DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Krabs et al. (US 7,767,909).
Regarding claim 1, Krabs et al. disclose a transitional cable adapter (Fig. 12), comprising:
an adapter insert (16’), the adapter insert comprising a conductive aperture, the conductive aperture comprising:
a first aperture length (20) for a first conductor,
a second aperture length (18’) for a second conductor, and
a transition between the first aperture length and the second aperture length; and
a housing (30) around the adapter insert, wherein:
the adapter insert includes a lining of conductive material (33) on a region of an outer surface of the adapter insert.
[AltContent: textbox (transition)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, Krabs et al. disclose the first aperture length of the conductive aperture comprises a first diameter for a first gauge of the first conductor; and the second aperture length of the conductive aperture comprises a second diameter for a second gauge of the second conductor.
Regarding claim 6, Krabs et al. disclose the transition between the first aperture length of the conductive aperture and the second aperture length of the conductive aperture is positioned between a front surface of the adapter insert and a back surface of the adapter insert.
Claims 13-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2009/0305521).
Regarding claim 13, The recitation that “a transitional cable adapter” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Yang et al. disclose a transitional cable adapter, comprising:
an adapter insert, the adapter insert comprising a conductive transition, the conductive transition comprising a first conductive length (131) for a first conductor (141), a second conductive length (132) for a second conductor (121), and a transition between the first conductive length and the second conductive length; and
a housing around the adapter insert, wherein:
the adapter insert further comprises a printed circuit board (13); and
the first conductive length, the second conductive length, and the transition are formed as traces on a first side of the printed circuit board.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (transition)]
Regarding claim 14, Yang et al. disclose the conductive transition comprises a plurality of conductive transitions, each conductive transition among the plurality of conductive transitions comprising a first conductive length, a second conductive length, and a transition between the first conductive length and the second conductive length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krabs et al. (US 7,767,909).
Krabs et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the conductive aperture comprises a plurality of conductive apertures.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the conductive aperture, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20090305521).
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shape of the transition between the first conductive length and the second conductive length comprises a tapering width, tapering from a first width of the first conductive length to a second width of the second conductive length.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to change the transition shape to be a tapered shaped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, an Official Notice is taken (see MPEP 2144.03). providing a ground plane on a second side of the printed circuit board for grounding is a well-known material before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include ceramic material into the carrier for insulating heat, in In re Ahlert, 424 F.2d 1088, 1091, 165 USPQ 418, 420 (CCPA 1970).
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al. disclose the adapter insert further comprises an air gap under the PCB.
[AltContent: textbox (Air gap)][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834