Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the length of the abstract us 201 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, essential term used in preamble to establish claimed method objective is not used again in claim or in other claims. Claim 1 presents a “method for selecting a global roaming virtual subscriber identity module (SIM) card within a terminal” but does not refer to “a global roaming virtual subscriber identity module (SIM) card” in the body of the claim 1 or in any other claim. To have the preamble more obviously relevant to the method claimed, Examiner suggests the following phrasing: “method for selecting a global roaming virtual subscriber identify module (SIM) card, referred to here as a local virtual SIM card, within a terminal…”
Dependent claims override the method steps presented in independent claims rather than elaborating on those method steps. For example. Instead of using “correspondingly, in S2,” Examiner suggests using phrasing such as “wherein S2 further comprises”; instead of using “wherein in S4,” Examiner suggests using phrasing such as “wherein S4 further comprises.”
Unclear reference to elements in dependent claims that were introduced in the independent claim.
Taking claim 2 as exemplary for the objection, “the terminal stores the registration information of the first local virtual SIM.” Claim 2 begins by stating that “the registration record information is not present” for the selected / first local virtual SIM. The claim language makes it unclear whether the registration record information referred to here is that of the “remote virtual SIM card” that is “updating the registration record of the first local virtual SIM” from claim 1 S4, or if it is in reference to the registration record information establish to not be present in claim 2 limitations and thereby creating a contradiction in method steps. In such a case, Examiner suggests phrasing the claim such as, “wherein S4 further comprises, based on the information indicating whether the remote virtual SIM card information is successfully received within the specified time period, updating the registration information of the first local virtual SIM card.”
Taking claim 6 as another example for the objection, “selecting a first local virtual SIM card with the top priority.” The “first local virtual SIM card” is already introduced in claim 1. Examiner suggests phrasing claim 6 as “selecting
Objection applies to claims 1- 20 in where unclear language is present.
Inconsistent language present when describing the state of an element. For example, a terminal may “belong,” “currently belongs,” and “resides” in a region. Another example, a local virtual SIM card may be “top priority” and “second-highest priority.” Examiner suggests using one adjective to describe particular states of elements, and deriving alternate states from the chosen adjective.
Objection applied to claims 1 – 20 where inconsistent language is present.
In claim 9, “and/or” is unclear whether the limitation is optional or required for some embodiments. Examiner suggests removing phrasing and stating “wherein a plurality of local virtual SIM cards is also stored in a management system where…”
For the purposes of examination, the plurality of local virtual SIM cards is considered to be stored in a management system in some embodiments.
In claim 5, imprecise language creates issues in understanding the scope of the claim. Claim 5 states that “in a case that all the local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides… or in a case that part of the local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides…” and the same limitation applies to “all” or “some” of these SIM cards.
The specification elaborates on this limitation: “It should be noted that, in this case, the terminal clears the stored registration record information for the local virtual SIM cards corresponding to the region where the terminal desires. In the case that the terminal is one of the terminals managed by the management system, the terminal does not need to clear the registration record information in the management system…”
Examiner suggests amending the phrasing of the claim to more clearly establish the scope of which local virtual SIM cards are being interacted with by the terminal in what region. Examiner suggests using the phrase “plurality of local virtual SIM cards within the region the terminal selected” rather than using “all” or “some.”
In claim 7, “periodically checking whether registration record information that exceeds a first predetermined time period is present within a region” is repetitive language to “in a case that the registration record information that exceeds the first predetermined time period is present” in the same claim. Examiner suggests amending the claim language to remove repetition: “in a case that the registration record information that exceeds a first predetermined time period within a region is present, deleting the registration record information…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Chinese Patent Publication No. WO 2019184009 using English machine translation) in view of Matolia (U.S. Publication No. US 20210243715 A1) and in further view of Hou (Chinese Publication No. CN 108574951 A using English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1,
Liu teaches A method for selecting a global roaming virtual subscriber identity module (SIM) card within a terminal, applicable to the terminal, the method comprising: S1, prior to interaction between the terminal and a server based on a local virtual SIM card within the terminal after startup, checking whether registration record information of at least one local virtual SIM card within a region where the terminal resides is stored in the terminal, wherein a specified number of local virtual SIM cards of various operators are stored in the terminal
("In the above method, the terminal device stores multiple primary virtual SIM cards from multiple data service providers. In this way, the terminal device can select one primary virtual SIM card from the multiple data service providers to register on the network and thus access the network." [Paragraph 12])
S2, in a case that the registration record information is stored, selecting a first local virtual SIM card corresponding to a successful registration based on the registration record information to interact with the server
("In the above method, the terminal device stores multiple primary virtual SIM cards from multiple data service providers. In this way, the terminal device can select one primary virtual SIM card from the multiple data service providers to register on the network and thus access the network." [Paragraph 12])
S3, receiving remote virtual SIM card information for registration within a region where the terminal currently belongs from the server within a specified time period, wherein the remote virtual SIM card information is delivered by the server based on the first local SIM virtual SIM card
("Since the identifier of the PLMN where the physical SIM card has resided is stored inside the terminal device, and the terminal device needs a certain amount of time to perform the network search process, the time consumed by the terminal device to obtain the identifier of the PLMN where the physical SIM card has resided is shorter than the time consumed by the terminal device to obtain the network search result. Thus, when the first PLMN list contains the identifiers of PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with, the terminal device can match the identifiers of the PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with the second PLMN list supported by the data service provider before completing the network search process. If the match is successful, the network registration speed of the terminal device can be accelerated; if the match is unsuccessful, the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results of the terminal device can continue to be used for matching after the network search process is executed." [Paragraph 136],
i.e. terminal and server operations occur within a specific time period. SIM card information provided by the server is provided to the terminal based on a first / primary virtual SIM card.")
and S4, determining whether the remote virtual SIM card information is successfully received within the specified time period, and updating registration record information of the first local virtual SIM card based on information indicating whether the remote virtual SIM card information is successfully received
("Since the identifier of the PLMN where the physical SIM card has resided is stored inside the terminal device, and the terminal device needs a certain amount of time to perform the network search process, the time consumed by the terminal device to obtain the identifier of the PLMN where the physical SIM card has resided is shorter than the time consumed by the terminal device to obtain the network search result. Thus, when the first PLMN list contains the identifiers of PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with, the terminal device can match the identifiers of the PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with the second PLMN list supported by the data service provider before completing the network search process. If the match is successful, the network registration speed of the terminal device can be accelerated; if the match is unsuccessful, the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results of the terminal device can continue to be used for matching after the network search process is executed." [Paragraph 136],
i.e. terminal and server operations occur within a specific time period. Steps to the method are provided for if the process is successful or unsuccessful within that time period.")
where the terminal belongs,
("A physical SIM card is a card that contains a chip. The chip stores various data that enable the terminal device to access the network, including:
identification information (e.g., International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI)…)" [Paragraph 75], and
"A virtual SIM card, in contrast to a physical SIM card, is a collection of data that would otherwise be stored on the physical SIM card, enabling the communication functions of the physical SIM card." [Paragraph 76])
an identifier of a local virtual SIM card,
("Similar to the description in the above embodiments, the first PLMN list includes: the identifiers of PLMNs where the physical SIM card has resided" [Paragraph 259])
and a successfully registered public land mobile network (PLMN),
("Similar to the description in the above embodiments, the first PLMN list includes:…the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results generated by the terminal device during the network search process in the other service areas." [Paragraph 259])
("In one possible design, the priority of any second PLMN list can be determined based on at least one of the following information from the data service provider supporting the second PLMN list: network access cost, network signal strength, network coverage, quality of service, and business strategy." [Paragraph 22]
i.e. The listed attributes, in particular network signal strength and coverage, influence if the SIM card is registered successfully within a specified time period.)
Liu does not directly teach the registration record information is stored in a specified format and comprises a registration time, an indicator indicating whether registration is successful.
In an analogous art, Matolia teaches the registration record information is stored in a specified format and comprises a registration time
("The UE may consider various factors such as details of the connection rejection message, identity of the network, its relationship to the network (e.g., whether the network is a preferred network, etc.), a number of connection rejections received, time remaining on one or more timers, availability of other networks, etc." [Abstract])
an indicator indicating whether registration is successful
("The UE may consider various factors such as details of the connection rejection message, identity of the network, its relationship to the network (e.g., whether the network is a preferred network, etc.), a number of connection rejections received, time remaining on one or more timers, availability of other networks, etc." [Abstract])
Therefore, as Liu teaches a method for selecting a local virtual SIM and receiving registration information from a server containing particular information, and as Matolia teaches additional information that can be included in the received information, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to Liu’s method and information contents with Matolia’s additional information contents. The motivation to combine is to have an elaborated format for registration information that enhances efficiency of the method’s information access.
Liu does not directly teach the local virtual SIM card is a bootstrap SIM card shared by a plurality of terminals.
In an analogous art, Hou teaches the local virtual SIM card is a bootstrap SIM card shared by a plurality of terminals
("In this embodiment, the SM-DP system sends the eSIM card data to multiple terminals simultaneously via broadcast or multicast…" [Paragraph 99])
Therefore, as Liu teaches a method for selecting a local virtual SIM and receiving registration information from a server containing particular information, and as Hou teaches additional information that can be included in the received information, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to Liu’s method and information contents with Hou’s additional information contents. The motivation to combine is to have an elaborated format for registration information that enhances efficiency of the method’s information access.
Regarding claim 2, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu also teaches S2a, in a case that the registration record information is not present, randomly selecting a local virtual SIM card as the first local virtual SIM card to interact with the server
("In another example, when the terminal device determines the target PLMN list using the second embodiment of the first method at S303, after S305, if the terminal device fails to register with the determined target primary virtual SIM card, the terminal device can also randomly select another candidate PLMN list other than the target PLMN list from the W candidate PLMN lists as a new target PLMN list." [Paragraph 222]")
and performing S3 and S4; wherein in S4, the terminal stores the registration information of the first local virtual SIM card based on the information indicating whether the remote virtual SIM card information is successfully received within the specified time period.
("Thus, when the first PLMN list contains the identifiers of PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with, the terminal device can match the identifiers of the PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with the second PLMN list supported by the data service provider before completing the network search process. If the match is successful, the network registration speed of the terminal device can be accelerated; if the match is unsuccessful, the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results of the terminal device can continue to be used for matching after the network search process is executed." [Paragraph 136])
Regarding claim 3, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu also teaches in a case that in S4 the terminal has not successfully received the remote virtual SIM card information within the specified time period
("Furthermore, if the terminal device determines that the network registration has failed…" [Paragraph 32])
the method further comprises: reselecting the first local virtual SIM card corresponding to the successful registration based on the registration record information to interact with the server
("…when the network signal strength is low, the terminal device can continue to select a new target primary virtual SIM card for network registration, so that the terminal device can access a PLMN with a higher signal strength." [Paragraph 32])
and performing S3 and S4.
("Thus, when the first PLMN list contains the identifiers of PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with, the terminal device can match the identifiers of the PLMNs that the physical SIM card in the terminal device has been registered with the second PLMN list supported by the data service provider before completing the network search process. If the match is successful, the network registration speed of the terminal device can be accelerated; if the match is unsuccessful, the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results of the terminal device can continue to be used for matching after the network search process is executed." [Paragraph 136])
Regarding claim 4, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 3.
Liu also teaches in a case that local virtual SIM cards corresponding to all successful registrations the registration record information interact with the server but the remote virtual SIM card information fails to be downloaded
("For example, if the data service provider has not signed contracts with all network operators in the service area, and the network provided by the network operator that signed a contract with the data service provider fails, the primary virtual SIM card will not be able to successfully register on the network, resulting in the terminal device being unable to download the secondary virtual SIM card." [Paragraph 7])
selecting a local virtual SIM card from other local virtual SIM cards as a first virtual SIM card to interact with the server
("Furthermore, if the terminal device determines that the network registration has failed when the network signal strength is low, the terminal device can continue to select a new target primary virtual SIM card for network registration, so that the terminal device can access a PLMN with a higher signal strength." [Paragraph 32])
Liu does not directly teach clearing registration record information of all local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides.
Matolia teaches clearing registration record information of all local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides
("…3GPP technical specification (TS) 24.301 states (in 5.4.2.5) that “Upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message, the UE shall set the update status to EU3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and KSIASME. The USIM shall be considered invalid until switching off the UE or the UICC containing the USIM is removed.” [Paragraph 129]"
i.e. Here, SIMs are uninstalled / removed / cleared when some error occurs in the intended method.)
Regarding claim 5, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu also teaches in a case that all local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides have registration record information, and the registration record information all indicate unsuccessful registrations
("Furthermore, if the terminal device determines that the network registration has failed…" [Paragraph 32])
randomly selecting a local virtual SIM card within the region where the terminal resides as a first virtual SIM card to interact with the server
("…when the network signal strength is low, the terminal device can continue to select a new target primary virtual SIM card for network registration, so that the terminal device can access a PLMN with a higher signal strength." [Paragraph 32])
Liu does not directly teach clearing registration record information of all local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides.
Matolia teaches clearing registration record information of all local virtual SIM cards within the region where the terminal resides
("…3GPP technical specification (TS) 24.301 states (in 5.4.2.5) that “Upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message, the UE shall set the update status to EU3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and KSIASME. The USIM shall be considered invalid until switching off the UE or the UICC containing the USIM is removed.” [Paragraph 129]"
i.e. Here, SIMs are uninstalled / removed / cleared when some error occurs in the intended method.)
Regarding claim 6, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu teaches the identifier of the local virtual SIM card-identifier comprises an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)
("A physical SIM card is a card that contains a chip. The chip stores various data that enable the terminal device to access the network, including: identification information (e.g., International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI)…)" [Paragraph 75], and
"A virtual SIM card, in contrast to a physical SIM card, is a collection of data that would otherwise be stored on the physical SIM card, enabling the communication functions of the physical SIM card." [Paragraph 76])
("Similar to the description in the above embodiments, the first PLMN list includes: the identifiers of PLMNs where the physical SIM card has resided, and/or the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results generated by the terminal device during the network search process in the other service areas." [Paragraph 259])
and local virtual SIM cards within any region are categorized based on priorities, a local virtual SIM card with a top priority is a local virtual SIM card that is successfully registered within a first time period associated with a current time point, and a local virtual SIM card with a second-highest priority is a local virtual SIM card with a successful registration within a second time period associated with the current time point
("In one possible design, the priority of any second PLMN list can be determined based on at least one of the following information from the data service provider supporting the second PLMN list: network access cost, network signal strength, network coverage, quality of service, and business strategy." [Paragraph 22]
i.e. The listed attributes, in particular network signal strength and coverage, influence if the SIM card is registered successfully within a specified time period.)
and correspondingly, S2 comprises: selecting a first local virtual SIM card with the top priority corresponding to the successful registration based on the registration record information to interact with the server.
("From the list of W candidate PLMNs, the candidate PLMN list with the highest priority is selected as the target PLMN list." [Paragraph 314])
Liu does not directly teach the registration time comprises a time point of a successful PLMN registration.
Matolia teaches the registration time comprises a time point of a successful PLMN registration
("The UE may consider various factors such as details of the connection rejection message, identity of the network, its relationship to the network (e.g., whether the network is a preferred network, etc.), a number of connection rejections received, time remaining on one or more timers, availability of other networks, etc." [Abstract])
Regarding claim 8, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu also teaches receiving configuration information sent by the server for configuring the registration record information, and configuring registration record information within the terminal based on the configuration information, wherein the local virtual SIM card in the terminal carries priority information, wherein the configuration information carries the priority information of the local virtual SIM card
("Within the service area where the terminal device is currently located, the terminal device can obtain priority configuration information set for that service area, thereby determining the priority of each second PLMN list." [Paragraph 26])
wherein the priority information comprises an identifier of a local virtual SIM card with a top priority and an identifier of a local virtual SIM card with a second-highest priority, wherein the identifier of the local virtual SIM card with the top priority is an identifier of a local virtual SIM card recorded by the server that has achieved a successful registration through interaction with the server and has a shortest interaction time
("Similar to the description in the above embodiments, the first PLMN list includes: the identifiers of PLMNs where the physical SIM card has resided, and/or the identifiers of PLMNs in the network search results generated by the terminal device during the network search process in the other service areas." [Paragraph 259])
and correspondingly, in S2, a first local virtual SIM card with a top priority corresponding to the successful registration based on the registration record information to interact with the server.
("From the list of W candidate PLMNs, the candidate PLMN list with the highest priority is selected as the target PLMN list." [Paragraph 314])
Regarding claim 9, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Liu also teaches a plurality of local virtual SIM cards are stored in the terminal
("In the above method, the terminal device stores multiple primary virtual SIM cards from multiple data service providers. In this way, the terminal device can select one primary virtual SIM card from the multiple data service providers to register on the network and thus access the network." [Paragraph 12])
Liu does not directly teach a management system where all local virtual SIM cards belong filters registration record information of all terminals managed by the management system, and delivers filtered valid registration record information to terminals that use some or all of the local virtual SIM cards.
Hou teaches a management system where all local virtual SIM cards belong filters registration record information of all terminals managed by the management system, and delivers filtered valid registration record information to terminals that use some or all of the local virtual SIM cards.
("The subscription request for embedded user identification eSIM card user data is sent to the Subscription Manager-Data Preparation (SM-DP) system via the network connection." [Paragraph 11])
Therefore, as Liu teaches a plurality of SIM cards stored in the terminal, and as Hou teaches the management system also filtering and delivering SIM cards, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Liu’s method of storing multiple SIMs on a terminal with Hou’s management system. The motivation to combine is to have an efficient method of facilitating the filtering and delivering multiple SIMs within the network.
Regarding claim 10, Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 10 in claim 1, in device mode rather than method mode. Additionally, Liu also teaches the memory ("a memory 140" [Paragraph 90]) and the processor ("a processor 130" [Paragraph 90]). Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 2. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 11 in claim 8. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 2 and 8.
Regarding claim 12, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 3. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 12 in claim 8. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 3 and 8.
Regarding claim 13, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 4. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 13 in claim 8. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 4 and 8.
Regarding claim 14, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 5. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 14 in claim 8. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 5 and 8.
Regarding claim 15, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 10. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 15 in claim 2, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 2 and 10.
Regarding claim 16, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 10. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 16 in claim 3, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 17, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 10. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 17 in claim 4, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 4 and 10.
Regarding claim 18, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 10. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 18 in claim 5, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 5 and 10.
Regarding claim 19, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 10. Liu-Matolia-Hou also teaches all the limitations of claim 19 in claim 6, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 6 and 10.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Matolia-Hou in further view of Dong (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 107567013 A using English machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 6.
Liu-Matolia-Hou do not directly teach periodically checking whether registration record information that exceeds a first predetermined time period is present within a region, and deleting the registration record information that exceeds the first predetermined time period within the region in a case that the registration record information that exceeds the first predetermined time period is present.
In an analogous art, Dong teaches periodically checking whether registration record information that exceeds a first predetermined time period is present within a region, and deleting the registration record information that exceeds the first predetermined time period within the region in a case that the registration record information that exceeds the first predetermined time period is present
("When the MCC carried in the network cell system message is not found, the MCC carried in the network cell system message is queried once every preset time period. When the number of queries exceeds the preset value, the query is stopped." [Paragraph 44]
i.e. periodic checks and a value to reference in order to stop the checks within a preset time period.)
Therefore, as Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches a method for selecting a local virtual SIM and receiving registration information from a server including in various fail cases, and as Dong teaches periodic checks for registration information, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Liu-Matolia-Hou’s method with Dong’s additional step. The motivation to combine is to enhance the existing method such that possible errors in registration can be attempted and detected in a timely manner.
Regarding claim 20, Liu-Matolia-Hou teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 19. Liu-Matolia-Hou-Dong teaches all the limitations of claim 20 in claim 7, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 and 19.
Conclusion
/FATIHA KAMAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2647
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644