DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 8-9, recites the limitation “a fault state of the first sensor”, which should be changed to “the fault state of the first sensor”.
Claim 6, line 5, recites the limitation “the controller control being configured to limit the rotation speed”, which should be changed to “the controller being configured to limit the rotation speed”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, line 11 recites the limitation “it”, however, the limitation “it” is unclear and indefinite as to what “it” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forero US 20080053741 A1 in view of Pramod et al. US 20180215409 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Forero discloses [a work machine 10, comprising:
a first frame 16;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0012)
[a second frame 14 connected to the first frame, the second frame being rotatable within a predetermined angle range 24 relative to the first frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0012-0013)
[an actuator 38 configured to rotate the second frame relative to the first frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0016-0017)
[an operating member 32 configured to input a rotational movement of the second frame relative to the first frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0014 and 0018-0019)
[a first sensor 34 configured to detect a rotation angle of the second frame relative to the first frame,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0014-0015 and 001-0019) and
[a controller 40 configured to execute a speed limit control to limit a rotation speed of the second frame in response to an input from the operating member, when the controller determines, based on a detection value of the first sensor, that the second frame is located within an end range 28 of the predetermined angle range.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0024; Forero discloses a controller 40 configured to limit the rotational speed of the first frame 16 relative to the second frame 14 by signaling the steering control vale 36 to reduce hydraulic flow to the hydraulic cylinders 48, thus reducing the actual steering speed.)
Forero does not disclose the controller being configured to determine a fault state of the first sensor.
Pramod et al. teaches [the controller being configured to determine a fault state of the first sensor and a second sensor.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0022-0024)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the sensor fault detection of Pramod et al. with the work machine of Forero with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the controller to identify sensor abnormalities and account for potential sensor failures during operation of the work machine, thus improving the reliability and safety of the speed limit control.
Regarding claim 6, Forero, as modified, above, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [a valve 36 configured to change an amount of hydraulic oil supplied to the actuator 38 in response to an operation of the operating member 32,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0016-0018) [in the speed limit control, the controller being configured to limit the rotation speed by controlling the valve to limit a maximum value of an amount of hydraulic oil that is suppliable to the actuator.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0024; Forero discloses a controller 40 configured to limit the rotational speed of the first frame 16 relative to the second frame 14 by signaling the steering control vale 36 to reduce hydraulic flow to the hydraulic cylinders 48, thus reducing the actual steering speed.)
Regarding independent claim 9, Forero discloses [a control method for a work machine 10, comprising:
a first frame 16,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0012)
[a second frame 14 connected to the first frame and rotatably connected within a predetermined angle range 24 relative to the first frame,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0012-0013)
[an actuator 38 configured to rotate the second frame relative to the first frame,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0016-0017) and
[an operating member 32 configured to input a rotational movement of the second frame relative to the first frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0014 and 0018-0019)
[the control method 40 comprising: a first sensor 34 configured to detect a rotation angle of the second frame relative to the first frame;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0014-0015 and 001-0019) and [executing a speed limit control to limit rotation speed of the second frame in response to an input from the operating member when it is determined, based on a detection value of the first sensor, that the second frame is located in an end range 26 of the predetermined angle range.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0024; Forero discloses a controller 40 configured to limit the rotational speed of the first frame 16 relative to the second frame 14 by signaling the steering control valve 36 to reduce hydraulic flow to the hydraulic cylinders 48, thus reducing the actual steering speed.)
Forero does not disclose the controller being configured to determine a fault state of the first sensor.
Pramod et al. teaches [the controller being configured to determine a fault state of the first sensor.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0022-0024)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the sensor fault detection of Pramod et al. with the work machine of Forero with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the controller to identify sensor abnormalities and account for potential sensor failures during operation of the work machine, thus improving the reliability and safety of the speed limit control.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forero in view of Pramod et al. and further in view of Goraya et al. US 20150127229 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Forero, as modified above, discloses all of the claimed limitation above, including [the controller 40 being configured to determine that the second frame 14 is located in the end range 28 of the predetermined angle range 24 based on a detection value of either the first sensor 34 or the second sensor in the speed limit control,] (Fig. 1 of Forero; Paragraph 0024 of Forero) and [the controller being configured to execute the speed limit control.] (Fig. 1 of Forero; Paragraph 0024 of Forero) and the sensor fault state detection recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Forero, as modified, does not disclose a second sensor configured to detect a rotation angle of the second frame relative to the first frame.
Goraya et al. teaches [a second sensor 128 configured to detect a rotation angle of the second frame relative to the first frame.] (Fig. 3-4; Paragraph 0016 and 0028)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the second sensor of Goraya et al. with the work vehicle of Forero, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the controller to obtain an additional measurement of the rotational angle of the second frame relative to the first frame, thus providing redundant position sensing to improve the reliability of determining the position of the second frame during speed limit control .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5 and 7-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites the limitation wherein the speed limit control includes a first control and a second control that imposes a lower limit on the rotation speed than the first control, the controller executes the speed limit control by applying the first control when the controller determines that no fault has occurred in both the first sensor and the second sensor, and the controller executes the speed limit control by applying the second control when the controller determines that a fault has occurred in only one of the first sensor or the second sensor. The closest prior art, Forero US 20080053741 A1, discloses wherein the speed limit control includes a first control that imposes a limit on the rotation speed of the second frame relative to the first frame, but does not disclose, wherein the speed limitation control includes a second control that imposes a lower limit on the rotation speed than the first control, wherein the controller executes the speed limit control by applying the first control when the controller determines that no fault has occurred in both the first sensor and the second sensor, and the controller executes the speed limit control by applying the second control when the controller determines that a fault has occurred in only one of the first sensor or second sensor.
Claim 4 contains the limitation wherein the speed limit control includes a first control and a second control that imposes a lower limit on the rotation speed than the first control, and the controller executes the speed limit control using the first control or the second control when a difference between a detection value of the first sensor and a detection value of the second sensor is less than a predetermined threshold value. The closest prior art, Forero US 20080053741 A1, discloses wherein the speed limit control includes a first control that imposes a limit on the rotation speed of the second frame relative to the first frame, but does not disclose, wherein the speed limitation control includes a second control that imposes a lower limit on the rotation speed than the first control, wherein the controller executes the speed limit control using the first control or the second control when a difference between a detection value of the first sensor and a detection value of the second sensor is less than a predetermined threshold value.
Claim 5 contain the limitation wherein the controller executes a third control to limit the rotation speed over an entirety of the predetermined angle range when the controller determines that both the first sensor and the second sensor have failed or when a difference between a detection value of the first sensor and a detection value of the second sensor is more than or equal to a predetermined threshold value. The closest prior art, Forero US 20080053741 A1, discloses wherein the controller limits the rotation speed of the second frame relative to the first frame within end regions of a predetermined angle range, but does not disclose a third control to limit the rotation speed over an entirety of the predetermined angle range when the controller determines that both the first and the second sensor have failed or when a difference between a detection value of the first sensor and a detection value of the second sensor is more than or equal to a predetermine threshold value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayashi et al. US 20190360173 A1 – comprises A work vehicle includes a steering wheel, a steering cylinder, a steering valve, a feed line, a return line, an electromagnetic valve, and a controller. The steering valve is configured to supply hydraulic fluid to the steering cylinder in response to steering of the steering wheel. The feed line is configured to feed the hydraulic fluid from the steering valve to the steering cylinder. The return line is configured to return the hydraulic fluid from the steering cylinder to the steering valve. The electromagnetic valve is disposed between the feed line and the return line. The controller opens the electromagnetic valve in response to an oil pressure in the feed line.
Fuwa et al. US 20050154522 A1 – comprises A failure diagnosis for a slide sensor of a variable valve mechanism is performed when a valve working angle is at a value in the initial state. The initial state is set to a valve characteristic state where the valve working angle is at the maximum value. The maximum valve working angle corresponds to the refuge running performable region in which an engine can be started and refuge running can be performed. Therefore, even when it is difficult to adjust the valve working angle using rotation of a spiral cam due to a failure in the slide sensor, the refuge running can be performed only by maintaining the initial state by maintaining control. It is thus possible to increase reliability of the refuge running in the case where a failure has occurred in the variable valve mechanism.
Zeng et al. CN 115366698 A – comprises an electric tractor comprises a working motor and a walking motor independently driven, and the motor control device comprises: a vehicle controller, for obtaining and according to the sensor signal associated with the current working condition, respectively generating a first control instruction and a second control instruction for adjusting the speed of the working motor and the walking motor, a working motor controller, configured to receive and respond to the first control instruction to adjust the rotating speed of the working motor; and a walking motor controller, configured to respond to the second control instruction, adjusting the rotating speed of the walking motor. The invention realizes the power decoupling and single speed control of the walking motor and the working motor of the electric tractor, and can perform the matching of the walking speed and the working speed, so that the tractor can adapt to different soil for high-efficiency and high quality work.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611