DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "a remote assembly and maintenance apparatus" in lines 1-2. Claim 16 then recites “The system as set forth in claim 15, further including a remote assembly and maintenance apparatus….” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear as to whether claim 16 requires one remote assembly and maintenance apparatus or introduces a second one. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen (US 8222762 B2) in view of Gelmini (US 20130214540 A1).
Claim 1
Borgen teaches: An electrical machine comprising:
a rotor (11);
a plurality of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) each extending only partway about a circumference of the rotor (11);
wherein each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) is movably mounted to the rotor (11) by a plurality of primary bearings (39) such that the stator unit can move relative to the rotor (11) in a radial and/or axial direction and wherein each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) is fixed in position in a circumferential direction (due to fixation to beams 13, see Fig. 2; para. 14 and 15);
wherein the electrical machine comprises a magnetic system (permanent magnet system, see para. 61) arranged such that rotation of the rotor (11) generates an electric current (current produced in conductors of stators from magnets of rotors being set in motion, see para. 61) in each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) and/or an electric current in each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) causes rotation of the rotor (11);
Borgen does not expressly disclose however: further comprising a plurality of secondary bearings, wherein, upon failure or unavailability of the primary bearings, the respective stator unit is movably mounted to the rotor by the plurality of secondary bearings.
While Borgen does not expressly disclose the claimed plurality of Secondary bearings configured to movably mount the respective stator unit to the rotor upon failure or unavailability of the primary bearings. Borgen nevertheless recognizes the desirability of providing an additional mechanical bearing in conjunction with the magnetic bearing. Borgen for instance discloses “a mechanical bearing” that may additionally be provided between the rotor and stator to support the rotor both axially and radially until the passive magnetic bearing becomes active (see Borgen’s para. 16 and 17). Thus, Borgen establishes the use of an additional bearing to maintain the rotor/stator relationship when the primary magnetic bearing is not providing its bearing function.
Gelmini further teaches an electrical machine having a tubular stator (12) and tubular rotor (13), wherein the stator and rotor have a bearing contact relationship. In particular, Gelmini expressly discloses an “emergency sliding bearing 32” supported by the stator and “designed or configured to cooperate with tubular rotor 13” (see para. 59). Gelmini further explains that the sleeve supporting the stator includes an “emergency bearing” located along the stator supporting arms and “designed or configured to contact tubular rotor 13” (para. 67). Accordingly, Gelmini expressly teaches providing an emergency bearing between a stator structure and rotor as a backup bearing arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Borgen’s electrical machine to provide the additional mechanical bearing arrangement as an emergency/secondary bearing in the manner taught by Gelmini. Such a modification would be advantageous in providing a reliable backup bearing capable of maintaining radial and/or axial support between the rotor and stator if the primary magnetic bearings become unavailable or otherwise cease providing adequate bearing support. This would improve the operational reliability and fault tolerance of Borgen’s electrical machine by preventing excessive relative movement between the rotor and stator upon loss of the primary bearing function.
Claim 2/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, wherein the rotor (11) is configured to rotate about a fixed axial position (of 14).
Claim 3/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, wherein the rotor (11) comprises a pair of circular guide rails (see annotated figure 8 below) which project axially from each side of the rotor (11); wherein the primary and/or secondary bearings of each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) comprise a pair of radially outer bearings (39) and a pair of radially inner bearings which interact with radially outer and radially inner circumferential surfaces of the circular guide rails in order to control a radial position of the stator unit.
Claim 4/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1 but does not expressly disclose: wherein the primary and/or secondary bearings of each stator unit comprise a pair of axial bearings which interact with sidewall portions of the rotor in order to control an axial position of the stator unit.
Borgen notably teaches alternative bearing arrangements in Figs. 7a-7d. Borgen expressly identifies Figs. 7a-7d as alternate cross-sections of the combined magnetically stable bearing and generator. In particular, Gig. 7b illustrates a bearing arrangement having radial magnetic bearing pairs formed by permanent magnets on opposite axial ends of the rotor 11 and corresponding coils on opposite axial ends of the stator 12. Fig. 7b further illustrates an axial magnetic bearing formed by an axially arranged permanent magnet and corresponding coil. The illustrated arrangement therefore demonstrates Borgen’s recognition that magnetic bearing elements may be positioned at opposite axial locations and may be configured to provide axial bearing support between the rotor and stator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to provide a corresponding pair of axial magnetic bearings at opposite sides of the rotor rotation axis, such that the axial bearing elements interact with respective sidewall portions of the rotor to control the axial position of the stator unit. Doing so would have been a predictable and advantageous arrangement of Borgen’s disclosed axial magnetic bearing configuration and would provide balanced axial support and improved control of the axial position of the stator relative to the rotor. The use of opposing axial bearing pairs would further distribute axial bearing forces and maintain the stator in a desired axial position during operation. Lastly, Borgen already teaches an axial magnetic bearing and separately teaches bearing elements positioned at opposite axial ends. A person having ordinary in the art would have been motivated to employ the axial bearing arrangement in a paired/opposing configuration to balance axial forces and provide more stable axial positioning.
Claim 5/4/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 4, wherein the sidewall portions (axial portion of rotor 11 in Fig. 7b) are provided by axial end surfaces of the circular guide rails.
Claim 6/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the rotor comprises a pair of circular guide rails which project from each side of the rotor and each define radially outer and radially inner circumferential surfaces which are angled with respect to one another; wherein the primary and/or secondary bearings of each stator unit comprise a pair of radially outer bearings and a pair of radially inner bearings which interact with the radially outer and radially inner circumferential surfaces of the circular guide rails in order to control a radial and an axial position of the stator unit.
Borgen further teaches alternative configurations of the magnetic bearing arrangement in Figs. 7a-7d. In particular, Fig. 7d illustrates a cross-sectional configuration of the rotor 11 and stator 12 in which the rotor includes portions extending along different radial positions and having surfaces angled with respect to one another. Permanent magnets 23 are provided along the respective rotor surfaces, including the angled and horizontal portions, and corresponding coils 24 are provided on the opposing surfaces of the stator 12. The respective permanent magnets 23 and coils cooperate to form magnetic bearing arrangements for controlling the relative position of the rotor and stator.
Although Borgen does not expressly describe the rotor portions of Fig. 7d as “circular guide rails” having radially inner and radially outer circumferential surfaces, the illustrated cross section represents a portion of the circumferential rotor structure extending about the axis of rotation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to from the illustrated rotor portions as continuous circular/annular guide rails extending about the rotor, with radially inner and radially outer circumferential bearing surfaces, such that corresponding pairs of magnetic bearing elements interact with the respective surfaces. Such a modification would be advantageous because providing corresponding inner and outer bearing surfaces around the circumference would provide balanced radial and axial bearing forces and thereby improve control and stability of the stator relative to the rotor.
Claim 7/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of primary and/or secondary bearings (39) comprise non-contact bearings (magnetic bearings).
Claim 8/7/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 7, wherein the non-contact bearings (39) are magnetic bearings and/or air bearings.
Claim 14/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, wherein the rotor (11) comprises a plurality of rotor sections (illustrated in Fig. 10) which are separable from one another (as indicated by lines 71-78); wherein the number of rotor (11) sections corresponds to the number of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25).
Claim 20/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: A wind turbine (1) comprising an electrical machine as set forth in claim 1.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen as modified by Gelmini in view of Lantto (US2014232226A1).
Claim 9/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of primary and/or secondary bearings comprise contact bearings.
Lantto notably teaches a machine comprising a rotor (101), a stator (102), and main bearings (103) supporting the rotor relative to the stator, wherein the main bearings are contactless magnetic bearings. Lantto further teaches a safety bearing (104) for supporting the rotor relative to the stator when the magnetic main bearings are non-operating, wherein the safety bearing comprises a rolling contact bearing (108) having an outer ring, rotatable inner ring, and rolling elements. Lantto further discloses two ball bearings arranged to carry axial loads in both directions (para. 116-133).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to employ contact bearings, such as the rolling contact/ball bearings taught by Lantto, as the primary and/or secondary bearings of Borgen’s electrical machine. Such a modification would have provided a known alternative bearing arrangement for supporting the relative radial and/or axial movement between the rotor and stator, while providing a mechanically robust bearing arrangement capable of supporting the rotor/stator structure when magnetic bearing support is unavailable or otherwise unsuitable. The substitution would have been a predictable use of a known type of bearing for its known function.
Claim 10/9/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Lantto teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 9, wherein the non-contact bearings are magnetic bearings (39) and/or air bearings and the primary bearings comprise non-contact bearings and the secondary bearings comprise contact bearings (as taught by Lantto).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen as modified by Gelmini in view of Rodger (WO2010026427A2).
Claim 11/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the rotor (11) is a first rotor (11) and the stator unit further comprises a second rotor (11); wherein the first rotor (11) comprises a first arrangement of magnets and the second rotor (11) comprises a second arrangement of magnets;
wherein the first and second arrangements of magnets are configured such that rotation of the first rotor (11) causes rotation of the second rotor (11).
The claimed arrangement however is well known within the art of the claimed invention. Rodger notably teaches an electrical machine comprising a first rotor 10 having a first arrangement of magnets and a second rotor 18 having a second arrangement of magnets, wherein the first and second rotors are magnetically coupled such that rotation of the first rotor about its first rotational axis causes rotation of the second rotor about its second rotational axis. Rodger further teaches a stator 24 associated with the second rotor, wherein rotation of the second rotor causes electrical current to be generated in the stator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to incorporate the magnetically coupled first and second rotor arrangement of Rodger into Borgen’s electrical machine, including providing the second rotor as part of the stator unit assembly. This modification would provide a known magnetic gearing arrangement for transferring rotational motion from the first rotor to the second rotor without mechanical gearing, thereby permitting the rotational speed of the electrical generating portion to be increased relative to the input rotor.
Claim 12/11/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Rodger teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 11, wherein the second rotor (18) is configured to rotate about a rotational axis which is perpendicular to a rotational axis of the first rotor (see Rodger’s claim 2).
Claim 13/11/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Rodger teaches: The electrical machine as set forth in claim 11, wherein the first arrangement of magnets comprises a helical arrangement and the second arrangement of magnets comprises a corresponding helical arrangement (expressly disclosed in Rodger’s claim 9).
Claim(s) 15 , 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen as modified by Gelmini in view of CHRISTENSEN (EP3499029A1).
Claim 15/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini teaches: A system (turbine, see Abstract) comprising the electrical machine (direct drive generator, see Abstract) as set forth in claim 1 but does not expressly disclose: a remote assembly and maintenance apparatus; wherein the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus comprises a lifting arm which is configured to remove each of the stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) from the electrical machine and/or insert each of the stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) into the electrical machine.
Christensen notably teaches a wind turbine generator having a plurality of stator segments and a replacement/maintenance apparatus 100 specifically configured for removing and installing individual stator segments. The apparatus includes a lifting mechanism configured to transport a stator segment between the generator and the replacement apparatus. Christensen further teaches that the stator segments are individually removable and replaceable to facilitate maintenance of the generator (see para. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to provide Borgen’s modular stator units with a lifting/replacement apparatus similar to that taught by Christensen including a lifting or equivalent lifting member configured to remove and insert the individual stator units. This would be advantageous for Borgen because it provides a convenient mechanism for servicing Borgen’s individually removable stator units without requiring disassembly of the entire electrical machine. This modification would also reduce maintenance time and generator downtime.
Claim 17/15/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Christensen teaches: The system as set forth in claim 15, wherein the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus is configured to mechanically (mechanically disconnecting a stator segment from the stator frame by removing bolts securing the stator segment to a frame e, Christensen para. 90-101), electrically (exchange device comprises motor to contribute to stator segment lifting), hydraulically and/or pneumatically disconnect and/or connect each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) and/or corresponding rotor (11) section.
Claim 18/15/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Christensen teaches: The system as set forth in claim 15, wherein the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus is rotatable (with aid of spinner 475 and hub 471) about the electrical machine in order to be angularly aligned with each stator unit (stator segment of Christensen, see para. 90).
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen as modified by Gelmini and CHRISTENSEN in view of Joeckel (WO2010069300A2).
Claim 16/15/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Christensen teaches: The system as set forth in claim 15, further including a remote assembly and maintenance apparatus, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus comprises a lifting arm which is configured to remove each of the stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) from the electrical machine and/or insert each of the stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) into the electrical machine and wherein the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus is configured to remove or insert each stator unit (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) with a corresponding rotor (11) section attached thereto.
Joeckel notably teaches a generator having segmented stator and rotor structures and a lifting device 92 for servicing the generator. Joeckel teaches aligning a rotor segment with a corresponding stator segment and lifting the stator segment and defective rotor segment from the generator using the lifting device. Thus, Joeckel demonstrates the known practice of handling corresponding stator and rotor segments together during generator maintenance.
It would have been obvious to configure the lifting/replacement apparatus of Christensen, when applied to Borgen’s modular stator units, to remove or insert a stator unit together with its corresponding rotor section, as taught by Joeckel. Such a modification would allow corresponding portions of the electrical machine to be removed and serviced as a unit, thereby simplifying maintenance, reducing the number of individual removal operations, and reducing generator downtime.
Claim 19/15/1
Borgen as modified by Gelmini and Christensen teaches: The system as set forth in claim 15, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the plurality of stator units are rotatable about the electrical machine to allow each stator unit to be brought into angular alignment with the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus.
Christensen notably teaches a remote assembly and maintenance apparatus for removing and installing individual stator segments of a generator. Christensen for instance, discloses an exchange device 100 having a lifting mechanism configured to receive and transport individual stator segments, thereby providing the remote assembly and maintenance apparatus recited in claim 15. Christensen further teaches angular positioning of the exchange device relative to the stator segments. For example, para. 113 describes the exchange device 100 mounted to a hub 471 and the hub being rotated to an angular position at which the stator segment to be exchanged is positioned.
Although Christensen rotates the exchange device relative to the stator segments, rather than rotating the stator segments relative to the maintenance apparatus as recited in claim 19, Koeckell notably teaches this alternative arrangement. Joeckel describes a segmented stator 16a connected to rotor 15a and bade rotor 8a such that the stator can be rotated together with the rotor and blade rotor. Specifically, para. 72 teaches that, when a stator segment is defective, the stator and rotor are rotated together “until the relevant segment is aligned with a lifting device 92,” which is arranged on the upper face of the pod housing. Once aligned, the defective stator segment is lifted out of the stator ring. Thus, Joeckel expressly teaches rotating the stator about the electrical machine to bring a selected stator segment into angular alignment with a fixed position lifting/maintenance device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to employ Jaeckel’s rotational alignment technique in the segmented electrical machine of Borgen, in combination with the stator segment exchange apparatus of Christensen, because doing so would permit the individual stator units to be selectively positioned at a predetermined maintenance location while allowing a single lifting apparatus to service multiple circumferentially distributed stator units.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borgen in view of Joeckel.
Claim 21
Borgen teaches: A electrical machine comprising:
a rotor (11) having a plurality of rotor (11) sections which are separable from one another; and
a plurality of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) each extending only partway about a circumference of the rotor (11);
wherein the number of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) corresponds to the number of rotor (11) sections;
Borgen, however, does not expressly disclose:
A method of disassembling an electrical machine; the method comprising:
rotating the rotor so that each rotor section is aligned with a corresponding stator unit;
disconnecting one of the rotor sections from the adjacent rotor sections; and
removing said rotor section with the corresponding stator unit attached to it.
Joeckel teaches a segmented electrical machine and a method for individually removing corresponding rotor and stator segments. In particular, para. 72 teaches rotating the stator together with the rotor until the relevant stator segment is aligned with lifting device 92. Para. 73 further teaches that the defective rotor segment is then rotated into a position aligned with the already aligned stator segment, after which the stator segment and defective rotor segment are successfully lifted out of the stator ring and rotor ring by lifting device 92. Thus, Joeckel teaches rotating a rotor section into alignment with its corresponding stator section and subsequently removing the corresponding rotor and stator sections.
To permit a selected rotor segment to be individually removed from the remaining rotor, the selected rotor segment would necessarily be provided with a releasable connection to the adjacent rotor segments, such that the selected segment can be disconnected from the adjacent segments prior to removal. Alternatively, providing such releasable connections would have been an obvious implementation of Jaeckel’s individually removable rotor segment construction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to employ Jaeckel’s known segmented machine assembly procedure in Borgen’s corresponding segmented rotor/stator arrangement, thereby allowing individual rotor sections and corresponding segmented rotor sections and corresponding stator units to be selectively aligned and removed for maintenance without disassembling the entire electrical machine.
Claim 22
Borgen teaches: A method of assembling an electrical machine, the electrical machine comprising:
a rotor (11) having a plurality of rotor (11) sections which are separable from one another; and
a plurality of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) each extending only partway about a circumference of the rotor (11);
wherein the number of stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25) corresponds to the number of rotor (11) sections;
Borgen does not expressly disclose however: the method comprising: providing a plurality of assemblies, each assembly comprising a rotor (11) section and a corresponding stator unit which is attached to the rotor (11) section;
bringing together the plurality of assemblies and connecting the rotor (11) section of each assembly to rotor (11) sections of adjacent assemblies to form the rotor (11); and
disconnecting the rotor (11) section from the stator unit of each assembly so as to allow the rotor (11) to rotate relative to the stator units (91-98, see Fig. 10; para. 25).
Joeckel teaches assembling and disassembling a segmented electrical machine using corresponding rotor and stator segments. In particular, Joeckel teaches in para. 72, connecting the stator to the rotor and rotating the stator together with the rotor to align corresponding stator and rotor segments with lifting device 92. Para. 73 further teaches securing the stator segment and rotor segment from the machine. Joeckel therefore demonstrates that corresponding rotor and stator segments may be handled as individual assemblies during installation and removal.
In view of Jaeckel’s teaching of individually corresponding rotor and stator segments, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to assemble Borgan’s segmented electrical machine by first providing individual assemblies comprising corresponding rotor and stator sections, bringing the assemblies together, and connecting adjacent rotor sections to form the completed rotor. Such an arrangement would facilitate manufacture, transportation, installation, and maintenance of the segmented machine by allowing individual sections to be handled as modular assemblies.
Once adjacent rotor sections have been connected to form the rotor, it should further have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill In the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to disconnect each rotor section from its corresponding stator unit so that the completed rotor can rotate relative to the stator units, as required for operation of the electrical machine.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834