DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach the amended claim. Remarks, pp. 10-12.
Claim 1 is rejected over a combination of Han (US 2016/0048314, hereinafter “Han ‘314”), Han et al. (US 2012/0144426, hereinafter “Han ‘426”), and Ellis et al. (US 2003/0020744).
Han ‘314 teaches a display device comprising:
a network interface ([0099], [0101], Fig. 3);
a display configured operate in a multi-view mode so as to simultaneously display ([0057], “the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously provide, through the multi-screens, currently watched broadcasting content and web-based content, received through the server 20, associated with the corresponding broadcasting content.” Figs. 3, 4A):
a first image, which corresponds to a first application that provides real-time broadcasting, on a first split screen of the display ([0057], “The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may be embodied to provide multi-screens (i.e., multiple screens at the same time) so as to simultaneously provide or perform various tasks and to provide various types of associated contents about currently watched content through the multi-screens. For example, the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously provide, through the multi-screens, currently watched broadcasting content and web-based content, received through the server 20, associated with the corresponding broadcasting content.” [0098], [0102], “The presentation module 154 is a module for configuration of a display image. The presentation module 154 includes a multimedia module for reproducing and outputting multimedia content and a UI rendering module for performing UI and graphic processing.” Figs. 3, 4A), and
a second image, which corresponds to a second application different from first application and that supports a search function that is related to the first application, on a second split screen of the display ([0109], “A third screen 430 of the multi-screens may provide content information associated with currently watched content. In this case, the associated content information may be provided based on a preset content search domain.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” [0098], [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” Figs. 3, 4A); and
a controller ([0060], Figs. 2A-2B) configured to:
acquire broadcast information about the first image ([0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]);
transmit a search request for the acquired broadcast information to a server configured to provide a service for the second application through the network interface ([0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.”);
receive search results for the broadcast information from the server through the network interface; and
update the second image on the second split screen to display the received search results on the second split screen ([0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” [0111], “As shown in FIG. 4B, in response to currently watched content being changed according to movement of the selection GUI 10 positioned in the second screen 420, that is, in response to changed content being displayed on the first screen 410, the keyword information 431 displayed on the third screen 430 may be updated to keyword information 432 corresponding to the changed content. Figs. 4A-4B, 6A-6B).
Han ‘426 teaches:
EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information from an external device connected to a display device and received from the external device, the EPG information comprising at least one of a program identifier, a subtitle, and a program name of a broadcast program ([0042], “The broadcasting receiver 120 includes an antenna, a tuner, etc. to receive and process a broadcasting signal from a broadcasting station. … The broadcasting signal may contain an audio signal, a video signal, and a data signal, and may include electronic program guide (EPG) information about a broadcasting program. The EPG information may include channel information about the broadcasting signal, program information according to channels, program time information, etc.”);
wherein, prior to transmitting a search request, a controller acquires
search capability information of an application by requesting search capability of the application and receiving the search capability information of the application in response to the request, and
wherein the search request includes an application identifier identifying each of the second application and a launch mode value for the EPG information, both the second application and the launch mode value being determined based on the search capability information ([0047], [0082], “If a recommended search word is selected by a user, the integrated searching unit 180 refers to setup information (i.e., configuration) of the application unit 160 installed in the display apparatus 101 to thereby determine whether the searching function is supported, and controls the application unit 160 having the searching function to thereby command the application unit to search the contents with regard to the recommended search word. In response to the determination of whether the searching function is supported, the integrated searching unit 180 directly searches the contents with regard to the application program having no searching function, and displays it in the search list.”).
Ellis teaches wherein broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information is requested by a controller ([0068], “When a user indicates a desire to view television program listings, the program guide client requests listings from program guide server 25 and generates an appropriate program listings screen for display on display device 45 (FIG. 4).” [0050], “Personal computer 23 may include processing circuitry 27, memory 29, storage device 31, communications device 35, and monitor 39.”).
Taking the teachings of the references together it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings to produce a combined system as recited in the claim. The modification would serve to facilitate searching through a plurality of applications (Han ‘426: [0010]). The modification would serve to facilitate reception and access to wherein the broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information. The modification would thereby enhance convenience for users.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Han (US 2016/0048314, hereinafter “Han ‘314”), Han et al. (US 2012/0144426, hereinafter “Han ‘426”), and Ellis et al. (US 2003/0020744).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Han ‘314 teaches a display device comprising:
a network interface ([0099], [0101], Fig. 3);
a display configured operate in a multi-view mode so as to simultaneously display ([0057], “the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously provide, through the multi-screens, currently watched broadcasting content and web-based content, received through the server 20, associated with the corresponding broadcasting content.” Figs. 3, 4A):
a first image, which corresponds to a first application that provides real-time broadcasting, on a first split screen of the display ([0057], “The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may be embodied to provide multi-screens (i.e., multiple screens at the same time) so as to simultaneously provide or perform various tasks and to provide various types of associated contents about currently watched content through the multi-screens. For example, the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously provide, through the multi-screens, currently watched broadcasting content and web-based content, received through the server 20, associated with the corresponding broadcasting content.” [0098], [0102], “The presentation module 154 is a module for configuration of a display image. The presentation module 154 includes a multimedia module for reproducing and outputting multimedia content and a UI rendering module for performing UI and graphic processing.” Figs. 3, 4A), and
a second image, which corresponds to a second application different from first application and that supports a search function that is related to the first application, on a second split screen of the display ([0109], “A third screen 430 of the multi-screens may provide content information associated with currently watched content. In this case, the associated content information may be provided based on a preset content search domain.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” [0098], [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” Figs. 3, 4A); and
a controller ([0060], Figs. 2A-2B) configured to:
acquire broadcast information about the first image ([0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]);
transmit a search request for the acquired broadcast information to a server configured to provide a service for the second application through the network interface ([0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0103], “The web browser module 155 refers to a module that performs web browsing to access a web server.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.”);
receive search results for the broadcast information from the server through the network interface; and
update the second image on the second split screen to display the received search results on the second split screen ([0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” [0111], “As shown in FIG. 4B, in response to currently watched content being changed according to movement of the selection GUI 10 positioned in the second screen 420, that is, in response to changed content being displayed on the first screen 410, the keyword information 431 displayed on the third screen 430 may be updated to keyword information 432 corresponding to the changed content. Figs. 4A-4B, 6A-6B).
Han ‘314 does not expressly teach wherein the broadcast information is EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information requested by the controller from an external device connected to the display device and received from the external device, the EPG information comprising at least one of a program identifier, a subtitle, and a program name of a broadcast program corresponding to the first image. Han ‘314 also does not expressly teach wherein, prior to transmitting the search request, the controller acquires search capability information of the second application by requesting search capability of the second application and receiving the search capability information of the second application in response to the request, and wherein the search request includes an application identifier identifying each of the second application and a launch mode value for the EPG information, both the second application and the launch mode value being determined based on the search capability information.
Han ‘426 teaches:
EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information from an external device connected to a display device and received from the external device, the EPG information comprising at least one of a program identifier, a subtitle, and a program name of a broadcast program ([0042], “The broadcasting receiver 120 includes an antenna, a tuner, etc. to receive and process a broadcasting signal from a broadcasting station. … The broadcasting signal may contain an audio signal, a video signal, and a data signal, and may include electronic program guide (EPG) information about a broadcasting program. The EPG information may include channel information about the broadcasting signal, program information according to channels, program time information, etc.”);
wherein, prior to transmitting a search request, a controller acquires
search capability information of an application by requesting search capability of the application and receiving the search capability information of the application in response to the request, and
wherein the search request includes an application identifier identifying each of the second application and a launch mode value for the EPG information, both the second application and the launch mode value being determined based on the search capability information ([0047], [0082], “If a recommended search word is selected by a user, the integrated searching unit 180 refers to setup information (i.e., configuration) of the application unit 160 installed in the display apparatus 101 to thereby determine whether the searching function is supported, and controls the application unit 160 having the searching function to thereby command the application unit to search the contents with regard to the recommended search word. In response to the determination of whether the searching function is supported, the integrated searching unit 180 directly searches the contents with regard to the application program having no searching function, and displays it in the search list.”).
In view of Han ‘426’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han ‘314 wherein the broadcast information is EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information from an external device connected to the display device and received from the external device, the EPG information comprising at least one of a program identifier, a subtitle, and a program name of a broadcast program corresponding to the first image. Han ‘314 also does not expressly teach wherein, prior to transmitting the search request, the controller acquires search capability information of the second application by requesting search capability of the second application and receiving the search capability information of the second application in response to the request, and wherein the search request includes an application identifier identifying each of the second application and a launch mode value for the EPG information, both the second application and the launch mode value being determined based on the search capability information. The modification would serve to facilitate searching through a plurality of applications (Han ‘426: [0010]).
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information is requested by the controller.
Ellis teaches wherein broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information is requested by a controller ([0068], “When a user indicates a desire to view television program listings, the program guide client requests listings from program guide server 25 and generates an appropriate program listings screen for display on display device 45 (FIG. 4).” [0050], “Personal computer 23 may include processing circuitry 27, memory 29, storage device 31, communications device 35, and monitor 39.”).
In view of Ellis’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information is requested by the controller. The modification would serve to facilitate reception and access to wherein the broadcast information EPG (Electronic Program Guide) information. The modification would thereby enhance convenience for users.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination teaches wherein the broadcast information comprises a program name of the first image (Han ‘314: [0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the combination further teaches wherein the broadcast information comprises meta information comprising at least one of background music information of the first image or character information of the first image (Han ‘314: [0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire at least one of the background music information or the character information, which are contained in the meta information, in a form of one or more search keywords (Han ‘314: [0069], “In detail, the processor 130 may provide a keyword based on various information items such as a title, characters, a place, character, an item, sound, and so on that are contained in metadata that is received together with displayed content.” [0071]); and
display a search menu comprising the one or more search keywords on the second split screen (Han ‘314: [0072], “In this case, the processor 130 may provide associated content information retrieved according to an associated keyword in a preset content search domain selected according to a preset event. Here, a content search domain for a content search may include at least one of a video content domain, a web browser domain, and an application domain. For example, the processor 130 may provide web page information retrieved through a keyword ‘Paris’ in the web browser domain provided by default upon entering a corresponding service. In addition, the processor 130 may provide video content information retrieved through the keyword ‘Paris’ in the video content domain selected according to a user command.” [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.” Figs. 4A-4B, 6A-6B).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination teaches wherein the controller is configured to display the search menu according to a command received from a remote control device (Han ‘314: [0056], “When the display apparatus 100 is embodied as a digital TV, the display apparatus 100 may be controlled by a remote control apparatus 10, a user motion, or a user voice.” [0085], “In particular, the communication unit 140 may communicate with the remote control apparatus 10 (refer to FIG. 1) for control of the display apparatus 100′ and communicate with the server 20 (refer to FIG. 1) for providing various network-based services, for example, a web server for providing web video content, a web page, a web-based application, and so on.”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the combination further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive a command for selecting one of the one or more search keywords; and transmit a search request for the selected search keyword to the server according to the received command (Han ‘314: [0122], “In detail, when the content refresh function is on, a video content search result 710 retrieved according to an associated keyword as well as the associated keyword may be updated according to the changed content, as shown in a bottom left portion of FIG. 7A. In detail, a search may be automatically performed according to one of displayed keywords and the video content search result may be automatically updated and provided.” [0123], “On the other hand, when the content refresh function is off, only an associated keyword 720 may be updated according to the changed content and a video content search result according to the keyword may not be updated and may be maintained, as shown in a bottom right portion of FIG. 7A. … In this case, in response to the updated keyword being selected by a user, the video content search result retrieved according to the selected keyword may be provided.” Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination further teaches wherein the search results are related to the broadcast information and comprise at least one of a video, an image or a content address (Han ‘314: [0116], “As shown in FIG. 5B, when the search domain is changed to a video content domain (e.g., Youtube) from a web browser search domain, a UI image corresponding to a corresponding search domain may be provided in third screens 630 and 640, as shown in FIG. 6A. In detail, keyword information 641 associated with currently watched content and a video search result 642 retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 641 may be provided in a screen 640 (e.g., second sub-screen) among the third screens 630 and 640. For example, a keyword as a search object may be a first keyword of displayed keywords. [0117], “In addition, one of retrieved video contents, for example, information about first displayed video content, may be provided in a screen 630 (e.g., first sub-screen) of the third screens 630 and 640. Here, information may be provided in the form of a thumbnail image including a still image, a video, or a slideshow, or in the form of reproduction of corresponding video content.” [0118], Figs. 6A-6B).
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Han ‘314, Han ‘426, Ellis, and Liu et al (US 2022/0342918).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the combination further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
acquires the search capability information of the second application when the broadcast information is acquired, wherein the search capability information includes launch mode information that indicates whether a content search for the EPG information is supported by the second application (Han ‘426: [0047], “The application unit 160 includes an application program that is installed in the display apparatus 100 to execute various contents. The application unit 160 searches contents corresponding to or including a recommended search word selected under control of the integrated searching unit 180, and executes the selected contents. The application program may be stored when the display apparatus 100 is manufactured, or downloaded from the content provider through wired or wireless Internet.” [0082], “If a recommended search word is selected by a user, the integrated searching unit 180 refers to setup information (i.e., configuration) of the application unit 160 installed in the display apparatus 101 to thereby determine whether the searching function is supported, and controls the application unit 160 having the searching function to thereby command the application unit to search the contents with regard to the recommended search word. In response to the determination of whether the searching function is supported, the integrated searching unit 180 directly searches the contents with regard to the application program having no searching function, and displays it in the search list.”), and
wherein, when the content search for the EPG information is supported by the second application, the search capability information further includes launch parameter information that that indicates one or more additional search parameters that are supported by the second application (Han ‘426: [0047], “The application unit 160 includes an application program that is installed in the display apparatus 100 to execute various contents. The application unit 160 searches contents corresponding to or including a recommended search word selected under control of the integrated searching unit 180, and executes the selected contents. The application program may be stored when the display apparatus 100 is manufactured, or downloaded from the content provider through wired or wireless Internet.” [0082], “If a recommended search word is selected by a user, the integrated searching unit 180 refers to setup information (i.e., configuration) of the application unit 160 installed in the display apparatus 101 to thereby determine whether the searching function is supported, and controls the application unit 160 having the searching function to thereby command the application unit to search the contents with regard to the recommended search word. In response to the determination of whether the searching function is supported, the integrated searching unit 180 directly searches the contents with regard to the application program having no searching function, and displays it in the search list.”),
the one or more additional search parameters that are supported by the second application comprising a keyword parameter (Han ‘314: [0110], “In detail, the third screen 430 may provide keyword information 431 associated with the currently watched content provided in the first screen 410 and a web content search result retrieved according to at least one of the keyword information 431.”); and
one of:
transmit the search request to the server of the second application when the launch mode information indicates that the second application does support the content search for the EPG information (Han ‘426: [0047], “The application unit 160 includes an application program that is installed in the display apparatus 100 to execute various contents. The application unit 160 searches contents corresponding to or including a recommended search word selected under control of the integrated searching unit 180, and executes the selected contents. The application program may be stored when the display apparatus 100 is manufactured, or downloaded from the content provider through wired or wireless Internet.” [0082], “If a recommended search word is selected by a user, the integrated searching unit 180 refers to setup information (i.e., configuration) of the application unit 160 installed in the display apparatus 101 to thereby determine whether the searching function is supported, and controls the application unit 160 having the searching function to thereby command the application unit to search the contents with regard to the recommended search word. In response to the determination of whether the searching function is supported, the integrated searching unit 180 directly searches the contents with regard to the application program having no searching function, and displays it in the search list.”), or
refrain from transmitting the search request when the launch mode information indicates that the second application does not support the content search for the EPG information.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the one or more additional search parameters that are supported by the second application comprises a language parameter.
Liu teaches search parameters comprising a language parameter ([0035], “In embodiments, default search parameters can also be specified, either as part of a user's profile or as system defaults. Some non-limiting examples of additional search parameters include a preferred language for the content or a content language that should not be searched, a file format, an encoding format, and a geographic region of content to be searched.”).
In view of Liu’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination the one or more additional search parameters that are supported by the second application comprises a language parameter. The modification would provide users with additional options for specifying preferred content. The modification would thereby serve to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426