DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Jiang (CN 107010358 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Jiang discloses:
A carrying apparatus (2) of an inspection unit for the inspection of parameters of parts that are produced by an injection molding, punching, deep-drawing or thermoforming machine and transported through the inspection unit [0002], with said carrying apparatus comprising:
a carrying base element that has at least two carrying profiles (1) that are oriented parallel to one another (Fig. 4) [0029], at least two carrying ribs (4) that connect the at least two carrying profiles to one another (Fig. 4), the carrying ribs being arranged perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the carrying profiles and fastened on these carrying profiles (Fig. 4), as well as at least two carrying plates (6) that are fastened on the at least two carrying ribs (Fig. 4) [0030],
wherein each carrying plate is arranged on the ends of at least two carrying ribs (Fig. 4) assigned to one of the at least two carrying profiles (Fig. 4), and
wherein the carrying apparatus furthermore has a transporting means (8 & 9 & 10 & 11) for the parts, which is fastened on at least two of the carrying plates [0030 & 0031].
Regarding Claim 2, Jiang discloses:
wherein the carrying ribs are fastened, on the carrying profiles in two directions that extend perpendicular to one another and to the longitudinal axis of the carrying profiles (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Jiang discloses:
comprising locating pins (5) arranged between the carrying plates and the carrying ribs (Fig. 4) and/or between the carrying plates and the transporting means.
Regarding Claim 4, Jiang discloses:
wherein the carrying plates are arranged in a common plane, wherein this plane extends parallel to a plane defined by the carrying profiles (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Jiang discloses:
a pivoting frame (11) that is positioned above the transporting means (Fig. 1) and connected to the carrying plates, wherein the pivoting frame can be pivoted in such a way that the inspection elements arranged thereon and the transporting means lying thereunder are accessible [the pivoting frame (11) is connected to the carrying ribs (4) through the carrying plates (6) and locating pins (5) the frame is capable of rotating around a single locating pin when it is disengaged from the other three locating pins].
Regarding Claim 7, Jiang discloses:
wherein the pivoting frame has at least one pivoting force booster, and/or positioning radii that correspond to one another, wherein the positioning radii are arranged in at least one stop for the pivoting frame and in a pivotable free end of the pivoting frame (Fig. 4) [the pivoting frame (11) is connected to the carrying ribs (4) through the carrying plates (6) and locating pins (5) the frame is capable of rotating around a single locating pin when it is disengaged from the other three locating pins and the rotation of the locating pins delineate pivoting radii based on their relationship to a locating pin around which the pivoting frame rotates].
Regarding Claim 8, Jiang discloses:
wherein the carrying base element has at least one inspection element (15 & 17) that is selected from the following group: a camera, a lens, a lighting assembly, a sensor for tracking parts, a sensor for counting parts, particularly a counting light barrier, a conveyor belt, a blow-off valve, a discharge chute, a separating device, an extraneous light protection, a high-voltage testing unit and a parts measuring unit [0008 & 0014 & 0018 & 0030 & 0033].
Regarding Claim 10, Jiang discloses:
wherein the carrying base element is indirectly connected to a stationary substructure, by means of connecting elements (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3) [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 107010358 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Jiang teaches:
wherein the carrying plates and the transporting means are connected in a corresponding manner correspond to one another [0008 & 0030];
projections (1000) that respectively protrude from the carrying plate and have through holes (1001).
Jiang does not explicitly teach:
the connection is facilitated by fastening elements that correspond to one another and particularly are arranged in or extend through the projections that respectively protrude from the carrying plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide fastening elements for facilitating connections between the carrying plates and transporting means where the fastening elements that correspond to one another and particularly are arranged in or extend through the projections that respectively protrude from the carrying plate in order to allow for disassembly of connected parts in an apparatus in order to facilitate maintenance since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that bolted connections of machine parts were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Jiang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the carrying ribs, the carrying plates and/or the fastening elements or parts thereof are realized in the form of milled parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture structural and operative members such a as the carrying ribs, the carrying plates and/or the fastening elements or parts thereof through milling in order to provide appropriately tolerance parts preventing failure in the system due to misalignment since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that manufacturing support and fastening elements through milling were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 4578926 A, US 20080283306 A1, and US 7531758 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: article conveying devices having sensors for detecting article properties.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652