DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 26, 28, 38, 48, 53, 60 and 61 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 28 and 60 recite “AI program”. An acronym “AI” must be spelled out before using the acronym.
Claim 38 recites “to project accent-corrected speech in the first language from the loudspeaker”. It appears applicant intended to express “to the loudspeaker”
Claim 53 recites “a PAPR hood”. The acronym “PAPR” must be spelled out before using.
Claims 26, 48 and 61 recites “another party” several times. When referring back to the previously mentioned “another party”, a definite article must be used.
Claim 61 recites “mask work by the user”. It appears that the recited “work” is a misspelling word of “worn”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-30, 38, 49-53, 57-58, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites “the duration of time”, which has insufficient antecedent basis. The antecedent limitations never define any duration time. Claims 27-30 and 38 depend from claim 26. These dependent claims fail to remedy deficiency of claim 26.
Claim 49 recites “the microphone”. Since antecedent basis limitations define “a first microphone” and “a second microphone”. Since there are two microphones, it is unclear which microphone the claimed “the microphone” refer to. Claims 50-53 depend from the rejected claim 49. These dependent claims 50-53 are also rejected.
Claim 57 recites “the back of the first housing”. Since antecedent limitations never define a back of the first housing. The claimed “the back” has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 57-58 and claim 61 recite “the housing”. Since antecedent limitations define two housings (“a first housing” and “a second housing”). It is unclear which housing a claimed “the housing” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Almagro (US PG Pub. 2010/0250231, hereinafter referred to as Almagro).
Almagro discloses a wearable communication device with speech-to-speech translation function (Almagro, [0007-0009], Fig. 63 / Fig. 64). Almagro further discloses the wearable communication device has two microphones. One internal microphone is used to receive speech from the user who wears the device and an external microphone is used to receive speech from foreigner’s speech (Almagro, [0007-0009]). Almagro further discloses using loudspeaker to output translated speech to a foreigner and wearing a headset by the user (Almagro, [0007-0009], Fig. 63 / Fig. 64). Almagro further discloses using wireless communication (Almagro, [0155-0157], Fig. 69-72). The examiner replicates Fig. 63 / 64 from Almagro below.
The examiner notices that many limitations are recited as “optionally”. These limitations recited as “optional” are not required. In addition, cited prior art references only need to teach ONE alternative recited using alternative language “OR”.
Regarding claim 26, Almagro discloses a system for facilitating conversation between a user and another party, each speaking different languages (Almagro, Fig. 63 / 64), comprising:
a communication device worn by a user, the communication device (Almagro, Fig. 63 / 64) comprising:
a first microphone to receive speech from the user in a first language spoken by the user (Almagro, [0007-0009], [0104], Fig. 63, an internal microphone for receiving speech from the use who is wearing the headset);
a loudspeaker to project translated speech from the user to another party into a second language spoken by another party (Almagro, [0007-0009], [0136], Fig. 63, outputting a translated speech to a foreigner);
a second microphone to receive speech from another party in the second language (Almagro, [0007-0009], [0137], Fig. 64, an external microphone is used to receive speech from a foreigner);
a headphone speaker to project translated speech from another party to the user in the first language (Almagro, [0007-0008], [0147], Fig. 63 / 64, the user wears a headset to receive voice translated from a foreigner);
optionally, a digital signal processor (Almagro, [0096], processor / CPU and memory);
a wireless circuit assembly (Almagro, [0097], wireless communication, Fig. 69); and
a power source (Almagro, [0096], power supply or battery);
a wireless computing device wirelessly linked to the communication device (Almagro, Fig. 71-72, headsets, cell phones and servers communicate using wireless technique);
optionally, a cloud computer connected with the wireless computing device over the internet (Almagro, [0012-0013], communicating with remote translation facility for translating untranslated speech);
a translation program running on the communication device, wireless computing device, OR cloud computer to translate spoken words of the user, in the first language, to the second language in real time (Almagro, [0128-0129], [0146], Fig. 67), and
optionally, language source code stored on one or more of the communication device, wireless computing device, or cloud computer (Almagro, [0146-0149], Fig. 67).
Independent claim 48 recites similar limitations as claim 26. Claim 48 is slightly narrower by using “a mask worn by a user” instead of a broader “a communication device”. Almagro discloses a wearable communication device that could translate between different spoken languages (Almagro, Fig. 63 / Fig. 64). Almagro further discloses the wearable device covers his / her mouth (Almagro, [0007-0009], Fig. 63). Under a broadest and reasonable interpretation, a which meets a claimed “a mask”. Almagro does not explicitly mention “a mask worn by a user”.
Regarding claim 27, Almagro further discloses the translation program is an Al translation program (Almagro, [0128-0130], automated machine translator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 54-56, and 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Almagro in view of Prescott (US Pat. 11,800,268, referred to as Prescott).
Independent claim 48 recites similar limitations as claim 26. Claim 48 is narrower than claim 26 by using a term “a mask worn by a user” instead of a broad term “a communication device”. Almagro discloses a wearable communication device that could translate between different spoken languages (Almagro, Fig. 63 / Fig. 64). Almagro further discloses the wearable communication device covers a user’s mouth (Almagro, [0007-0009], Fig. 63). Although Almagro meets a claimed “a mask”, Almagro does not explicitly mention “a mask worn by a user”. Prescott discloses a face mask has built-in microphone and loudspeaker to allow a user to communicate (Prescott, Col. 2, lines 34-50, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Almagro’s teaching with Prescott’s teaching to implement a speech-to-speech translation using a face mask. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a user (e.g., a doctor) who is wearing a face mask could communicate with a foreigner who is speaking a different language.
Regarding claims 54-56, Almagro in view of Prescott further discloses the first microphone is contained within a first housing and wherein the second microphone is contained within a second housing operably connected with the first housing (Almagro, [0007-0009], [0122]).
Regarding claim 59, Almagro in view of Prescott further discloses the mask is selected from a dust mask or a filter mask (Almagro, Col. 1, lines 34-45, face mask for filtering breathed air).
Regarding claim 60, Almagro in view of Prescott further discloses the translation program is an Al translation program (Almagro, [0128-0130], automated machine translator).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Almagro in view of Nagao (US PG Pub. 2008/0077390, referred to as Nagao).
Regarding claims 28-30, these dependent claims recite limitations related to estimate duration time for generating a translation (claimed “a latency evaluation”) and adjusting a timing of conversation.
Almagro discloses a real time speech-to-speech translation (Almagro, [0140]). Almagro does not disclose limitations recited in claims 28-29. Nago discloses estimating translation delay due to translation and display the delay (Nago, [0012], [0063-0064], [0329], estimating translation delay). Nago further discloses adjusting timing of display video so that the video / image is synchronized with translated speech (Nago, [0098], control timing of output speech; [0180], [0247], [0314], Fig. 37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Almagro’s teaching with Nago’s teaching to estimate and display translation delay. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conversation is smooth between two people who are speaking different languages (Nago, [0107], control output speech timing during a video conference; [0336], [0342], Fig. 41).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Almagro in view of Dirac et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0174595, referred to as Dirac).
Regarding claim 38, Almagro discloses a speech-to-speech translation to enable conversations between people who speak different language (Almagro, Fig. 63 / 64). Limitations recited in claim 38 are related to translating accent language. Almagro does not disclose limitation recited in claim 38.
Dirac discloses even two persons speak the same language, sometime it is heard to understand each other because of accent (Dirac, [0001]). Dirac discloses translating a language between a first accent and a second accent (Dirac, [0017], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Almagro’s teaching with Dirac’s teaching to translate spoken language from a first accent to a second accent. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that people could understand each other even if they have different accents.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Almagro in view of Smith et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0238132, referred to as Smith).
Regarding claim 49, Almagro does not disclose using a magnetic to attaching a microphone to a housing.
Smith discloses a face mask with integrated communication system (Smith, [0007], Fig. 2). Smith discloses using magnetic fastener to attach a microphone to the face mask (Smith, [0013], [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Almagro’s teaching with Smith’s teaching to use a magnetic fastener to attach a microphone. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because it is easier to attach a microphone using a magnetic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 50-53 and 57-58 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 61 would be allowable if overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner discovered several relevant prior art references that are related to one or more concepts disclosed by the instant application. These references are included in the attached PTO-892 form for completeness of the record.
/JIALONG HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659