DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: elements 2910, 3010, 3110, 3410, 3710, 3810, & 1204. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the three heads drawings in fig. 60 show two head labels both labeled with element 10, where fig. 59 shows that the head labels should be 10, 20, & 30. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Page 15 (last ¶) describes object O, Page 36 (4th ¶) describes pixels P, & Page 67 (2nd ¶) navigation screen 5810. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following passages include incorrect/inconsistent spacings than what is otherwise provided in applicant’s specification and is not standard spacing: Page 5 (last ¶, 1st sentence), Page 12 (2nd ¶, 1st sentence), Page 13 (last ¶, 1st sentence), Page 14 (4th ¶), Page 15 (last two ¶s), Page 22 (4th ¶- last sentence in last ¶), Page 23 (all ¶s except 4th ¶), Page 24 (4th, 6th, & 7th ¶s), Page 25 (4th & 5th ¶s), Page 31 (7th ¶), Page 32 (3rd ¶), & Page 42 (2nd ¶), & Page 44 (2nd ¶).
Further informalities include the following: Page 22 (last ¶) includes misspelling “IDdentification”, that should be “Identification”, & Page 23 (last ¶) states abbreviation “TV” without definition.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the claims and specification describe sub-unit and sub-units in the drawings and specification (e.g., fig. 25, element 2510 and corresponding disclosure). However, applicant(s) do not provide any structure for performing the claimed specified functions. As a result, the office concludes that the claims are indefinite with respect to the claimed scope metes and boundaries in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Byoun et al, hereinafter Byoun (U.S. 2021/0063783 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Byoun discloses: a display device for a vehicle (Byoun, abstract), the display device comprising:
a display panel configured to output at least one content (Byoun, figs. 1-2B, display 150; disclosed in ¶ [0066]- ¶ [0070]);
a viewing angle adjustment panel including at least one liquid crystal layer comprising liquid crystal molecules (Byoun, fig. 3, viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}; disclosed in ¶ [0077]- ¶ [0086]); and
a controller configured to control an arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules to change a viewing angle for the display panel (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}; disclosed in ¶ [0075] & ¶ [0078]- ¶ [0087]),
wherein the viewing angle adjustment panel consists of a plurality of sub-units, the plurality of sub-units disposed side by side to correspond to each of a plurality of areas constituting the display panel and configured to independently control the arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules (Byoun, fig. 2A-3, viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0075]- ¶ [0086]), and
wherein the controller is configured to control the arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules of a sub-unit corresponding to a restricted area among the plurality of sub-units to change the viewing angle of the restricted area among the plurality of areas (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode).
In regards to claim 2, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: based on a first condition related to driving of a vehicle, determine a first restricted area of the display panel; based on a second condition related to privacy, determine a second restricted area of the display panel; and control the arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules to change a viewing angle for the second restricted area (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode).
In regards to claim 3, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 2, wherein the viewing angle adjustment panel comprises a plurality of substrates disposed on both sides of the liquid crystal layer, respectively, wherein, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of substrates, the arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules is changed to a predetermined direction that restricts emission of light toward a driver's seat, and wherein the controller is configured to apply a predetermined voltage to the plurality of substrates disposed in one area of the viewing angle adjustment panel that corresponds to at least one of the first restricted area and the second restricted area (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode).
In regards to claim 4, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 3, wherein the voltage applied to the one area of the viewing angle adjustment panel increases as a distance between the one area of the viewing angle adjustment panel and the driver's seat decreases (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; lastly, please note that the liquid crystals are fully parallel in the driving mode with respect to full vertical rotation, thereby necessitating an increase in voltage compared to the obsolete/non-parallel semi-rotation).
In regards to claim 5, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 2,wherein, based on a speed of the vehicle being greater than or equal to a predetermined speed limit, which is one of the first condition, the controller is configured to determine one area of the display panel that is adjacent to a passenger seat as the first restricted area, and wherein a size of the first restricted area increases as the speed of the vehicle increases (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; lastly, please note ¶ [0087] with respect to driving mode).
In regards to claim 6, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 5, wherein, based on predetermined content related to driving of the vehicle being output, which is one of the first condition, the controller is configured to determine the first restricted area in a remaining area, excluding an area where the predetermined content is output (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; lastly, please note ¶ [0067]- ¶ [0069] & ¶ [0087] with respect to the displayed content type related to driving of the vehicle).
In regards to claim 7, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 3, wherein, based on predetermined content corresponding to a passenger seat being output, which is one of the second condition, the controller is configured to determine an area of the display panel where the predetermined content is output as the second restricted area (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; lastly, please note ¶ [0067]- ¶ [0069] & ¶ [0087] with respect to the displayed content type related to driving of the vehicle).
In regards to claim 8, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 2,wherein the controller is configured to: based on a state of a transmission of the vehicle corresponding to drive (D), reverse (R), or neutral (N), perform a determination on the first condition and the second condition; and based on the state of the transmission of the vehicle corresponding to park (P), perform a determination on the second condition (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, {wherein such corresponds to claimed plurality of substrates, where the voltage is applied at the beginning and transmits up to the TFT panel 1130}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; lastly, please note ¶ [0067]- ¶ [0069], ¶ [0071], & ¶ [0087] with respect to the displayed content type related to driving of the vehicle with respect to transmission).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byoun in view of Lottes et al, hereinafter Lottes (U.S. 2024/0367521 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Byoun discloses: the display device of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to: based on the vehicle being in a manual mode, perform a determination on the first condition and the second condition; and perform a determination on the second condition (Byoun, figs. 2A-3, controller {corresponds to the light source portion of element 1110 [please note, fig. 10 illustrates the piecemeal with 1112 as the light source portion], and the processor described in ¶ [0087]}, & viewing angle adjustment panel {corresponds to elements 1122, 1124 [liquid crystals], 1128, 1130, and light guide portion of 1110 [note, fig. 10 shows piecemeal of lightguide plate 1114]}, where a claimed sub-unit corresponds to the rotational area of a liquid crystal in element 112 that encompasses going from angle switching off->on and vice-versa {as shown in fig. 3}; disclosed in ¶ [0070]- ¶ [0087]; please note, inside vehicle stop restriction mode and inside vehicle drive restriction mode; please note, the second condition corresponds to where the driver is not driving and enabling a shared display with respect to the driver and passenger privacy being non-private).
Byoun fails to disclose: wherein the controller is configured to: based on the vehicle being in autonomous mode, perform a determination on the second condition.
However, Lottes discloses: wherein the controller is configured to: based on the vehicle being in autonomous mode, perform a determination on the second condition (Lottes, ¶ [0017]- ¶ [0019] & ¶ [0024]; please note, the second condition corresponds to where the driver is not driving and enabling a shared display with respect to the driver and passenger privacy being non-private).
Lottes and Byoun are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to multi-mode vehicle multi-angle viewing display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vehicle and controller functionality of Byoun to include: wherein the controller is configured to: based on the vehicle being in autonomous mode, perform a determination on the second condition, as taught by Lottes, in order to improve a display view for the passenger and the driver with respect to autonomous mode that also improves driver safety/distraction in a manual mode (Lottes, ¶ [0018]- ¶ [0020]).
Conclusion
Duane N. Taylor Jr.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2626
/DUANE N TAYLOR JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626