DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tischendorf et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0398042 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tischendorf discloses an implantable medical device (e.g. 20,50) comprising:
a housing (e.g. 34, 101) comprising a first major surface and a second major surface (e.g. Fig. 1E, 2);
electronic components disposed within the housing (e.g. ¶ 84; IMD circuitry);
an electrode (e.g. 30, 58) disposed on the first major surface of the housing and electrically connected to the electronic components (e.g. ¶ 91); and
a surround (e.g. Fig. 5; fixation shroud 200) comprising a body that comprises a first major surface (e.g. 202), a second major surface (e.g. 204), and an opening (e.g. 230) disposed in the first major surface of the body, wherein the surround is adapted to receive within the body at least a portion of the housing (e.g. Fig. 5, ¶ 104), wherein the surround further comprises a fixation component (e.g. 210) disposed on or through the body of the surround and adapted to attach the surround to tissue of a patient (e.g. ¶ 105);
wherein the electrode extends through the opening of the body of the surround and is adapted to be in contact with the tissue of the patient (e.g. ¶ 104).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Tischendorf discloses a tine (e.g. ¶ 85, 120) and a suture hole (e.g. ¶ 129, 131).
Regarding claims 4 and 5¸ Tischendorf discloses the body of the surround comprises a biocompatible material (e.g. ¶ 93), which comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (e.g. ¶ 107).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Tischendorf discloses the opening of the body of the surround is adapted to receive the housing such that at least one side surface of the housing is disposed within the surround, and wherein each side surface of the housing is disposed within the body of the surround (e.g. Fig. 5, ¶ 102 – 108).
Regarding claim 8, Tischendorf discloses the surround further comprises a second opening disposed in the second major surface of the body of the surround, wherein a perimeter of the second opening overlaps the housing in a direction orthogonal to the second major surface of the body such that the housing is prevented from being removed from the surround through the second opening (e.g. Fig. 5, ¶ 102 – 108).
Regarding claim 9, Tischendorf discloses the body of the surround further comprises a lip disposed on the first major surface of the body of the surround that defines the opening, wherein the lip is adapted to be disposed on a perimeter of the first major surface of the housing that faces through the opening such that at least a portion of the perimeter of the first major surface of the housing is covered by the lip (e.g. Fig. 5, ¶ 102 – 108).
Regarding claim 10, Tischendorf discloses the surround is adapted such that the housing is press-fit into the body of the surround (e.g. ¶ 98).
Regarding claim 11, Tischendorf discloses the housing is adhered to the body of the surround (¶ 98).
Regarding claim 12, Tischendorf discloses the body of the surround comprises a first portion and a second portion that is connected to the first portion (e.g. Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tischendorf et al. in view of Ruben et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0178518 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 13 – 15, Tischendorf discloses the claimed invention except for specifically reciting a ferrule hermetically sealed to the dielectric substrate; wherein the ferrule is connected to an edge of a second portion of the housing, wherein the ferrule is laser bonded to the dielectric substrate, and wherein at least a portion of the ferrule is disposed within the body of the surround.
Ruben teaches it is known to use a hermetically-sealed IMD (e.g. 100), having a ceramic housing (e.g. 102), a ferrule (e.g. 22) that is attached with las-bonding and welding steps (e.g. 204, 208). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Tischendorf with he ferrule as taught by Ruben, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a return pass for electrical energy.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796