DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the variable “R” for two distinct structures in instant claims 1, 6 and 10. Specifically, it is unclear if the variable “R” has to be the same for both the “R” group in the structure “R”-X-SO3 and for the “R” group that appears in the variable X that has the structure O(O)CCH2(“R”O(O)C)CH in claims 1, 6 and 10. Furthermore, the examiner notes that these two “R” groups have different structure definitions in dependent claim 6. Instant claims 2-5, 7-9 and 11-12 are included in this rejection for being dependent upon claim 1. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. In the present case, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “R2 is selected from the group of C6 to C20 alkyl groups”, followed by the narrow recitation of “preferably C10 to C16 alkyl groups”. See MPEP 2173.05(c). Claim 11 is included in this rejection for being dependent upon claim 2. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "mixing the anionic detergent (2)" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, the examiner asserts that the limitation “anionic detergent (2)” does not appear in claim 10. It appears that this limitation should be amended to recite “mixing the sulfonic acid (2)” to provide proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Smith et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,617,303.
Smith et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,617,303, discloses surfactant compositions comprising anionic surfactants, such as alkylbenzene sulfonates, and ethoxylated amines (see abstract and col. 1, lines 15-20). It is further taught by Smith et al that the surfactant composition contains 8-35% by weight of an anionic surfactant, such as alkylbenzene sulfonates, alkyl sulfates, ether sulfates, secondary alkyl sulfates, alpha-olefin sulfonates, sulfosuccinates, isethionates, and carboxylates (see col. 3, lines 33-40), that the ethoxylated amine has the structure depicted in col. 4, lines 1-28, wherein R contains 8-22 carbon atoms and the ethoxylated amine contains 4-19 moles of ethylene oxide, that the composition is made by mixing the components to form a homogenous liquid solution (see col. 4, line 49-col. 5, line 3), that the salt formed from the reaction has the structure depicted in col. 5, line 44-col. 6, line 3, and that the surfactant compositions are used in a process to wash laundry (see col. 2, lines 26-31), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note the Examples in Tables 1-13, which contain ethoxylated amines containing 5-12 moles of total ethoxylation. Therefore, instant claims are anticipated by Smith et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,617,303.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nekmard, WO 2009/112794, discloses hard surface cleaning compositions comprising a fatty amine alkoxylate and a hydrotrope (see abstract).
Adams, U.S. Patent No. 4,741,842, discloses a particulate detergent softener comprising a mixture of a cationic softener and an ethoxylated amine (see abstract).
Grandmaire et al, U.S. Patent No. 4,661,270, discloses softening compositions comprising ethoxylated amine salts (see abstract).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
August 17, 2026