Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2003-500551 in view of Tanimoto et al. (2022/0250908). Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2000-97398 in view of Tanimoto et al. (2022/0250908). JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398 each disclose a corrosive gas mixture-filled container (see Figures 1 and 2; see 8 in Figure 1) containing a corrosive gas mixture, the sealed container including a cylindrical body portion and a surface roughness of an inner surface of the cylindrical body portion is 38 micrometers or less (about 5 micrometers or less set forth in claim 1; 50 micrometers in paragraph 10). Neither one of JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398 disclose the corrosive gas mixture to be a sulfur dioxide mixture containing sulfur dioxide and water in a vapor phase. However, Tanimoto et al. disclose a sulfur dioxide mixture containing sulfur dioxide and water in a vapor phase (see paragraphs 0004 and 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the container of either one of JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398 with a sulfur dioxide mixture containing sulfur dioxide and water in a vapor phase in the manner of Tanimoto et al. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a particular known analogous mixture to the generally disclosed container of either one of JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398 including the conventional surface roughness ranges of JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398.
As to claims 2 and 3, the “or less” recitations of JP 2003-500551 and JP 2000-97398 encompass the scope of the claims as to the maximum height of the surface roughness.
As to claim 4, Tanimoto et al. further discloses the concentration of the water is 1000 mol ppm or less (see paragraph 0023).
As to claims 5 and 6, JP 2003-500551 discloses the metal of the sealed container is an alloy steel (see paragraph 0018) comprising manganese steel or chromium molybdenum steel.
As to claim 7, JP 2003-500551, JP 2000-97398 and Tanimoto et al. each disclose a corrosive gas composition extracted from a container, Tanimoto et al. disclosing a sulfur dioxide mixture containing sulfur dioxide and water.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 1, 6, 7, and 16, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,535,185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the now claimed subject matter of each claim may be wholly derived from or encompassed by the indicated corresponding patented claim.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the additional references listed on the attached PTO-892, which, while not relied upon for the claim rejection, these references are deemed relevant to the claimed invention as a whole.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
Bryon P. Gehman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG