DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an application filing received January 3, 2025. The preliminary amendment received January 3, 2025 has been entered. The Application Data Sheet received on January 3, 2025 has been considered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed January 3, 2025 and June 12, 2026 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
" means for transmitting a message …" and " means for receiving a reference signal …”; and “means for transmitting is further configured to transmit a report indicating a layer 1 (L I) signal quality metric …”, in claim 29.
Sufficient structure for the functions was found in the specification in at least pages 49-53.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 12 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 and 12, recite the limitation "analytical filtering" in line 6 and 2 respectively. The scope of the claim regarding analytical filtering is not defined and unclear. As result metes and bounds of the scope of the claim are unknown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 12, 14, 16 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al., US 20180115357 A1, (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1 and 28-30, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 32, element UE-3220, processor-3221, memory-3222, rf unit-3223; [1183] The UE 3220 includes a processor 3221, a memory 3222, and an RF unit 3223. The processor 3221 implements a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIGS. 1 to 31):
transmit a message indicating a measurement behavior of the apparatus (see Fig. 18, e.g., element S1810; Fig. 19, element S1910, Fig. 20, element S2010; ¶ [0493] - [0494], Referring to FIG. 18, the UE transmits the capability signaling including the capability information of the UE related with the CSI operation to the base station (S1810). The capability information of the UE includes first control information representing the maximum number of CSI related operations which may be simultaneously fully activated; see [0502], [0529], discloses same capability; see ¶ [0512] - [0513], In the above operations, configuration information related with a window that averages the CSI measurement may be defined to be provided through the RRC signaling separately or together. Further, such an operation may be defined only with respect to an enhanced UE that supports a configuration of a type such as the full/partial activation.);
receive a reference signal associated with a channel measurement resource (CMR) (see ¶ [0704] - [0705], the UE receives at least one CSI-RS from the base station based on the received CSI process related information (or CSI-RS configuration information) (S2240). Herein, the at least one CSI-RS is transmitted through at least one CSI-RS port of the base station; see ¶ [0531], the UE repeatedly measures the fully activated CSI-RSs during the initialized or updated CSI measurement window interval, averages the measurement result, and reports the average value to the base station S2050 and S2060); see Fig. 25, ¶ [0816] - [0817], wherein the activated CSI-RSs being associated with channel measurement resources i.e., resource elements); and
transmit a report indicating a layer 1 (L1) signal quality metric associated with the CMR, the L1 signal quality metric being based on the measurement behavior (see ¶ [0706] - [0707], Then, the UE measures a channel for the at least one CSI-RS port based on the at least one received CSI-RS (S2250). Thereafter, the UE reports or feeds back the channel measurement result to the base station (S2260); see ¶ [0531], the UE repeatedly measures the fully activated CSI-RSs during the initialized or updated CSI measurement window interval, averages the measurement result, and reports the average value to the base station (S2050 and S2060); see ¶ [0569], Consequently, since the UE does not know the updated matrix P1 itself, but receives that the P1 is updated through the BCI, the CSI measurement values are newly averaged from the indication time to perform CSI calculation and reporting (e.g., P1, P2, RI, CQI, and the like) for the corresponding CSI process with respect to only the CSI-RS ports to which the updated P1 is applied. Note that CQI is computed and processed at Layer 1 when UE measures physical signals such as Reference signals/CSI-RS.).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches, wherein the measurement behavior is at least one of:
a first behavior in which the apparatus performs instantaneous measurements of CMRs at respective time instances to obtain L1 signal quality metrics;
a second behavior in which the apparatus performs filtering on measurements of the CMRs to obtain the L1 signal quality metrics, the filtering being one or more of temporal filtering, spatial filtering, analytical filtering, or machine learning (ML) based filtering (see ¶ [0747] - [0753], Herein, the UE may capability-signal a separate value for each dimension with respect to at least one of parameters 1) to 4) given below. 1) an oversampling factor o.sub.d. 2) a beam skip number s.sub.d: The first beam in adjacent beam group is s.sub.d beams away from that of the current beam with respect to W.sub.1,d. 3) a beam spacing number p.sub.d): For W.sub.2,d; the beam spacing within the beam group is p.sub.d. 4) a number of beams L.sub.d: represents the number of beams in a beam group in dimension d.); or
a third behavior in which the apparatus performs the instantaneous measurements or the filtering based on one or more parameters, the one or more parameters including a total quantity of the CMRs, a periodicity of the CMRs, a total quantity of the L1 signal quality metrics, a periodic CMR type, a semi-persistent CMR type, an aperiodic CMR type, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) report quantity, or a signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) report quantity.
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches, wherein the measurement behavior indicates that the L1 signal quality metric is a filtered measurement (see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation; ¶ [0697], the base station determines a CSI-RS configuration to be transmitted to the UE based on the received UE capability signaling (S2220).).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Park further teaches, wherein the report further indicates filtering information associated with the filtered measurement (see ¶ [0512], In the above operations, configuration information related with a window that averages the CSI measurement may be defined to be provided through the RRC signaling separately or together. Implicitly indicated by the report that the configured window was used.).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Park further teaches, wherein the filtering information indicates a time window associated with the filtered measurement (see ¶ [0512], In the above operations, configuration information related with a window that averages the CSI measurement may be defined to be provided ).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Park further teaches, wherein the filtering information includes an analytical filtering parameter (see ¶ [0749]- [0753], Herein, the UE may capability-signal a separate value for each dimension with respect to at least one of parameters 1) to 4) given below. 1) an oversampling factor o.sub.d, 2) a beam skip number s.sub.d: The first beam in adjacent beam group is s.sub.d beams away from that of the current beam with respect to W.sub.1,d. 3) a beam spacing number p.sub.d): For W.sub.2,d; the beam spacing within the beam group is p.sub.d. 4) a number of beams L.sub.d: represents the number of beams in a beam group in dimension d; see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches, wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior is a radio resource control (RRC) message (see ¶ [0886], Further, the UE may transmit a capability signaling including information indicating whether to support (alternatively, implement) only a channel MR operation, or whether to support (alternatively, implement) only an interference MR operation, or whether to support both the channel MR operation and the interference MR operation in association with an RRC configuration message for channel measurement restriction (MR) and/or interference MR to the base station).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 14.
Park further teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
receive a second message indicating the apparatus to apply the measurement behavior;
wherein the second message is another RRC message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) (see ¶ [0503], After step S1920 (after the base station transmits the CSI operation related configuration information to the UE), the base station transmits an indication message of indicating measurement for the fully activated CSI-RS to the UE (S1930). [0504] The indication message may be MAC CE or DCI.).
Regarding claim 27, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches, wherein the report is associated with a channel state information (CSI) report configuration indicating a time restriction for channel measurements,
and wherein the L1 signal quality metric being based on the measurement behavior is based on the time restriction being not configured (see ¶ [0639]-[0667] when the UE receives a new CSI-RS port configuration (e.g., CSI-RS resource) such as 12-port or 16-port in the form of multiple aggregated CSI-RS resources from the base station, a restriction that the corresponding aggregated CSI-RS resources are configured not to be spaced apart from each other by X (OFDM) symbols (e.g., X=2) may be defined/configured … This is a type that further alleviates the restriction and an alleviated restriction of a type that ‘allows the transmission of all of the M-CSI-RSs to be shown at least one time in the specific L subframes’ may be granted. the UE may be defined/configured to perform selection among corresponding M CSI-RS resources during an interval in which the transmission of all M CSI-RSs is shown and report a specific (alternatively, selected) CSI-RS resource.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of FAXÉR et al., WO 2021064641 A1, (hereinafter FAXÉR).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the measurement behavior indicates that the L1 signal quality metric is associated with a measurement of the CMR at a time instance (see ¶ [1013], the CSI for a large number of antenna ports may be obtained at the base station side with a much smaller number of N CSI-RS ports which are transmitted for each measurement time instance; see ¶[1158], When the base station intends to indicate N>1 selected resources for (Approach 2-1), the UE reports N sets of {RI, PMI, CQI} to the base station, each set is obtained for each selected CSI-RS resource.),
however it does not explicitly teach instantaneous measurement.
FAXÉR teaches instantaneous measurement (see ¶ [0043], For Low/High Latency CSI Classes, the timeline requirement is fixed in specification while the timeline requirement for beam reporting depends on the UE's reported capability on beam report timing ( C.sub.m ) and beam switch timing ( KB.sub.t ); see ¶ [0113] - [0114], UE receives an aperiodic CSI request for a certain CSI report category (a single Low Latency CSI report). When sending the aperiodic CSI request for the certain CSI report category, the gNB may in some cases want to receive the CSI report instantly due to that, for instance, a transmission of a URLLC PDSCH is imminent. In these cases, it may be appropriate to deprioritize (i.e., "sacrifice") the calculations of ongoing CSI reports so that the UE can focus all of its computational resources on calculating the triggered CSI report.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of FAXÉR to include instantaneous measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving "overriding" previous CSI calculations, reduced CSI latency and more reliable URLLC scheduling as suggested by FAXÉR (see ¶ [0047], Ultra-Reliable Low- Latency Communication (URLLC) CSI reports are allowed to "override" previous CSI calculations and thus allocate all CSI computation resources for the URLLC CSI report to achieve and maintain a faster CSI timeline. Some embodiments achieve more flexible triggering of URLLC CSI reports so that the ultra-low latency CSI timeline can be applied for more cases, which reduces the CSI latency and in turn results in more reliable URLLC scheduling.)
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of FAXÉR and in further view of lnterDigital, Inc., 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, R1-2203375, (hereinafter lnterDigital).
Regarding claim 4, Park as combined with FAXÉR teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
Park teaches measurement reports (see ¶[1158], When the base station intends to indicate N>1 selected resources for, the UE reports N sets of {RI, PMI, CQI} to the base station, each set is obtained for each selected CSI-RS resource),
However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the report further indicates the time instance.
lnterDigital teaches wherein the report further indicates the time instance (see Pg. 6, Observation 5: For gNB which predicts beams by using Al/ML, time domain characteristics of beam measurements are essential as well as spatial domain characteristics. Proposal 4: Study benefits of specification enhancements such as UE reporting with associated time slot domain information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified measurement report of Park as combined with FAXÉR to incorporate the teachings lnterDigital to include wherein the report further indicates the time instance. Doing so would facilitate in achieving efficient beam management and beam prediction, overhead and latency reduction as suggested by lnterDigital (see Pg. 1, Use cases to focus on: Initial set of use cases - Beam management, e.g., beam prediction in time, and/or spatial domain for overhead and latency reduction).
Regarding claim 5, Park as combined with FAXÉR teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
Park teaches measurement reports (see ¶[1158], When the base station intends to indicate N>1 selected resources for, the UE reports N sets of {RI, PMI, CQI} to the base station, each set is obtained for each selected CSI-RS resource),
However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the report further indicates a reception beam associated with the instantaneous measurement.
lnterDigital teaches wherein the report further indicates a reception beam associated with the instantaneous measurement (see Pg. 5, Observation 9: The implementation-based UE Rx beam selection works for Rel-15, however, UE Rx beam information is crucial to accurately predict beam qualities for Al/ML based beam prediction. Proposal 6: Study benefits of specification enhancements on acquiring UE Rx beam information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified measurement report of Park as combined with FAXÉR to incorporate the teachings lnterDigital to include wherein the report further indicates a reception beam associated with the instantaneous measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving efficient beam management and beam prediction, overhead and latency reduction as suggested by lnterDigital (see Pg. 1, Use cases to focus on: Initial set of use cases - Beam management, e.g., beam prediction in time, and/or spatial domain for overhead and latency reduction).
Claim(s) 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Samsung, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, R1-2203900, (hereinafter Samsung).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Park further teaches filtered measurement (see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation; ¶ [0697], the base station determines a CSI-RS configuration to be transmitted to the UE based on the received UE capability signaling (S2220).).,
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the filtering information indicates a plurality of time instances associated with the filtered measurement.
Samsung teaches wherein the filtering information indicates a plurality of time instances associated with the filtered measurement (see Pg. 5, Sec 4.1, Step#2. UE measures the RS and provides corresponding Ll-RSRP report for each measurement time instance for the RS.
For this step, UE measures the SSB/CSI-RS and provides corresponding RSRP report for each time instance of the measurement of the SSB/CSI-RS (e.g., timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurements = 'configured'), and implicitly implying when timeRestriction is not configured a filtering can be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park to incorporate the teachings of Samsung to include wherein the filtering information indicates a plurality of time instances associated with the filtered measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving efficient link adaptation, beam prediction and advance beam switch, avoid potential link failure or retransmission and latency reduction as suggested by Samsung (see Pg. 5, Case -3, This case is beneficial to the link adaptation of gNB. For example, with the knowledge of the future Ll-RSRP, gNB can perform beam switch or MCS adjustment in advance to avoid potential link failure or retransmission. Another benefit of this case is latency reduction, especially the time period for gNB Tx beam sweeping and/or indication/activation of the future beam can be reduced from the beam switch in advance.).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
Park further teaches filtered measurement (see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation; ¶ [0697], the base station determines a CSI-RS configuration to be transmitted to the UE based on the received UE capability signaling (S2220).).,
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the filtering information indicates a reception beam associated with a respective one of the time instances.
Samsung teaches wherein the filtering information indicates a reception beam associated with a respective one of the time instances (see Pg. 4-5, Sec 3.2
Case-2b, Step#2. UE performs RX beam prediction within the full UE Rx beam set.
For this step, UE measures the 4 SSBs or CSI-RSs with repetition on and perform Rx beam prediction for the purpose of Rx beam determination/refinement. Here, the measurement result of the SSBs or CSI-RSs can be used as the input for an AI model and the predicted Ll-RSRP for the full Rx beam set can be regarded as output. By using this method, the best Rx beam within the full UE Rx beam set can be determined. [Step#3. UE perform UL transmission using the same beam as the predicted Rx beam].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park to incorporate the teachings of Samsung to include wherein the filtering information indicates a plurality of time instances associated with the filtered measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving overhead reduction, reduction in RSs required to be measured and latency reduction as suggested by Samsung (see Pg. 5, Case-2b, One benefit of this case is overhead reduction. As mentioned above, the gNB can transmit less RSs in comparison with legacy. Also, from the perspective of UE, less RSs are required to be measured. Another benefit of this case is latency reduction, especially the time period for UE Rx beam determination or refinement can be reduced.).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
Park further teaches filtered measurement (see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation; ¶ [0697], the base station determines a CSI-RS configuration to be transmitted to the UE based on the received UE capability signaling (S2220).).,
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the information indicates a machine learning (ML) model of the apparatus, the filtered measurement being an output of the ML model (see Pg. 4-5, Sec 3.2 Case-2b, Step#2. UE performs RX beam prediction within the full UE Rx beam set. For this step, UE measures the 4 SSBs or CSI-RSs with repetition on and perform Rx beam prediction for the purpose of Rx beam determination/refinement. Here, the measurement result of the SSBs or CSI-RSs can be used as the input for an AI model and the predicted Ll-RSRP for the full Rx beam set can be regarded as output. By using this method, the best Rx beam within the full UE Rx beam set can be determined. [Step#3. UE perform UL transmission using the same beam as the predicted Rx beam] … For this case, one potential specification impact is UE capability, where an advanced UE capability for Rx beam sweeping
may be needed. Another potential specification impact is that UE may provide additional information to assist gNB for the reception of the UL transmission. Note that implicitly implying by UE uses advanced UE capability to send this additional information to assist gNB reception).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park to incorporate the teachings of Samsung to include wherein the filtering information indicates a plurality of time instances associated with the filtered measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving overhead reduction, reduction in RSs required to be measured and latency reduction as suggested by Samsung (see Pg. 5, Case-2b, One benefit of this case is overhead reduction. As mentioned above, the gNB can transmit less RSs in comparison with legacy. Also, from the perspective of UE, less RSs are required to be measured. Another benefit of this case is latency reduction, especially the time period for UE Rx beam determination or refinement can be reduced.).
Claim(s) 11, 15, 17, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of SUN et al., US 20220311477 A1, (hereinafter SUN).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Park further teaches filtered measurement (see ¶ [0557], the UE may configure/apply an appropriate measurement averaging window upon CSI measurement and calculation; ¶ [0697], the base station determines a CSI-RS configuration to be transmitted to the UE based on the received UE capability signaling (S2220).).,
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the information includes information associated with a different CMR than the CMR associated with the filtered measurement.
SUN teaches wherein the information includes information associated with a different CMR than the CMR associated with the filtered measurement (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. In the case that periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to configure or release one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via RRC message(s). In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the information includes information associated with a different CMR than the CMR associated with the filtered measurement. Doing so would facilitate in achieving dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 14.
Park further teaches wherein the RRC message including the measurement behavior. (see ¶ [0494], The capability information of the UE includes first control information representing the maximum number of CSI related operations which may be simultaneously fully activated and second control information representing the maximum number of CSI related operations which may be simultaneously partially activated. ¶ [0886], the UE may transmit a capability signaling including information indicating whether to support (alternatively, implement) only a channel MR operation, or whether to support (alternatively, implement) only an interference MR operation, or whether to support both the channel MR operation and the interference MR operation in association with an RRC configuration message for channel measurement restriction (MR) and/or interference MR to the base station),
however, it does not explicitly teach a plurality of measurement behaviors.
SUN teaches a plurality of measurement behaviors (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. In the case that periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to configure or release one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via RRC message(s). In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified RRC message including the measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the information includes a plurality of measurement behaviors. Doing so would facilitate in achieving dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior. (see ¶ [0494], The capability information of the UE includes first control information representing the maximum number of CSI related operations which may be simultaneously fully activated and second control information representing the maximum number of CSI related operations which may be simultaneously partially activated. ¶ [0886], the UE may transmit a capability signaling including information indicating whether to support (alternatively, implement) only a channel MR operation, or whether to support (alternatively, implement) only an interference MR operation, or whether to support both the channel MR operation and the interference MR operation in association with an RRC configuration message for channel measurement restriction (MR) and/or interference MR to the base station),
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
SUN teaches wherein the message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. … In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). Doing so would facilitate in achieving dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior is uplink control information (UCI) (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets ... In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).), and
the UCI further includes the report indicating the L1 signal quality metric associated with the measurement behavior (see ¶ [0029], In some cases, a new preferred number of Rx beams for an Rx beam sweep may be indicated to the base station as part of a MAC-CE, a Layer 1 (L1) measurement report, and/or a Layer 3 (L3) measurement report. This new preferred number of Rx beams may be indicated using the “maxNumberRxBeam” parameter in the manner described above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior is uplink control information (UCI) and the UCI further includes the report indicating the L1 signal quality metric associated with the measurement behavior. Doing so would facilitate in achieving dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: transmit a second message indicating a second measurement behavior of the apparatus, (see ¶ [0028]-[0030], the UE may have previously provided, to the base station, a list of preferred number of Rx beams that the UE may potentially use. This list may be a subset of the possible values that the UE may be able to indicate to the UE as preferred numbers of Rx beams (e.g., a subset of values described above). The UE may then signal one or more of the preferred number of Rx beams that is on this pre-sent list. The use of such a list may reduce the complexity of the response at the base station to the new number of preferred number of Rx beams.), and
the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE; wherein the UCI indicates the measurement behavior in response to the measurement behavior being different than the second measurement behavior (see ¶ [0029], a new preferred number of Rx beams for an Rx beam sweep may be indicated to the base station as part of a MAC-CE, a Layer 1 (L1) measurement report, and/or a Layer 3 (L3) measurement report. This new preferred number of Rx beams may be indicated using the “maxNumberRxBeam” parameter in the manner described above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include transmit a second message indicating a second measurement behavior of the apparatus and the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE; wherein the UCI indicates the measurement behavior in response to the measurement behavior being different than the second measurement behavior. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduction in complexity at the base station, dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0030], This reduction in complexity at the base station may be especially useful in cases were the base station is serving, for example, a large number of beamforming UEs simultaneously. ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage).
Regarding claim 24, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior is transmitted in an application layer of the apparatus. (see ¶ [0084], The UE 916 may be configured to connect or communicatively couple with the (R)AN 906 through a radio interface 930, which may be a physical communication interface or layer configured to operate with cellular communication protocols such as a GSM protocol, a CDMA network protocol, a Push-to-Talk (PTT) protocol, a PTT over Cellular (POC) protocol, a UMTS protocol, a 3GPP LTE protocol, a 5G protocol, a NR protocol, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the message indicating the measurement behavior is transmitted in an application layer of the apparatus. Doing so would facilitate in achieving facilitating various configurable scenarios as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0030], UE 700 configurable according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, including by execution of instructions on a computer-readable medium that correspond to any of the example methods and/or procedures described herein.).
Claim(s) 18-20, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of SUN, and in further view of CHA et al., US 20210376894 A1, (hereinafter CHA).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches the measurement message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. In the case that periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to configure or release one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via RRC message(s). In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).),
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: receive an acknowledgment of the MAC-CE, wherein the L1 signal quality metric being based on the measurement behavior is based on the acknowledgment.
CHA teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
receive an acknowledgment of the MAC-CE (see ¶ [0149], Meanwhile, the control information which the UE transmits to the eNB through the uplink or the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. The UE may transmit the control information such as the CQI/PMI/RI, etc., through the PUSCH and/or PUCCH; ¶ [0518] When the UE reports channel state information (CSI) contents indicated from the BS, the UE may be configured/indicated with multiple CSI reporting times as a candidate(s)/resource(s) (or resource set(s), etc.) in which CSI reporting is possible through higher layer signaling such as RRC and/or dynamic signaling such as DCI/MAC-CE, etc., not one specific time, and configured/indicated to perform the CSI reporting by using some or all of the multiple CSI reporting times.),
wherein the L1 signal quality metric being based on the measurement behavior is based on the acknowledgment (see ¶ [0487], As another specific example, after +k (or −k) time units (e.g., symbol(s), slot(s), or milliseconds) based on a time of transmitting, to the UE, a signal (e.g., acknowledgement, etc.) meaning that the BS grants the new beam setting reporting/request, the UE may discard the previously acquired/measured measurement value. The BS may configure/indicate the operation of the UE, and the UE may perform the operation as a default operation even though there is no separate configuration/indication of the BS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park combined with SUN to incorporate the teachings of CHA to include wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: receive an acknowledgment of the MAC-CE, wherein the L1 signal quality metric being based on the measurement behavior is based on the acknowledgment. Doing so would facilitate in achieving calculating an average value of measurement values acquired over multiple periodicities as suggested by CHA (see ¶ [0485], the UE may ignore/exclude the measurement value (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, etc.) acquired before the new beam setting reporting/request time. In other words, ignoring/excluding the measurement values (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR) may be interpreted as excluding the measurement values in the process of calculating/determining an average value of measurement values acquired over multiple periodicities in order to report the RS index(es) and/or RS index(es) and measurement values (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR)).
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches the measurement message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. In the case that periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to configure or release one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via RRC message(s). In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).),
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: transmit a second message indicating a different measurement behavior of the apparatus, the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE; wherein the measurement behavior indicated in the MAC-CE overrides the different measurement behavior indicated in the second message.
CHA teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a second message indicating a different measurement behavior of the apparatus, the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE; (see ¶ [0444], The UE may request a change of some or all of downlink TX beam(s) of the BS/TP(s) based on a size of each of measurements (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/SINR, etc.) measured up to a specific time or an average value of measurement values (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/SINR, etc.) measured up to a specific time by using an RS resource(s) and/or RS resource set(s) configured from the BS. Here, the measurement value may be CSI for beam reporting; ¶ [0296], RSs to be monitored by a UE may be explicitly configured by RRC or are implicitly determined by a beam RS for a control channel.),
wherein the measurement behavior indicated in the MAC-CE overrides the different measurement behavior indicated in the second message (see ¶ [0488], When the UE reports/requests the new beam setting before Y (symbol(s), slot(s), or milliseconds) based on a next RS reception time, the UE may discard the measurement value such as RSRP/RSRQ/SINR for the RS resource(s) transmitted up to the present time. On the contrary, if the UE reports/requests the new beam setting before the next RS reception time, but does not report/request the new beam setting before Y (symbol(s), slot(s), or milliseconds) based on the RS reception time, the UE may discard the measurement value(s) such as RSRP/RSRQ/SINR acquired while receiving the next RS, which includes the measurement value acquired up to the present time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park combined with SUN to incorporate the teachings of CHA to include transmit a second message indicating a different measurement behavior of the apparatus, the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reducing unnecessary delay and/or overhead by using preconfigured resources as suggested by CHA (see ¶ [0444], A signaling (e.g., new beam setting request/reporting) of the UE therefor may use a time-frequency resource preconfigured from the BS or may be performed without approval of the BS (grant-free). Unnecessary delay and/or overhead may be reduced through the operations of the UE and the BS.).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches the measurement message is a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (see ¶ [0038], The specific manner of the UE's indication of whether to use 1 or 2 NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets may depend on the type of CSI-RS being used in the one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets. In the case that periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to configure or release one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via RRC message(s). In the case that semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether to activate or deactivate one or more NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets via MAC-CE(s). In the case where aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) are used, the UE can indicate whether one or two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSets are triggered via uplink control information (UCI).),
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a plurality of measurement behaviors including the measurement behavior, wherein the MAC-CE selects the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors.
CHA teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a plurality of measurement behaviors including the measurement behavior,
wherein the MAC-CE selects the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors. (see ¶ [0518]- [0519], When the UE reports channel state information (CSI) contents indicated from the BS, the UE may be configured/indicated with multiple CSI reporting times as a candidate(s)/resource(s) (or resource set(s), etc.) in which CSI reporting is possible through higher layer signaling such as RRC and/or dynamic signaling such as DCI/MAC-CE, etc., not one specific time, and configured/indicated to perform the CSI reporting by using some or all of the multiple CSI reporting times. For example, there are a total of 10 candidates/resources in which the CSI reporting is possible and if the CSI reporting is performed by only one of 10 candidates/resources, … the UE to select and use a beam in which an RSRP value acquired by performing measurement for the CSI-RS resources and/or SS/PBCH block resources configured to the UE exceeds a specific threshold value.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park combined with SUN to incorporate the teachings of CHA to include transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a plurality of measurement behaviors including the measurement behavior, wherein the MAC-CE selects the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors. Doing so would facilitate in achieving requesting a beam change even before a reporting period based on meeting measurement threshold as suggested by CHA (see ¶ [0005], requesting a beam change even before a reporting period or a reporting time set for beam-related reporting by comparing a result of performing measurement based on a reference signal and a threshold.).
Regarding claim 23, Park teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Park does not teach but SUN teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: transmit a second message indicating a second measurement behavior of the apparatus, (see ¶ [0028]-[0030], the UE may have previously provided, to the base station, a list of preferred number of Rx beams that the UE may potentially use. This list may be a subset of the possible values that the UE may be able to indicate to the UE as preferred numbers of Rx beams (e.g., a subset of values described above). The UE may then signal one or more of the preferred number of Rx beams that is on this pre-sent list. The use of such a list may reduce the complexity of the response at the base station to the new number of preferred number of Rx beams.), and
the second message being a radio resource control (RRC) message or another MAC-CE; wherein the UCI indicates the measurement behavior in response to the measurement behavior being different than the second measurement behavior (see ¶ [0029], a new preferred number of Rx beams for an Rx beam sweep may be indicated to the base station as part of a MAC-CE, a Layer 1 (L1) measurement report, and/or a Layer 3 (L3) measurement report.),
however, it does not explicitly teach plurality of measurement behaviors and selecting the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors.
CHA teaches plurality of measurement behaviors and selecting the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors (see ¶ [0518]- [0519], the UE may be configured/indicated with multiple CSI reporting times as a candidate(s)/resource(s) (or resource set(s), etc.) … not one specific time, and configured/indicated to perform the CSI reporting by using some or all of the multiple CSI reporting times. For example, there are a total of 10 candidates/resources in which the CSI reporting is possible and if the CSI reporting is performed by only one of 10 candidates/resources … the BS indicates/configures the UE to select and use a beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified message including the measurement behavior of Park improved by SUN to incorporate the teachings of CHA to include plurality of measurement behaviors and selecting the measurement behavior from the plurality of measurement behaviors. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduction in complexity at the base station, dynamically determining a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0030], This reduction in complexity at the base station may be especially useful in cases were the base station is serving, for example, a large number of beamforming UEs simultaneously. ¶ [0040], dynamically determining 304 a preferred number of receive (Rx) beams to use for an Rx beam sweep at the UE based on one or more of the preferred data rate and the preferred power usage) and use a beam whose RSRP value exceeds a specific threshold value as suggested by CHA (see ¶ [0519], the BS indicates/configures the UE to select and use a beam in which an RSRP value acquired by performing measurement for the CSI-RS resources and/or SS/PBCH block resources configured to the UE exceeds a specific threshold value.).
Claim(s) 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of SUN, and in further view of ECHIGO et al., WO 2023218657 A1, (hereinafter ECHIGO).
Regarding claim 25, Park as combined with SUN teaches the limitations of Claim 24.
Park further teaches wherein the measurement behavior indicates that the Ll signal quality metric is a filtered measurement output from a machine learning (ML) model of the apparatus (see ¶ [0531], the UE repeatedly measures the fully activated CSI-RSs during the initialized or updated CSI measurement window interval, averages the measurement result, and reports the average value to the base station (S2050 and S2060); see ¶ [0569], Consequently, since the UE does not know the updated matrix P1 itself, but receives that the P1 is updated through the BCI, the CSI measurement values are newly averaged from the indication time to perform CSI calculation and reporting (e.g., P1, P2, RI, CQI, and the like) for the corresponding CSI process with respect to only the CSI-RS ports to which the updated P1 is applied. Note that CQI is computed and processed at Layer 1 when UE measures physical signals such as Reference signals/CSI-RS.),
however, it does not explicitly teach wherein the measurement output is from a machine learning (ML) model of the apparatus.
ECHIGO teaches wherein the measurement output is from a machine learning (ML) model of the apparatus (see ¶ [0019], the UE/BS may input channel status information, reference signal measurement values, etc., to the ML model and output highly accurate channel status information/measurement values/beam selection/position, future channel status information/wireless link quality, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park to incorporate the teachings of SUN to include wherein the measurement output is from a machine learning (ML) model of the apparatus. Doing so would facilitate in achieving highly accurate channel status information/measurement values as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0019], the UE/BS may input channel status information, reference signal measurement values, etc., to the ML model and output highly accurate channel status information/measurement values/beam selection/position, future channel status information/wireless link quality, etc).
Regarding claim 26, Park as combined with SUN teaches the limitations of Claim 24.
Park as improved by SUN does not teach but ECHIGO teaches wherein the message further indicates a plurality of machine learning (ML) models of the apparatus (see ¶ [0039], the base station (BS) transmits two RSs (CSI-RS#1, #2), and the UE uses AI to predict the beam quality at a future time t=1 based on beam measurements at time t=0 (e.g., L1-RSRPmeasurement). ¶ [0083], Figure 6B shows an example of the number of CPUs (N<sub>CPU</sub>) and the number of concurrent model inferences for calculating the CSI report in Option B), and
the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: transmit a second message indicating a linkage of the ML models to respective ML model identifiers; wherein the report includes the respective ML model identifier of the ML model associated with the measurement behavior (see ¶ [0115]- [0116], Option 3: A new value for CSI computation delay request using AI/ML model inference. For example, a UE may report its capabilities in CSI computation using AI/ML model inference. The UE may report this capability for each AI/ML model, or for each function of the AI/ML model. In options 2 and 3, UE may determine Z<sub>ref</sub> and Z'<sub>ref</sub>(n)according to the AI/ML model to which model inference is applied; ¶ [0123]- [0124] the UE may reportits UE capability regarding additional time for each AI/ML model. The additional time may be calculated based on information related to the AI/ML model (FLOPs) and the UE's capabilities.);
wherein the report is transmitted in a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or uplink control information (UCI) (see ¶ [0257], the notification of information in this disclosure may be carried out by physical layer signaling (e.g., Downlink Control Information (DCI), Uplink Control Information (UCI)), higher layer signaling (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, broadcast information (Master Information Block(MIB), System Information Block (SIB)), Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling), other signals, or a combination thereof.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified filtered measurement of Park as improved by SUN to incorporate the teachings of ECHIGO to include wherein the message further indicates a plurality of machine learning (ML) models of the apparatus, transmit a second message indicating a linkage of the ML models to respective ML model identifiers; wherein the report includes the respective ML model identifier of the ML model associated with the measurement behavior. Doing so would facilitate in achieving highly accurate and future channel status information/measurement values as suggested by SUN (see ¶ [0019], the UE/BS may input channel status information, reference signal measurement values, etc., to the ML model and output highly accurate channel status information/measurement values/beam selection/position, future channel status information/wireless link quality, etc).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220322123 A1 issued to Kang
US 20220393838 A1 issued to Zhang et al.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472