DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the angle of incidence between the two streams of fluid " inline 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, the angle of incidence is defined in terms of the flow of fluid streams which are inherently themselves dynamic and capable of changing depending on the flow rates and the pressures that the system is operated at. Since the angles are only tied to the flow of fluid within the structure an and not to any specific structure itself, it is difficult to tell which structures would or would not meet this limitation. The same structure could potentially both meet and not meet this limitation depending on how it was operated which leads to uncertainty on where the meets an bounds of this claim limitation lie.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2018/0241102 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (Figure 1-2 and 6-11) a device for thermal regulation (at one of cooling plates 110, 122, 124, or 126) for a component which can release heat during its operation, the device comprises a circulation network (in the flow channel within the plates such as flow channel 230 seen within plate 124 in figure 7 or a similar flow channel seen within plate 122 in figure 9) for a heat-transfer fluid (per paragraph 0164), wherein the circulation network comprises at least one area for mixing of fluid into which at least two separate streams of fluid open (where fluids on two different sides of protrusions 222 or 224 mix downstream of the protrusion as seen by the arrows in in figure 7) according to respective angles selected to generate a mixture of a parietal layer of fluid and an internal layer of fluid in the mixing area (this appears to be function of mixing two streams in a confined space, which the prior art of Kim does). Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the angle of incidence between the two streams of fluid which open into the mixing area is between 45° and 90° (as the angle is only generally defined as in relation to the two streams in some way, not necessarily limited to a main flow direction or a wall confining the streams any portion of the steams that runs at an angle to any portion of the other steam that falls in the range could meet the claimed imitation) .
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses wherein the circulation network (in the flow channel within the plates such as flow channel 230 seen within plate 124 in figure 7 or a similar flow channel seen within plate 122 in figure 9) for a heat-transfer fluid (per paragraph 0164) further comprising an area of separation of fluid which is designed to separate a stream of fluid into two separate streams (where fluids separate into flow paths on two different sides of protrusions 222 or 224 as seen by the arrows in in figure 7); and the mixing area, into which the separate streams of fluid open in order to permit the mixing (where fluids on two different sides of protrusions 222 or 224 mix downstream of the protrusion as seen by the arrows in in figure 7) .
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 3 above and Kim further discloses the area of separation comprises an obstacle placed in a channel of the circulation network (at the protrusions 222 or 224) , wherein the obstacle is designed to separate the stream of fluid into two flows (as seen by the flow arrows in figure 7),
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 4 above and Kim further discloses the obstacle (222 or 224) extends along the entire height of the channel (per paragraph 0154), wherein the obstacle having a polygonal form, which is substantially rectangular (the protrusions are seen as rectangular shapes with streamlined shorter ends in figure 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 4 above and Kim further discloses the channel (230) within which the obstacle (222 or 224) is placed has lateral walls stream (walls at protrusion 226 and the walls of flow channel 230 on the opposite side of protrusions 222 and 224 from protrusion 226 in figure 7) with a form selected to participate in the separation of the, and, downstream from the obstacle, in a joining of the separate streams in the mixing area (as seen in figure 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the network for circulation of fluid comprises a section of stream of fluid downstream from the mixing area (any area downstream of the area where fluids on two different sides of protrusions 222 or 224 mix downstream of the protrusion as seen by the arrows in in figure 7), such that the fluid which flows in this section of stream of fluid has a relatively homogeneous temperature as a result of the mixing in the mixing area (this limitation appears to be functional only and regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.)), and the section of stream has a transverse cross-section for a passage of fluid which is larger than each of the transverse cross-sections of the separate streams of fluid (a seen in figure 7 where the divided steams on either side of protrusions 222 and 224 have a smaller cross section that the area in which the two streams join back together).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the circulation network comprises a plurality of elementary patterns, each formed by an area of separation of fluid and the mixing area which is associated with it (areas around each of the protrusions 222 and 226 which can form repeating patters as seen in figure 9).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the separate flows of fluid which open into the mixing area are arranged on different planes as the planes are not further defined; planes parallel to the protrusion 226 but running through the center of the flow passage on either side of the protrusions 222 or 224 would meet this limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the circulation network is formed between a lower plate (base plate 220) and an upper plate (cover plate 210 as seen in figure 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Kim further discloses at least one of the plates (base plate 220) comprises regions in relief, in order to form a channel(s) of the circulation network and/or the mixing area(s) (as seen in figure 7 and 9, where the plate 220 has ana area in relief that forms the flow channel 230).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses the network for circulation of fluid comprises one or more tubes, within which the heat-transfer fluid circulates, and this tube or these tubes are designed to define the area(s) for mixing of the separate streams (plates 210 and 220 form a flat tube for the flow channels 230).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Kim further discloses a component which can release heat during its operation, and the device for thermal regulation as claimed in claim 1, in contact with which the component is cooled (a battery module is in contact with the cover plate 210 to conduct heat into the flow channel 230 per paragraph 0156).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kim does not clearly disclose the lateral walls of the channel each have an elbow, with an angle of between 45° and 90°, in order to force the separate streams to follow bends, with an angle of between 45° and 90°, around the obstacle. While Kim discloses that some of the lateral walls may have a structure that bends near the obstacle at protrusions 222 or 224 in figure 7 and 251 in figure 9, they are not around the same obstacle/protrusion as claimed. None of the additionally cited prior art below appears to cure this deficiency. Therefore for at least this reason claim 7 appears to present grounds for potentially allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vakilimoghaddam et al. (US 20210254895 A1), Ogino et al. (US 20210167443 A1), Koyama (US 20210066770 A1), Gehringhoff et al. (US 20190283627 A1), Masuda et al. (US 20140220404 A1) and Ippoushi et al. (US 20090114372 A1) all disclose relevant cooling structures.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763