DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 01/07/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 01/07/2025.
Claims 1-11 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to DE 102022/207009, filed on 07/08/2022; and is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/068174, filed on 07/03/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8, lines 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: “second cooler” should read, “first cooler” (since a first cooler is never introduced). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinukawa (JP 2001/016827).
Regarding claim 1, Kinukawa discloses a construction machine {1+2+3 (Fig. 1)}, comprising:
a battery {12 (12a): “a plurality of battery modules 12a forming the battery 12” [0038]},
at least one electric drive {15, 23, 25}, which is supplied by the battery {12 (12a)},
a hydraulic circuit {L+27+28 (hydraulic circuit lines shown in Figs. 2 and 6)} in which hydraulic oil {“discharged oil is supplied to a hydraulic actuator (hydraulic motor or hydraulic cylinder)” [0002]} circulates,
at least one hydraulic drive {16, 24, 26}, which is supplied by the hydraulic circuit {L+27+28 (Figs. 2, 6): “pumps 16, 24, 26 are configured as bidirectional pumps in which the oil discharge direction is changed according to the rotation directions of the electric motors 15, 23, 25, and the discharge ports on both sides of the pumps 16, 24, 26 are actuator drive pipes. It is connected to the head-side and rod-side oil chambers of the cylinders 18, 20, 22 via the passages 27, 28… an automatic switching valve provided between the pumps 16, 24, 26 and the oil tank 30, 32 is an operating check valve… An oil cooler 35 is provided in the return line L… oil cooled by the oil cooler 35 passes through the battery 12, the generator 11, and the electric motors 15, 23, 25. It is configured to return to the oil tank 30… oil cooler 35 includes a radiator 35a to which oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is supplied” [0035-0037]}, and
a first cooling circuit {hydraulic circuit running through 12b+16+24+26+35 [0036-0038]} for cooling the battery {12 (12a): “battery cooled by oil” [0038]} and the hydraulic oil {“oil cooled by the oil cooler 35” [0036]}, wherein a portion of hydraulic oil circulates in the first cooling circuit {hydraulic circuit running through 12b+16+24+26+35 (Figs. 2, 6)} as coolant {“oil cooler 35 is provided in the return line L having the relief valve 29, and the oil cooled by the oil cooler 35 passes through the battery 12, the generator 11, and the electric motors 15, 23, 25. It is configured to return to the oil tank 30… oil cooler 35 includes a radiator 35a to which oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is supplied and a cooling unit 35b. The cooling unit 35b cools the oil passing through the radiator 35a” [0036-0037]}.
Regarding claim 2, Kinukawa discloses the first cooling circuit {hydraulic circuit running through 12b+16+24+26+35 [0036-0038]} comprises:
a hydraulic oil pump {16, 24, 26} for generating an adjustable volume flow of the portion of hydraulic oil {“The pumps 16, 24, 26 are configured as bidirectional pumps in which the oil discharge direction is changed according to the rotation directions of the electric motors 15, 23, 25, and the discharge ports on both sides of the pumps 16, 24, 26 are actuator drive pipes” [0035]; “the working oil for cooling can be supplied to the electric parts to be cooled without depending on the discharge force of the hydraulic pump, and the discharge force is unnecessary. Therefore, it is possible to suppress deterioration of components included in the pipeline, for example, the port itself or the connection between the port and the pipe” [0061]},
a first cooler {35b}, which has an adjustable cooling capacity {adjustable via the valves, pumps, and controllers [0035-0037]} and through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows {“The oil cooler 35 includes a radiator 35a to which oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is supplied and a cooling unit 35b. The cooling unit 35b cools the oil passing through the radiator 35a” [0037]}, and
a first heat exchanger {12b+35a}, which is connected downstream of the first cooler {35b (connected downstream via 12b)}, is thermally coupled to the battery {12 (12a): “oil cooled by the oil cooler 35 passes through the battery 12” [0036]} and through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows {“FIG. 4 is a front sectional view schematically showing the structure of a battery cooled by oil. In this battery 12, a plurality of battery modules 12a forming the battery 12 are arranged side by side in a horizontal direction inside a box body 12b, and oil flows through the outside and inside of the battery module 12a, It has a structure for cooling each battery module 12a” [0038]}.
Regarding claim 3, Kinukawa discloses a battery temperature controller {38}, which is designed to control a battery temperature according to a predeterminable setpoint value {25° C}, wherein a correcting variable of the battery temperature controller {38} is a cooling capacity of the first cooler {35b: “the battery 12 is provided with a temperature sensor 37. The temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37 for the battery is given to the controller 38. When the detected temperature is the first temperature, for example, 20° C. or lower, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state, and the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 functions as an electric component cooling pipeline. Supply to the return line L. When the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, for example, 25° C. or higher, the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is transferred to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22 via the actuator drive lines 27, 28. Switch to the state of supplying to. In the second embodiment thus constructed, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 20° C. or lower. As a result, oil can be supplied to the return pipe line L side, and oil is not supplied to the cylinder head side pipe line 27. Then, when the pressure of the oil sent from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 becomes high, the relief valve 29 as a pressure control valve operates and the oil is supplied to the return pipe line L, that is, the electric component side to be cooled. It is circulated by the hydraulic pumps 16, 24 and 26. After that, the temperature of the oil rises. At this time, although the oil is somewhat cooled by the oil cooler 35, the battery 12 is warmed up. Then, when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 25° C. or higher, the controller 38 causes the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to feed the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22” [0042-0043]}.
Regarding claim 4, Kinukawa discloses a hydraulic oil temperature controller {38}, which is designed to control a hydraulic oil temperature according to a predeterminable setpoint value {20° C}, wherein a correcting variable of the hydraulic oil temperature controller {38} is a volume flow of the portion of hydraulic oil {“the battery 12 is provided with a temperature sensor 37. The temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37 for the battery is given to the controller 38. When the detected temperature is the first temperature, for example, 20° C. or lower, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state, and the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 functions as an electric component cooling pipeline. Supply to the return line L. When the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, for example, 25° C. or higher, the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is transferred to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22 via the actuator drive lines 27, 28. Switch to the state of supplying to. In the second embodiment thus constructed, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 20° C. or lower. As a result, oil can be supplied to the return pipe line L side, and oil is not supplied to the cylinder head side pipe line 27. Then, when the pressure of the oil sent from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 becomes high, the relief valve 29 as a pressure control valve operates and the oil is supplied to the return pipe line L, that is, the electric component side to be cooled. It is circulated by the hydraulic pumps 16, 24 and 26. After that, the temperature of the oil rises. At this time, although the oil is somewhat cooled by the oil cooler 35, the battery 12 is warmed up. Then, when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 25° C. or higher, the controller 38 causes the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to feed the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22” [0042-0043]}.
Regarding claim 5, Kinukawa discloses the hydraulic oil temperature controller {38 (programmed at setpoint value of 20° C)} is parameterized to be slower than the battery temperature controller {38 (programmed at setpoint value of 25° C); atoms move faster at higher temperatures, and slower at lower temperatures}.
Regarding claim 6, Kinukawa discloses the at least one electric drive {15, 23, 25} is cooled via the first cooling circuit {hydraulic circuit running through 12b+16+24+26+35}.
Regarding claim 7, Kinukawa discloses power electronics {11, 12} for activating the at least one electric drive {15, 23, 25}, wherein the power electronics {11, 12} are cooled via the hydraulic oil {“the electric components such as the battery 12, the generator 11 and the electric motors 15, 23, 25 are forcibly cooled by the oil, so that the service life can be prevented from being shortened and the electric components can be prevented” [0040]}.
Regarding claim 10, Kinukawa discloses the first cooling circuit {hydraulic circuit running through 12b+16+24+26+35} comprises a bypass valve {36 (36+38)}, which, in a bypass switching position, guides the portion of hydraulic oil past the first heat exchanger {12b+35a} and which, in a cooling switching position, conducts the portion of hydraulic oil through the first heat exchanger {12b+35a: “The electromagnetic switching valve 36 is configured to switch between a state in which the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is supplied to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22 and a closed state in which the supply is stopped, and the switching is controlled by a controller 38. R. Here, the controller 38 and the electromagnetic switching valve 36 constitute switching means. Further, the battery 12 is provided with a temperature sensor 37. The temperature detected by the temperature sensor 37 for the battery is given to the controller 38. When the detected temperature is the first temperature, for example, 20° C. or lower, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state, and the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 functions as an electric component cooling pipeline. Supply to the return line L. When the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, for example, 25° C. or higher, the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 is transferred to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22 via the actuator drive lines 27, 28. Switch to the state of supplying to. In the second embodiment thus constructed, the controller 38 switches the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to the closed state when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 20° C. or lower. As a result, oil can be supplied to the return pipe line L side, and oil is not supplied to the cylinder head side pipe line 27. Then, when the pressure of the oil sent from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 becomes high, the relief valve 29 as a pressure control valve operates and the oil is supplied to the return pipe line L, that is, the electric component side to be cooled. It is circulated by the hydraulic pumps 16, 24 and 26. After that, the temperature of the oil rises. At this time, although the oil is somewhat cooled by the oil cooler 35, the battery 12 is warmed up. Then, when the temperature of the battery 12 detected by the temperature sensor 37 is 25° C. or higher, the controller 38 causes the electromagnetic switching valve 36 to feed the oil from the hydraulic pumps 16, 24, 26 to the hydraulic cylinders 18, 20, 22” [0041-0043]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinukawa in view of Rouaud (US 2008/0251303).
Regarding claim 8, Kinukawa discloses all the aspects of claim 7. However, Kinukawa does not explicitly disclose the first cooling circuit comprises:
a second cooler, through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows, and
a second heat exchanger, which is connected downstream of the second cooler, is thermally coupled to the power electronics and through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows.
Rouaud teaches {Fig. 1} the first cooling circuit {4} comprises:
a first and second cooler {8, 12: “The circuit 4 contains a cooling radiator 8 known as the high-temperature radiator or engine radiator. The circuit 4 also comprises a unit heater 10 or cabin heating radiator. This same circuit in this instance comprises a thermostat 12 in the form of a wax thermostat, a controlled thermostat or alternatively a controlled valve allowing the temperature of the liquid coolant flowing through the circuit 4 to be regulated” [0033]}, through which the portion of hydraulic oil {“liquid coolant/engine oil… liquid coolant/gearbox oil” [0034-0035]} flows, and
a second heat exchanger {14: “The circuit may comprise other conventional components according to the technical design of the engine and according to whether it is a controlled-ignition or compression-ignition engine. These components might, for example, be: a liquid coolant/engine oil heat exchanger; a liquid coolant/gearbox oil heat exchanger; or a liquid coolant/EGR heat exchanger 14” [0033-0036]}, which is connected downstream of the second cooler {12}, is thermally coupled to the power electronics {20 (via 33)} and through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows {“The liquid therefore flows in the direction of the arrows shown in FIG. 1. In other words, the liquid runs, in this order, through components 22, 20, 18, 28, 30 then through the valve 40 to enter the duct 32. It then runs through the various branches of the circuit 4” [0060]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction machine, as disclosed by Kinukawa, such that the first cooling circuit comprises: a second cooler, through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows, and a second heat exchanger, which is connected downstream of the second cooler, is thermally coupled to the power electronics and through which the portion of hydraulic oil flows, as taught by Rouaud, so that “during a cold start of the vehicle in electric mode, the power dissipated by the electrotechnical components improves the increase in temperature of the combustion engine and can be used to dissipate heat energy in the unit heater if cabin heating has been called for” [0060].
Regarding claim 9, Kinukawa discloses all the aspects of claim 7. However, Kinukawa does not explicitly disclose a second cooling circuit for cooling the power electronics, wherein a further portion of hydraulic oil circulates in the second cooling circuit as coolant.
Rouaud teaches a second cooling circuit {24} for cooling the power electronics {20, 22: “a second electric machine 18 such as a motor together with power electronic components 20 and 22. A cooling circuit 24 separate from the circuit 4 is associated with these elements” [0040]}, wherein a further portion of hydraulic oil circulates in the second cooling circuit {24: “the liquid runs, in this order, through components 22, 20, 18, 28, 30 then through the valve 40 to enter the duct 32. It then runs through the various branches of the circuit 4 with the exception of the radiator 8 and returns to the circuit 24” [0060]} as coolant {“oil/coolant” [0079]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction machine, as disclosed by Kinukawa, to include a second cooling circuit for cooling the power electronics, wherein a further portion of hydraulic oil circulates in the second cooling circuit as coolant, as taught by Rouaud, so that “during a cold start of the vehicle in electric mode, the power dissipated by the electrotechnical components improves the increase in temperature of the combustion engine and can be used to dissipate heat energy in the unit heater if cabin heating has been called for” [0060].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 108343245).
Regarding claim 11, Kinukawa discloses all the aspects of claim 1. However, Kinukawa does not explicitly disclose the construction machine is a concrete pump.
Liu teaches a construction machine is a concrete pump {“a series-type hybrid electric vehicle-mounted concrete pump, which is connected with a diesel engine, a generator and a motor through a power coupling device” [0010]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction machine, as disclosed by Kinukawa, such that the construction machine is a concrete pump, as taught by Liu, in order “to provide a set of feasible equipment for the realization of traditional vehicle-mounted concrete pump energy-saving emission reduction” [0010].
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614