DETAILED ACTION
Notice From Examiner
Applicant’s initial submission has 4 sets of claims. The claims examined below are the amended set of claims 1-22.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “218B” has been used to designate both a first fluid pipe and a second fluid pipe.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “218A” has been used to designate both a first fluid pipe and a second pipe.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 228.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 246, 70, 51, and 68.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Specification references “Figure 1” multiple times. There is no “Figure 1”, but there are Figures 1A and 1B.
Paragraph [0111] is supposed to be detailing what is shown in Figure 11, however what is discussed in the paragraph is actually what is shown in Figure 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 7, 14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referencing “a fluid”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referencing “a fluid”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the fluid" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referencing “a fluid”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referencing “a fluid”. Further, claim 14 referencing what type of fluid there is appears to be completely out of context as claim 14 depends from claim 1 which does not discuss a fluid. Does the Applicant intend for claim 14 to depend from claim 3, 4, or 7 which precede claim 14, but reference the fluid? Further clarification is required.
Claim 14 currently states “A gas storage tank according to claim 1…” However, claims 1 is drawn to “A storage tank” and claim 2-13 are also drawn to “A storage tank”. It’s unclear if this is intended to be an indication of a change in preamble or if it is simply a typo. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as stating “A [[gas]] storage tank according to claim 1…” Further clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the fluid" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as referencing “a fluid”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mouwen (EP 2832666) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1
Mouwen teaches a storage tank (below – Fig. 5) arranged within a surrounding structure (11), the storage tank comprising: a first chamber (shown at 10) configured to store a first gas under pressure, the first chamber being defined by a first wall (13) and having a substantially fixed volume; a flexible membrane (32) provided between the first wall and the surrounding structure; a second chamber (31) between the first wall and the flexible membrane, wherein the second chamber has a variable volume; and at least one transfer pipe (22) which supplies the first gas into the first chamber, wherein the second chamber surrounds the first chamber such that the first wall is between the first chamber and the second chamber (Paragraphs [0023] and [0034]) .
Regarding Claim 3
Mouwen teaches a pressure of a fluid in the second chamber (32) is regulated to correspond to a pressure of the first gas in the first chamber (shown at 10).
Regarding Claim 4
Mouwen teaches a regulator is associated with the storage tank and a pressure of a fluid in the second chamber (32) is regulated by the regulator to correspond to a pressure of the first gas in the first chamber (shown at 10) such that forces acting on the first wall (13) by the first gas in the first chamber are opposed by forces acting on the first wall by the fluid in the second chamber.
Regarding Claim 5
Mouwen teaches the first gas is drawable from the first chamber (shown at 10) via the at least one transfer pipe (22).
Regarding Claim 11
Mouwen teaches when the second chamber (32) is pressurised above a threshold value, the volume of the second chamber will increase and decrease to compensate for movement in the surrounding structure (11).
Regarding Claim 12
Mouwen teaches the second chamber (32) is configured to hold a fluid which is different to the first gas.
Regarding Claim 14
Mouwen teaches a fluid water.
Regarding Claim 15
Mouwen teaches the flexible membrane (31) is made from a reinforced plastics material.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyde et al. (US 9470367) (hereinafter Hyde).
Regarding Claim 1
Hyde teaches a storage tank (below – Fig. 3 and 4) arranged within a surrounding structure(40/42), the storage tank comprising: a first chamber configured to store a first gas (30) under pressure, the first chamber being defined by a first wall (34) and having a substantially fixed volume; a flexible membrane (36) provided between the first wall (34) and the surrounding structure (40/42); a second chamber (shown at 36) between the first wall and the flexible membrane, wherein the second chamber has a variable volume; and at least one transfer pipe (not shown) which supplies the first gas into the first chamber, wherein the second chamber surrounds the first chamber such that the first wall is between the first chamber and the second chamber, as can be seen in the figures below (Col. 3, Ln. 35-45, Col. 4, Ln. 43-55, Col. 5, Ln. 23-25, Col. 6, Ln. 65-67, and Col. 7, Ln. 26-29).
Regarding Claim 8
Hyde teaches the first wall (34) comprises steel (Col. 4, Ln. 51-55).
Regarding Claim 12
Hyde teaches the second chamber is configured to hold a fluid (e.g. water) which is different to the first gas (e.g. natural gas).
Regarding Claim 13
Hyde teaches the first gas is natural gas.
Regarding Claim 15
Hyde teaches the flexible membrane is made from a polymers (e.g. rubber, a plastics material, or urethane) (Col. 5, Ln. 23-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouwen as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 2 and 13
Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches that the first chamber (shown at 10) stores a compressed gas. However, Mouwen does not specifically teach the compressed gas is hydrogen, or selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, carbon dioxide, natural gas, hydrocarbon gases, and oxygen.
Given that hydrogen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, natural gas, hydrocarbon gases, and oxygen are all well-known compressed gasses stored in storage tanks, at the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the compressed gas stored in the storage tank of Mouwen could be hydrogen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, natural gas, hydrocarbon gases, or oxygen. As such, the claim of the first gas being hydrogen, or selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, carbon dioxide, natural gas, hydrocarbon gases, and oxygen does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding Claim 6
Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches that the second chamber (32) is filled with a fluid and pressure controlled so that the volume is able to be adjusted (Paragraph [0032]). However, Mouwen does not specifically teach at least one fluid pipe through which the fluid is supplied into the second chamber and through which the fluid is drawn from the second chamber.
Based on the fact that Mouwen has the second chamber including a pressure controlled variable volume with a fluid inside it, it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Mouwen would include at least one fluid pipe through which the fluid is supplied into the second chamber and through which the fluid is drawn from the second chamber, in order to maintain the desired pressure. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Regarding Claim 16
Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches a first delivery system (22) configured to supply the first gas to the first chamber; and the second chamber is filled with a fluid and pressure controlled so that the volume is able to be adjusted (Paragraph [0032]). However, Mouwen does not specifically teach a second delivery system configured to supply a fluid to the second chamber.
Based on the fact that Mouwen has the second chamber including a pressure controlled variable volume with a fluid inside it, it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Mouwen would include a second delivery system configured to supply a fluid to the second chamber, in order to maintain the desired pressure. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches a regulator which regulates a pressure of the fluid in the second chamber (32) to correspond to a pressure of the first gas in the first chamber (shown at 10).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches a regulator which regulates a pressure of the fluid in the second chamber (32) to correspond to a pressure of the first gas in the first chamber (shown at 10) such that forces acting on the first wall (13) by the first gas in the first chamber are opposed by forces acting on the first wall by the fluid in the second chamber.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as shown above. Mouwen further teaches the pressure in the second chamber (32) is regulated to be substantially equal to the pressure in the first chamber (shown at 10).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Mouwen as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Joubert Des Ouches et al. (US 11346499) (hereinafter Joubert Des Ouches).
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Mouwen teaches all the limitations of claim 16 as shown above. Modified Mouwen does not teach sensors for detecting a presence of the first gas within the fluid.
Joubert Des Ouches teaches a storage tank (below – Fig. 1A) having a first chamber (100) configured to store a first gas under pressure, the first chamber being defined by a first wall and having a substantially fixed volume; and sensors for detecting a leak of gas from within the first chamber (Col. 3, Ln. 48-53).
Modified Mouwen and Joubert Des Ouches are analogous inventions in the field of storage tanks for gas under pressure. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the storage tank of modified Mouwen with the teachings of a sensor to detect a leak from the first chamber (and thus the presence of the first gas within the fluid) in order to alert the user to a leak within the first chamber.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde as applied to claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 8
Hyde teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as shown above. Hyde does not specifically teach first wall comprises a reinforced concrete.
However, Hyde teaches the first wall is formed as a gas and/or liquid-impermeable layer (Col. 4, Ln. 61-63). Hyde further teaches that reinforced concrete is a material that is known for containing liquid and vapors (Col. 6, Ln. 1-9).
Because Hyde teaches that both steel and reinforced concrete are layer materials known for their barrier properties regarding liquid and gasses, it would have been an obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize reinforced concrete (which is known to be reinforced using steel) as the material for the first wall to achieve the predictable result of a container wall that creates a liquid and gas barrier between the first and second chambers. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 20, and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7: Closest prior art – Mouwen (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s invention. However, Mouwen does not teach at least one first pipe in communication with the second chamber and at least one second pipe in communication with the second chamber, wherein a fluid is supplied to the second chamber via the at least one first pipe or the at least one second pipe and the fluid returns from the second chamber via the other of the at least one first pipe and the at least one second pipe.
Regarding Claim 10: Closest prior art – Hyde (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s invention. However, Hyde does not teach the first wall comprises an internal steel liner and an external steel shell and a reinforced concrete layer between the internal steel liner and the external steel shell.
Regarding Claim 20: Closest prior art – Mouwen (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s invention. However, Mouwen does not teach a circulation system to circulate the fluid within the second chamber in order to regulate a temperature of the second chamber.
Regarding Claim 21: Closest prior art – Mouwen (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s invention. However, Mouwen does not teach the storage tank comprises at least one first pipe in communication with the second chamber and at least one second pipe in communication with the second chamber, the fluid is supplied to the second chamber via the at least one first pipe or the at least one second pipe and the fluid returns from the second chamber via the other of the at least one first pipe and the at least one second pipe, and the second delivery system is connected to the at least one first pipe and the at least one second pipe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733