ART REJECTION:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39-47, and 51-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al(USPGPUB 2021/0406490 A1) in view of .
-- In considering claim 39, the claimed subject matter that is met by
1) A self-contained RFID tag for identifying space objects, the tag arranged to be attachable to a resident space object (RSO) is met by the electronics unit(EU)(100) that is tethered to an antenna unit(AU)(120) via a cable(130), and wherein the AU(120) is disposed on an external surface of a host satellite(see: Phan, sec[0023]),
2) a processor is met by the processor(406)(see: Phan, sec[0041-0042]);
3) an antenna is met by the antenna(422);
- Phan does not teach:
1) an energy store arranged to receive and store energy from the antenna;
2) wherein: the antenna is arranged to gather energy from a radar signal incident on the tag;
3) the processor is arranged to use energy stored in the energy store to transmit a radio- frequency (RF) identification signal via the antenna.
With regards to the energy store arranged to receive and store energy from the harvester, although not specifically disclosed by Phan, Phan does state that the method(900), includes voltage applied and or provided to some elements(s) relevant to the generation and or transmission of the RFID signal(see: Phan, sec[0143]). Use of passive RFID tags, which receive power from an interrogation transmission signal, and store the power received so as to power components of the tag is well known.
In related art, Yeo et al(Yeo) teaches a passive tag which includes a power supply unit which supplies power required to operate an RFID tag, by utilizing a power receiving unit, which receives an RF signal for supplying operating power for the tag(see: Yeo, sec[0013]). In particular, Yeo discloses a passive tag, which includes a processor in the form of control unit(110)/control unit(210), energy harvester in the form of power receiving unit(160)/antenna(260) and voltage multiplying unit(262), and energy store in the form of power management unit(150)/power management unit(250), which measures the strength of the RF signal received from the power receiving unit, and supplies the power of the power supply(140) or the RF power received from the RFID reader to the tag(see: Yeo, secs[0020,0023]).
Yeo teaches the use of a supplementary power unit(242), which includes a capacitive device, that is used to store power that is supplied from the power management unit(250)(see: sec[0036]). Thus, when power received from the RDID reader is not sufficient to operate the tag, the control unit(210) controls the power management unit(250) so as to supply the power from the supplementary power unit(242)(see: Yeo, sec[0038]).
As well, with regards to the claimed processor arranged to use energy stored in the energy store, to transmit a RFID signal via the antenna, Yeo also teaches that once it is determined through the strength information input from the power management unit(250), that the RF power is sufficient as power used to operate the tag, the control unit(210) controls the modulator to transmit modulated data to the RFID reader through the antenna(260)(see: Yeo, sec[0025]).
Since Phan teaches fourth power stat stores energy sufficient to generate and transmit a communication(e.g., to ground station in response to receiving a command from the ground station(see: Phan, sec[0040]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the control unit(210), power management unit(250), and voltage multiplying the unit(262) of Yeo, into the system of Phan, since this would have provided th necessary components to enhance the power management capabilities of Phan, by incorporating a means to acquire energy from an interrogation signal, and store power to be used by the tag, thereby reducing the power requirements in the system.
-- With regards to claim 40,
1) the tag is not connected to any power supply or power distribution system of the RSO is met by the RF identification tag of Phan, which in one embodiment, includes an AU222 disposed on an external surface of the bus housing, such that the RF identification system receives no power or other electrical signals from the host statellite(see: Phan, sec[0030]).
-- With regards to claim 41,
1) the processor is arranged to transmit the RF identification signal when the energy store contains sufficient stored energy is met by Phan, which teaches a fourth power state storing energy sufficient to generate and transmit a communication(e.g., to ground station in response to receiving a command from the ground station(see: Phan, sec[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious that an identification signals of the RSO would have been included in the communications to the ground station
-- With regards to claim 42,
1) the energy store is a capacitor is met by the power unit(240) including a capacitive device so as to store and supply power(see: Yeo, sec[0030]).
-- With regards to claim 43,
1) the processor is arranged to transmit the RF identification signal at predetermined times is met by the RF transmitter/receiver components of the TAG, periodically exiting the sleep state to ‘listen’ for commands from a ground station. If such a command is detected while not in the sleep state, the system could then transmit a signal in response. Once the signal is transmitted, or if no command is detected after a specified period of time, the system could then resume the low-power ‘sleep’ state(see: Phan, sec[0045]). This would constitute transmitting the identification signal at predetermined times, since the awake period would determine the ability of the TAG to listen for a command to transmit the identification signal.
-- With regards to claim 44,
1) the processor is arranged to transmit the RF identification signal in response to reception of an interrogation signal is met by the Phan teaching that the communication is generated in response to receiving a command from ground station(see: Phan, sec[0040]).
-- With regards to claim 45,
1) the tag is arranged to receive the interrogation signal via the antenna is met, since the antenna(422) would have received and transmitted all communication signals in the system.
-- With regards to claim 46,
1) the interrogation signal is encrypted would have been inherent, since the RF identification system would have been required to decode and interpret a command signal(see: Phan, sec[0046]), which inherently implies that the command signal would have been encrypted.
-- With regards to claim 47,
1) the RF identification signal is encrypted is met by the RFID signal being encoded to provide information to the signal received by the ground station(see: Phan, sec[0143]).
-- Claim 51 recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 39, and therefore, is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 39 above.
-- Claim 52 depends from claim 51, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 40. Therefore, claim 52 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 40 and 51 above.
-- Claim 53 depends from claim 51, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 42. Therefore, claim 53 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 42 and 51 above.
-- Claim 54 depends from claim 51, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 43. Therefore, claim 54 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 43 and 51 above.
-- Claim 55 depends from claim 51, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 44. Therefore, claim 55 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 44 and 51 above.
-- Claim 56 depends from claim 55, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 45. Therefore, claim 56 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 45 and 55 above.
-- Claim 57 depends from claim 55, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 46. Therefore, claim 57 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 47 and 55 above.
-- Claim 58 depends from claim 51, and recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 47. Therefore, claim 58 is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claims 47 and 51 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Phan et al(USPGPUB 2021/0406490 A1).
-- In considering claim 48, the claimed subject matter that is met by Phan includes:
1) a radar arranged to determine an orbital path of a resident space object (RSO) is met by the Ground station command and control, including Ground station RX modules(see: Phan, sec[0097]);
2) a receiver arranged to receive an identification signal from an identification tag attached to the RSO and to determine a tag identity is met by the Ground station module which receiving communication from the satellite, including a packet with the satellite ID(SID)(see: Phan, sec[0094]) ;
3) wherein the system is arranged to use the determined orbital path and the determined tag identity to determine the identity of the RSO is met by the system determining a doppler shift of received RFID signals from the satellite, thereby allowing estimation of velocity or location of the orbiting satellite(see: Phan, sec[0007]).
-- With regards to claim 49,
1) the system is arranged to store determined orbital paths of a plurality of RSOs in combination with the respective determined tag identities to form an RSO identification catalogue is met by the system specific commands being used to detect and locate individual satellites that are launched in batches with many other satellites at the same time, so as to improve accuracy of tracking and describing the orbit of each of the satellites(see: Phan, sec[0044]).
-- With regards to claim 50,
1) wherein the system further comprises a transmitter arranged to transmit an interrogation signal to prompt an identification tag attached to the RSO to transmit the identification signal is met by the earth based transmitter for prompting an identification tag located on the orbiting satellite(see: Phan, sec[0007]).
REMARKS:
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1) “The RF identification system of Phan comprising an electronics unit and an antenna unit is not a passive RFID tag according to claim 39……….it is not known to use passive RFID tags which gather energy from a radar signal for identifying space objects.”
The applicant is arguing that the RFID of Phan cannot be considered a passive RFID tag. The examiner is not implying that Phan includes a passive RFID. The examiner instead utilizes Yeo to teach the use of passive RFID in the combined system. The examiner presented motivation as to why one of ordinary skill would substitute the passive RFID tag of Yeo, into the system of Phan. In view of this, the applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARYL C POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686