Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment, filed on 01/07/2025, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, 14-15, 18, 20-22, 24-26, and 28-31 are pending for examination.
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 16-17, 19, 23, and 27 are canceled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of an Information Disclosure Statement, filed 01/07/2025, which has been placed of record in the file. An initialed, signed and dated copy of the PTO-1449 or PTO-SB-08 form is attached to this Office action.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 7, 14, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson et al. (US 20190070819 A1) in view of Banas et al. (US 6215205 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Larsson discloses a method for transporting an air-formed cellulose blank structure (1a) to a forming mould (3) via a buffering module (17), wherein the cellulose blank structure (1a) has a first side and an opposite second side (Fig. 2a), wherein the forming mould (3) is arranged for dry-forming cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure (1a; Fig. 1 and [0027]-[0030]).
However, Larsson is silent with regards to wherein the buffering module comprises a first endless belt unit, a second endless belt unit, and a third endless belt unit, wherein the second endless belt unit is arranged in-between and in a longitudinal overlapping relationship to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, wherein the second endless belt unit is movably arranged relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, wherein the method comprises the steps: continuously feeding the cellulose blank structure on the first endless belt unit in a first feeding direction, and redirecting the cellulose blank structure to the second endless belt unit; feeding the cellulose blank structure on the second endless belt unit in a second feeding direction being at least partly opposite the first feeding direction, wherein the second endless belt unit alternatingly is longitudinally moved in opposite directions relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, and redirecting the cellulose blank structure to the third endless belt unit; and intermittently feeding the cellulose blank structure on the third endless belt unit in a third feeding direction at least partly coinciding with the first feeding direction.
Banas teaches wherein the buffering module (Fig. 1) comprises a first endless belt unit (16), a second endless belt unit (22), and a third endless belt unit (28), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) is arranged in-between and in a longitudinal overlapping relationship (Fig. 2) to the first endless belt unit (16) and the third endless belt unit (28), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) is movably arranged relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit (Col 1 lines 60-66, Col 3 lines 60-67 to Col 4 lines 1-65), wherein the method comprises the steps: continuously feeding the blank structure (34) on the first endless belt unit (16) in a first feeding direction (A), and redirecting the blank structure (34) to the second endless belt unit (22); feeding the cellulose blank structure (34) on the second endless belt unit (22) in a second feeding direction (B) being at least partly opposite the first feeding direction (Figs. 1-2), wherein the second endless belt (22) unit alternatingly is longitudinally moved in opposite directions (A/B via servomechanism 100 in response to speed differences/loops based on signals from computer 94) relative to the first endless belt unit (16) and the third endless belt unit (28), and redirecting the blank structure (34) to the third endless belt unit (28); and intermittently feeding the blank structure (34) on the third endless belt unit (28) in a third feeding direction (A) at least partly coinciding with the first feeding direction (A; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Larsson’s buffering module by having substituted it with an adjustable buffering module having first, second, and third endless belt where the second belt is in-between the first and the third belt, as suggested by Banas, in order to maintain constant tension in deformable strip materials during speed variations between continuous and intermittent take-away, preventing sagging or damage, and improving web integrity and production efficiency.
Larsson as modified further teaches:
Regarding claim 2, wherein the buffering module (17 of Larsson and/or 10 of Banas) is configured for alternatingly operating in a buffering mode and a feeding mode ([0061] of Larsson and/or Figs 1-2 and Col 1 lines 60-66, Col 3 lines 60-67 to Col 4 lines 1-65 and Col 5 lines 42-55 of Banas- material accumulation mode at reduced speed or zero speed and feeding mode when downstream transport resumes),
wherein the method further comprises the steps: operating the first endless belt unit (16 of Banas) with a continuous input transportation speed (S1) in the buffering mode and the feeding mode (Figs. 1-2); operating the third endless belt unit (28 of Banas) with a first transportation speed (S2; slowed or zero) upon longitudinal movement of the second endless belt unit (22 of Banas) in a first direction (away from takeaway) in the buffering mode; and operating the third endless belt unit (28 of Banas) with a second transportation speed (S2) upon longitudinal movement of the second endless belt unit (22 of Banas) in a second direction opposite the first direction in the feeding mode (Col 3 lines 60-67 to Col 4 lines 1-65 and Col 5 lines 42-55 of Banas).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the method further comprises the steps: feeding the cellulose blank structure (1a of Larsson) into the forming mould (3 of Larsson) during the feeding mode when the third endless belt unit (28 of Banas) is operated with the second transportation speed (S2 of Banas) upon longitudinal movement of the second endless belt unit in the second direction (A of Banas).
Regarding claim 8, wherein a first layer application unit (18 of Larsson) is arranged in connection to the first endless belt unit (17 of Larsson), wherein the method further comprises the steps: applying one or more first material layers (sizing agents, additives etc.; [0066] of Larsson) to the cellulose blank structure upon feeding of the cellulose blank structure on the first endless belt unit ([0066] of Larsson); applying the one or more first material layers to the first side of the cellulose blank structure (Figs. 2a-2b of Larsson); and applying the one or more first material layers to the cellulose blank structure (1a of Larsson) in connection to a first downstream end of the first endless belt unit (Fig. 1 of Larsson).
Regarding claim 14, wherein a first set of spray nozzles (20 of Larsson) is arranged in connection to the first endless belt unit (17 of Larsson), wherein the method further comprises the steps: applying one or more substances to the first side of the cellulose blank structure upon feeding of the cellulose blank structure on the first endless belt unit (Fig. 1 of Larsson).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the method further comprises the steps: forming the cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure in the forming moulds by heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100-300° C., and pressing the cellulose blank structure with a forming pressure in the range of 1-100 MPa (Abstract and [0058]-[0059]; Larsson teaches a temperature and pressure ranges which falls within the range as required by the claim).
Regarding claim 21, Larsson discloses a buffering module (17) for buffering an air-formed cellulose blank structure (1a), wherein the buffering module(1a) is arranged in connection to a forming mould (3) configured for dry-forming cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure (1a; Fig. 1 and [0027]-[0030]).
However, Larsson is silent with regards to wherein the buffering module comprises a first endless belt unit, a second endless belt unit, and a third endless belt unit, wherein the second endless belt unit is arranged in-between and in a longitudinal overlapping relationship to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, wherein the second endless belt unit is movably arranged relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, wherein the buffering module is configured for continuously feeding the cellulose blank structure on the first endless belt unit in a first feeding direction, and redirecting the cellulose blank structure to the second endless belt unit; wherein the buffering module is configured for feeding the cellulose blank structure on the second endless belt unit in a second feeding direction being at least partly opposite the first feeding direction, wherein the second endless belt unit alternatingly is longitudinally moved in opposite directions relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit, and redirecting the cellulose blank structure to the third endless belt unit; wherein the buffering module is configured for intermittently feeding the cellulose blank structure on the third endless belt unit in a third feeding direction at least partly coinciding with the first feeding direction.
Banas teaches wherein the buffering module (Fig. 1) comprises a first endless belt unit (16), a second endless belt unit (22), and a third endless belt unit (28), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) is arranged in-between and in a longitudinal overlapping relationship (Fig. 2) to the first endless belt unit (16) and the third endless belt unit (28), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) is movably arranged relative to the first endless belt unit and the third endless belt unit (Col 1 lines 60-66, Col 3 lines 60-67 to Col 4 lines 1-65), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) is movably arranged relative to the first endless belt unit (16) and the third endless belt unit (28), wherein the buffering module (Figs. 1-2) is configured for continuously feeding the blank structure on the first endless belt unit in a first feeding direction (A), and redirecting the blank structure to the second endless belt unit (22); wherein the buffering module is configured for feeding the blank structure on the second endless belt unit (22) in a second feeding direction (B) being at least partly opposite the first feeding direction (A; Figs. 1-2), wherein the second endless belt unit (22) alternatingly (S4) is longitudinally moved in opposite directions relative to the first endless belt unit (16) and the third endless belt unit (28), and redirecting the blank structure to the third endless belt unit (28); wherein the buffering module is configured for intermittently feeding the blank structure on the third endless belt unit (28) in a third feeding direction (A) at least partly coinciding with the first feeding direction (A; Figs 1-2 and Col 1 lines 60-66, Col 3 lines 60-67 to Col 4 lines 1-65 and Col 5 lines 42-55)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Larsson’s buffering module by having substituted it with an adjustable buffering module having first, second, and third endless belt where the second belt is in-between the first and the third belt, as suggested by Banas, in order to maintain constant tension in deformable strip materials during speed variations between continuous and intermittent take-away, preventing sagging or damage, and improving web integrity and production efficiency.
Larsson as modified further teaches:
Regarding claim 22, wherein the buffering module comprises a first layer application unit (20 of Larsson) arranged in connection to the first endless belt unit (17 of Larsson), wherein the first layer application unit is configured for applying one or more first material layers (sizing agents, additives etc.; [0066] of Larsson) to the cellulose blank structure, and wherein the first layer application unit is arranged in connection to a first downstream end of the first endless belt unit (Fig. 1 of Larsson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 11, 15, 18, 24-26, 28-29, and 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached form “Notice of reference”-(PTO-892) are cited to show three belt conveyor system acting as a buffer module for transporting strips of materials. All are cited as being of interest and to show the state of the prior art.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731