DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 3/16/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-16, 21, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kilbourne, Jr. (RE 24,478).
Regarding claim 15, the Kilbourne, Jr. (hereinafter Kilbourne) reference discloses a sealing system comprising two components (not shown), which are capable of being part of a high or medium voltage apparatus containing a gas in which each of the components comprises an end or assembly face that faces the end or assembly face of the other component and
wherein a compression sealing gasket (10,20) is compressed between the end or assembly faces of the components, the compression sealing gasket comprising a main body made of an elastomer material (14,24) and comprising a radially outer face and a radially inner face coaxial to each other (Figs. 2,4),
wherein at least one of the radially outer face and the radially inner face has a wavy shape (Figs. 2,4), and/or the main body further comprises end faces which connect the inner face and the outer face, at least one of the end faces having a wavy shape (Figs. 2,4),
wherein at least one of the radially outer face and the radially inner face comprises at least one first thin layer (13), made of metal or soft metal or PTFE (Col. 3, Lines 51-69), and having a thickness of between 1 nm and 1 mm (Example III).
Regarding claim 16, the Kilbourne reference discloses the first thin layer at least partially covers at least one of the radially outer face and the radially inner face (Figs. 2,4).
Regarding claim 21, the Kilbourne reference discloses the radially outer face and the radially inner face are parallel and/or coaxial to each other (Figs. 4).
Regarding claim 24, the Kilbourne reference discloses the components are at least partly cylindrical, arranged coaxially to each other and to a main axis, the end or assembly face of each component extending in a plane perpendicular to the main axis (e.g. Example IV).
Regarding claim 25, the Kilbourne reference discloses at least one of the end or assembly faces comprises an annular recess in which the compression sealing gasket is fitted (Example V).
Regarding claim 26, the Kilbourne reference discloses the gasket is axially compressed by the end or assembly faces (Example IV).
Regarding claim 27, the Kilbourne reference discloses a method for insulating a gas insulated portion of a high or medium voltage apparatus, the gas insulated portion:
containing a gas, for example heptafluoroisobutyronitrile or heptafluoroisopropyl trifluoromethyl ketone (also named 2-butanone, 1,1,1,3,4,4,4-heptafluoro-3-(trifluoromethyl)- (CAS No 756-12-7)), possibly mixed with a dilution gas comprising CO2 and/or 02 and/or N2 and/or an oxygenated compound, or the portion containing a gas comprising at least CO2 and/or 02 and/or N2 and/or an oxygenated compound and/or water vapor,
and/or the gas insulated portion being surrounded, or being intended to be surrounded by an atmosphere containing some water and/or water vapor (e.g. Examples), the apparatus and/or the gas portion comprising a sealing system according to claim 15 (Figs. 2,4), or comprising two components, in which each of the components comprises an end or assembly face that faces the end or assembly face of the other component and wherein a compression sealing gasket according to claim 15 is arranged and is compressed between the end or assembly faces of the components (e.g. Examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilbourne in view of Guizzetti et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0157035).
Regarding claim 17, the Kilbourne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 15.
However, the Kilbourne reference fails to explicitly disclose the main body further comprises end faces which connect the inner face and the outer face, at least one of the end faces comprising a second thin layer of metal or soft metal or PTFE.
The Guizzetti et al. (hereinafter Guizzetti) reference, a seal, discloses separating the thin layer (Figs. 3,4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to split the thin layer in the Kilbourne reference in view of the teachings of the Guizzetti in order to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 18, the Kilbourne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 15.
However, the Kilbourne reference fails to explicitly disclose a first layer and a second thin layer as claimed.
The Guizzetti et al. (hereinafter Guizzetti) reference, a seal, discloses separating the thin layer (Figs. 3,4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to split the thin layer in the Kilbourne reference in view of the teachings of the Guizzetti in order to reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 19, the Kilbourne reference, as modified in claim 17, discloses the second thin layer has a thickness of between 1 nm and 1 µm (Example III).
Claim(s) 20 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilbourne.
Regarding claim 20, the Kilbourne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 15.
However, the Kilbourne reference fails to explicitly disclose the first thin layer and/or the second thin layer is made of a metal or a soft metal, selected from among Ag, A1203, tin, Copper, Gold, Iron, or a mixture of these elements and/or any oxide of these elements.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the claimed material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical expedience and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 28, the Kilbourne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 27.
However, the Kilbourne reference fails to explicitly disclose the gas is contained in the apparatus at a pressure between 1 bar and 20 bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233..
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilbourne in view of Zong et al. (US Patent No. 11,808,357).
Regarding claim 23, the Kilbourne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 15, including the first thin layer having a thickness of between 1 nm and 1 mm (Example III), for example a thin layer made of, or comprising, metal or soft metal or PTFE.
However, the Kilbourne reference fails to explicitly disclose a protecting layer the first thin layer is made of, or comprises, metal or soft metal.
The Zong et al. (hereinafter Zong), a gasket, disclose a protecting layer (306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a protecting layer to the Kilbourne reference in view of the teachings of the Zong reference in order to allow for better protection.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the claimed material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical expedience and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-21 and 23-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675