1. This action is responsive to communications: Preliminary Amendment, filed on 01/06/2025.
2. Claims 1-12 and 19-25 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent claims. Claims 19-25 are newly added. Claims 13-18 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a processor, an input unit, and a memory that operate to receive instruction, obtain and process animation instructions as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Fig. 11).
Accordingly, claims 3 and 5-9 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 19-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu Chen et al., WO 2022/247541 A1.
Independent claim 1, Chen discloses a method of playing animations, comprising: monitoring a target startup animation that is being played (i.e. The operation performed by part of the communication is to let the UI rendering thread update the UI of the system. The console event monitoring thread is to monitor the sleep/wake state switching event of the hardware frame buffer. Once the hardware frame buffer is going to sleep or wake up, the console event monitoring thread needs to notify the UI rendering thread, so that the UI rendering thread can perform the operation of closing or starting the display. – Fig. 5A);
when an exit instruction for the target startup animation is detected (i.e. the electronic device 100 receives the user's operation of exiting the application program – sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 2), acquiring a playback progress of the target startup animation (i.e. When the starting motion effect is played to the Nth frame, N is less than M, and the electronic device 100 receives the user’s operation to exit the application program, the electronic device 100 starts the exiting motion effect, and stops playing the image frame in the starting motion effect, and the electronic device 100 100 Start playing from the Mth frame of the exit animation, and play until the first image frame in the exit animation – sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 7);
according to the playback progress of the target startup animation, playing an exit animation (i.e. the electronic device 100 starts the exiting motion effect, and stops playing the image frame in the starting motion effect, and the electronic device 100 100 Start playing from the Mth frame of the exit animation, and play until the first image frame in the exit animation – sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 7); and
when the exit animation is completely played, executing an interruption to display an interface before the target startup animation is played (i.e. when the center point of the first image frame in the start animation effect moves to the final position of the motion track, the electronic device 100 exits the application program and display the main interface. – sec 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 16; Fig. 4B).
Claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising following steps before acquiring the playback progress of the target startup animation:
acquiring an animation playback instruction (i.e. When the electronic device pauses the playback of the start-up animation and starts to play back the exit animation -abstract; Fig. 5); and
activating an animation playback process according to the animation playback instruction to play the target startup animation, and the animation playback process comprises a playback code for the target startup animation and a playback code for the exit animation (i.e. the electronic device includes a processor/controller that implements instruction opcodes – Fig. 6); and
wherein the step of playing an exit animation according to the playback progress of the target startup animation comprises: playing an exit animation through the animation playback process according to the playback progress of the target startup animation (i.e. The exit motion effect includes M frames of image frames, and the playback sequence of the exit motion effect is the M-th image frame, the M-1-th image frame, ... the N-th image frame, ..., the first image frame.; When starting the animation to play to the eighth frame, the electronic device 100 receives the user's operation to exit the application program, then the electronic device 100 starts the exit animation, and the electronic device 100 starts to play from the eighth frame of the exit animation, Play until the first image frame that exits the animation effect. – Fig. 4A; sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 10, 12).
Claim 4, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of monitoring a target startup animation that is being played comprises: detecting the target startup animation (i.e. activity management service manages activity life cycles; electronic device receiver user operation of starting the first application program to start the animation effect – Fig. 5); and
when the target startup animation is detected to be being played, registering the target startup animation to monitor the target startup animation (i.e. WMS (window management service) module manages window animation and uses a surface animator to manage the life cycle of the window animation – Fig. 5 “S507”).
Claim 10, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the exit animation is an animation of the same type as the target startup animation (i.e. Exemplarily, if the start-up animation of an application includes 30 image frames, the exit animation also includes 30 image frames – Sec 2, Exit special effects, Para 10); and
the step of playing the exit animation, according to the playback progress of the target startup animation comprises: according to the playback progress of the target startup animation, playing back the target startup animation to play the exit animation (i.e. The exit motion effect includes M frames of image frames, and the playback sequence of the exit motion effect is the M-th image frame, the M-1-th image frame, ... the N-th image frame, ..., the first image frame.; When starting the animation to play to the eighth frame, the electronic device 100 receives the user's operation to exit the application program, then the electronic device 100 starts the exit animation, and the electronic device 100 starts to play from the eighth frame of the exit animation, Play until the first image frame that exits the animation effect. – Fig. 4A; sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 10, 12).
Claim 11, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the exit animation and the target startup animation are different types of animations (i.e. It should be noted that the image information of each image frame in the exit animation and the image information of each image frame in the start animation can be the same or different - sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 13) ; and
the step of playing the exit animation, according to the playback progress of the target startup animation comprises:
getting the exit animation (i.e. the electronic device 100 receives the user's operation to exit the application program - Fig. 4A; sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 10, 12);
determining a starting playback position of the exit animation according to the playback progress of the target start-up animation (i.e. The exit motion effect includes M frames of image frames, and the playback sequence of the exit motion effect is the M-th image frame, the M-1-th image frame, ... the N-th image frame, ..., the first image frame.; When starting the animation to play to the eighth frame, Fig. 4A; sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 10, 12); and
from the starting playback position, playing the exit animation (i.e. then the electronic device 100 starts the exit animation, and the electronic device 100 starts to play from the eighth frame of the exit animation, Play until the first image frame that exits the animation effect. – Fig. 4A; sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 10, 12).
Claim 12, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the exit instruction comprises an exit action (i.e. the electronic device 100 receives the user's operation of exiting the application program – sec 2, Exit special effects, Para 1); and
the step of playing the exit animation according to the playback progress of the target startup animation comprises: determining the exit animation corresponding to the exit action (i.e. the electronic device 100 starts the exiting motion effect, and stops playing the image frame in the starting motion effect, and the electronic device 100 100 Start playing from the Mth frame of the exit animation, and play until the first image frame in the exit animation – sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 7); and
according to the playback progress of the target startup animation, playing the exit animation corresponding to the exit action (i.e. The exit motion effect includes M frames of image frames, and the playback sequence of the exit motion effect is the M-th image frame, the M-1-th image frame, ... the N-th image frame, ..., the first image frame. – sec. 2, Exit Special Effects, Para 9).
Independent claim 19, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Independent claim 20, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 21 and 23, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 2 and 4 apply herein.
Claims 3, 5-9, 22 and 24-25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615