DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a position data acquisition unit, a transport direction acquisition unit, a coordinate system setting unit in claim(s) 1 (first instance).
The units will be interpreted as functional software modules stored on and executed by computers as described in par. 0075-0076 of applicant’s specification as published, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lager et al (US 20200164518, hereinafter Lager).
Regarding Claim 1, Lager teaches:
A device configured to set a transport device coordinate system in a robot coordinate system set to a robot configured to carry out work on a workpiece (see at least “The control system 16 controls the sensor 24 and the conveyor member 18. In this example, the control system 16 also controls the robot 12. The control system 16 is configured to control the sensor 24, the conveyor member 18 and the robot 12 to carry out the calibration methods as described herein.” In par. 0058 and "The control system 16 comprises a data processing device 26 (e.g. a central processing unit, CPU) and a memory 28." in par. 0059) ,
the transport device coordinate system defining a transport direction of a transport device configured to transport the workpiece (see at least "the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con" in par. 0059 and “The conveyor member 18, but not the sensor 24, is then moved in the movement direction 20 from the first operating position to a second operating position which is illustrated in FIG. 5b. When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position, the sensor 24 detects a further position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen.” in par. 0073) , the device comprising:
a first index representing a first index coordinate system and placed on the transport device so as to be transported by the transport device (see at least "the calibration marker 30" in par. 0072 and Figs. 5A-5B) ;
a camera configured to acquire first image data obtained by imaging the first index, and second image data obtained by imaging the first index transported by the transport device after imaging the first image data (see at least “The robot system 10 further comprises a sensor 24. The sensor 24 is a non-contact sensor and may for example be constituted by a 2D or 3D vision sensor (e.g. camera). A Cartesian sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen is associated with the sensor 24.” In par. 0047 and "The sensor 24 is placed outside the conveyor member 18 facing both the top of the conveyor member 18 and the robot 12." in par. 0072 and “The conveyor member 18, but not the sensor 24, is then moved in the movement direction 20 from the first operating position to a second operating position which is illustrated in FIG. 5b. When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position, the sensor 24 detects a further position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen.” in par. 0073 ) ;
a position data acquisition unit configured to acquire first position data indicating a three-dimensional position, with respect to the camera, of the first index coordinate system represented by the first index captured in the first image data, and second position data indicating a three-dimensional position, with respect to the camera, of the first index coordinate system represented by the first index captured in the second image data (see at least “When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the first operating position, the sensor 24 detects a position of the tool 22 and a position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen.” in par. 0072 and “The conveyor member 18, but not the sensor 24, is then moved in the movement direction 20 from the first operating position to a second operating position which is illustrated in FIG. 5b. When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position, the sensor 24 detects a further position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen.” in par. 0073;
a transport direction acquisition unit configured to determine the transport direction, based on the first position data and the second position data (see at least "From the data of the calibration marker 30 collected by the sensor 24 the movement direction 20 can be determined. The relative positions in space of the calibration marker 30 are used to find the movement direction 20. For example, a movement vector can be calculated and expressed in the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool as follows. The positions of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen are subtracted to get a movement vector in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen." in par. 0074) ; and
a coordinate system setting unit configured to set the transport device coordinate system in the robot coordinate system, based on the transport direction determined by the transport direction acquisition unit. (see at least "This movement vector can be transformed from the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen to the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool since the location of the robot 12 in the (now fixed) sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen has been measured. To get the final transformation between the tool 22 and the conveyor member 18, the position of the calibration marker 30 in the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con may be known beforehand. Alternatively, it can e.g. be detected or set during the calibration." in par. 0074).
Regarding Claim 6, Lager teaches:
The device of claim 1,
wherein the first index includes a pattern representing a three-dimensional position of the first index coordinate system in a camera coordinate system set to the camera that images the image data. (see at least " A calibration marker 30 is provided on the conveyor member 18. The sensor 24 can thereby detect the position of the conveyor member 18 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. The calibration marker 30 may be any type of feature on the conveyor member 18 that is recognizable by the sensor 24. The calibration marker 30 may be permanently provided on the conveyor member 18 (e.g. a painted mark) or may be temporarily provided on the conveyor member 18 (e.g. an attached pyramid)." in par. 0062)
Regarding Claim 7, Lager teaches:
a method of setting a transport device coordinate system in a robot coordinate system set to a robot configured to carry out work on a workpiece, the transport device coordinate system defining a transport direction of a transport device configured to transport the workpiece, the method comprising: (see at least "According to one aspect, there is provided a method for calibrating a robot coordinate system of a robot with a conveyor coordinate system of a movable conveyor member." in par. 0011)
implementing, step by step, each function of the device of Claim 1 (see Claim 1 analysis for rejection of the device )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lager et al (US 20200164518, hereinafter Lager) in view of Chavez et al (US 20250217917, hereinafter Chavez).
Regarding Claim 2, Lager teaches:
The device of claim 1, further comprising
a second index on a known position in the robot coordinate system and representing a second index coordinate system (see at least " When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the first operating position, the sensor 24 detects a position of the tool 22 and a position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. In other words, the transformation between the tool 22 and the sensor 24 and the transformation between the calibration marker 30 and the sensor 24 are measured." in par. 0072) ,
wherein the camera is configured to acquire the first image data obtained by imaging the first index and the second index, and the second image data obtained by imaging the transported first index and the second index, (see at least “When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the first operating position, the sensor 24 detects a position of the tool 22 and a position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. In other words, the transformation between the tool 22 and the sensor 24 and the transformation between the calibration marker 30 and the sensor 24 are measured." in par. 0072 " The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose." in par. 0075)
wherein the position data acquisition unit is configured to further acquire third position data indicating a three-dimensional position, with respect to the camera, of the second index coordinate system represented by the second index captured in the first image data, and fourth position data indicating a three-dimensional position, with respect to the camera, of the second index coordinate system represented by the second index captured in the second image data (see at least "when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the first operating position, the sensor 24 detects a position of the tool 22 and a position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. In other words, the transformation between the tool 22 and the sensor 24 and the transformation between the calibration marker 30 and the sensor 24 are measured. From these transformations, the transformation between the calibration marker 30 to the tool 22 can be found. The position of the tool 22 is detected for at least one pose of the robot 12 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned in the first operating position." in par. 0072 and “When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position, the sensor 24 detects a further position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen.” in par. 0073 and “The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose.” In par. 0075), and
wherein the transport direction acquisition unit is configured to determine the transport direction, further based on the third position data and the fourth position data. (see at least “The relative positions in space of the calibration marker 30 are used to find the movement direction 20. For example, a movement vector can be calculated and expressed in the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool as follows. The positions of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen are subtracted to get a movement vector in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. This movement vector can be transformed from the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen to the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool since the location of the robot 12 in the (now fixed) sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen has been measured. To get the final transformation between the tool 22 and the conveyor member 18, the position of the calibration marker 30 in the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con may be known beforehand. Alternatively, it can e.g. be detected or set during the calibration.” In par. 0074 and "The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose.” In par. 0075)
Lager does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Chavez does teach:
a second index placed on a known position in the robot coordinate system and representing a second index coordinate system, (see at least "In the example shown in FIG. 1, for example, one or more of cameras 112, 114, and 116 may be calibrated based on one or more images of marker 130 mounted in a static location (e.g., on a wall at a known location) in the workspace and/or marker 132 mounted (printed, etc.) on robotic arm 102. " in par. 0036 and “In some embodiments, a robotic arm or other actuator may be moved into a known, fixed position, such as by inserting a key or other item or appendage into a corresponding hole or other receiver, and generating an image while in the known position and orientation.” 0041 and “Referring further to FIG. 4, the calibration reference is used to cross-calibrate all cameras in the workspace (404). At runtime, iterative closest point (ICP) processing is performed to merge point clouds from multiple cameras (406). Instance segmentation processing is performed to discern, identify (e.g., by type, etc.), and label objects in the workspace (408).” In par. 0042 )
Given that Lager already teaches identifying in images multiple specific parts of the robot for calibration (see par. 0072-0075), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lager to incorporate the teachings of Chavez wherein an actual marker is placed on the robot for calibration. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of would be to Chavez would be to improve the accuracy of the workspace model (see par. 0033)
Regarding Claim 3, Lager as modified by Chavez teaches:
The device of claim 2,
Lager further teaches: wherein the transport direction acquisition unit is configured to:
determine a first positional relationship between the first index coordinate system and the second index coordinate system in the first image data, based on the first position data and the third position data (see at least "A method for calibrating the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool with the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con according to the third embodiment will now be described. The sensor 24 is placed outside the conveyor member 18 facing both the top of the conveyor member 18 and the robot 12. In FIG. 5a, the conveyor member 18 is positioned at a first operating position. When the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the first operating position, the sensor 24 detects a position of the tool 22 and a position of the calibration marker 30 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. In other words, the transformation between the tool 22 and the sensor 24 and the transformation between the calibration marker 30 and the sensor 24 are measured. From these transformations, the transformation between the calibration marker 30 to the tool 22 can be found. The position of the tool 22 is detected for at least one pose of the robot 12 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned in the first operating position." in par. 0072) ;
determine a second positional relationship between the first index coordinate system and the second index coordinate system in the second image data, based on the second position data and the fourth position data (see at least "This movement vector can be transformed from the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen to the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool since the location of the robot 12 in the (now fixed) sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen has been measured. To get the final transformation between the tool 22 and the conveyor member 18, the position of the calibration marker 30 in the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con may be known beforehand. Alternatively, it can e.g. be detected or set during the calibration." in par. 0074 and “The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose.” In par. 0075); and
determine the transport direction, based on the first positional relationship and the second positional relationship. (see at least "This movement vector can be transformed from the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen to the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool since the location of the robot 12 in the (now fixed) sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen has been measured. To get the final transformation between the tool 22 and the conveyor member 18, the position of the calibration marker 30 in the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con may be known beforehand. Alternatively, it can e.g. be detected or set during the calibration." in par. 0074 and “The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose.” In par. 0075)
Regarding Claim 4, Lager as modified by Chavez teaches:
4. The device of claim 1, comprising:
Lager further teaches: wherein the transport direction acquisition unit is configured to determine the transport direction (see at least "This movement vector can be transformed from the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen to the robot coordinate system X.sub.base, X.sub.mi, X.sub.tool since the location of the robot 12 in the (now fixed) sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen has been measured. To get the final transformation between the tool 22 and the conveyor member 18, the position of the calibration marker 30 in the conveyor coordinate system X.sub.con may be known beforehand. Alternatively, it can e.g. be detected or set during the calibration." in par. 0074 and “The sensor 24 may alternatively or additionally detect a position of the tool 22 when the conveyor member 18 is positioned at the second operating position or at any other operating position. For this detection, the robot 12 may either be in the same pose as in FIG. 5a or in a different pose.” In par. 0075)
Lager does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Chavez does teach:
a second index placed at a known position in the robot coordinate system and representing a second index coordinate system (see at least "In the example shown in FIG. 1, for example, one or more of cameras 112, 114, and 116 may be calibrated based on one or more images of marker 130 mounted in a static location (e.g., on a wall at a known location) in the workspace and/or marker 132 mounted (printed, etc.) on robotic arm 102. " in par. 0036 and “In some embodiments, a robotic arm or other actuator may be moved into a known, fixed position, such as by inserting a key or other item or appendage into a corresponding hole or other receiver, and generating an image while in the known position and orientation.” 0041 and “Referring further to FIG. 4, the calibration reference is used to cross-calibrate all cameras in the workspace (404). At runtime, iterative closest point (ICP) processing is performed to merge point clouds from multiple cameras (406). Instance segmentation processing is performed to discern, identify (e.g., by type, etc.), and label objects in the workspace (408).” In par. 0042 ); and
a sensor configured to detect a displacement of the camera (see at least "In various embodiments, one or more of the following may indicate a need to re-calibrate: a camera sees that the robot base position has moved (e.g., based on an image of an aruco or other marker on the base); a camera on a robotic arm or other actuator sees that a camera mounted in the workspace has moved (e.g., been bumped, intentionally repositioned by a human or robotic worker, etc.)" in par. 0044) ,
wherein the camera is configured to further acquire third image data obtained by imaging the second index, (see at least " In various embodiments, recalibration may include one or more of the following: using a camera mounted on a robotic actuator (e.g., camera 112) to relocate a fiducial marker in the workspace (e.g., marker 130); re-estimating camera-to-workspace transformation using fiducial markers; and recalibrating to a marker on the robot (e.g., marker 132)." in par. 0044)
wherein the position data acquisition unit is configured to further acquire third position data indicating a three-dimensional position, with respect to the camera, of the second index coordinate system represented by the second index captured in the third image data, (see at least " In the example shown, a calibration reference is obtained by using one or more cameras to generate images of a reference marker or other reference in the workspace (402). For example, in the example shown in FIG. 1, one or more of cameras 112, 114, and 116 may be used to generate one or more images of marker 130 and/or marker 132.” in par. 0041 and “Referring further to FIG. 4, the calibration reference is used to cross-calibrate all cameras in the workspace (404). At runtime, iterative closest point (ICP) processing is performed to merge point clouds from multiple cameras (406).” 0042)
wherein the sensor is configured to detect the displacement of the camera during imaging the first image data, the second image data, and the third image data, (see at least "In the example shown, a need to recalibrate one or more cameras in a workspace is detected (602). In various embodiments, one or more of the following may indicate a need to re-calibrate: a camera sees that the robot base position has moved (e.g., based on an image of an aruco or other marker on the base); a camera on a robotic arm or other actuator sees that a camera mounted in the workspace has moved (e.g., been bumped, intentionally repositioned by a human or robotic worker, etc.); and the system detects several (or greater than a threshold number) of missed grabs in a row. Recalibration is performed dynamically, e.g., in real time without aborting the pick-and-place or other robotic operation, without human intervention (604)." in par. 0044) and
detect objects moving on a conveyor after automatically re-calibrating, further based on the third position data and the displacement detected by the sensor. (see at least "For example, in the example shown in FIG. 1, cameras 112 and 116 may be in a position to view objects on conveyor 104, while camera 114, shown pointed at receptacle 106 in the example shown, may not (currently) have any image data from the part of the workspace in which conveyor 104 is located. Likewise, the arm 102 may be moved into a position such that camera 112 no longer has a view of the conveyor 104. In various embodiments, image data (e.g., RGB pixels, depth pixels, etc.) from cameras in the workspace are merged to dynamically generate and continuous update a three dimensional view of the workspace that is as complete and accurate as possible given the image data being received from the cameras and/or other sensors at any given moment of time." in par. 0033 and “Recalibration is performed dynamically, e.g., in real time without aborting the pick-and-place or other robotic operation, without human intervention (604). In various embodiments, recalibration may include one or more of the following: using a camera mounted on a robotic actuator (e.g., camera 112) to relocate a fiducial marker in the workspace (e.g., marker 130); re-estimating camera-to-workspace transformation using fiducial markers; and recalibrating to a marker on the robot (e.g., marker 132).” In par. 0044)
Given that Lager already teaches identifying the movement vector of objects on the conveyor (see par. 0072-0075), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Lager to incorporate the teachings of Chavez wherein one camera detects that another camera has been moved and needs to be re-calibrated automatically, in order to arrive at using the same data to determine the transport direction of the conveyor. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of would be to Chavez would be to improve the accuracy of the workspace model (see par. 0033)
Regarding Claim 5, Lager as modified by Chavez teaches:
5. The device of claim 2,
Lager further teaches: wherein the second index includes a pattern or a shape of the robot representing a three-dimensional position of the second index coordinate system in a camera coordinate system set to the camera that images the image data. (see at least " A calibration marker 30 is provided on the conveyor member 18. The sensor 24 can thereby detect the position of the conveyor member 18 in the sensor coordinate system X.sub.sen. The calibration marker 30 may be any type of feature on the conveyor member 18 that is recognizable by the sensor 24. The calibration marker 30 may be permanently provided on the conveyor member 18 (e.g. a painted mark) or may be temporarily provided on the conveyor member 18 (e.g. an attached pyramid)." in par. 0062)
Conclusion
/DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657