DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered:
each of the at least one inner lubricating passage includes a lubricating channel having a first end at the inner lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores [claim 12];
the at least one inner lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending inner lubricating channel formed in the cylindrical inner surface and intersecting the outer bores [claim 15];
each of the at least one outer lubricating passage includes an outer lubricating channel having a first end at the at least one outer lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores [claim 16];
the at least one outer lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending outer lubricating channel formed in the cylindrical outer surface and intersecting the outer bores [claim 19];
each of the at least one inner lubricating passage includes an inner lubricating channel having a first end at the at least one inner lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores and each of the at least one outer lubricating passage includes an outer lubricating channel having a first end at the at least one outer lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores [claim 20];
the at least one inner lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending inner lubricating channel formed in the cylindrical inner surface an intersecting the outer bores, and wherein the at least one outer lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending outer lubricating channel formed in the cylindrical outer surface and intersecting the outer bores [claim 23].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification discloses the lubricating passages 14 and 18 can each be grooves. The Specification also goes on to disclose reference number 16 can be a passage. The Specification also discloses reference number 20 as a passage or as a channels.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 11 recites “at least one inner lubricating passage” in line 6. The Specification discloses on page 6, “the lubricating passages 14, 18”. And page 7 discloses “the passages 16 for fluidic connection to the inner bore 4.” The inter-changing of terminology among various components can lead to confusion as to the scope and structure of the invention.
Claims 16, 19, 20 and 23 recite “the at least one outer lubricating passage”. The claims go on to recite “an outer lubricating channel”. The Specification discloses on page 6, “the lubricating passages 14, 18 are each configured as lubricating grooves 14, 18 in combination with channels”. The Specification discloses on page 7, “the outer bores 12 can have further passages or channels 20…via these channels 20, the outer bores 12 are connected fluidically to the lubricating groove 18 in the outer shell surface 6.”
According to the description provided in the Specification, the “outer lubricating passage” and the “outer lubricating channel” are the same element of the invention. Applicant has not disclosed an invention that has both “at least one outer lubricating passage” and “an outer lubricating channel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14 -16, 18-20, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KEMPF (US 7,252,615).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses a planet carrier (26, 28) comprising: a cylindrical disc-shaped body having a cylindrical outer surface (See annotated Figure 1 below, A) and a cylindrical inner surface (See annotated Figure 1 below, B), the cylindrical inner surface defining a central inner bore, and a plurality of outer bores (29) at locations radially between the inner bore and the outer surface, each of the outer bores being configured to receive a planet bearing or to form an outer ring of a planet bearing (the holes (29) are capable of receiving a bearing and are capable of being the outer ring of a bearing), wherein at least one inner lubricating passage (38, 40, 46) extends from the cylindrical inner surface to each of the outer bores, and/or wherein at least one outer lubricating passage (64) extends from the outer cylindrical surface to each of the outer bores.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one inner lubricating passage (38, 40, 46), wherein the cylindrical inner surface includes at least one circumferentially extending inner lubricating groove (38), and wherein each of the at least one inner lubricating passage (38, 40, 46) includes a lubricating channel (40) having a first end at the inner lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the outer bores (29) are configured to form the outer rings of the planet bearings.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one inner lubricating passage (38, 40, 46), and wherein the at least one inner lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending inner lubricating channel (46) formed in the cylindrical inner surface and intersecting the outer bores.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one outer lubricating passage (64), wherein the cylindrical outer surface includes at least one circumferentially extending outer lubricating groove (61,65), and wherein each of the at least one outer lubricating passage includes an outer lubricating channel (formed by slots 54) having a first end at the at least one outer lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the outer bores (29) are configured to form the outer rings of the planet bearings.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one outer lubricating passage (64), and wherein the at least one outer lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending outer lubricating channel (61, 65) formed in the cylindrical outer surface and intersecting the outer bores.
Regarding claim 20, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one inner lubricating passage (46) and the at least one outer lubricating passage (64), wherein the cylindrical inner surface includes at least one circumferentially extending inner lubricating groove (38) and the cylindrical outer surface includes at least one circumferentially extending outer lubricating groove (61, 65), and wherein each of the at least one inner lubricating passage (46) includes an inner lubricating channel (40) having a first end at the at least one inner lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores (29) and each of the at least one outer lubricating passage includes an outer lubricating channel (formed by the slot 54) having a first end at the at least one outer lubricating groove and a second end at one of the outer bores.
Regarding claim 22, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the outer bores are configured to form the outer rings of the planet bearings.
Regarding claim 23, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier includes the at least one inner lubricating passage and the at least one outer lubricating passage, wherein the at least one inner lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending inner lubricating channel (46) formed in the cylindrical inner surface an intersecting the outer bores (29), and wherein the at least one outer lubricating passage comprises a circumferentially extending outer lubricating channel (64) formed in the cylindrical outer surface and intersecting the outer bores (29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KEMPF (US 7,252,615) as applied to claims 11, 12, 14 -16, 18-20, 22 and 23 above, and further in view of SHERIDAN (US 2016/0377165 A1).
Regarding claims 13, 17, and 21, as best understood by the Examiner, KEMPF discloses the planet carrier, but does not disclose planet bearings in each of the outer bores (29).
SHERIDAN teaches a planet carrier with bearings (78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the planet carrier of KEMPF to have planet bearings, in view of SHERIDAN, to allow for higher load support, higher RPMs, and longer life of the carrier.
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655