DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one table leg recited in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the slotted hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the beam" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be examined as if it were dependent from claim 10 for the proper antecedent.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “preferably” in line 3 is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation after it are required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duerr et al. (US patent application publication 2002/0003361) (hereinafter Duerr).
Regarding claim 1, Duerr discloses a tablefor a vehicle, comprising: at least one base (165) for attachment to the vehicle and a tabletop (146, 147) connected to the base, and wherein the tabletop is moveable in relation to the base along a transverse axis of the table transversely to a longitudinal axis of the table, wherein the tabletop and the base are connected to each other via at least two connection systems (170, 175, 180, 185, 190, 195, 210, 215) and wherein each connection system includes a guided connection between the tabletop and the base via two mutually interacting guide elements, wherein the guide elements are configured such that during a movement along the transverse axis, a force transfer takes place between the guide elements, wherein for each connection system a first guide element (210, 215) is immovably connected to the tabletop along the transverse axis, and a second guide element (170, 175) is immovably connected to the base along the transverse axis, and in at least one guide element of at least one connection system is movably connected along the longitudinal axis to the element to which it is immovably connected along the transverse axis
Regarding claim 2, Duerr discloses a table wherein the force transfer between the guide elements includes a plastic deformation of at least one of these parts or friction between the guide elements ([0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Duerr discloses a table wherein the connection systems are arranged along the longitudinal axis of the table or the slotted hole of at least one connection system extends along the transverse axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Duerr discloses a table wherein the tabletop is connected to the base via a stabilizing connection, wherein the stabilizing connection limits the movement of the tabletop in relation to the base to a plane which is spanned by the longitudinal axis and transverse axis (Fig. 3 & [0041-0043])
Regarding claim 13, Duerr discloses a table wherein the table has a substructure (20) firmly connected to the base that the substructure preferably has at least one table leg which can be connected to a vehicle floor.
Regarding claim 14, Duerr discloses a table wherein the base can be connected to a vehicle wall of the vehicle (via 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8 & 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637