DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 9/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-19 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/29/26
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation of each component, and the claim also recites a more preferable range of each component which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-8 are rejected for the reasons above as they depend from and include the limitations of rejected claim 1.
5. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the tea leaves" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shah et al. (US 2023/0019615 A1) (Hereafter “Shah”).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a composition (see Table 1A-1) capable of being used for the denaturation of respiratory allergens, comprising: tannic acid in an amount of about 0.01% to about 10% by weight (see para [0008]); cyclodextrin in an amount of about 0.01% to about 20% by weight (see para [0021]; herbal essential oil in an amount of about 0.1% to about 10% by weight (see para [0016)]; and water (see para [0130]).
Regarding claims 2-4, Shah discloses wherein the acid is tannic acid (see para [0008] and [0021]). Regarding the limitation directed to the source of the tannins used for the tannic acid, the claims are directed to a composition and therefore the patentability of the tannic acid limitation does not depend on its method of production. The prior art is only required to teach the composition and this is met by the teachings of Shah.
Regarding claims 5-6, Shah discloses that the cyclodextrin can be beta-cyclodextrin (see para [0022]) or methylated cyclodextrins (see para [0147]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Shah discloses that the herbal essential oil can be rosemary oil (see para [0138]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GB 2329586 A – teaches denaturing allergens using a composition comprising tannic acid, cyclodextrin, herbal oil, and water (see abstract)
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799