithm rather than two to would improve processing speed and thus result in a more efficient method.
11. Claim 19, as best understood by the Examiner (see ¶3,4 above), are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Schroader et al. USP 11,459,188 further in view of Dwivedi USP 11,851,288.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7,10 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 19.
Dwivedi teaches detection comprising recording images with one or more cameras (222; see at least C4/L46-57).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide detection comprising recording images with one or more cameras, as taught by Dwivedi, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of covering a whole surface, i.e. length and width of the conveyor to detect locations/positions of spacings at all times (C4/L48-52) and to control gaps and voids between articles (C5/L19-23) for effecting properly timed processing steps (C1/L22-27).
12. Claims 5,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Axmann USP 10,196,213.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 5,18.
Axmann teaches the use of [regarding claim 5] an adjustment of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides (25,31) and/or an adjustment of an inclination of the one or more transport belts relative to a horizontal
[regarding claim 18] wherein in the case of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides divided into sections, the adjustment comprises
a section-by-section adjustment (see at least fig.2,7).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide adjustment of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides and/or an adjustment of an inclination of the one or more transport belts relative to a horizontal, wherein in the case of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides divided into sections, the adjustment comprises a section-by-section adjustment, as taught by Axmann, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of sorting containers in accordance with destination.
13. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Schroader et al. USP 11,459,188 further in view of Axmann USP 10,196,213.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7,10 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 20.
Axmann teaches wherein processing is carried out continuously, and further with calculation of an adjustment of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides (25,31) of the one or more transport belts, wherein, in the case of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides divided into sections, the adjustment comprises section-by-section adjustment (see at least fig.2,7; C17/L2-5).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to carry out processing continuously, and further with calculation of an adjustment of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides (25,31) of the one or more transport belts, wherein, in the case of electrically adjustable railings and/or deflector plates and/or lane guides divided into sections, the adjustment comprises section-by-section adjustment, as taught by Axmann, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of sorting containers in accordance with destination.
14. Claims 10,11,13,14, as best understood by the Examiner (see ¶3,4 above), are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brixius et al. USP 6,897,625 in view of Schroader et al. USP 11,459,188 further in view of Furukawa PGPub 2022/0113944.
Brixius discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶7,10 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 10,11,13,14.
Furukawa teaches [regarding claim 10] an algorithm comprising a neural network (¶0020,0166), [regarding claim 11] wherein an output node of the neural network comprises a Tanh activation function (¶0116), [regarding claim 13] wherein an output of the neural network comprises an array (see at least ¶0015,0102,0162), [regarding claim 14] wherein the neural network comprises at least one fully connected layer, as a result of which the neural network learns features from all combinations of features of the previous layer (see at least ¶0010,0069).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the algorithm with a neural network, wherein an output node of the neural network comprises a Tanh activation function, wherein an output of the neural network comprises an array, wherein the neural network comprises at least one fully connected layer, as a result of which the neural network learns features from all combinations of features of the previous layer, as taught by Furukawa, in the method of Brixius, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the combination yields, for example, the array comprises a respective assignment of an identity of the transport belt to its belt speed or an identity of one of the plurality of transport belts to its belt speed, for the purpose of shortening the processing time, thus providing greater efficiency (¶0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Petrovic (USP 6,168,005) discloses a conveyor system comprising conveyor belts (302,304,310,312) and movable guides (322,324) that deflect containers to one or to another outlet (fig.4).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 7/20/2026