DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arabia (US-5316354-A).
With regards to claim 1, Arabia discloses a lock holder (18 Figure 4) for a motor vehicle door lock (16 Figure 1), the lock holder comprising:
a lock holder plate (20 Figure 4), a locking bolt (24 Figure 4), a center piece (22 Figure 4), and a connecting bolt (26 Figure 4), wherein the locking bolt and the connecting bolt are separately formed (Figure 4, Col. 3 Lines 31-49).
With regards to claim 2, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and the connecting bolt (26 Figure 4) includes an increased cross section (34 Figure 1) in a contact region with the lock holder plate (20 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 4, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein the center piece (22 Figure 40) is flat (as shown Figures 1, 4) at least in a mounting region for the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and/or the connecting bolt (26 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 5, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein the center piece (22 Figure 40) is designed flat such that a cross-sectional area of the center piece as a whole has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (shown Figure 1).
With regards to claim 6, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) has a material thickening in a mounting region for the center piece (22 Figure 4) (Figure 1 shows that the locking bolt has a material thickening between the locking bolt segment within the center piece and the locking bolt segment contacting the catch).
With regards to claim 7, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 6, wherein the material thickening forms a contact surface (surface of locking bolt 24 contacting catch 11, Figure 1) for a catch (11 Figure 2, shown in cross-section but unlabeled in Figure 1) of the motor vehicle door lock (16 Figure 1).
With regards to claim 8, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 7, wherein the material thickening is a collar that forms the contact surface (the material thickening of the between the locking bolt segment within the center piece and the locking bolt segment contacting the catch can be interpreted as forming a collar on the center piece, Figure 1).
With regards to claim 9, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 8, wherein at least one of the collar (of locking bolt 24, Figure 1) and the catch (11 Figure 2) includes a plastics coating in a contact region of the catch on the collar (specifically the catch, Col. 4 Lines 9-12).
With regards to claim 10, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and the connecting bolt (26 Figure 4) is a rivet bolt (Figure 4, Col. 3 Lines 31-49).
With regards to claim 12, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 10, wherein at least one of the center piece (22 Figure 4) and the lock holder plate (20 Figure 4) includes at least one rivet hole (32, 38 Figure 1).
With regards to claim 13, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) is cylindrical.
With regards to claim 14, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and the connecting bolt (26 Figure 4) is configured to be connected to at least one of the center piece (22 Figure 4) and the lock holder plate (20 Figure 4) via cold forming (Col. 3 Lines 31-49).
With regards to claim 15, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 1, wherein the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and the connecting bolt (26 Figure 4) are symmetrical.
With regards to claim 16, Arabia discloses a motor vehicle lock (16 Figure 1) comprising:
the lock holder (18 Figure 4) according to claim 1, and a catch (11 Figure 2), wherein the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) has a material thickening (Figure 1 shows that the locking bolt has a material thickening between the locking bolt segment within the center piece and the locking bolt segment contacting the catch) in a mounting region for the center piece (22 Figure 4).
With regards to claim 17, Arabia discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 16, wherein the material thickening forms a contact surface (surface of locking bolt 24 contacting catch 11, Figure 1) for the catch (11 Figure 2, shown in cross-section but unlabeled in Figure 1).
With regards to claim 18, Arabia discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 17, wherein the material thickening is a collar that forms the contact surface (the material thickening of the between the locking bolt segment within the center piece and the locking bolt segment contacting the catch can be interpreted as forming a collar on the center piece, Figure 1).
With regards to claim 19, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 18, wherein at least one of the collar (of locking bolt 24, Figure 1) and the catch (11 Figure 2) includes a plastics coating in a contact region of the catch on the collar (specifically the catch, Col. 4 Lines 9-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arabia in view of Burton (US-20060055179-A1).
With regards to claim 3, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 2.
Arabia does not disclose wherein at least one of the locking bolt (24 Figure 4) and the connecting bolt (22 Figure 4) includes a cross-sectional area continuously increasing towards the contact region (with lock holder plate 20, Figure 4).
However, Burton discloses a high strength vehicle striker (40 Figure 7) wherein the locking bolt (50 Figure 7) and the connecting bolt (52 Figure 7) includes a cross-sectional area continuously increasing (56 Figure 7) towards the contact region with the lock holder plate (42 Figure 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Burton’s cross-sectional area continuously increasing towards the contact region with the lock holder plate to at least one of Arabia’s locking bolt and connecting bolt, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to add such a feature to improve the strength of the lock holder.
With regards to claim 11, Arabia discloses the lock holder according to claim 10, wherein the rivet bolt includes a rivet head (Figure 4, Col. 3 Lines 31-49).
Arabia does not disclose that the rivet head has a bevel.
However, Burton discloses a high strength vehicle striker (40 Figure 7) wherein the locking bolt (44 Figure 12a) is a rivet bolt having a rivet head (end of bolt 44, Figure 12a) with a bevel (56 Figure 12a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a bevel to Arabia’s rivet head, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to add a bevel to improve the strength of the lock holder.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-6073980-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-7703818-B2: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-12060737-B2: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-6698080-B2: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-6106037-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-4989313-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-5707092-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-5785365-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-4981313-A: A high strength vehicle striker.
US-20260002387-A1: A high strength vehicle striker.
WO-2017211348-A1: A high strength vehicle striker.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675