DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. “The title should be brief but technically
accurate and descriptive and should contain fewer than 500 characters,” MPEP §606. Specifically,
statements concerning the general type or nature of the entire system or its components that are
common to many other similar elements or systems that are known in the art are not sufficiently
descriptive to provide “informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.,” MPEP §606.01.
Examiner recommends directing the title to what Applicant believes is the point of novelty, including key
structural features, since it is by the novelty that "indexing, classifying, searching, etc.” is generally
accomplished. Nevertheless, it should be noted that, pursuant to MPEP §606.01, “[i]f a satisfactory title
is not supplied by the applicant, the examiner may, at the time of allowance, change the title by
examiner' s amendment.”
A new title is required that is more clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are
directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: “The display panel according to in claim 4” is confusing phrasing. Appropriate correction is required. The examiner recommends correction to “The display panel according to claim 4” instead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 113219696 – see attached document for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses:
A display panel (Title – Color Film Substrate and Display Panel), comprising:
a first substrate (Fig. 2: 300 – array substrate);
a second substrate arranged opposite to the first substrate (Fig. 2: 200 – color film substrate);
a black matrix (Fig. 2, 5: 220 – black matrix layer),
on a side of the second substrate facing the first substrate (Fig. 2: 220 – black matrix layer disposed between color film substrate 200 and array substrate 300);
wherein an outer edge of the black matrix is flush with an outer edge of the second substrate (para. 34 – edge of color film substrate 210 flush with black matrix layer 220).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 1 (Fig. 2, 5), wherein
the display panel is provided with a display area (Fig. 5: 211 – display area) and
a non-display area outside the display area (Fig. 5: 212 – non-display area);
the black matrix is provided in the non-display area (Fig. 5: 221 – first black matrix 221 overlaps with non-display area)
with at least one black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 2, 5: 250, 260 – second and third grooves).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 2 (Fig. 2, 5), further comprising:
a frame sealant (Fig. 2: 400 - sealant)
disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 2: 400 – sealant 400 disposed between array substrate 300 and color film substrate 200) and
located in the non-display area (Fig. 2, 5 – sealant 400 overlaps with groove regions 250 and 260 in non-display area 212); wherein the black matrix groove structure comprises:
a first black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 3: 260 – third black groove structure); wherein
an orthographic projection of the frame sealant on the second substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first black matrix groove structure on the second substrate (Fig. 2: 260, 400 – sealant overlaps third groove 260).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 3 (Fig. 2, 5), wherein
the first substrate is provided with a metal wiring in the non-display area (Fig. 2: 310 – peripheral metal signal line on array substrate 300);
the black matrix groove structure further comprises: a second black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 2, 5: 250 – second groove structure); wherein
the first black matrix groove structure surrounds the second black matrix groove structure (Fig. 2, 5 – third groove 260 surrounds second groove 250); and
an orthographic projection of the metal wiring on the second substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second black matrix groove structure on the second substrate (Fig. 1: 310 – metal signal line 310 overlaps with second groove structure 250).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses:
A display device (Title – Color Film Substrate and Display Panel),
comprising a display panel (Title – Color Film Substrate and Display Panel), wherein the display panel comprises:
a first substrate (Fig. 2: 300 – array substrate);
a second substrate, arranged opposite to the first substrate (Fig. 2: 200 – color film substrate);
a black matrix (Fig. 2, 5: 220 – black matrix layer),
on a side of the second substrate facing the first substrate (Fig. 2: 220 – black matrix layer disposed between color film substrate 200 and array substrate 300);
wherein an outer edge of the black matrix is flush with an outer edge of the second substrate (para. 34 – edge of color film substrate 210 flush with black matrix layer 220).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang discloses:
The display device according to claim 15 (Fig. 2, 5), wherein
the display panel is provided with a display area (Fig. 5: 211 – display area) and
a non-display area outside the display area (Fig. 5: 212 – non-display area);
the black matrix is provided in the non-display area (Fig. 5: 221 – first black matrix 221 overlaps with non-display area)
with at least one black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 2, 5: 250, 260 – second and third grooves).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses:
The display device according to claim 16 (Fig. 2, 5), wherein the display panel further comprises:
a frame sealant (Fig. 2: 400 - sealant)
disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 2: 400 – sealant 400 disposed between array substrate 300 and color film substrate 200) and
located in the non-display area (Fig. 2, 5 – sealant 400 overlaps with groove regions 250 and 260 in non-display area 212); wherein the black matrix groove structure comprises:
a first black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 3: 260 – third black groove structure); wherein
an orthographic projection of the frame sealant on the second substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first black matrix groove structure on the second substrate (Fig. 2: 260, 400 – sealant overlaps third groove 260).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang discloses:
The display device according to claim 17 (Fig. 2-5), wherein
the first substrate is provided with a metal wiring in the non-display area (Fig. 2: 310 – peripheral metal signal line on array substrate 300);
the black matrix groove structure further comprises: a second black matrix groove structure surrounding the display area (Fig. 2, 5: 250 – second groove structure); wherein
the first black matrix groove structure surrounds the second black matrix groove structure (Fig. 2, 5 – third groove 260 surrounds second groove 250); and
an orthographic projection of the metal wiring on the second substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second black matrix groove structure on the second substrate (Fig. 1: 310 – metal signal line 310 overlaps with second groove structure 250).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 113219696) as applied to Claim 4 above, and in further view of Park et al. (US 20190121194), hereafter referred to as Park1.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang discloses:
The display panel according [to] claim 4 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the metal wiring comprises: a common electrode lead.
Wang and Park1 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Park1 discloses: wherein the metal wiring comprises: a common electrode lead (Park1: Fig. 5: CE – common electrodes).
Liquid crystals require an electric field to function. The benefit of including a common electrode lead in a liquid crystal display panel would be to generate the electric field necessary to orient the liquid crystals and generate an image.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the common electrode lead of Park1 into the liquid crystal display device of Wang in order to generate an electric field to orient the liquid crystals to create an image.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 4 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the second substrate is provided with a first color filter portion and a second color filter portion in the non-display area; an orthographic projection of the first color filter portion on the second substrate covers the orthographic projection of the first black matrix groove structure on the second substrate; an orthographic projection of the second color filter portion on the second substrate covers the orthographic projection of the second black matrix groove structure on the second substrate.
Wang and Park1 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Park1 discloses that: the second substrate is provided with a first color filter portion (Park1: Fig. 5 – CF1) and
a second color filter portion (Park1: Fig. 5 – CF2)
in the non-display area (Park1: Fig. 5: BM – first and second filter portions CF1 and CF2 overlap light-shielding part BM);
The benefit of including a first color filter portion such that an orthographic projection of the first color filter portion on the second substrate covers the orthographic projection of a first black matrix groove structure on the second substrate would be to transmit light while preventing light leakage in the non-display area, as taught by Park1 (Park1: para. 141 – prevent a light leakage phenomenon). Likewise, it would also be beneficial to include a second color filter portion such that an orthographic projection of the second color filter portion on the second substrate covers the orthographic projection of a second black matrix groove structure on the second substrate for the same rationale as taught by Park1, to prevent light leakage in the non-display area.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the first and second color filters of Park1 in the non-display region of the liquid crystal display panel of Wang, in order to transmit light therethrough while preventing light leakage in the non-display area.
Regarding Claim 7, the Wang-Park1 combination discloses:
The display panel according to claim 6 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the second substrate is further provided with a third color filter portion in the display area; the second color filter portion and the third color filter portion are an integrated and connected structure.
Wang and Park1 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Park1 discloses: wherein the second substrate is further provided with
a third color filter portion in the display area (Park1: para. 143 – color filter layer CFL may include three or more filter parts);
the second color filter portion and the third color filter portion are an integrated and connected structure (Park1: Fig. 5 – color filter portions CF1 and CF2 form a connected structure; this connected structure relationship may be extended to additional color filter portions, such that a second and third color filter portions also constitute a single connected element).
The benefit of including a third color filter portion that is integrated with and connected to a second color filter portion would be to achieve a continuous line of light throughout the display and non-display regions.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the third color filter portion of Park1 that is integrated with and connected to the second color filter portion of Park1 into the liquid crystal display panel of Wang, in order to form a continuous line of light between the display and non-display portions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wang-Park1 combination as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Joo (US 20210376021).
Regarding Claim 8, the Wang-Park1 combination discloses:
The display panel according to claim 7 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the first color filter portion, the second color filter portion, and the third color filter portion are all blue color filter portions.
Wang and Park1 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Park1 discloses: wherein the first color filter portion, the second color filter portion, and the third color filter portion are all blue color filter portions (Park1: para. 143 – color filter layer CFL may include three or more filter parts allowing light in different wave length areas to transmit therethrough; the color filter layer CFL may include a red filter part, a green filter part, and a blue filter part,).
Park1 teaches three or more filter parts which may allow light of different wavelengths, which includes light of blue wavelengths. Park1 does not teach that all three of these filter parts are blue. However, the benefit of making all three filter parts blue would be to minimize the light loss rate which is discharged through the color filters, as taught by Joo (Joo: para. 100 – light loss rate of blue light may be relatively small).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to substitute the red, green, and blue filter portions of Park1, used in the liquid crystal display panel of Wang, for three blue filter portions, in order to minimize the light loss rate which is discharged through the color filters, as taught by Joo.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Yu (US 20190129262).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 2 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein a depth of the black matrix groove structure is equal to a thickness of the black matrix.
Wang and Yu are related in that they both disclose a liquid crystal display panel.
Yu discloses: wherein a depth of the black matrix groove structure is equal to a thickness of the black matrix (Yu: Fig. 2: 24 – groove with depth equal to the depth of black matrix 21; para. 26 – the groove 24 penetrates the black matrix 21 in a thickness direction of the black matrix, divides black matrix into two separate parts).
The benefit of making the depth of the groove equal to the thickness of the black matrix would be to prevent static electricity from being transmitted toward the display area and adversely affecting the image, as taught by Yu (Yu: para. 26 – prevent static electricity from adversely affecting the display image).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to arrange the grooves of Wang to have a depth equal to the thickness of the black matrix, as taught by Yu, in order to prevent static electricity from adversely affecting the display image.
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Park (US 20230006174), hereafter referred to as Park2.
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses:
The display panel according to claim 3 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the first substrate is provided with: a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer, and an insulating layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer; the insulating layer is provided with an insulating layer groove structure in the non- display area, and the insulating layer groove structure at different positions of the display panel is an integrated and connected structure.
Wang and Park2 are related in that they both disclose a liquid crystal display panel.
Park2 discloses: wherein the first substrate is provided with:
a first electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 211 – first electrode),
a second electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 213 – second electrode), and
an insulating layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL– insulating layers);
the insulating layer is provided with an insulating layer groove structure in the non-display area (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL – insulating layer; Fig. 10-11: IL – inorganic layer IL, disposed on layer 116, different view of groove area), and
the insulating layer groove structure at different positions of the display panel is an integrated and connected structure (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL - connected layer).
Liquid crystals require an electric field to function. The benefit of including first and second electrodes with an insulating layer between them would be to generate the electric field necessary to orient the liquid crystals and generate an image, while the insulator overlapping the periphery protects the electrodes in the display area from oxygen or moisture which may be introduced into the display area, thus improving the reliability of the device, as taught by Park2 (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the first and second electrodes and the insulating layer of Park2 into the liquid crystal display device of Wang in order to generate an electric field to orient the liquid crystals to create an image and to improve the reliability of the display panel by protecting the internal components from external oxygen and moisture.
Regarding Claim 11, the Wang-Park2 combination discloses:
The display panel according to claim 10 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein at least a portion of an outer edge of the insulating layer groove structure away from the display area is located in a region outside an outer edge of the frame sealant away from the display area.
Wang and Park2 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Under the combination of Wang-Park2, the sealant of Wang is disposed in the non-display area, and the insulating layer groove structure of Park2 is also disposed in the non-display region. The benefit of disposing a display such that an outer edge of an insulating groove structure is located outside of an outer edge of a sealant in a non-display region would be to protect the components between the sealant and the outer edge from external oxygen or moisture, thus improving the reliability of the display panel (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose an outer edge of the insulating layer groove structure of Park2 outside of an outer edge of the sealant of Wang in the display panel of Wang, in order to improve the reliability of the display panel by protecting the internal components from external oxygen and moisture.
Regarding Claim 13, the Wang-Park2 combination discloses:
The display panel according to any one of claim 10 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein an orthographic projection of an inner edge of the insulating layer groove structure facing the display area on the first substrate is within an orthographic projection of the frame sealant on the first substrate.
Wang and Park1 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Under the combination of Wang-Park2, the sealant of Wang is disposed in the non-display area, and the insulating layer groove structure of Park2 is also disposed in the non-display region. The benefit of disposing a display such that an inner edge of an insulating groove structure is located on the interior of an inner edge of a sealant in a non-display region would be to protect components on an inner part of the display (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose an inner edge of the insulating layer groove structure of Park2 inside of an inner edge of the sealant of Wang in the display panel of Wang, in order to protect components in the display region.
Regarding Claim 14, the Wang-Park2 combination discloses:
The display panel according to claim 10 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein an orthographic projection of the insulating layer groove structure on the first substrate at a corner position of the display panel is an arc shape.
Wang and Park2 are related in that they both disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Park2 discloses: wherein an orthographic projection of the insulating layer groove structure on the first substrate at a corner position of the display panel is an arc shape (Park2: Fig. 10-11: IL – inorganic insulating layer curves on a corner of the display in arc).
The benefit of forming an insulating groove structure in an arc shape at a corner of a display panel would be to match the shape of a curved display panel.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the curved structure of the insulating layer groove structure of Park2 into the display panel of Wang in order to match the shape of the display panel.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wang-Park2 combination as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhou (US 20250085577 ).
Regarding Claim 12, the Wang-Park2 combination discloses:
The display panel according to claim 10 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the first substrate is further provided with a first alignment film on a side of the insulating layer facing the second substrate; in at least a portion of the non-display area, the alignment film covers the insulating layer groove structure and contacts the first substrate.
Wang-Park2 and Zhou are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Zhou discloses: wherein the first substrate is further provided with
a first alignment film (Zhou: para. 87 – alignment layers on a side of protective layer 32 and of support layer 22)
on a side of the insulating layer facing the second substrate (Zhou: para. 87 – provided on a side of protective layer 32 away from color filter substrate 1 [i.e. towards a second substrate]);
and contacts the first substrate (Zhou: Fig. 3a: 32 – protective layer 32 disposed on first substrate, and first alignment layer disposed on protective layer 32).
The benefit of including an alignment layer in a display panel would be to make sure the liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a certain direction at a certain angle, as taught by Zhou (Zhou: para. 87 – liquid crystal molecules aligned in certain direction at certain angle).
Furthermore, the benefit of including this alignment layer on at least a portion of an insulating layer groove structure in the non-display region would be to protect the internal components of the display panel from external oxygen or moisture, thus improving the reliability of the display panel (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose the alignment film of Zhou on the first substrate of the display panel of Wang, and on with a portion of the alignment film overlapping the insulating layer groove structure of Park2, in order to align the liquid crystals and to improve the reliability of the display panel by protecting the internal components from external oxygen and moisture.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to Claim 17 above, and further in view of Park2.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang discloses:
The display device according to claim 17 (Wang: Fig. 2,5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the first substrate is provided with: a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer, and an insulating layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer; the insulating layer is provided with an insulating layer groove structure in the non-display area, and the insulating layer groove structure at different positions of the display panel is an integrated and connected structure.
Wang and Park2 are related in that they both disclose a liquid crystal display panel.
Park2 discloses: wherein the first substrate is provided with:
a first electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 211 – first electrode),
a second electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 213 – second electrode), and
an insulating layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL– insulating layers);
the insulating layer is provided with an insulating layer groove structure in the non-display area (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL – insulating layer; Fig. 10-11: IL – inorganic layer IL, disposed on layer 116, different view of groove area), and
the insulating layer groove structure at different positions of the display panel is an integrated and connected structure (Park2: Fig. 6b: 116, IL - connected layer).
Liquid crystals require an electric field to function. The benefit of including first and second electrodes with an insulating layer between them would be to generate the electric field necessary to orient the liquid crystals and generate an image, while the insulator overlapping the periphery protects the electrodes in the display area from oxygen or moisture which may be introduced into the display area, thus improving the reliability of the device, as taught by Park2 (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the first and second electrodes and the insulating layer of Park2 into the liquid crystal display device of Wang in order to generate an electric field to orient the liquid crystals to create an image and to improve the reliability of the display panel by protecting the internal components from external oxygen and moisture.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wang-Park2 combination as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhou.
Regarding Claim 20, the Wang-Park2 combination discloses:
The display device according to claim 19 (Wang: Fig. 2, 5).
Wang does not disclose: wherein the first substrate is further provided with a first alignment film on a side of the insulating layer facing the second substrate; in at least a portion of the non-display area, the alignment film covers the insulating layer groove structure and contacts the first substrate.
Wang-Park2 and Zhou are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Zhou discloses: wherein the first substrate is further provided with
a first alignment film (Zhou: para. 87 – alignment layers on a side of protective layer 32 and of support layer 22)
on a side of the insulating layer facing the second substrate (Zhou: para. 87 – provided on a side of protective layer 32 away from color filter substrate 1 [i.e. towards a second substrate]);
and contacts the first substrate (Zhou: Fig. 3a: 32 – protective layer 32 disposed on first substrate, and first alignment layer disposed on protective layer 32).
The benefit of including an alignment layer in a display panel would be to make sure the liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a certain direction at a certain angle, as taught by Zhou (Zhou: para. 87 – liquid crystal molecules aligned in certain direction at certain angle).
Furthermore, the benefit of including this alignment layer on at least a portion of an insulating layer groove structure in the non-display region would be to protect the internal components of the display panel from external oxygen or moisture, thus improving the reliability of the display panel (Park2: para. 177 – external oxygen or moisture may damage central OLEDs, inorganic layer IL improves reliability of display panel).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to dispose the alignment film of Zhou on the first substrate of the display panel of Wang, and on with a portion of the alignment film overlapping the insulating layer groove structure of Park2, in order to align the liquid crystals and to improve the reliability of the display panel by protecting the internal components from external oxygen and moisture.
Conclusion
/C.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871