DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim18, 30, 33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite parentheticals, and it is not clear if those items within the parenthesis are limitations of the claims. Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 24-27 and 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zewuhn et al. (US Patent Pub. 2019/0388333, disclosed by applicant).
Zewuhn et al. disclose lipstick compositions a method of forming (ABSTRACT). Zewuhn et al. disclose the composition comprises beeswax at a concentration of 11.5 %, rapeseed wax at a concentration of 10%; oil, such as sunflower oil and shea butter at a concentration of 2% ([0060], reference claim 31). Zewuhn et al. disclose the composition comprises lecithin, vitamin E acetate, which meets the limitation of tocopherol, antioxidants and UV light protection filters, such as ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate and/or methoxydibenzoylmethane ([0049 and [0050]). Zewuhn et al. disclose a method of forming a lipstick comprising mixing the constituents, poured into a mold at about 60°C allowed to cool down and removed from a mold ([0061]-[0063]). The composition of the reference are free from petroleum jelly, paraffins, mineral oils, silicone oils and silicone waxes. The composition comprise similar components at similar concentrations and would therefore would inherently have the same properties, such as penetration depth in a needle penetration test.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-22, 24-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewuhn et al. (US Patent Pub. 2019/0388333, disclosed by applicant) in view of Schecker et al. (US Patent Pub. 2021/0169771).
Zewuhn et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the concentration of sunflower oil.
Schecker et al. disclose lip care products comprising oil, sunflower wax and beeswax (ABSTRACT). Schecker et al. disclose the lip care product comprises 30 to 60% by weight of oils ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have varied the concentration of the oil component of Zewuhn since they are known concentrations for lip care composition as taught by Schecker.
It would have been obvious to have used the claimed sunflower oil obtained from sunflower hybrids as the sunflower of the references, since it has not been found that the fractions provide any unexpected results within the compositions.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewuhn et al. (US Patent Pub. 2019/0388333, disclosed by applicant) as applied to claims 18, 24-27 and 30-37 above, and further in view of Myers (US Patne 6,290,940).
Zewuhn et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose ascorbyl palmitate.
Meyers et al. disclose a lipstick formulation comprising antioxidants including ascorbyl palmitate, tocopherol, butylated hydroxytoluene and mixtures thereof (column 4, lines 28-35).
It is obvious to replace one component for another equivalent component if it is recognized in the art that two components are equivalent and is not based on the Applicant disclosure. It is also prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See MPEP 2144.06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used ascorbyl palmitate in place of the antioxidant in the compositions of the primary reference based on the prior art's recognition that such species are equivalent in function, as supported by cited precedent.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612