Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it’s too long and not in a single paragraph format. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
Figure 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1: Lines 7-8, the limitation “ boiled to become a content thereof is in an expanded state” is vague and indefinite. It’s unclear what is meant by “boiled” and that is “content thereof” indicates. There is no heating; thus, it’s unclear what boiled encompasses. Lines 10-11, the limitation “ optimum temperature and optimum pH” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what optimum encompasses. What would be considered as optimum? ( for prior art application, boiled being interpreted as expanding as disclosed in the specification and any temperature is considered as optimum)
In claim 2, the limitation “ slowly freezing” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what time frame would be considered as “ slowly”. ( for prior art application, any freezing is considered slowly freezing)
Claim 4 is vague and indefinite. It’s not clear if the enzyme solution contains both an enzyme preparation and enzyme obtained from one or more fruit pulps and juices. It’s unclear what the difference between enzyme preparation and enzyme from pulps and juices. The claim also contains broad ranges and narrow ranges. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation .01-1%,.5-10%, and the claim also recites preferably .03-.55, more preferably.05-.1%, preferably 1-5%, more preferably 1.5-3% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. The limitation “ pH range for an optimum reaction” is vague and indefinite because it’s not known what would considered as optimum.
In claim 8, the limitation “ sumizyme” is vague and indefinite because it’s not known what specific enzyme is being claimed. It appears to be a tradename. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. ( for prior art application, sumizyme is treated as any proteolytic enzyme)
Claim 9 is vague and indefinite. The claim refers to raw material heated to the optimum temperature; however, it’s not clear what optimum temperature the claim is referring to because claim 1 does not recite heating to any optimum temperature. Also, it’s unclear as to what would be considered as optimum temperature.
Claim 10 has the same problem as claim 1 with respect to the limitation on optimum temperature.
Claim 11 has the same problem as claim 4 with respect to broad range and narrow range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai ( Jp 2011019510) in view of Shirakawa ( 4976973).
For claims 1, 9-11,Nagai discloses a production method to obtain processed foods of fishes and shellfishes. The method comprises the steps of cutting fish, adding an enzyme solution to the cut raw material, depressurizing and normal pressurizing the enzyme solution containing the cut raw material to cause expansion, treating with enzyme solution at 40-55 degrees or lower and time ranging from about 30 minutes to 20 hours, the ph of the solution adjusted to 4-10, deactivating the enzyme by heat treatment at 90-125 degrees C. ( see pages 1-5 and the examples)
For claims 2,3 Nagai discloses freezing the raw material to freeze it and enzyme is added after material is thawed. The freezing temperature is around -15 degrees C. ( see page 3)
Nagai does not disclose the separation step as in claim 1, cutting in frozen state as in claim 2 , stirring as in claim 10 and using a sieve as in claim 12.
Shirakawa discloses a process for producing protein-rich fish meal and fish oil. Shirakawa teaches treating fish slurry with protease and then passing the slurry through a sieve to thereby remove fish meat from fish bones. ( see col. 4 lines 30-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject the treated fish solution in Nagai to the separation step using a sieve as disclosed in Shirakawa to remove bones from the mixture to obtain a pure protein product. It would have been obvious to stir the solution for uniform distribution of the enzyme. Such parameter can readily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been an obvious matter of preference to cut in frozen state or raw state depending on the cutting device used.
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai in view of Shirakawa as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-12 above, and further in view of Ramsbottam ( 2454716).
For claims 4-8, Nagai discloses the contact amount of enzyme is in the range of .001-5% with respect to the mass of seafood. The concentration of the enzyme in the solution ranges from .01-5% by mass. The enzymes includes plant enzyme such as papain, proteolytic enzyme such as protease. The enzyme solution contains pH adjuster. ( see pages 3-4 and examples
Nagai does not disclose enzyme from juices or pulp as in claim 4 and animal based enzyme as in claim 6.
Ramsbottom discloses treating animal tissue with enzyme. The proteolytic enzymes and their solution can be prepared from fresh or frozen plant juices such as papain from papaya juice, bromelin from pineapple juice etc.. Animal enzymes such as pepsin can also be used. The enzyme solution can contain concentration of .05-.5%. ( see col. 4)
Nagai discloses using mixture of enzymes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use juices containing enzyme as taught in Ramsbottom as an alternative source to provide the enzyme. It would have been obvious to follow the guideline of Ramsbottom for the amount of juice and to adjust depending on the enzyme content desired. The content is affected by the desired extent of treatment and result. Such factors can readily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art. It would also have been obvious to use animal-base enzyme as taught in Ramsbottom as a known alternative source of proteolytic enzyme.
Conclusion
September 9, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793