DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-7, 10-13, and 16-18, the proper form a dependent claim starts with the article “the”. See MPEP 608.01(n).IV.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “a hydrogen source” in line 6 is unclear if the hydrogen source is different from the previously recited hydrogen source.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “an electrical energy output” in line 7 is unclear if the electrical energy output is different from the previously recited electrical energy output.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “a propeller” in line 8 is unclear if the propeller is different from the previously recited propeller.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “propulsion” in line 8 is unclear if the propulsion is different from the previously recited propulsion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mackin et al. (US 2022/0297844).
In re. claim 1, Mackin teaches a propulsion system for providing controllable propulsion comprising: a fuel cell arrangement (fig. 1A) for generating electrical energy (para [0152]) (fig. 3); a gas generator comprising a compressor (102), a combustor (110) and a turbine (116) (fig. 1B), wherein the output (119) from the turbine is arranged to provide propulsion from rotational movement (para [0221); a hydrogen source (150) for providing hydrogen to the fuel cell arrangement (via line (114)) (fig. 1A) and the gas generator (via line (114)) (fig. 1A); an oxygen source (air 136) for providing oxygen to the gas generator (para [0279]), wherein, in use, the gas generator is used selectively to provide electrical energy for additional propulsion (combustor and non-combustor modes) (para [0138) (figs. 1B-1C).
In re. claim 2, Mackin teaches the propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen source is further arranged to provide oxygen to the fuel cell arrangement (HP compressor (104) air provided to fuel cell) (para [0139]).
In re. claim 8, Mackin teaches an aircraft comprising the propulsion system according to any of claim 1 (fig. 9A).
In re. claim 9, Mackin teaches an electric power range extender for providing electrical energy comprising: a gas generator (128); a hydrogen source (150) for providing hydrogen to the gas generator (fig. 1A); and an oxygen source (air (136)) for providing oxygen to the gas generator (para [0132]), the gas generator being arranged in use to selectively use hydrogen and oxygen from the hydrogen source and the oxygen source to generate electrical energy (electric machine utilizes power output from turbine (116)) (para [0137]) (selectively driven in combustor and non-combustor modes) (para [0138) (figs. 1B-1C).
In re. claim 13, Mackin teaches the electric power range extender according to claim 9, further configured to connect to an aircraft propulsion system (122) (fig. 1A).
In re. claim 14, Mackin teaches an aircraft comprising the electric power range extender according to claim 9 (fig. 9A).
In re. claim 15, Mackin teaches a method of generating propulsion comprising: providing hydrogen from a hydrogen source (150) (fig. 1A) to a fuel cell arrangement (122) to produce an electrical energy output (126) (para [0225]); providing the electrical energy output of the fuel cell arrangement to a propeller (132) to generate propulsion (140) (fig. 1A); selectively providing hydrogen from a hydrogen source and oxygen from an oxygen source (air (136)) to a gas generator (128) to selectively produce an electrical energy output (of motors (120, 124)); and selectively providing the electrical energy output of the gas generator to a propeller (147) to generate propulsion (148) (selectively driven in combustor and non-combustor modes) (para [0138) (figs. 1B-1C).
In re. claim 16, Mackin teaches the method of generating propulsion according to claim 15, further comprising: wherein the selectively providing the hydrogen from the hydrogen source and the oxygen from the oxygen source to the gas generator is based on a predetermined propulsion-requiring travel condition (take-off and climbing) (para [0138]).
In re. claim 17, Mackin teaches the method of generating propulsion according to claim 16, wherein the predetermined propulsion-requiring travel condition is a take off and climb portion of a flight of an aircraft (para [0138]).
In re. claim 19, Mackin teaches the method of claim 15 used in an aircraft (fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively above, and further in view of Lugg et al. (US 2013/0062455), hereinafter Lugg.
In re. claims 3 and 10, Mackin teaches a motor/generator (120) connected to the gas generator (para [0137]); a propeller (132) for providing propulsion (140) from rotational movement (fig. 1A); and an electrical bus (electrical wiring of figure 1A) arranged so that the electrical output of the motor/generator connected to the gas generator is provided to the propeller (motors (120, 124) drive fan (132)) (para [0137]).
Mackin fails to disclose a rectifier electrically connected to the motor/generator; an inverter electrically connected to the rectifier and the propeller; the electrical bus electrically connecting the rectifier and the inverter, the electrical output of the motor/generator is converted by the rectifier then converted by the inverter prior to being provided to the propeller.
Lugg teaches a rectifier (120) electrically connected to a motor/generator (90) (fig. 9); an inverter (47) electrically connected to the rectifier and a propeller (45); the electrical bus (122) electrically connecting the rectifier and the inverter (fig. 9), the electrical output of the motor/generator is converted by the rectifier then converted by the inverter prior to being provided to the propeller (para [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Mackin to incorporate the teachings of Lugg to have the electrical output of the motor/generator converted by a rectifier then converted by an inverter prior to being provided to the propeller, for the purpose of converting alternating current from the generator for use with direct current fan motors and to smooth, condition, and regulate the amount of direct current fed to the fan motor (Lugg, para [0054]).
In re. claim 4, Mackin as modified by Lugg (see Mackin) teach the propulsion system according to claim 3, further comprising a converter (156) electrically connected to the electrical bus and to the fuel cell arrangement (para [0148]), the converter arranged to convert the electrical output of the fuel cell arrangement prior to the electrical output of the fuel cell arrangement (prior to entering electric motors (120, 124)) (fig. 1A).
Mackin as modified by Lugg (see Lugg) teach the electrical output being received by the inverter (fig. 9).
Claims 5-7, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 respectively above, and further in view of Hablitzel (EP 3,643,886).
In re. claims 5 and 11, Mackin fails to disclose electrical energy storage electrically connected to the fuel cell arrangement and the gas generator, the electrical energy storage arranged to store electrical energy output by the gas generator and the fuel cell arrangement.
Hablitzel teaches electrical energy storage (20) electrically connected to the auxiliary power arrangement (solar cell (22)) and the gas generator (21), the electrical energy storage arranged to store electrical energy output by the gas generator and the auxiliary power arrangement (pg. 6, 3rd para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Mackin to incorporate the teachings of Hablitzel to have electrical energy storage electrically connected to the fuel cell arrangement and the gas generator, for the purpose of providing a location for excess energy produced, reducing waste of excess power generated.
In re. claim 6, Mackin teaches an air arrangement for providing fluid communication of air (136) between an air inlet (fig. 1A) and the fuel cell arrangement (air to fuel cell (122) via compressor (104)) (para [0169]) and the gas generator (air (108) to generator via compressor (104)) (para [0166]).
Mackin fails to disclose a water arrangement for providing fluid communication of water between a water store and the fuel cell arrangement and the gas generator.
Hablitzel teaches a water arrangement for providing fluid communication of water between a water store (water tank (16)) and the gas generator (water vapor supplied to turbine (46) condenses and is returned to the water tank (16)) (pg. 8, 1st para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Mackin to incorporate the teachings of Hablitzel to have the recited water arrangement, for the purpose of providing a renewable source of hydrogen and oxygen within the system.
In re. claims 7 and 12, Mackin fails to disclose the hydrogen source and the oxygen source are in a closed loop system within the propulsion system.
Hablitzel teaches the hydrogen source (24) and the oxygen source (26) are in a closed loop system within the propulsion system (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Mackin to incorporate the teachings of Hablitzel to have the recited closed loop system, for the purpose of providing a renewable source of hydrogen and oxygen within the system.
In re. claim 18, Mackin teaches the method of generating propulsion according to claim 15, further comprising: wherein the selectively providing the hydrogen from the hydrogen source and the oxygen from the oxygen source to the gas generator to selectively produce the electrical energy output is based on a predetermined non-propulsion-requiring travel condition (non-combustor mode for taxiing, etc.) (para [0138]).
Mackin fails to disclose the electrical energy output of the gas generator is provided to electrical energy storage for storage.
Hablitzel teaches the electrical energy output of the gas generator is provided to electrical energy storage (20) for storage (pg. 6, 3rd para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Mackin to incorporate the teachings of Hablitzel to have the recited electrical energy storage, for the purpose of providing a location for excess energy produced, reducing waste of excess power generated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647