DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed 01/06/2025 which claims 1-12 have been presented for examination.
The preliminary amendment filed 01/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, substitute “An RFID tag antenna” with – A radio frequency identification (RFID) tag antenna – (see line 1).
in claim 5, substitute “meander structure” with – T-match structure – (see line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-4 and 6-12 are objected to since it depends from an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US 2018/0069291), cited by the applicants.
Re claim 1, Davis discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag antenna, comprising:
a dielectric substrate (30) having a first surface (32) and a second surface (34) opposing the first surface;
a conductive layer provided on the first surface of the dielectric substrate, the conductive layer being configured to be attached to a surface of a metallic object (paras. 0050, 0056);
an integrated circuit (42) mounted on the second surface of the dielectric substrate (figs. 5 and 6; para. 0051);
an antenna structure (4) formed on the second surface of the dielectric substrate (fig 1; para. 0039);
a T-match structure (20) formed on the second surface of the dielectric substrate, the T-match structure electrically coupling the antenna structure to the integrated circuit (fig 1; para. 0045);
a first via pin (38) passing through the dielectric substrate and electrically connecting a first point on the antenna structure with a corresponding first point on the conductive layer (fig 1; para. 0050); and
a second via pin (40) passing through the dielectric substrate and electrically connecting a second point on the antenna structure with a corresponding second point on the conductive layer (fig 1; para. 0050).
Re claim 2, Davis further discloses wherein the dielectric substrate is formed from a flexible material (para. 0049 describes that a variety of dielectric substrates made of various materials may be used).
Re claim 3, Davis further discloses wherein the T-match structure is configured to conjugate match an impedance of the antenna structure with an impedance of the integrated circuit (para. 0045).
Re claim 4, Davis further discloses wherein the T-match structure is formed in a meander pattern (fig 1; para. 0045).
Re claim 5, Davis further discloses wherein a length of the T-match structure is selected to conjugate match the impedance of the antenna structure with the impedance of the integrated circuit (para. 0045).
Re claim 6, Davis further discloses wherein the antenna structure comprises two antenna parts arranged in a dipole structure (fig 1; paras. 0039-0040, 0046-0048).
Re claim 7, Davis further discloses wherein each antenna part comprises a first leg portion and a second leg portion (fig. 1).
Re claim 8, Davis further discloses wherein a resonant length of each antenna part corresponds to a length from an end of the first leg portion to an end of the second leg portion (fig. 1).
Re claim 10, Davis further discloses wherein the second leg portion of each antenna part has a meander structure (fig. 1).
Re claim 11, Davis further discloses wherein the dielectric substrate is rectangular (fig. 1; para. 0049).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach wherein the end of the first leg portion of a first antenna part corresponds to the first point on the antenna structure and the end of the first leg portion of a second antenna part corresponds to the second point on the antenna structure (as recited in claim 9); and wherein the first point on the antenna structure and the second point on the antenna structure correspond to diagonally opposite corners of the dielectric substrate (as recited in claim 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form.
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876