CTNF 18/881,865 CTNF 94976 DETAILED ACTION Remarks This non-final office action is in response to the application filled on 10/07/2022. Claims 1-12 are pending and examined below. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority PCT/JP2022/037684 was filled on 10/07/2022. Information Disclosure Statement As of date of this action, IDS filled has been annotated and considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0282485 (“Nagatsuka”), and in view of US 2024/0017426 (“Sun”), and further in view of US 2022/0334560 (“Lovett”) . Regarding claim 1, Nagatsuka discloses a robot simulation device comprising (see at least fig 1, where robot simulation apparatus, 10): a three-dimensional model arrangement unit configured to arrange, in a virtual space, a three-dimensional model of a robot, a three-dimensional model of a hand mounted on the robot, a three-dimensional model of a supply device, a three- dimensional model of a discharge device, a three-dimensional model of a workpiece, and a three-dimensional model of a detection device that detects the workpiece on the supply device (see at least fig 4, where 3D virtual space is displayed. The display includes robot model, 22’, hand 23’, container or supply device model, 44, workpiece model, 40 and detection device model, 55’. See also [0041-43]) ; a reference workpiece designation unit configured to accept an input for designating a three-dimensional model of a workpiece serving as a reference when the three-dimensional model of the workpiece is held by the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least [0043], where “The workpiece models 40 are also created based on the three-dimensional geometric data of the workpieces 20 stored in the storage unit.”; stored geometric data of workpiece is interpreted as reference. see also fig 1, workpiece model layout means, 32) ; and a holding position setting unit configured to set a holding position of the three- dimensional model of the workpiece with respect to the three-dimensional model of the hand when the three-dimensional model of the workpiece is held by the three- dimensional model of the hand, based on the designated quantity of the three- dimensional model of the workpiece being collectively held, the three-dimensional model of the workpiece serving as the reference, an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device, and a position and a posture of the three-dimensional model of the robot when moving on to the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see at least fig 7 and [0072-75], where holding position of the workpiece with the hand is determined; see also [0010-11] and [0052]) . Nagatsuka does not disclose the following limitations: a three- dimensional model of a discharge device, a workpiece holding quantity designation unit configured to accept an input for designating a quantity of three-dimensional models of workpieces collectively held by the three-dimensional model of the hand; and set a holding position…based on the designated quantity of the three- dimensional model of the workpiece being collectively held, the three-dimensional model of the workpiece serving as the reference, an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device. However, Sun discloses a system wherein a three-dimensional model of a discharge device (see at least fig 7B, where robot is picking from one container and dropping to another container. The dropping container is interpreted as discharge device) , a workpiece holding quantity designation unit configured to accept an input for designating a quantity of three-dimensional models of workpieces collectively held by the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least [0007], where “identifying a pre-grasp configuration for a robotic hand that includes fingers based on a target quantity of objects of a collection of objects to be grasped by the robotic hand”; target quantity of objects is interpreted as holding quantity ) ; and set a holding position…based on the designated quantity of the three-dimensional model of the workpiece being collectively held, the three-dimensional model of the workpiece serving as the reference, an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see at least fig 7A-E and fig 20, where holding position is determined based on quantity and reference model of the workpiece. see also [0118]) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Nagatsuka to incorporate the teachings of Sun by including the above feature for providing accurate control instruction by determining grasping position based on number of objects to be grasped so that maximum number of objects can be grasped at a time and damage of objects can be avoided. Nagatsuka in view of Sun does not disclose the following limitation: set a holding position…based on an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device. However, Lovett discloses a system wherein set a holding position…based on an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see at least [0104], where “Control of robotic arm may be coordinated based at least in part on one or more items to be picked and placed in receptacle 276, a location of receptacle 276, and/or a path of receptacle 276 (e.g., based on a determined movement and/or speed of conveyor 268).”; speed of conveyor is interpreted as interval between workpieces moving on the supply device. see also [0058] and [0140-141]) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Nagatsuka in view of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Lovett by including the above feature for maximizing robot utilization and avoiding unnecessary movement by setting grasp based on interval of the object on the conveyor. Regarding claim 2, Nagatsuka further discloses a robot simulation device comprising a simulation execution unit configured to move the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the supply device, and causes the three-dimensional model of the robot to perform a motion of collectively holding the three-dimensional models of the workpieces by the three-dimensional model of the hand, based on the position and the posture of the three-dimensional model of the robot when moving onto the three-dimensional model of the supply device, and the holding position of the three-dimensional model of the workpiece with respect to the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least [0055-56], where robot model, 22’ perform picking up the workpiece models, 40 from container model, 44 in 3-D virtual space, 60. See also fig 7, [0004] and [0046-47]) . Regarding claim 4, Nagatsuka further discloses a robot simulation device wherein the simulation execution unit moves the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the discharge supply device, and causes the three-dimensional model of the robot to arrange the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the discharge supply device, based on the position and the posture of the three-dimensional model of the robot when moving onto the three-dimensional model of the supply device, and the holding position of the three-dimensional model of the workpiece with respect to the three-dimensional model of the hand , see citation on claim 2 . Nagatsuka discloses a system wherein the robot model is picking up workpieces for the intention of placing another place. Nagatsuka does not explicitly disclose the discharge device or placement place of the picked workpiece. However, Sun further discloses a system wherein the simulation execution unit moves the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the discharge device, and causes the three-dimensional model of the robot to arrange the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the discharge device , see at least fig 7A-D. So, it would be obvious to include the discharge device disclosed by Sun on the simulation of Nagatsuka for increasing the pick and place efficiency by simulation. Regarding claim 6, Sun further discloses a system wherein the workpiece holding quantity designation unit accepts a user input for designating the quantity of three-dimensional models of workpieces collectively held (see at least [0048] and [0068]) . Regarding claim 7, Sun further discloses a system wherein the reference workpiece designation unit accepts a user input for designating the workpiece serving as the reference (see at least [0085], where “referring to FIG. 7E, a table of example objects grasped by robotic system 130 during simulation of robotic system 130 is shown, according to some aspects of the disclosure.”; see also [0108], [0048], [0101], [0108] and [0117]) . Regarding claim 8, Lovett further discloses a system comprising a workpiece interval designation unit configured to accept an input for designating the interval between the three-dimensional models of the workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see at least [0130], [0138] and [0104]) . Regarding claim 9, Sun further discloses a system wherein the supply device is a conveyance device, and the discharge device is a conveyance device (see at least [0118], where “Robotic system 130 can move the objects from a first location to a second location, where the locations can be any kind of suitable location. Bin 210 and bin 220 are provided as examples, however robotic system can also move objects from one conveyer to another conveyer, from a bin or box to a conveyer, from a conveyer to a bin or a box, between various types of containers, and the like.”) . Regarding claim 10, Sun further discloses a system wherein the supply device is a conveyance device, and the discharge device is a fixed stand (see at least [0118]) . Regarding claim 11, Lovett further discloses a system wherein the supply device is a fixed stand, and the discharge device is a conveyance device (see at least fig 2B, where 168 is conveyor and robot transferring items from shelf, which is fixed stand) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0282485 (“Nagatsuka”), and in view of US 2024/0017426 (“Sun”), and in view of US 2022/0334560 (“Lovett”), and in view of US 9,387,589 (“Barajas”), and further in view of US 2016/0001445 (“Setsuda”) . Regarding claim 3, Nagatsuka further discloses a robot simulation device wherein the simulation execution unit moves the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see citation on claim 2) , erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the supply device, and displays the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least fig 4, second screen) . Nagatsuka in view of Sun and Lovett does not disclose the following limitation: erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the supply device and displays the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand. However, Barajas discloses a system wherein displays the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least fig 3, where object on the hand is displayed) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Nagatsuka in view of Sun and Lovett to incorporate the teachings of Barajas by including the above feature for providing a clear view while grasping the object by effector for visualizing the transfer situation. Nagatsuka in view of Sun, Lovett and Barajas does not disclose the following limitation: erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the supply device. However, Setsuda discloses a system wherein erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the supply device (see at least [0137-149], where one display screen is erased out of many displayed screens. So, it would be obvious to erase 3D model of workpiece for providing clear showing of the various steps of grasping) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Nagatsuka in view of Sun, Lovett and Barajas to incorporate the teachings of Setsuda by including the above feature for displaying various steps and avoiding any confusion by providing less cluttered display. Regarding claim 12, Nagatsuka in view of Sun, Lovett, Barajas and Setsuda further discloses a robot simulation device comprising (see citation on claim 1 above): a three-dimensional model arrangement unit configured to arrange, in a virtual space, a three-dimensional model of a robot, a three-dimensional model of a hand mounted on the robot, a three-dimensional model of a supply device, a three- dimensional model of a discharge device, a three-dimensional model of a workpiece, and a three-dimensional model of a detection device that detects the workpiece on the supply device (see citation on claim 1 above); and a simulation execution unit configured to, based on a quantity of three-dimensional models of workpieces collectively held by the three-dimensional model of the hand, a three-dimensional model of a workpiece serving as a reference when the three-dimensional model of the workpiece is held by the three-dimensional model of the hand, an interval between three-dimensional models of workpieces on the three-dimensional model of the supply device, a position and a posture of the three-dimensional model of the robot when moving onto the three- dimensional model of the supply device, and a holding position of the three-dimensional model of the workpiece with respect to the three-dimensional model of the hand when the three-dimensional model of the workpiece is held by the three-dimensional model of the hand (see citation on claim 1 above), move the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the supply device, erase the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three- dimensional model of the supply device, and display the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand (see citation on claim 3 above), and move the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the discharge device, display the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the discharge device, and erase the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand (see citation on claim 5 above) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0282485 (“Nagatsuka”), and in view of US 2024/0017426 (“Sun”), and in view of US 2022/0334560 (“Lovett”) , as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2016/0001445 (“Setsuda”) . Regarding claim 5, Nagatsuka in view of Sun discloses a robot simulation device wherein the simulation execution unit moves the three-dimensional model of the robot to the three-dimensional model of the discharge device, displays the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the discharge device, see citation on claim 4. Nagatsuka in view of Sun and Lovett does not disclose the following limitation: erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand. However, Setsuda further discloses a system wherein erases the three-dimensional model of the workpiece on the three-dimensional model of the hand (see at least [0137-149], where one display screen is erased out of many displayed screens. So, it would be obvious to erase 3D model of workpiece for providing clear showing of the various steps of grasping) . Same motivation of claim 3 applies. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SOHANA TANJU KHAYER whose telephone number is (408)918-7597. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 7 am-5.30 pm, PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Lin can be reached at 5712703976. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 2 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 3 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 4 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 5 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 6 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 7 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 8 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 9 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 10 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 11 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 12 Art Unit: 3657 Application/Control Number: 18/881,865 Page 13 Art Unit: 3657