DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 1/6/2025.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2025, 11/12/2025, 3/19/2026, and 9/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nie et al. in CN216569806 (hereinafter “Nie”).
Regarding claim 1, Nie discloses a cleaning device 20 (a vacuum cleaner), comprising: a cleaning base (Fig. 5) configured to be able to move on a surface to be cleaned; and a device body pivotally connected to the cleaning base (the vacuum body and head are relatively pivotable), the device body comprising: a first sensing assembly disposed on the device body (elements 9-15, Fig. 1), and a wastewater tank 1 detachably connected to the device body, the wastewater tank comprising: a wastewater tank body 2 configured to contain wastewater, and a first float and a second float 9 (each side of 9 is a float), disposed in the wastewater tank body 2.
Regarding claim 2, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein the wastewater tank further comprises: a cover bracket detachably connected to the wastewater tank body, wherein the first float is disposed on one side of the cover bracket, the second float is disposed on the other side of the cover bracket, and both the first float and the second float are movable between a first position and a second position (Fig. 1; floats 9 sit on opposite portions of a structure of cover that has a bracket portion 13).
Regarding claim 3, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein in response to a water level in the wastewater tank reaching a preset position, the first sensing assembly outputs a signal indicating that the wastewater tank is full (Abstract; “The utility model is provided with a sensor on the sewage box/cleaner, the buoy is set in the sewage box the buoy is provided with a sensing end, when the water level rises, the position change of the sensing end can be detected in time, namely, the change of the water level is detected in time.”).
Regarding claim 5, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein the cover bracket further comprises: a first float cover covering the first float; and a second float cover covering the second float (see Fig. 1 and 3; element 13 may be said to be part of the cover bracket, the sides of this bracket that adjacently face the float assembly 9 maybe said to “cover” the two floats).
Regarding claim 6, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 5, wherein the first float cover is pivotally disposed on one side of the cover bracket; and the second float cover is pivotally disposed on the other side of the cover bracket, wherein in response to the first float cover and the second float cover being buckled to the cover bracket, the first float cover covers the first float, and the second float cover covers the second float (see the hinge/pivot assembly between elements 12 and 14 in Fig. 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 5, wherein the first float cover and the second float cover are provided with a plurality of first through holes respectively (see holes 14 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein the first float comprises a first rotating shaft; the second float comprises a second rotating shaft; and the first float and the second float rotate around the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft respectively, between the first position and the second position (see shaft 12 on each of the floats in Fig. 1 about which the float assemblies pivot; Fig. 3-4 show pivoted positions).
Regarding claim 10, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 7, wherein the cover bracket comprises: a first support frame extending in a longitudinal length direction of the wastewater tank body (the backside wall of element 13 that is between the two sides with holes 14); a second support frame extending in a direction substantially perpendicular to the first support frame (one of the side walls of element 13 that has a hole 14; Fig. 1); and a third support frame extending in the direction substantially perpendicular to the first support frame symmetrically with the second support frame (the other of the side walls of element 13 that has a hole 14; Fig. 1), wherein the first float is disposed on the second support frame, and the second float is disposed on the third support frame (the float assembly with two floats 9 mounts to the sides of element 13 to form the pivot connection; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 10, wherein the cover bracket further comprises: a filter mesh pouch extending substantially in an extension direction of the first support frame (see filter body 17 in Fig. 1 which extends substantially in the longitudinal direction of element 13).
Regarding claim 13, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 11, wherein the filter mesh pouch comprises a recess, the recess has an opening direction opposite to an extension direction of the second support frame (see the recess at the top of the element 17 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 10, wherein the cover bracket further comprises: gauze disposed on the first support frame and configured to filter air (see Fig. 1; filter element 17 could be said to be “gauze”).
Regarding claim 17, Nie discloses the cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein in response to the wastewater tank being assembled in the device body, the first sensing assembly outputs a signal indicating that the wastewater tank is assembled in place (simply, the vacuum cleaner must be assembled in order to output a signal indicating a full tank during operation, which anticipates this claim language).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie as applied above in view of Resch et al. in EP3785594 (hereinafter “Resch”).
Regarding claim 16, Nie as applied above in the rejection under 102 discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 EXCEPT a docking station.
Resch teaches an analogous vacuum cleaner to that of Nie. Specifically, Resch teaches that it is desirable to provide vacuum cleaners with docking stations (see Fig. 19 and 20) because such docking stations facilitate simple, easy storage and charging and self-cleaning of vacuum cleaner components, improving functionality of the vacuum cleaner (paragraph [0115]-[0127]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nie but utilizing a docking station like that taught by Resch because such a docking station enables simple, easy storage and charging and self-cleaning of vacuum cleaner components, improving functionality of the vacuum cleaner, and the result would have been predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, is silent to the cleaning device according to claim 3, wherein the first float comprises a second sensing assembly; and the second float comprises a third sensing assembly, wherein at least one of the second sensing assembly or the third sensing assembly produces an induction signal respectively with the first sensing assembly; and the induction signal corresponding to the signal indicating that the wastewater tank is full is a non-induction signal. The art of record discloses various analogous cleaning devices utilizing float sensors, but not the particularly set forth combination of elements required of claim 4. Specifically, Nie as applied above discloses a hall sensor and a magnetic body, but not each equivalent float having independent sensors. Claim 9 depends on claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, is silent to the cleaning device according to claim 11, wherein the filter mesh pouch is integrally formed with the first support frame. Nie, applied above and considered the closest art of record, disclosed an analogous filter or “filter mesh pouch”, but not one that is integrally formed with the first support frame. Instead, Nie’s equivalent filter is purposefully not integral such that it can be removed from the vacuum cleaner.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, is silent to the cleaning device according to claim 11, wherein the filter mesh pouch comprises a plurality of second through holes, an opening of the second through hole is larger than that of the first through hole. Nie, again considered the closest art of record, is silent to any equivalent second through holes in the filter body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Relevant Prior Art:
US11363923 discloses a floor cleaner with a shut-off float valve suspended from a mounting bracket and filter disposed in communication with a vacuum source.
/ELDON T BROCKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799