DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coburn et al. (US 2019/001833 A1) further in view of Kaplan et al. (US 2008/0052145 A1).
Re Claim 1: Coburn teaches a method for exchanging an amount of electrical charge between at least one electric vehicle and at least one power supply device via a charging device (see 10a, 10b, 133, 1331a/1331b, 1332, 1334, figs 1, 3-4 para 0017-0020, 0035-0043); wherein, in a connection step, the electric vehicle is electrically conductively connected to the power supply device via the charging device (see 1332a/1332b, 13344 figs.1, 3-4 para 0039-0040); wherein, in a subsequent selection step, an assignment selection of the electric vehicle to the power supply device is provided to a user of the electric vehicle (see 601, 605, 606, 602-604 figs.6 para 0048-0049); and wherein the amount of electrical charge to be exchanged between the electric vehicle and the power supply device is specified according to the assignment selection of the user of the charging device (see the charging request fig.4, 5 para 0035-0038, 0041-0043; the amount is tied to the users selection and negotiation).
and wherein, in a subsequent charging step, the amount of electrical charge is exchanged between the electric vehicle and the power supply device via the charging device (see 1331a/1331b, 1334 figs.3-4 para 0037-0038, 0043).
Coburn doesn’t expressly teach by a control device which is connected to the charging device via a communication channel.
In an analogous art Kaplan teaches by a control device which is connected to the charging device via a communication channel (see 102, 106, 134, 201, bridges 120, 206, figs. 1, 2, 3, 7, 8 para 0034, 0043, 0077-0083, 0088-0096, 0100-0103, Bridges disclose the central control/flow control server (control device) communication over inter/powerline to remote IPF modules in elec. resources at the charging point; that controls issues charging/discharging instructions over the communication channel to the device connect the vehicle and grid). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the at the time inventio was claimed to use the remote control device architecture and communication channel of Kaplan in the system of Coburn to specify and manage charging/discharging parameters through control device communicating with charging device to enable centralized, network based control and improve coordination of multiple distributed electrical vehicles.
Re Claim 2: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Coburn further teaches wherein another electric vehicle is used for the power supply device (see 10a, 10b, 1331a/1331b, 1332a, 1332b, 1334, figs 1, 4: para 0017-0020, 0035-0043, method 200/500 figs.2, 5).
Re Claim 3: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Coburn further teaches wherein a stationary power source is used for the power supply device (see 602, 603, 604, 601 610, fig.6 para 0045-0048).
Re Claim 4: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Kaplan further teaches wherein a radio link is used for the communication channel which connects the charging device and the control device, such that the at least one electric vehicle and the at least one power supply device can be spaced apart from one another at a distance (see 102, 106, 104, bridges 120, 134, wireless link alternative, figs. 1-3, 7, 8 para 0043-0051, 0077-0083, 0119-0162).
Re Claim 5: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Coburn further teaches a charging system for exchanging an amount of electrical charge, having at least one electric vehicle, at least one power supply device and at least one charging device, such that the electric vehicle can be electrically conductively connected to the power supply device via the charging device, characterized in that the charging system can be operated by a method as claimed in claim 1 (see 10a, 10b, 1332, 1334, 602-604, 100 figs.1, 2, 4, 6: para 0017-0020, 0039-0043, 0045-0048).
Re Claim 6: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Kaplan further teaches wherein a radio link is used for the communication channel which connects the charging device and the control device, such that the at least one electric vehicle and the at least one power supply device can be spaced apart from one another at a distance (see 102, 106, 104, bridges 120, 134, wireless option figs. 1-3, 7, 8 para 0043-0051, 0077-0083, 0119-0162).
Re Claim 7: Combination of Coburn and Kaplan teaches invention set forth above, Kaplan further teaches wherein a radio link is used for the communication channel which connects the charging device and the control device, such that the at least one electric vehicle and the at least one power supply device can be spaced apart from one another at a distance (see 102, 134, 124, 126 figs 1-4, 7, 8 para 0043-0052, 0077-0083, 0119-0162).
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836