The Application number 18/881,635 filed on 1/6/2025 has been considered. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 1/6/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2019/0312892 hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses an intrusion detection device (FIG. 1-4, i.e. In-Vehicle Network security diagnostic sensor), comprising:
a communication unit that transmits and receives a frame to and from an in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0064]-[0068]; i.e. receiving and transmitting packets from the Electronic Control Units (ECU) via the Controller Area Network (CAN) communication bus);
an attribute acquisition unit that acquires an attribute of the frame (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0069]-[0077]; i.e. extracting the characteristics that uniquely identify the ECUs that transmit the packets and/or the information of the packets such as CAN_ID);
a status acquisition unit that acquires communication control status information indicating a communication control status of the frame by the in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0062]; [0069]-[0077]; i.e. obtaining/identifying driving state of the vehicle, a time interval, a frequency or a period with respect to the reception of packets, reception power which is measured at the CAN transceiver as the physical characteristic value of the CAN packets, etc.); and
an abnormality detection unit that detects an abnormality of the in-vehicle electronic device on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0069]-[0077], [0083]-[0084]; i.e. detecting a sign of an abnormality based on the characteristics of the packets, driving state of the vehicle, the transmission state of the packets, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Chung discloses the intrusion detection device according to claim 1, further comprising a frame transmission determination unit that determines whether or not transmission of the frame is allowed on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status, wherein the abnormality detection unit detects an abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the frame transmission determination unit (¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Chung discloses an intrusion detection device, comprising:
a communication unit that transmits and receives a frame to and from an in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0064]-[0068]; i.e. receiving and transmitting packets from the Electronic Control Units (ECU) via the Controller Area Network (CAN) communication bus);
an attribute acquisition unit that acquires an attribute of the frame (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0069]-[0077]; i.e. extracting the characteristics that uniquely identify the ECUs that transmit the packets and/or the information of the packets such as CAN_ID);
a status acquisition unit that acquires communication control status information indicating a communication control status of the frame by the in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0062]; [0069]-[0077]; i.e. obtaining/identifying driving state of the vehicle, a time interval, a frequency or a period with respect to the reception of packets, reception power which is measured at the CAN transceiver as the physical characteristic value of the CAN packets, etc.);
an abnormality determination unit that detects an abnormality of the in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0069]-[0077], [0083]-[0084]; i.e. detecting a sign of an abnormality based on the characteristics of the packets, driving state of the vehicle, the transmission state of the packets, etc.); and
a transmission unit that, when the abnormality determination unit detects the abnormality of the in-vehicle electronic device, adds the attribute and the communication control status information to abnormality information indicating the abnormality and transmits the abnormality information (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0063], [0077], [0177]; i.e. generating and transmitting trouble code and a cybersecurity fzeeze-frame data to the ECU and/or the cyber dashboard).
Regarding claim 6, Chung discloses an intrusion detection method, comprising the steps of:
transmitting and receiving a frame to and from an in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0064]-[0068]; i.e. receiving and transmitting packets from the Electronic Control Units (ECU) via the Controller Area Network (CAN) communication bus);
acquiring an attribute of the frame (FIG. 1-4, ¶ [0069]-[0077]; i.e. extracting the characteristics that uniquely identify the ECUs that transmit the packets and/or the information of the packets such as CAN_ID);
acquiring communication control status information indicating a communication control status of the frame by the in-vehicle electronic device (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0062]; [0069]-[0077]; i.e. obtaining/identifying driving state of the vehicle, a time interval, a frequency or a period with respect to the reception of packets, reception power which is measured at the CAN transceiver as the physical characteristic value of the CAN packets, etc.); and
detecting an abnormality of the in-vehicle electronic device on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status (FIG. 1-5, ¶ [0069]-[0077], [0083]-[0084]; i.e. detecting a sign of an abnormality based on the characteristics of the packets, driving state of the vehicle, the transmission state of the packets, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Chung discloses the intrusion detection method according to claim 6, further comprising: a first step of determining whether or not transmission of the frame is allowed on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status, wherein the step of detecting the abnormality detects the abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the first step (¶ [0072]-[0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2019/0312892 hereinafter Chung) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2014/0047255 hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claim 3, Chung discloses the intrusion detection device according to claim 1.
Chung does not explicitly disclose further comprising a status determination unit that determines whether or not the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have the same communication control status, wherein the abnormality detection unit detects an abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the status determination unit.
However, Sasaki discloses a status determination unit that determines whether or not the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have the same communication control status, wherein the abnormality detection unit detects an abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the status determination unit (FIG. 7 & 10, ¶ [0083]-[0086], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chung and Sasaki in order to efficiently detect malfunction or abnormality in the vehicular network management (Sasaki, ¶ [0005]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Chung discloses the intrusion detection device according to claim 1, further comprising: a frame transmission determination unit that determines whether or not transmission of the frame is allowed on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status; wherein the abnormality detection unit detects an abnormality of the in-vehicle electronic device on the basis of either a determination result of the frame transmission determination unit or a determination result of the status determination unit (¶ [0072]-[0075]).
Chung does not explicitly disclose further comprising a status determination unit that determines whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship.
However, Sasaki discloses a status determination unit that determines whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship (FIG. 7 & 10, ¶ [0083]-[0086], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chung and Sasaki in order to efficiently detect malfunction or abnormality in the vehicular network management (Sasaki, ¶ [0005]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Chung discloses the intrusion detection method according to claim 6.
Chung does not explicitly disclose determining whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship, wherein the step of detecting the abnormality detects the abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the second step.
However, Sasaki discloses determining whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship, wherein the step of detecting the abnormality detects the abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the second step (FIG. 7 & 10, ¶ [0083]-[0086], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chung and Sasaki in order to efficiently detect malfunction or abnormality in the vehicular network management (Sasaki, ¶ [0005]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Chung discloses the intrusion detection method according to claim 6, further comprising: a first step of determining whether or not transmission of the frame is allowed on the basis of the attribute and the communication control status; and wherein the step of detecting the abnormality detects the abnormality on the basis of a determination result of the first step and a determination result of the second step (¶ [0072]-[0075]).
Chung does not explicitly disclose further comprising determining whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship.
However, Sasaki discloses determining whether or not the communication control statuses of the in-vehicle electronic devices belonging to the same group have a certain relationship (FIG. 7 & 10, ¶ [0083]-[0086], [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chung and Sasaki in order to efficiently detect malfunction or abnormality in the vehicular network management (Sasaki, ¶ [0005]-[0012]).
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435