DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 2, the recitation “lavage fluid” (both instances) appears to be amended to recite “the lavage fluid” in order to refer to “a lavage fluid” recited in line 1.
Regarding claim 4, applicant is advised to use either “body” or “sealed body” to refer to the same limitation consistently instead of interchangeably referring the limitation with different terms.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation “lavage fluid” appears to be amended to recite “the lavage fluid” in order to refer to “a lavage fluid” recited in claim 1, line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation “wherein the sealed body and lavage fluid … via gamma radiation” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is unclear if the claim is positively reciting the step of terminally-sterilizing via gamma radiation or is claiming that the sealed body and lavage fluid are both terminally-sterile via gamma radiation. For examination purposes, examiner construes that the sealed body and lavage fluid are both sterile by using the process of terminally-sterilized via gamma radiation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz teaches a system (figure 14) for applying a lavage fluid 56 to a surface, the system comprising:
a sealed body 59 containing a lavage fluid 56, wherein the sealed body 59 and lavage fluid 56 contained therein are terminally-sterilized (examiner construes that fluid is sterilized because Schultz discloses maintaining sterility at several places, column 8, lines 40-46, column 9, line 36, column 16, lines 50-54 and whether the fluid is sterilized prior to filling or terminally-sterilized, the final output is being sterile which is the case in Schultz); and
a flow-adjusting member 64B, wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B is configured to create a disruption (column 15, lines 41-43) in the sealed body to facilitate discharge of the lavage fluid in a flow pattern.
Regarding claim 2, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B comprises a tool 65B with a tapered end (end of element 65B is tapered as shown in figure 14).
Regarding claim 3, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B comprises a spike cap 64B configure to be attached a first end (end of element 59 where element 64B is connected) of the sealed body 59, wherein the spike cap comprises a spike geometry (geometry of element 65B).
Regarding claim 4, Schultz teaches wherein the body 59 comprises buttress threads (column 9, lines 43-50) on the first end of the sealed body 59.
Regarding claim 5, Schultz teaches wherein the spike cap 64B further comprises buttress threads 69 (column 9, lines 43-50) which attach to the buttress threads on the first end of the sealed body.
Regarding claim 7, Schultz teaches wherein the spike geometry comprises an aligned tip (tip of element 65B).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B is separate from the sealed body 59 (element 64B is a separate component attached to the sealed body and examiner construes “separate” as being two components that are being manufactured separately instead of an integrated one body. Furthermore, one can disconnect element 64B and element 59 would still be able to discharge the lavage fluid because element 64B has already damaged the membrane to let the fluid flow) during the discharge of the lavage fluid.
Regarding claim 9, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B is in fluid communication (column 15, lines 41-48, figure 14) with the sealed body 59 during discharge of the lavage fluid.
Regarding claim 10, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B creates a cut (cut in membrane 59A) in the sealed body 59,
wherein a shape and size of the cut (the shape and size of cut in element 59A would determine the flow pattern) determines the flow pattern of the lavage fluid.
Regarding claim 11, Schultz teaches wherein the sealed body 59 is compressible (column 15, lines 62-65, “squeezed”), and the sealed body 59 is configured such that at least a portion of the lavage fluid is discharged through the disruption, upon compression of the sealed body (column 15, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 12, Schultz teaches wherein the sealed body 59 is configured such that at least a portion of the lavage fluid is discharged through the disruption, with or without compression of the sealed body (column 15, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 13, Schultz teaches wherein the sealed body 59 is collapsible (column 15, lines 62-65, “squeezed”).
Regarding claim 14, Schultz teaches wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B is integral (upon threading element 64B becomes integral to element 59) to the sealed body 59.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1) in view of Post et al. (US 5,492,531).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claims 1 and 3. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the spike geometry comprises a bevel tip.
However, Post teaches a design of a lavage system 10 (figure 1) wherein the spike geometry (geometry of element 78 in figure 2) comprises a bevel tip 80 (column 4, lines 33-38) for the purpose of using a well-known alternative structure to pierce the membrane (column 4, lines 33-38).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the wherein the spike geometry comprises a bevel tip as taught by Post for the purpose of using a well-known alternative structure to pierce the membrane (column 4, lines 33-38).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1) in view of Brown et al. (US 2020/0188612 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the lavage fluid comprises a chemical agent and water, the chemical agent comprising iodine.
However, Brown teaches a system and method for reducing contaminants into the patient (figure 1) wherein the lavage fluid comprises a chemical agent and water, the chemical agent comprising iodine (paragraph 0098, lines 4-18) for the purpose of reducing biofilm and contaminants that can be cytotoxic when performing a medical procedure (paragraph 0098, lines 4-18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the lavage fluid of Schultz to incorporate wherein the lavage fluid comprises a chemical agent and water, the chemical agent comprising iodine as taught by Brown for the purpose of reducing biofilm and contaminants that can be cytotoxic when performing a medical procedure (paragraph 0098, lines 4-18).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1) in view of Gobel (US 2019/0192836 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the flow pattern comprises substantially all of the lavage fluid being discharged from the sealed body within 20 seconds.
However, Gobel teaches a system for lavage wherein the flow pattern comprises substantially all of the lavage fluid being discharged from the sealed body within 20 seconds (paragraphs 0018-019) for the purpose of washing the body organ when performing a medical procedure (paragraph 0018).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the flow pattern of Schultz to incorporate wherein the flow pattern comprises substantially all of the lavage fluid being discharged from the sealed body within 20 seconds as taught by Gobel for the purpose of washing the body organ when performing a medical procedure (paragraph 0018).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1) in view of Morse (US 5,931,820).
Regarding claim 17, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the flow pattern comprises the lavage fluid being discharged at a pressure under 15 psi.
However, Morse teaches wherein the flow pattern comprises the lavage fluid being discharged at a pressure under 15 psi (column 2, lines 17-19) for the purpose of irrigating a deep, contaminated wound).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the flow pattern of Schultz to incorporate wherein the flow pattern comprises the lavage fluid being discharged at a pressure under 15 psi as taught by Morse for the purpose of irrigating a deep, contaminated wound).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. While Schultz discloses the flow pattern comprises of the lavage fluid being discharged in a spray wave (see figure 1) but is silent regarding the specifics of the spray wave of 6 square inches.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the spray wave would result in a difference in function of Schultz device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the spray wave of Schultz would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed value and offering other values (10-1 inches, specification at paragraph 0075) and therefore, there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spray wave of Schultz to have 6 square inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the flow-adjusting member comprises a material selected from the group consisting of plastics, metals and alloys in one embodiment wherein the sealed body comprises a plastic that is compatible with gamma radiation.
However, Schultz teaches in a different embodiment (figure 32) wherein the flow-adjusting member 64B comprises a material (column 18, lines 12-15) selected from the group consisting of plastics, metals, and alloys wherein the sealed body comprises a plastic (column 18, lines 12-15, PVC or polycarbonate are compatible with gamma radiation since this is same material that application has also disclosed in the specification on page 0085) that is compatible with gamma radiation for the purpose of using a well-known material that are biocompatible (column 18, lines 12-15).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the material of the flow adjusting member of one embodiment of Schultz to incorporate wherein the flow-adjusting member comprises a material selected from the group consisting of plastics, metals and alloys wherein the sealed body comprises a plastic that is compatible with gamma radiation in one embodiment as taught by different embodiment of Schultz for the purpose of using a well-known material that are biocompatible (column 18, lines 12-15).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 8,747,372 B1) in view of Gustafsson et al. (US 6,007,529).
Regarding claim 21, Schultz discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Schultz is silent regarding wherein the sealed body and lavage fluid contained therein are terminally-sterilized via gamma radiation.
However, Gustafsson teaches a design of a container for parental fluids (figure 1) wherein the sealed body and fluid contained therein are terminally-sterilized via gamma radiation (column 14, line 62-column 15, line 3) for the purpose of sterilizing the medical components with minimal risk for leakages and utility of a controlled atmosphere (column 15, lines 3-12).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the sealed body and lavage fluid of Schutz to incorporate wherein the sealed body and fluid (which is lavage fluid in Schultz modified in view of Gustafsson) contained therein are terminally-sterilized via gamma radiation as taught by Gustafsson for the purpose of sterilizing the medical components with minimal risk for leakages and utility of a controlled atmosphere (column 15, lines 3-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Paisley (US 2,168,270): discloses a design of a bottle that is connectable to a needle for establishing fluid connection through a seal.
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783