DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 1/6/2025, which is a 371 application entering national stage from PCT/CN2022/104240 filed on 7/6/2022. Claims 1-9 and 12-22 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 12-14, 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 2024/0365380, hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses a communication method, performed by a sensing by proxy (SBP) initiator, the method comprising [Luo Figure 3 discloses a sensing method performed by an SBP requester (i.e. an SBP initiator) and an SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0078)]:
Determining a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame comprises a first identification bit, and the first identification bit indicates whether an SBP responder feeds back sensing measurement results [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame (i.e. similar to a target radio frame) to an SBP responder, the frame is configured to instruct the SBP responder to establish a measurement setup (Luo paragraph 0080). Luo Figures 9 and 10 disclose examples of a sensing requirement info field based on the structure of the first request frame. One of the four reserved bits is determined as the Immediate Report Field, which indicates whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results in the sensing measurement corresponding to the measurement setup to be established as requested by the SBP requester (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183). Thus, the Immediate Report Field bit is similar to a first identification bit in a target radio frame which indicates whether an SBP responder feeds back sensing measurement results]; and
Transmitting the target radio frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo paragraph 0080)].
Regarding claim 4, Luo discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame comprises an SBP request frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0080). The first request frame is also referred to as an SBP request frame (Luo paragraph 0083)]; and
Wherein the method further comprises: receiving an SBP response frame, wherein the SBP response frame comprises a sensing measurement setup identifier (MSID) [Luo discloses that the SBP requester receives a response frame from the SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0081). The response frame is also referred to as an SBP response frame (Luo paragraph 0083). Luo further discloses that the response frame may include a measurement setup ID field (Luo paragraphs 0233-0235. Also see Luo paragraphs 0240-0242)].
Regarding claim 5, Luo discloses a communication method, performed by a sensing by proxy (SBP) responder, the method comprising [Luo Figures 3 and 4 disclose examples of a sensing method performed by an SBP requester (i.e. an SBP initiator) and an SBP responder (Luo Figures 3-4, paragraphs 0078, 0084)]:
Receiving a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame comprises a first identification bit, and the first identification bit indicates whether the SBP responder feeds back sensing measurement results [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame (i.e. similar to a target radio frame) to an SBP responder, the frame is configured to instruct the SBP responder to establish a measurement setup (Luo paragraph 0086). Luo Figures 9 and 10 disclose examples of a sensing requirement info field based on the structure of the first request frame. One of the four reserved bits is determined as the Immediate Report Field, which indicates whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results in the sensing measurement corresponding to the measurement setup to be established as requested by the SBP requester (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183). Thus, the Immediate Report Field bit is similar to a first identification bit in a target radio frame which indicates whether an SBP responder feeds back sensing measurement results]; and
Serving as a proxy of an SBP initiator to set up a sensing measurement with station devices (STAs) by transmitting a sensing measurement setup request frame to the STAs according to the first identification bit [Luo Figure 4 discloses a sensing method performed by SBP requester, responder, and several sending responders, which can be STAs (Luo paragraph 0084). As disclosed in Luo Figure 4, the SBP responder transmits a sensing measurement setup request to sensing responders (i.e. STAs) after receiving request frame from the SBP requester (Luo Figure 4, paragraphs 0088, 0090, 0092). As mentioned above, the request frame from the SBP requester includes a field indicating whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results corresponding to the measurement setup as requested by the SBP requester (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183. Also see Luo paragraph 0095); indicating that the SBP responder sets up a sensing measurement with the sensing responders be sending measurement setup request based on the first information received in the request frame from the SBP requester].
Regarding claim 9, Luo discloses the communication method according to claim 5. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame comprises an SBP request frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0080). The first request frame is also referred to as an SBP request frame (Luo paragraph 0083)]; and
Wherein the method further comprises: initiating an SBP response frame to the SBP initiator, wherein the SBP response frame comprises a sensing measurement setup identifier (MSID) [Luo discloses that the SBP requester receives a response frame from the SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0081). The response frame is also referred to as an SBP response frame (Luo paragraph 0083). Luo further discloses that the response frame may include a measurement setup ID field (Luo paragraphs 0233-0235. Also see Luo paragraphs 0240-0242)].
Regarding claim 12, Luo discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more memories, one or more processors, and a computer program stored in the one or more memories and executable on the one or more processors, wherein the computer program, when collectively executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to [Luo Figure 25 discloses a communication device comprising a processor, a memory, a transceiver, etc. The processor when loading and running computer program stored in the memory, may perform the method in the embodiments of the disclosure (Luo Figure 25, paragraphs 0339-0347)]:
Determine a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame comprises a first identification bit, and the first identification bit indicates whether a sensing by proxy (SBP) responder feeds back sensing measurement results [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame (i.e. similar to a target radio frame) to an SBP responder, the frame is configured to instruct the SBP responder to establish a measurement setup (Luo paragraph 0080). Luo Figures 9 and 10 disclose examples of a sensing requirement info field based on the structure of the first request frame. One of the four reserved bits is determined as the Immediate Report Field, which indicates whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results in the sensing measurement corresponding to the measurement setup to be established as requested by the SBP requester (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183). Thus, the Immediate Report Field bit is similar to a first identification bit in a target radio frame which indicates whether an SBP responder feeds back sensing measurement results] and
Transmit the target radio frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo paragraph 0080)].
Regarding claim 13, Luo discloses the method according to claim 1. Luo further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when collectively executed by one or more processors of the SBP initiator, causes the SBP initiator to perform the method according to claim 1 [Luo discloses that a computer readable storage medium is provided which stores one or more programs including instructions. The instructions, when loaded and executed by a portable electronic device including a plurality of applications, cause the portable electronic device to perform the sensing method in the present disclosure. The computer-readable storage medium may be applicable to the SBO requestor as well as the SBP responder (Luo paragraph 0366)].
Regarding claim 14, Luo discloses the method according to claim 5. Luo further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when collectively executed by one or more processors of the SBP responder, causes the SBP responder to perform the method according to claim 5 [Luo discloses that a computer readable storage medium is provided which stores one or more programs including instructions. The instructions, when loaded and executed by a portable electronic device including a plurality of applications, cause the portable electronic device to perform the sensing method in the present disclosure. The computer-readable storage medium may be applicable to the SBO requestor as well as the SBP responder (Luo paragraph 0366)].
Regarding claim 17, Luo discloses the electronic device according to claim 12. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame comprises an SBP request frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0080). The first request frame is also referred to as an SBP request frame (Luo paragraph 0083)]; and
Wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an SBP response frame, wherein the SBP response frame comprises a sensing measurement setup identifier (MSID) [Luo discloses that the SBP requester receives a response frame from the SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0081). The response frame is also referred to as an SBP response frame (Luo paragraph 0083). Luo further discloses that the response frame may include a measurement setup ID field (Luo paragraphs 0233-0235. Also see Luo paragraphs 0240-0242)].
Regarding claim 18, Luo discloses the communication method according to claim 5. Luo further discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more memories, one or more processors, and a computer program stored in the one or more memories and executable on the one or more processors, wherein the computer program, when collectively executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to act as the SBP responder and perform the communication method according to claim 5 [Luo Figure 25 discloses a communication device comprising a processor, a memory, a transceiver, etc. The processor when loading and running computer program stored in the memory, may perform the method in the embodiments of the disclosure. The device may correspond to the SBP responder in the present disclosure (Luo Figure 25, paragraphs 0339-0347)].
Regarding claim 22, Luo discloses the electronic device according to claim 18. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame comprises an SBP request frame [Luo discloses that the SBP requestor transmits a first request frame to an SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0080). The first request frame is also referred to as an SBP request frame (Luo paragraph 0083)]; and
Wherein the computer program when collectively executed by the one or more processors further cause the electronic device to: initiate an SBP response frame to the SBP initiator, wherein the SBP response frame comprises a sensing measurement setup identifier (MSID) [Luo discloses that the SBP requester receives a response frame from the SBP responder (Luo Figure 3, paragraph 0081). The response frame is also referred to as an SBP response frame (Luo paragraph 0083). Luo further discloses that the response frame may include a measurement setup ID field (Luo paragraphs 0233-0235. Also see Luo paragraphs 0240-0242)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Zhou et al. (US 2024/0314590, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, Luo discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame further comprises a second identification bit, and the second identification bit indicates a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder [Luo discloses that a measurement Result Type field indicates a measurement result type in the measurement setup to be established (Luo paragraph 0154); indicating a second field related to a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder].
Luo does not expressly disclose the feature of a second identification bit indicating a feedback type.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses an example of an SBP request frame (Zhou Figure 7), where the CSI-based measurement result subfield (i.e. a second identification bit) may be 1 bit field representing that a requested measurement result is CSI-based (Zhou paragraphs 0151 and 0154, Figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo to have the features of wherein the target radio frame further comprises a second identification bit, and the second identification bit indicates a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder; as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for initiating a sensing measurement setup termination by different roles and design related restriction rules, such that the sensing measurement setup can be terminated more flexibly (Zhou paragraph 0162).
Regarding claim 3, Lou and Zhou disclose the communication method according to claim 2. Lou and Zhou further disclose wherein the second identification bit has a second parameter value in a case that the first identification bit has a first parameter value, and the second parameter value indicates that the feedback type is feedback channel state indication (CSI) information [Luo discloses that one of the four reserved bits is determined as the Immediate Report Field, which indicates whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results in the sensing measurement corresponding to the measurement setup to be established as requested by the SBP requester. In some cases, 1 is set to represent Yes (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183). Zhou discloses an example of an SBP request frame (Zhou Figure 7), where the CSI-based measurement result subfield (i.e. a second identification bit) may be 1 bit field representing that a requested measurement result is CSI-based (Zhou paragraphs 0151 and 0154, Figure 7)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, Luo discloses the electronic device according to claim 12. Luo further discloses wherein the target radio frame further comprises a second identification bit, and the second identification bit indicates a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder [Luo discloses that a measurement Result Type field indicates a measurement result type in the measurement setup to be established (Luo paragraph 0154); indicating a second field related to a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder].
Luo does not expressly disclose the feature of a second identification bit indicating a feedback type.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses an example of an SBP request frame (Zhou Figure 7), where the CSI-based measurement result subfield (i.e. a second identification bit) may be 1 bit field representing that a requested measurement result is CSI-based (Zhou paragraphs 0151 and 0154, Figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Luo to have the features of wherein the target radio frame further comprises a second identification bit, and the second identification bit indicates a feedback type of the sensing measurement results fed back by the SBP responder; as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for initiating a sensing measurement setup termination by different roles and design related restriction rules, such that the sensing measurement setup can be terminated more flexibly (Zhou paragraph 0162).
Regarding claim 16, Lou and Zhou disclose the electronic device according to claim 15. Lou and Zhou further disclose wherein the second identification bit has a second parameter value in a case that the first identification bit has a first parameter value, and the second parameter value indicates that the feedback type is feedback channel state indication (CSI) information [Luo discloses that one of the four reserved bits is determined as the Immediate Report Field, which indicates whether the sensing receiver reports the measurement results in the sensing measurement corresponding to the measurement setup to be established as requested by the SBP requester. In some cases, 1 is set to represent Yes (Luo paragraphs 0182 and 0183). Zhou discloses an example of an SBP request frame (Zhou Figure 7), where the CSI-based measurement result subfield (i.e. a second identification bit) may be 1 bit field representing that a requested measurement result is CSI-based (Zhou paragraphs 0151 and 0154, Figure 7)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein transmitting the sensing measurement setup request frame to the STAs according to the first identification bit comprises: determining, according to the first identification bit, a value of sensing measurement result indication bit of a sensing measurement parameters element; and transmitting the sensing measurement setup request frame to the STAs, with carrying the sensing measurement parameters element in the sensing measurement setup request frame; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein for transmitting the sensing measurement setup request frame to the STAs according to the first identification bit, wherein the computer program when collectively executed by the one or more processors further cause the electronic device to: determine, according to the first identification bit, a value of sensing measurement result indication bit of a sensing measurement parameters element; and transmit the sensing measurement setup request frame to the STAs, with carrying the sensing measurement parameters element in the sensing measurement setup request frame; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414