Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 states” interrupted by an heteroatom”, should state “interrupted by a heteroatom”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-24, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22 and 31 recite compounds of Table 1 of the specification, MPEP 2173.05(s) states, “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing
or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.”
Ex parte Fressola,
27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 19, 24 use the statement “interrupted by a heteroatom”, and this term is determined to be undefined because it is unclear what “interrupted” means. The specification uses the term “interrupted” but does not define its meaning. The examiner in interpreting the statement “interrupted by a heteroatom”, as a heteroatom in the middle of an alkyl chain. Claims 20-22 are rejected in view of their dependency on claim 19, as they do not cure its deficiencies and therefore are deficient for the same reasons.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "a compound" according to claim 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 23 states “a compound of general formula (I)”, as the first mention of a compound, and since claim 33 is dependent on Claim 23, stating “a compound” lacks the proper antecedent basis.
Claim 23 discloses compounds of “general formula (I), see below, but does not define variable X. Since variable X is not defined in the claim, the meets and bounds of the claim are unclear. The examiner is interpreting the substituent X, as defined in Claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chadeayne (Andrew Chadeayne, “Tryptamine Derivatives and Their Therapeutic Uses”, WO 2022081549 A1, Pub. Date: 2022-04-21).
Regarding Claims 19-21 and 33-35, Chadeayne discloses tryptamine derivatives, and pharmaceutical compositions administered for treating various diseases (Abstract). Chadeayne discloses A method for preventing and or treating brain disorder, and lists “Huntington's disease, Alzheimer's disease, dementia, and Parkinson's disease” as embodiments [143].
Regarding Claim 32, Chadeayne discloses compounds administered in pharmaceutical compositions with excipients that are pharmaceutically acceptable carriers [011].
Chadeayne discloses compound 41 (Pg. 37), bottom left, that is the same as compound 022 disclosed in Table 1 of the specification. To map compound 41 disclosed in Chadeayne with instant Formula (I), bottom right, Y1, Y2, and Y3 are absent (Claim 19, 23, 29, 30), Y0 is oxygen (Claim 19, 23, 29, 30), R5, R6, R7 and R8 are hydrogen (Claims 19, 23, 25) R4 is hydrogen (19, 23, 26), R1 is hydrogen (Claim 19, 23, 27), X is an unsubstituted C2 alkyl (Claim 19, 23, 24), R2 is Hydrogen (Claim 19, 23, 28) and R3 is C3 alkyl (Claim 19, 23, 28).
Double Patenting
Claim 19-24, and 26-35 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7,9-12,14,15,17, 18, of copending Application No. 18/684,600, herein ‘600, and in further view of Ward (Roberta J Ward et al., “The role of iron in brain ageing and neurogenerative disorders”, The Lancet Neurology, Volume 13, Issue 10, Pub. Date: October 2014, Pgs. 1045-1060).
Regarding instant Claims 23, 24, and 26-32, claims 1-7, 12, 14-16, and 17 in copending application ‘600 disclose the compounds below, compound 001 on the left, and compound A1 on the right. Both compounds can also be found in Table 1 of the instant specification.
Regarding instant Claims 33-35, claims 9-11, 18 in copending application ‘600 discloses “a method for preventing or treating iron-associated disorders in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound as defined in claim 1 to said subject”, and include disorders such as chronic liver diseases, chronic inflammation linked to cancer, autoimmune or inflammatory, HFE related hemochromatosis, and non HFE-related hematochromatosis.
Instant Claim 34 discloses iron associated disorders as chronic liver diseases, chronic inflammation linked to cancer, autoimmune or inflammatory, HFE related hemochromatosis, and non HFE-related hematochromatosis.
It would have been prima facie obvious, for one of ordinary skill, to take the method disclosed in copending application ‘600, for preventing an iron-associated disorder by administering compound 001, and compounds of Formula (I), to arrive at the limitations of the instant claims because the copending claims and instant claims both teach overlapping genus’s, with compound 001 as an embodiment, and both disclose administering the compounds to treat the same diseases. Administering the same compounds, to treat the same diseases, would yield a predictable result with the same patient population.
Regarding instant Claims 19-21, Claim 18 in copending application ‘600 discloses “the method according to Claim 9, wherein the iron-associated disorders are iron overload-associated disorders, and lists neurodegeneration with brain iron accumulation-associated diseases as an embodiment.
Regarding instant Claim 22, Claim 12 in copending application ‘600 discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound according to claim 1, and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Copending application ‘600 does not disclose any of the metalloptosis associated disorders listed in instant Claim 21.
Ward discloses the role of iron in brain ageing and neurodegenerative disorders (Title). Ward teaches that during the ageing process, different iron complexes can accumulate in the brain regions associated with motor and cognitive impairment, and diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease are the result of changes in iron homeostasis resulting in iron accumulation in the brain (Summary).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill, to administer the compounds of Formula (I) in copending application ‘600 to treat iron overload-associated disorders such as neurodegeneration, and include aging related diseases like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s to arrive at the limitations of the instant claims, because Ward teaches that during the ageing process, iron accumulates in the brain and is associated with Alzheimer’s and Parkinsons disease. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to administer the compounds of Formula(I) to treat Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s because they are diseases associated with iron accumulation in the brain and aging.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/CIERRA M ROCHELLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613