DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohm (DE 1020200215965).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bohm teaches a method for operating a brake of a motor vehicle (see abstract) comprising: recording at least one of a braking torque and travel characteristic curve of the brake while the motor vehicle is in motion (see abstract, “travel path,” torque and characteristic curve is inputted as F.sub.SP as shown in Figs 1 – 2), ascertaining a corresponding position of an actuator along a path which corresponds to a specified braking torque for keeping the motor vehicle stationary (abstract describes standstill, and Figs 1 – 2 show Xstandby and Xsub.actuator), and moving the actuator to the corresponding position (KP value in Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 3:
Bohm teaches the vehicle is kept stationary in response to activation of a parking brake functionality (abstract).
Regarding Claim 4:
Bohm teaches the specified braking torque is ascertained based on an operating state of the vehicle (Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 5:
Bohm teaches the at least one of braking torque and travel characteristic curve is recorded at one of specified time intervals and in specified operating states (Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 6:
Bohm teaches wherein, after the actuator has moved to the corresponding position, no adjustment takes place, while the motor vehicle is kept stationary (abstract, Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 7:
Bohm teaches the braking torque is measured with at least one of a brake force sensor, and a position is measured with a motor position sensor (paragraphs 0018 – 0028).
Regarding Claim 8:
Bohm teaches the actuator is an electromagnetic actuator (paragraphs 0018 – 0028).
Regarding Claim 9:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohm (DE 1020200215965) and in view of Putz et al. (US 2023/0392659).
Regarding Claim 2:
Bohm is silent to recording the at least one of the braking torque and travel characteristic curve is recorded-during a service braking operation.
However, Putz et al. teaches recording the at least one of the braking torque and travel characteristic curve is recorded-during a service braking operation (abstract, paragraph 0220, 0228).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a service braking operation of Putz et al. in the method of Bohm in order to improve safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747