DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HATTORI (2009/0102774). In regards to claims 1 and 21, HATTORI teaches a display substrate, comprising a display region and a peripheral region surrounding the display region (See; Fig. 1), wherein the display substrate further comprises: a temperature sensing line arranged at the peripheral region (See; Fig. 1 for resistance line 105), a resistance of the temperature sensing line varying with a change in a surrounding temperature (See; p[0056] and p[0058] where resistance line 105 is a temperature detection element for detecting the temperatures of the pixel region); and a control circuit coupled to the temperature sensing line, and configured to determine the surrounding temperature of the temperature sensing line in accordance with a change in the resistance of the temperature sensing line (See; Fig. 4 and p[0058]-p[0059] for driving voltage correction circuit 106 connected to the temperature detection resistance line 105 to determine a temperature of the pixel area to adjust data signals).
In regards to claim 2, HATTORI teaches wherein the temperature sensing line comprises a first end, a second end and a sensing member, the first end and the second end are coupled to the control circuit, the sensing member is coupled to the first end and the second end, a resistance of the sensing member is greater than a resistance of the first end, and the resistance of the sensing member is greater than a resistance of the second end (See; p[0056] and p[0058] where resistance line 105 connected to two terminals 102. Further see Fig.5 where resistance goes up as temperatures goes up, thus the sensing member in proximity to the elements letting off heat would inherently have a higher resistance than terminals 102 that are away from the elements letting off heat).
In regards to claim 3, HATTORI teaches wherein the sensing member comprises a plurality of sub-members coupled sequentially, and extension directions of two of the sub-members coupled to each other are different (See; Fig. 1 where the resistance line 105 makes various 90 degree turns as it surrounds the device, where each extension direction could be considered a separate sub-member).
In regards to claim 4, HATTORI teaches wherein the sensing member comprises at least one folded structure, and the folded structure comprises two first sub-members parallel to each other, and a second sub-member coupled to ends of the two first sub-members at a same side (See; Figs. 1 and 12 where the resistance line 105 makes multiple 90 degree turns as it surrounds the device, where each extension direction could be considered a separate sub-member).
In regards to claim 6, HATTORI teaches wherein the peripheral region comprises a sealant region, the sealant region surrounds the display region, and at least a portion of the sensing member is arranged between the sealant region and the display region (See; Figs. 2A, 2B and p[0043] for a seal material 107 surrounding the display region where the resistance line 105 is located between the seal material and the display region).
In regards to claim 7, HATTORI teaches further comprising a shift register unit, wherein an orthogonal projection of at least a portion of the sensing member onto a base substrate of the display substrate is arranged between an orthogonal projection of the shift register unit onto the base substrate and the display region (See; Fig. 1 where the resistance line 105 is located between the display region and scan line driving circuits 104).
In regards to claim 8, HATTORI teaches further comprising a conductive film layer, wherein the temperature sensing line is arranged at a same layer, and made of a same material, as the conductive film layer (See; p[0060]-p[0061], p[0067] where the resistance line 105 is simultaneously formed with conductive film having the same material at and same layer).
In regards to claim 9, HATTORI teaches a shift register unit and a driving signal line coupled to each other, wherein the shift register unit and the driving signal line are arranged at the peripheral region; and the display substrate comprises a first temperature sensing line, and an orthogonal projection of a sensing member of the first temperature sensing line onto a base substrate of the display substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the driving signal line onto the base substrate (See; Fig. 1 for scan line driving circuits with scan lines 3a, 3b, where resistance line 105 overlaps the scan lines).
In regards to claim 10, HATTORI teaches wherein the driving signal line comprises an access signal end, and the orthogonal projection of the sensing member of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the access signal end onto the base substrate; and an orthogonal projection of a first end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the access signal end onto the base substrate, and an orthogonal projection of a second end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the access signal end onto the base substrate (See; Fig. 1 where the resistance line 105 overlaps with one side of a scan line 3a or 3b, but not the other side of said scan line). In regards to claim 11, HATTORI teaches wherein the orthogonal projection of the first end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate and the orthogonal projection of the second end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate are both arranged at a same side of the orthogonal projection of the access signal end onto the base substrate; or the orthogonal projection of the access signal end onto the base substrate is arranged between the orthogonal projection of the first end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate and the orthogonal projection of the second end of the first temperature sensing line onto the base substrate (See; Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 12, HATTORI teaches wherein a line width of the sensing member of the first temperature sensing line is smaller than a line width of the first end of the first temperature sensing line, and/or the line width of the sensing member of the first temperature sensing line is smaller than a line width of the second end of the first temperature sensing line (See; Fig. 1 where the line width of the resistance line 105 is smaller than terminal 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HATTORI (2009/0102774) in view of ZHAO et al (2020/0201109) (herein “ZHAO”). In regards to claim 5, HATTORI fails to explicitly teach wherein the sensing member is designed as a zigzag line. However, ZHAO teaches a temperature sensing line wherein the sensing member is designed as a zigzag line (See; Fig. 23 and p[0102]-p[0103]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HATTORI’s sensing line to zigzag to have a higher temperature detection accuracy.
In regards to claim 13, HATTORI fails to explicitly teach wherein the display substrate comprises a second temperature sensing line, and an extension direction of at least a portion of the second temperature sensing line is approximately identical to an extension direction of a boundary of the display region proximate to the portion. However, ZHAO teaches wherein the display substrate comprises a second temperature sensing line, and an extension direction of at least a portion of the second temperature sensing line is approximately identical to an extension direction of a boundary of the display region proximate to the portion (See; Figs. 4 and 5 for two identical mirrored temperature sensor lines at the top and bottom of the display region 161-163 and 26). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify HATTORI’s sensing system to have additional sensing lines to have a higher temperature detection accuracy.
In regards to claim 14, ZHAO teaches wherein a sensing member of the second temperature sensing line at least partially surrounds the display region (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23). In regards to claim 15, ZHAO teaches wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region, and the first bezel region comprises a first binding region to an Nth binding region arranged sequentially in a first direction, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and a first end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to a first connection terminal of the first binding region, a second end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to an connection terminal of the N"' binding region, and the control circuit is coupled to the first connection terminal and the Nth connection terminal (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23).
In regards to claim 16, ZHAO teaches wherein the sensing member of the second temperature sensing line surrounds the display region, wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region, and the first bezel region comprises a first binding region to an Nth binding region arranged sequentially in a first direction, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and a first end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to a first one of first connection terminals of the first binding region, a second end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to a second one of the first connection terminals of the first binding region, and the control circuit is coupled to the first one of the first connection terminals and the second one of the first connection terminals (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23).
In regards to claim 18, ZHAO teaches wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region, and the first bezel region comprises a first binding region to an Nth binding region arranged sequentially in a first direction, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and a sensing member of the second temperature sensing line is arranged at the first bezel region, a first end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to a first connection terminal of the first binding region, a second end of the second temperature sensing line is coupled to an Nth connection terminal of the Nth binding region, and the control circuit is coupled to the first connection terminal and the Nth connection terminal (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23).
In regards to claim 19, ZHAO teaches wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region, a second bezel region and a third bezel region; the second bezel region and the third bezel region are arranged opposite to each other in a first direction, the display region is arranged between the second bezel region and the second bezel region, and the first bezel region is arranged at a same side of the second bezel region and the third bezel region; the first bezel region comprises a first binding region to an Nth binding region arranged sequentially in the first direction, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; the display substrate comprises at least one second temperature sensing line; a sensing member of a first one of the second temperature sensing lines is arranged at the second bezel region, a first end of the first one of the second temperature sensing lines is coupled to a first one of first connection terminals of the first binding region, a second end of the first one of the second temperature sensing lines is coupled to a second one of the first connection terminals of the first binding region, and the control circuit is coupled to the first one of the first connection terminals and the second one of the first connection terminals; and/or a sensing member of a second one of the second temperature sensing lines is arranged at the third bezel region, a first end of the second one of the second temperature sensing lines is coupled to a first one of Nh connection terminals of the Nth binding region, a second end of the second one of the second temperature sensing lines is coupled to a second one of the Nth connection terminals of the Nib binding region, and the control circuit is coupled to the first one of the Nth connection terminals and the second one of the Nth connection terminals (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23).
In regards to claim 20, ZHAO teaches wherein the peripheral region further comprises a fourth bezel region, the fourth bezel region is arranged opposite to the first bezel region in a second direction, the second direction intersects the first direction, and the display region is arranged between the first bezel region and the fourth bezel region; at least a portion of the first one of the second temperature sensing lines is arranged at the fourth bezel region; and/or at least a portion of the second one of the second temperature sensing lines is arranged at the fourth bezel region (See; Figs. 4-8, 21 and 23).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627