DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 2016/0048314).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Han teaches a display device comprising:
a network interface ([0099], [0101], Fig. 3);
a display configured to display
a first image, which corresponds to a first application that provides real-time broadcasting, on a first split screen ([0057], “The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may be embodied to provide multi-screens (i.e., multiple screens at the same time) so as to simultaneously provide or perform various tasks and to provide various types of associated contents about currently watched content through the multi-screens. For example, the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously provide, through the multi-screens, currently watched broadcasting content and web-based content, received through the server 20, associated with the corresponding broadcasting content.” [0098], [0102], “The presentation module 154 is a module for configuration of a display image. The presentation module 154 includes a multimedia module for reproducing and outputting multimedia content and a UI rendering module for performing UI and graphic processing.” Figs. 3, 4A), and
a second image, which corresponds to a second application that supports a search function, on a second split screen ([0109], “A third screen 430 of the multi-screens may provide content information associated with currently watched content. In this case, the associated content information may be provided based on a preset content search domain.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” [0098], [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” Figs. 3, 4A); and
a controller ([0060], Figs. 2A-2B) configured to:
acquire broadcast information about the first image ([0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]);
transmit a search request for the acquired broadcast information to a server configured to provide a service for the second application through the network interface ([0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.”);
receive search results for the broadcast information from the server through the network interface; and display the received search results on the second split screen ([0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” Figs. 4A-4B, 6A-6B).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Han teaches wherein the broadcast information comprises a program name of the first image ([0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Han teaches wherein the controller is configured to: acquire search capability information of the second application when the broadcast information is acquired; and transmit the search request to the server of the second application when it is determined that the search function is supported on the basis of the search capability information ([0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.”).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches wherein the search results comprise one or more of videos, images, and addresses of contents, which are related to the broadcast information ([0116], “As shown in FIG. 5B, when the search domain is changed to a video content domain (e.g., Youtube) from a web browser search domain, a UI image corresponding to a corresponding search domain may be provided in third screens 630 and 640, as shown in FIG. 6A. In detail, keyword information 641 associated with currently watched content and a video search result 642 retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 641 may be provided in a screen 640 (e.g., second sub-screen) among the third screens 630 and 640. For example, a keyword as a search object may be a first keyword of displayed keywords. [0117], “In addition, one of retrieved video contents, for example, information about first displayed video content, may be provided in a screen 630 (e.g., first sub-screen) of the third screens 630 and 640. Here, information may be provided in the form of a thumbnail image including a still image, a video, or a slideshow, or in the form of reproduction of corresponding video content.” [0118], Figs. 6A-6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Han and Baghini (US 2014/0380361).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Han teaches wherein the broadcast information comprises meta information comprising character information of the first image ([0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]).
However, Han does not expressly teach meta information comprising background music information.
Baghini teaches meta information comprising background music information ([0022], “FIG. 3 which depicts a screen display 300, displayed either by the display device 114 or the touch screen control device 116, both of FIG. 2 which further illustrates the content downloading technique of the present principles. The screen 300 of FIG. 3 includes first and second screen portions 302 and 304. The first screen portion 302 provides a display of the received program, in this case a concert by the musical group ‘The Beatniks.’ The second screen portion 304 includes a banner display that identification of the performing artist (i.e., ‘The Beatniks’) and includes a display of links to the content (the songs) identified in the program metadata extracted by the stream processor 204 of FIG. 1 as available for downloading. As example, assume that the extracted metadata identifies the following musical compositions ‘Song #1,’ ‘Song #2,’ and ‘Song #3.,’ as associated with the program and available for downloading. Thus, the screen portion 304 will include a listing of each musical composition, as well as a link (e.g., links to that song so that the viewer can watch the program and actuate the link(s) to download musical composition(s) of interest.”).
In view of Baghini’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han wherein the meta information comprises background music information. The modification would enable a combined system to identify musical content for presentation to users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire each of the background music information and the character information, which are contained in the meta information, as a search keyword (Han: [0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]; Baghini: [0022], “assume that the extracted metadata identifies the following musical compositions ‘Song #1,’ ‘Song #2,’ and ‘Song #3.,’ as associated with the program and available for downloading.”); and
display a search menu comprising the search keywords on the second split screen (Han: [0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” Figs. 4A-4B, 6A-6B).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Han teaches wherein the controller is configured to display the search menu according to a command received from a remote control device ([0056], “When the display apparatus 100 is embodied as a digital TV, the display apparatus 100 may be controlled by a remote control apparatus 10, a user motion, or a user voice.” [0085], “In particular, the communication unit 140 may communicate with the remote control apparatus 10 (refer to FIG. 1) for control of the display apparatus 100′ and communicate with the server 20 (refer to FIG. 1) for providing various network-based services, for example, a web server for providing web video content, a web page, a web-based application, and so on.”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Han teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive a command for selecting one of the search keywords; and transmit a search request for the selected search keyword to the server according to the received command ([0122], “In detail, when the content refresh function is on, a video content search result 710 retrieved according to an associated keyword as well as the associated keyword may be updated according to the changed content, as shown in a bottom left portion of FIG. 7A. In detail, a search may be automatically performed according to one of displayed keywords and the video content search result may be automatically updated and provided.” [0123], “On the other hand, when the content refresh function is off, only an associated keyword 720 may be updated according to the changed content and a video content search result according to the keyword may not be updated and may be maintained, as shown in a bottom right portion of FIG. 7A. … In this case, in response to the updated keyword being selected by a user, the video content search result retrieved according to the selected keyword may be provided.” Fig. 7A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Witenstein-Weaver (US 2013/0174195) discloses systems and methods of image searching include receiving content, receiving a request to select an image from content, selecting a plurality of items in the image, retrieving information about the selected item, and providing display data based on the retrieved information.
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426