DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This office action is in response to application filed on 01/03/2025.
Limitations appearing inside of {} are intended to indicate the limitations not taught by said prior art(s)/combinations.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Response to Amendments
Amendments to specification, drawings, abstract and claims, filed on 01/03/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-14 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 01/03/2025 has been considered.
Drawings
Figures 1 and 2 are objected to as depicting a block diagram without “readily identifiable” descriptors of each block, as required by 37 CFR 1.84(n). Rule 84(n) requires “labeled representations” of graphical symbols, such as blocks; and any that are “not universally recognized may be used, subject to approval by the Office, if they are not likely to be confused with existing conventional symbols, and if they are readily identifiable.” In the case of figures 1 and 2, the blocks are not readily identifiable per se and therefore require the insertion of text that identifies the function of that block. That is, each vacant block should be provided with a corresponding label identifying its function or purpose.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “steps (a) and (b) have previously…” has been amended to recite “steps and have previously…”, resulting in unclear claim language. Consider maintaining the previous claim language or revising for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
computing unit in claim 8,
communication unit in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty (MPEP §2173.03).
It is unclear how many images are used in calculating the “coarse measurement” and “fine measurement” of the speed vector when reading the specification and the claims. The specification states that the fine measurement may be evaluated using “significantly more data” (Spec, page 14, line 19-20, shown below). For example, the coarse measurement uses two images, and the fine measurement uses 20-30 images (Spec, page 14, lines 25-30, shown below).
It is unclear from the claim language how the number of images used in the fine measurements may be more than the coarse measurement. Claim 1 recites “generating a plurality of captured images”, and “determining position of features within the captured images”. The coarse measurement of the speed vector is then carried out on images whose features fall within “the first capture area”. The number of images in the coarse measurement is broadly interpreted as at least all or fewer than the “plurality of captured images”, depending feature positions. The fine measurement is then performed on images if the coarse measurement exceeds specified maximum speed. The claim is broadly interpreted as carrying out the fine measurement on the at least all or fewer images than the coarse measurement, depending on the coarse speed vector exceedance condition. In other words, all or fewer images may be processed in both the coarse and fine measurements. It is unclear how the fine measurement may be carried out on more images than the coarse measurement, as disclosed in the specification. Examiner respectfully submits that the claims maybe interpreted as being inconsistent with the specification.
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the preceding check" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there are two “checking” steps in claim 1.
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claim 1.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are rejected as they depend from rejected claims.
Claim 2 recites “assume”, rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 2 recites “those captured images F” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Consider including this designation “F” in the limitation of claim 1 referring to images captured with features within the first capture area.
Claim 9 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 4 (line 3), claim 6 (line 2), and claim 7 (line 2) recite the limitation “the mean distance value". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as referring to “the average distance value” recited in claim 2 (part (b) line 1) because per specification (page 15, line 26) the average distance value may be either a mean or a median distance value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1) without additional imitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) and without amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B).
Independent Claim 1 recites device for measuring the speed of vehicles. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine or article of manufacture which is a statutory category of invention (MPEP §2106.03). (Step 1: YES)
Step 2A Prong 1 evaluates if the claim recites any judicial exception (MPEP §2106.04(a)). The claim 8 recites: A device for measuring the speed of vehicles in road traffic, comprising:
an image sensor for generating captured images;
a memory unit for storing the generated captured images ;
a computing unit for performing multiple processing steps; and
a communication unit for transmitting measurement data or measurement results to an external server unit, wherein
the computing unit is configured to generate several captured images of a vehicle;
to identify features of the vehicle within the captured images;
to determine the position of the detected features;
to check whether the identified features are situated within or outside a first capture are;
to perform a coarse measurement for a speed vector of a vehicle , wherein the coarse measurement is based on the position of the features that are situated within the first capture are;
to check whether the speed vector determined during the course measurement represents an exceedance of a specified maximum speed; and
perform a fine measurement for the speed vector if an exceedance of the specified maximum speed was determined during the preceding check.
The USPTO has enumerated groupings of abstract ideas (See §MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)), defined as:
I) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
II) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
III) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind with or without physical aid (i.e., pen and paper, or by using a computer). These include an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion.
The limitations [F], [G], [H], [I], [J], and [K] each recite a mental process which is recognized by the court as an abstract idea (See MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)). Regarding limitations [F]-[K], identifying, determining position of features, within a capture area, performing measurements and comparing to thresholds (i.e, specified maximum speed) are acts that may be performed as a mental process and/or with use of a physical aid. The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim (MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)). . (Step 2A Prong 1: YES)
Step 2A Prong 2 analysis evaluates weather the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception in to a practical application of that exception according to MPEP §2106.04(d) by: 1) Identify additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception; and 2) If additional elements are identified, then evaluate the additional elements both individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, performing a “digital measurement” is merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Additional elements include [A]-[E] are merely use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more, and are considered insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)). The claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not successfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application using the considerations set forth in MPEP §§ 2106.04 - 2106.05. (Step 2A Prong 2: NO)
Step 2B analysis evaluates if the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements, as stated in Prong 2, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. An ‘improvement cannot be to the judicial exception itself, i.e., ‘apply it’/automating an otherwise mentally/manually performed process, even if requiring the use of a computer as a tool (MPEP §2106.05(a)). These elements are found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" (MPEP 2106.05(d)) (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 9 - 14 merely adds additional mathematical formula and thresholds (i.e., criteria) which are abstract ideas (MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)), without adding significantly more.
Claims 1-7 are similarly analyzed as analogous claims 8-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Bernal” (Bernal et al., US 20140063247 A1), as cited in the IDS (01/05/2025) .
1. (Currently Amended) Bernal teaches a method for measuring the speed of a vehicle in road traffic, using a measuring device comprising at least one image sensor (automated video-based vehicle speed estimation; Bernal ¶ [0027]), a memory unit (memory 126, Bernal, Fig 6), a computing unit (computer 30 ;Bernal, Fig 2) and a communication unit (communication media includes wired media such as a wired network or direct-wired connection, and wireless media such as acoustic, RF, infrared and other wireless media; Bernal, ¶ [0034]), the method having the following method steps:
- generating a plurality of captured images of a vehicle (acquire video 10; Bernal, Fig 1; detected vehicle is tracked across a plurality of frames; Bernal, ¶ [0029]);
- identifying features of the vehicle within the captured images (16 (FIG. 1), a feature from the cluster of vectors associated with the detected vehicle is located and tracked across multiple frames; Bernal, ¶ [0048]);
- determining the position of the features identified in the captured images (spatio-temporal coordinates of the tracked features; Bernal, ¶ [0029]);
- checking whether the identified features are situated within or outside a first capture area (a search window is typically defined around the location of the target motion block; Bernal, ¶ [0044]);
- performing a coarse measurement for a speed vector of a vehicle , wherein the coarse measurement is based on the position of the features that are situated within the first capture are (18 (FIG. 1), frame-to-frame and mean speed estimation are performed using the spatio-temporal coordinates of the tracked features with the help of calibration data; Bernal, ¶ [0049]);
- checking whether the speed vector determined during the course measurement represents an exceedance of a specified maximum speed (20 (FIG. 1), if estimated speed exceeds a predetermined threshold; Bernal, ¶ [0051]); and
- performing a fine measurement for the speed vector if an exceedance of the specified maximum speed was determined during the preceding check (20 (FIG. 1), if estimated speed exceeds a predetermined threshold, speed estimation can be performed on decompressed data to calculate a more accurate estimate of speed; Bernal, ¶ [0051]).
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 1. Bernal further teaches
- an image sensor for generating captured images (At 10, video is acquired using, for example, a traffic surveillance camera (e.g., a stationary camera, a camera mounted on a vehicle, or any other suitable camera); Bernal, ¶[0027]);
- a memory unit for storing the generated captured images (memory 126 of FIG. 6; Bernal, ¶[0030]);
- a computing unit for performing multiple processing steps (FIG. 1 can be implemented by a computer 30; Bernal, ¶[0030]); and
- a communication unit for transmitting measurement data or measurement results to an external server unit (Communication media typically embodies computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data in a modulated data signal such as a carrier wave or other transport mechanism and includes any information delivery media.; Bernal, ¶[0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernal in view of “Dogan” (Doğan S, Temiz MS, Külür S. Real time speed estimation of moving vehicles from side view images from an uncalibrated video camera. Sensors (Basel). 2010;10(5):4805-24. doi: 10.3390/s100504805. Epub 2010 May 11. PMID: 22399909; PMCID: PMC3292149.).
2. (Currently Amended) Bernal teaches the method according to claim 1. Bernal does not explicitly disclose wherein performing of the fine measurement for the velocity vector comprises the following steps:
- storing those captured images F which have features within the first capture area, wherein a total of N captured images are stored;
- assume a constant speed vector v of the vehicle in the first capture area;
- for all captured images Fi with i = 2,...,N :
(a) calculating a position Pij for each of the features j recognized in the captured image Fi, from the previously determined position of the feature in the previous captured image Fi-1 and the assumed velocity vector v, according to:
Pi,j=Pi-1j+ v [Symbol font/0x44]t,
wherein Pij describes the position of the feature j detected in the captured image Fi during fine measurement, Pi-1j describes the position of the feature j detected in the captured image Fi1 during coarse measurement, v describes the assumed speed vector of the vehicle in the first capture are , At describes the time difference between the individual captured images;
(b) calculating an average distance value between the positions Pij of the individual features j determined during the coarse measurement and the positions Pij of the individual features j determined during the fine measurement;
(c) changing the speed vector v and repeating steps and until a predefined termination criterion is reached.
However, Dogan, a similar field of endeavor of estimating the speed of a moving vehicle with side view camera images teaches,
- storing those captured images F which have features within the first capture area, wherein a total of N captured images are stored (See Dogan, [§ 2, ¶ 5] teaches discarding images with mismatched frame pairs.);
- assume a constant speed vector v of the vehicle in the first capture area (Dogan teaches image analysis according to a course to fine image pyramid approach as taught by Bouguet 2001 [15]; [§6.1, page 17, ¶3]. Bouguet 2001 teaches “initial guess for the pixel displacement” [§2.2, page 2,¶¶ 4-5], where the pixel displacement d is defined as the velocity or optical flow [§ 1]);
- for all captured images Fi with i = 2,...,N :
(a) calculating a position Pij for each of the features j recognized in the captured image Fi, from the previously determined position of the feature in the previous captured image Fi-1 and the assumed velocity vector v, according to:
Pi,j=Pi-1j+ v [Symbol font/0x44]t,
wherein Pij describes the position of the feature j detected in the captured image Fi during fine measurement, Pi-1j describes the position of the feature j detected in the captured image Fi1 during coarse measurement, v describes the assumed speed vector of the vehicle in the first capture are , At describes the time difference between the individual captured images;
(b) calculating an average distance value between the positions Pij of the individual features j determined during the coarse measurement and the positions Pij of the individual features j determined during the fine measurement; (See Dogan, [§ 3, ¶ 2] teaches calculation of the velocity vector according to the equation of claim 2(a)-(b).
)
(c) changing the speed vector v and repeating steps and until a predefined termination criterion is reached (Dogan utilizes image analysis as taught by Bouguet, where Bouguet teaches the image velocity vector as solved with affine transform which is solved recursively until the error is minimized; [§2.3, pages 6-7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include solving for the velocity vector as a change in position over a change in time as taught by Dogan to the invention of Bernal. The motivation to do so would be to utilize the image data to calculate velocity based on motion between two successive video frames.
3. (Currently Amended) The combination of Bernal and Dogan teaches the method according to claim 2. Dogan further teaches wherein the termination criterion is defined in such a way that the distance value is not reduced after a change in the speed vector (Dogan references the teachings of Bouguet: the position vector v and the affine matrix are updated; Bouguet, [§2.7, page 10, ¶5]; Bouguet does not indicate that the distance value is not reduced after a change in the speed vector).
5. (Currently Amended) The combination of Bernal and Dogan teaches the method according to claim 2. Bernal further teaches wherein the termination criterion is defined in such a way that (The motion vector for the target pixel block is the vector (d.sub.1,d.sub.2) that maximizes the block similarity measure between the target and reference blocks. The search for the best matching block in the search window can be conducted using full extensive search, binary search, three step search, spiral search algorithms, etc.; Bernal ¶ [0044]; Bernal is interpreted as teaching termination criterion as the maximizing the similarity measure. “Examples of similarity criteria between the blocks are, e.g., the mean squared error (MSE) and the mean absolute difference (MAD)”; ¶[0044]) steps and have previously been carried out (Since the system of FIG. 2 processes information conveyed by motion vectors, the described techniques can alternatively be executed on already-compressed video streams without the need to decompress the entire video, thus making it more computationally efficient; Bernal¶ [0041].) for a predetermined set of speed vectors (A car in motion across the field of view of the camera triggers a number of active motion vectors, as shown by the clusters 65, 67. In order to avoid false positives due to active motion vectors produced by apparent motion of objects different than cars (e.g., leaves, branches, grass, etc.), only connected clusters of more than N, where N is an integer, active motion vectors are considered; Bernal, ¶ [0047])
6. (Currently Amended) The combination of Bernal and Dogan teaches the method according to claim 2. Bernal further teaches wherein the mean distance value is calculated from a Euclidean distance between the position Pi, determined during the coarse measurement and the position Pi,j (The norm of vector (xn-xn-1, yn-yn-1) is the distance (in feet) the vehicle travels from frame n-1 to frame n; Bernal, ¶ [0050]; the norm vector is interpreted as a Euclidean distance.).
7. (Currently Amended) The combination of Bernal and Dogan teaches the method according to claim 2. Bernal further teaches wherein the mean distance value is determined from a reprojection error (The calibration process is executed in the form of a projective transformation that converts pixel coordinates to real-world coordinates given an assumed feature height to the road. The projective transformation is derived from the calibration data mentioned previously, Bernal, ¶ [0049]).
Claim 9 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 2.
Claim 10 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 3.
Claim 11 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 4.
Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 5.
Claim 13 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 6.
Claim 14 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited for full citations.
Bouguet (Bouguet, Jean-Yves. "Pyramidal implementation of the affine lucas kanade feature tracker description of the algorithm." Intel corporation 5.1-10 (2001): 4.) teaches the details of the method implemented by Dogan.
Fischer et al., US 12738157 B2, teaches camera-based determining of the speed of a vehicle and would have been relied upon for teaching limitations of claims 1-2 and 8-9.
Kanhere et al., (US 20100322476 A1) teaches detecting and tracking one or more vehicles using a system for obtaining two-dimensional visual data depicting traffic flow on a road is disclosed. Vehicle features are classified as stable features or unstable features and includes an automatic calibration procedure based on identifying two vanishing points.
/CHANDHANA PEDAPATI/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669